DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 11/28/2025, in response to the rejection of claims 1, 3-7, 10-15, and 17-20 from the non-final office action (08/27/2025), by amending claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-15, and 18-20 and cancelling claims 6 and 17 is entered and will be addressed below.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “a first alloy disposed at a first bonding interface” and “a second alloy disposed at a second bonding interface“ of claim 3 inclusive alloy at the interfaces and may also include alloy in the bulk of the support portion. These two alloys may have the same or different composition. The first and second alloy differ in location, likewise for the first outer layer and the second outer layer have the same composition and differ in location.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The newly added limitation “wherein each of the first to fourth outer layers includes a non-magnetic material” of claims 1 and 13 does not have support in Applicants’ Specification.
The examiner notices that Applicants’ Specification describe “For example, the first outer layer OL1 and the second outer layer OL2 may include a non-magnetic material”. However, there is no description that OL1-2 and OL2-2 may include a non-magnetic material in Fig. 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 20180038093, from IDS, hereafter ‘093), in view of KOBAYASHI et al. (US 20170362698, hereafter ‘698), Uehara et al. (US 5502350, hereafter ‘350), Webster et al. (US 4996116, hereafter ‘116), Ma et al . (US 20160369388, hereafter ‘388), and (US 20150101536, hereafter ‘536). (JP H0645072, hereafter ‘072, is evidenced that many steel family can be used for multiple layer bimetal plate, US 20090181264 is evidenced for eutectic non-magnetic material).
‘093 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: MASK ASSEMBLY (title), a deposition mask (abstract, includes the claimed “A deposition apparatus comprising mask assembly comprising”):
the mask assembly 1010 according to the present embodiment includes a mask frame 310, a first stick 110 disposed on the mask frame 310 and having a surface having a groove … a deposition mask 400 disposed on the second stick 210 and the first stick 110 and the second stick 210 disposed on the one side of the stick 110 (Figs. 1-5, for example, [0041], includes the claimed “a frame in which an opening is defined”, the second sticks 210 “first support portion portions on the frame, overlapping with the opening, and extending in a first direction“, the first stick 110 is the claimed “a second support portion on the frame, overlapping with the opening, and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction”, note this is a different mapping than previous office action because of the current amendment);
The deposition masks 400 may be divided masks that extend in the first direction X and are arranged adjacent to each other in the second direction Y ([0049], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “and masks on the first and second support portions and covering at least a portion of the opening”),
Fig. 3 shows the claimed “wherein a first length of a first support portion of the first support portions in the first direction, which overlaps two adjacent masks among the masks“ and “a second length of the second support portion in the second direction, which overlaps all of the masks, wherein the first support portion overlaps the second support portion so as to be located between the second support portion and the masks“,
The thermal expansion coefficient of the first stick 110 and the second stick 210 may be the same or different, but each certainly fall within a same range or different range “wherein the first support portion has a first thermal expansion coefficient in a first range, and the second support portion has a second thermal expansion coefficient in a second range”.
‘093 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) and a movement plate configured to generate electrostatic force or magnetic force,
(1B) wherein each of the first support portions and the second support portion comprises:
a central layer;
a first outer layer on a first surface of the central layer;
a second outer layer on a second surface of the central layer, the second surface being opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction in which the frame, the first and second support portions, and the mask are stacked;
a third outer layer on an outer surface of the first outer layer; and
a fourth outer layer on an outer surface of the second outer layer,
(1C) wherein the first surface of the central layer is in direct contact with the first outer layer, the second surface of the central layer is in direct contact with the second outer layer, the third outer layer is in direct contact with the outer surface of the first outer layer, and the fourth outer layer is in direct contact with the outer surface of the second outer layer, such that the central layer, the first outer layer, the second outer layer, the third outer layer, and the fourth outer layer are integrally formed,
(1D) wherein each of the first to fourth outer layers includes a non-magnetic material,
(1E) wherein each of the first support portions and the second support portion has a symmetrical structure with respect to the central layer,
(1F) (wherein a first length of a first support portion of the first support portions in the first direction, which overlaps two adjacent masks among the masks), is greater than (a second length of the second support portion in the second direction, which overlaps all of the masks),
(1G) wherein another first support portion of the first support portions overlaps a first mask of the two adjacent masks and another mask among the masks that is adjacent the first mask.
‘093 further teaches that The mask frame 310 may be made of a material having high rigidity, for example, a metal such as stainless steel ([0042], last sentence), The mask frame 310 and the first stick 110 may be made of the same material to prevent deformation due to the difference in thermal expansion characteristics in the deposition process ([0045], last sentence).
‘698 is analogous art in the field of VAPOR DEPOSITION MASK, VAPOR DEPOSITION DEVICE (title). ‘698 teaches that The film formation chamber 2 houses therein the vapor deposition mask 10, the vapor deposition source 20, the mask frame 15, the mask holder 41, a rotation shaft 46 of the rotation mechanism 45 (Fig. 2, [0049]), a magnet plate 90 (magnetically-attracting member) which is provided, during vapor deposition, so as to face a vapor deposition mask 410 via a film formation target substrate 30 (see FIG. 14) ([0213]), consequently allows an improvement in adhesion of the vapor deposition mask 410 to the film formation target substrate 30 ([0215]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a rotation mechanism 45 and magnet plate 90 of ‘698 to attract the mask assembly of ‘093 (the limitation of 1A), for the purpose of improvement in adhesion of the mask, as taught by ‘698 ([0215]).
‘350 is analogous art or solving similar problem in the field of Shadow Mask Support Member Having High Strength And Thermal Deformation Resistant Low-expansion Alloy Plate And High Expansion Alloy Plate (title), a parallel bonded-type trimetal (col. 19 lines 55-56). ‘350 teaches that a trimetal, which has a low-expansion plate of an invar alloy (Fe-36Ni) and a high-expansion plate of austenitic stainless steel such as SUS304 (Fe-18Cr-8Ni) (col. 1, lines 25-27, austenitic means non-magnetic), the addition of C, Cr and Mo to a Fe-Ni invar alloy, the tensile strength at a room temperature, as well as the thermal deformation resistance at 400o-600o C., can be greatly enhanced (col. 2, lines 36-39).
‘116 is solving similar problem of symmetric bimetallic bodies (col. 7, line 60). ‘116 teaches that One of the benefits provided by use of a tungsten or molybdenum substrate with a eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layer and a copper foil direct bond is the ability to produce symmetric bimetallic bodies having a tungsten or molybdenum core with identical copper foil external layers bonded to both sides of the core material … Applicants are unaware of any presently available copper-tungsten-copper symmetric bimetallic laminate. Thus, the use of the eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layer enables the formation of this symmetric bimetallic laminate structure for use in those applications where its particular characteristics are considered desirable. While a eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layer could be used to form molybdenum bimetallic laminates, that is not preferred where less expensive methods are available. Such a symmetric bimetallic laminate is shown generally at 200 in FIG. 3. This structure comprises a substrate 220 such as tungsten, two eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layers 230 disposed on the upper and lower surfaces of the substrate 220. If desired, these two eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layers 230 may be a single continuous layer which extends over the vertical edges of the substrate 220 in the figure to form an overall cladding or coating on the substrate. A pair of symmetric copper foils 240 are direct bonded to the eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layers 230 to form the overall composite. This composite structure has a thermal coefficient of expansion in the lateral direction which is intermediate that of copper and the core material (tungsten). Where the wetting layers 230 and the copper foil layers 240 are symmetric about the core 220, this structure will have no tendency to bend upon heating or cooling because of equal stresses applied to both sides of the core by the copper foil layers during heating and cooling as is explained in application Ser. No. 412,052 (col. 7, line 57 to col. 8, line 30, see also Fig. 4), while the invention has been described primarily in terms of the copper-copper oxide eutectic direct bond process, other direct bond processes involving nickel-nickel oxide, cobalt-cobalt oxide, iron-iron oxide and copper-copper sulfide as described in the above-listed direct bond patents will also benefit from the inclusion of a eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layer (col. 12, lines 1-8).
Note the two eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layers 230 corresponds to the claimed first and second outer layer in direct contact with the central layer and second outer layer and the two copper foils layer 240 corresponding to the claimed third and fourth outer layer in direct contact with the first and the second outer layer, respectively.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the material for the first, second sticks, masks and frame from stainless steel of ‘093 to the SUS304/invar/SUS304 trimetal, optionally with addition of C, Cr, and Mo to the invar, as taught by ‘350, for the purpose of thermal deformation resistant low expansion alloy and strength, as taught by ‘350 (title) and for the purpose of avoiding deformation as required by ‘758 ([0282]). Furthermore, to have added an intermediate eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layer in symmetric arrangement having property in between SUS304 and invar layer, as taught by ‘116 (the limitations of 1B, 1C, and 1E), for the purpose of no tendency to bend upon heating or cooling, as taught by ‘116 (col. 8, lines 26-27). Note that eutectic wetting enhancement layer can be either magnetic or non-magnetic, this is a limited choice according KSR, therefore, obvious to choose non-magnetic eutectic material (the limitation of 1D). US 20090181264 is evidenced that eutectic composition being non-magnetic ([0036]).
In case Applicants argue that ‘116 uses expensive wetting layers, ‘072 is cited for “an 18% Cr-8% Ni-Fe stainless steel sheet (wt%) having a thickness of 1 mm and a width of 300 mm was used. Using a 20% Ni-6% Cr-Fe alloy plate (wt%) with a plate width of 300mm, the low expansion side alloy plate has a thickness of 2.5mm, a plate width of 300mm, and a 36% Ni-Fe alloy plate (wt %)It was used. As a ferritic stainless steel sheet, a 13% Cr-Fe stainless steel sheet (wt%)” (middle of page 10), for building bimetal plate (page 1). These steels are not expensive as gold, palladium, platinum of the wetting layer between tungsten and copper of ‘116. (Note the drawing from JP document does not match its disclosure. See attached English translation for the correct drawings).
‘093 shows six deposition mask on the mask frame.
‘388 is analogous art in the field of Frame For Mask Plate And Mask Plate (title), In a semiconductor manufacturing process, the evaporation technology is often required. Taking the preparation of an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display screen ([0002]), the frame 21 further includes at least one supporting portion 214 (Fig. 3, [0033]). Fig. 6 of ‘388 shows two masks 12 extend along the longer side of the mask frame 21 and arranged in the shorter side of the mask frame 21.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have changed the number of the deposition mask 400 from six to two, with corresponding change of mask frame 310 and shortening the length of the first stick 110 (the limitation of 1F), as taught by ‘388, for its suitability for deposition with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘536 is analogous art in the field of MASK ASSEMBLY AND DEPOSITION APPARATUS USING THE SAME FOR FLAT PANEL DISPLAY (title). ‘536 teaches that The supporter 300' includes, for example, a first supporter 301 of the first direction (the X-axis direction) and a second supporter 302 of the second direction (the Y-axis direction) formed to cross each other ([0089], Fig. 5 shows the first supporter between each pair of mask 200, see also Figs. 3 and 6-7), for the purpose of removing heat influence ([0006]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the arrangement of supporter and mask relationship of ‘536, for the mask assembly of ‘093 (the limitation of 1G), for the purpose of removing heat influence, as taught by ‘536 ([0006]) and/or for its suitability for deposition with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘093 also teaches some limitations of:
Claim 13: MASK ASSEMBLY (title), a deposition mask (abstract, includes the claimed “A deposition apparatus comprising a mask assembly comprising”):
the mask assembly 1010 according to the present embodiment includes a mask frame 310, a first stick 110 disposed on the mask frame 310 and having a surface having a groove … a deposition mask 400 disposed on the second stick 210 and the first stick 110 and the second stick 210 disposed on the one side of the stick 110 (Figs. 1-5, for example, [0041], includes the claimed “a frame in which an opening is defined”, the second stick 210 “first support portions on the frame, overlapping with the opening, and extending in a first direction“, the first stick 110 is the claimed “a second support portion on the frame, overlapping with the opening, and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction”, note the mapping change from the previous OC);
The deposition masks 400 may be divided masks that extend in the first direction X and are arranged adjacent to each other in the second direction Y ([0049], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “and masks on the first and second support portions and covering at least a portion of the opening”),
Figs. 3-4 clearly shows the claimed “wherein a thickness of the frame is greater than a thickness of each of the first support portions and the second support portion in the thickness direction”,
Fig. 3 shows the claimed “wherein a first length of a first support portion of the first support portions in the first direction, which overlaps two adjacent masks among the masks“ and “a second length of the second support portion in the second direction, which overlaps all of the masks”, and “wherein the first support portion overlaps the second support portion so as to be located between the second support portion and the masks“,
The thermal expansion coefficient of the first stick 110 and the second stick 210 may be the same or different, but each certainly fall within a same range or different range “wherein the first support portion has a first thermal expansion coefficient in a first range, and the second support portion has a second thermal expansion coefficient in a second range”.
‘093 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 13: (13A) a movement plate configured to generate electrostatic force or magnetic force,
(13B) wherein each of the first support portions and the second support portion comprises an odd number of base layers along a thickness direction in which the frame, the first and second support portions, and the masks are stacked, (13C) the base layers have symmetrical thermal expansion coefficients with respect to a central layer of the base layers, and each of the first support portions and the second support portion has a symmetrical structure with respect to the central layer,
(13D) wherein each of the first support portions and the second support portion comprises: a first outer layer and a third outer layer of the base layers between the central layer and the frame; a second outer layer and a fourth outer layer of the base layers between the central layer and the masks,
(13E) wherein a first surface of the central layer is in direct contact with the first outer layer, a second surface of the central layer is in direct contact with the second outer layer, the third outer layer is in direct contact with an outer surface of the first outer layer, and the fourth outer layer is in direct contact with an outer surface of the second outer layer, such that the central layer, the first outer layer, the second outer layer, the third outer layer, and the fourth outer layer are integrally formed,
(13F) wherein each of the first to fourth outer layers includes a non-magnetic material,
(13G) (wherein a first length of a first support portion of the first support portions in the first direction, which overlaps two adjacent masks among the masks), is greater than (a second length of the second support portion in the second direction, which overlaps all of the masks),
(13H) wherein another first support portion of the first support portions overlaps a first mask of the two adjacent masks and another mask among the masks that is adjacent the first mask.
‘093 further teaches that The mask frame 310 may be made of a material having high rigidity, for example, a metal such as stainless steel ([0042], last sentence), The mask frame 310 and the first stick 110 may be made of the same material to prevent deformation due to the difference in thermal expansion characteristics in the deposition process ([0045], last sentence).
‘698 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a rotation mechanism 45 and magnet plate 90 of ‘698 to attract the mask assembly of ‘093 (the limitation of 13A), for the purpose of improvement in adhesion of the mask, as taught by ‘698 ([0215]).
‘350 is analogous art or solving similar problem as discussed above.
‘116 is solving similar problem as discussed above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the material for the first, second sticks, masks and frame from stainless steel of ‘093 to the SUS304/invar/SUS304 trimetal, optionally with addition of C, Cr, and Mo to the invar, as taught by ‘350, for the purpose of thermal deformation resistant low expansion alloy and strength, as taught by ‘350 (title) and for the purpose of avoiding deformation as required by ‘758 ([0282]). Furthermore, to have added an intermediate eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layer in symmetric arrangement having property in between SUS304 and invar layer, as taught by ‘116 (the limitations of 13B, 13C, 13D, and 13E), for the purpose of no tendency to bend upon heating or cooling, as taught by ‘116 (col. 8, lines 26-27). Note that eutectic wetting enhancement layer can be either magnetic or non-magnetic, this is a limited choice according KSR, therefore, obvious to choose non-magnetic eutectic material (the limitation of 13F). US 20090181264 is evidenced that eutectic composition being non-magnetic ([0036]).
‘388 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have changed the number of the deposition mask 400 from six to two, with corresponding change of mask frame 310 and shortening the length of the first stick 110 (the limitation of 13G), as taught by ‘388, for its suitability for deposition with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘536 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the arrangement of supporter and mask relationship of ‘536, for the mask assembly of ‘093 (the limitation of 13H), for the purpose of removing heat influence, as taught by ‘536 ([0006]) and/or for its suitability for deposition with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘093 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 10: a deposition mask having pattern openings having substantially the same shape as the pattern of the layer to be formed is aligned on the substrate (Fig. 2, [0003], includes the claimed “wherein a plurality of opening patterns is defined in each of the masks”).
Claim19: Fig. 3 shows the second stick 210, or the first support portion, on the first stick 110, or the second support portion (the claimed “wherein the first support portion is disposed on the second support portion”),
Fig. 3 also shows the claimed “and wherein the masks extend in the first direction and are arranged in the second direction”.
By replacing the first, second sticks, masks and frame of ‘093 with ‘350’s invar and austenitic stainless steel trimetal that includes an intermediate layer as taught by ‘116 reads into the limitations of:
Claim 3: wherein the support portion further comprises a first alloy disposed at a first bonding interface between the central layer and the first outer layer, and a second alloy disposed at a second bonding interface between the central layer and the second outer layer (see claim interpretation above for “alloy”).
While it is preferred that the eutectic/substrate-wetting enhancement layer be platinum, palladium or gold, it will be understood that other materials may be mixed with the platinum, palladium or gold, so long as the low wetting angle for the metal-metal compound eutectic is maintained (‘116, col. 7, lines 10-15, also reads into “wherein each of the first support portion and the second support portion further comprises a first alloy disposed at a first bonding interface between the central layer and the first outer layer, and a second alloy disposed at a second bonding interface between the central layer and the second outer layer”).
Claim 4: wherein the first and second outer layers comprise the same material.
Claim 5: wherein a thermal expansion coefficient of the central layer is different from a thermal expansion coefficient of the first outer layer (invar has a low thermal expansion than SUS304).
Claims 6 and 14: austenitic stainless steel such as SUS304 (‘350, col. 1, lines 26-27, austenitic means non-magnet, reads into the claimed “wherein each of the first and second outer layers includes a non-magnetic material”, note there are many types of stainless steel that are austenitic, some are mentioned in ‘072).
Claims 7 and 15: Fig. 3 of ‘116 shows the claimed “wherein a thickness of the first outer layer and a thickness of the second outer layer are the same as each other, and wherein a thickness of the central layer is greater than the thickness of each of the first and second outer layers”.
Claim 12: wherein the first outer layer and the second outer layer have the same thermal expansion coefficient (the same material of claim 4 also has the same thermal expansion).
Claim 11: wherein each of the frame and the mask comprises Invar.
Claim 18: a trimetal, which has a low-expansion plate of an invar alloy (Fe-36Ni) and a high-expansion plate of austenitic stainless steel such as SUS304 (Fe-18Cr-8Ni) (col. 1, lines 25-27, includes the claimed “wherein the central layer comprises Invar, and each of the first and second outer layers comprises stainless steel”).
Claim 20: wherein no other component is disposed between the central layer and the first outer layer, between the central layer and the second outer layer, between the first outer layer and the third outer layer, and between the second outer layer and the fourth outer layer, and
wherein each of the first support portion and the second support portion is a composite integrally formed by combination of surfaces of the third outer layer, the first outer layer, the central layer, the second outer layer, and the fourth outer layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not convincing in light of the new grounds of rejection above.
In regarding to 35 USC 112(d) rejection of claim 17, Applicants’ cancellation of claim 17 overcomes the rejection. However, Applicants’ amendment also introduces new 112(a) issue.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20170222145 is cited for mask support in two directions having the same length (Fig. 1).
US 5126529 is cited for a mask production method “the resulting milled surface should be sufficiently rough to assure bonding of the next layer to be deposited thereon” (col. 7, 1st paragraph).
The term “bimetallic” was hotly contested by Applicants as meaning two layers only. Actually, bimetallic may include more than two layers. See https://matmatch.com/learn/material/bimetal, “what in bimetal” section. Note this is a definition, not a prior art which need a priority date.
The following are cited in prosecution of parent case and also included in the current IDS:
US 4777909 is cited for “An advantage of the present invention is that distortion caused by thermal expansion, contraction, warping, bending or the like of a carriage assembly due to varying thermal environment conditions will affect only the coarse indexing of a selected mask to a substrate at a working station and its adverse effects on precise registration of a mask to a substrate are eliminated” (col. 4, lines 58-64, i.e. suppression distortion of the support assembly).
US 20170081755 is cited for the need of temperature stability of the mask ([0038]).
US 4093461 is cited for mask support by tri-metallic plate (col. 3, lines 38-41) for thermal stability (col. 1, line 8).
US 20030179354 is cited for mask holder distortion by heat (Fig. 30(C), [0017]). US 3712799 is cited for trimetal invar layer 12, ferrous layer 14 and middle SS layer 16 (Fig.).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716