DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 8-19 was/were withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 20-21 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by previously relied on references below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the annular portion must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “wherein the flange comprises an annular portion extending radially between the support area and the thickened area” and “wherein an upper surface of the support area on which the wafer is supported and an upper surface of the flange are substantially coplanar,” in the claim. There doesn’t appear to be support in the specification or disclosure for “an annular portion” and its configuration. Additionally there doesn’t appear to be support for the upper surface of the flange being substantially coplanar with the upper surface of the support area, as the flange includes the thickened portion which projects above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20060078839 to Adachi in view of US 20050000449 to Ishibashi and further in view of US 20100154711 to Ishibashi (Ishibashi’711).
Claims 1, 21: Adachi discloses a semiconductor substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a processing chamber ([vertical heat treatment furnace], not shown but disclose para. [0037]) configured for batch processing a plurality of wafers (10 [wafers]), wherein the batch processing includes depositing a layer on each wafer of the plurality of wafers (para. [0007]);
a wafer boat (1 [heat treatment boat], Fig. 1) configured to accommodate the plurality of wafers (10) and receivable in the processing chamber (para. [0007]), the wafer boat (1) comprising at least two wafer boat posts (3 [pillars]), wherein each wafer boat post (3) comprises a plurality of slots (4 [wafer support sections], para. [0008]); and a plurality of wafer supports (11 [heat treatment jig], Fig. 2a-2e), each wafer support (11) of the plurality of wafer (11) supports comprising quartz (para. [0035], [0082]) and being substantially flat (para. [0044, 0106]) and further comprising: a support area (center area under 10) configured to support at least a circumferential edge of a wafer of the plurality of wafers (Fig. 2A-2B);
and a flange (edge of 11) circumferentially surrounding the support area (center area under 10), wherein the flange (edge of 11) is receivable in and supported by the slots (4).
However Adachi does not disclose (claim 1) wherein the flange has a width to create a distance between the support area of the plurality of wafers and the wafer boat posts of the wafer; (claim 20) wherein the width of the flange is in a range between 10 and 25 mm.
Ishibashi discloses (claims 1, 20) wherein the size of the susceptor can be a size where there is a gap between the edge of the component and the outer edge of the wafer, for the purpose of being changed in an appropriate manner according to the diameter of the wafer (para. [0094]).
It is noted that the wafer is an article worked upon in the apparatus, thus the recitations tie the structure of the apparatus to a substrate that may be worked upon by the apparatus, but is notably not part of the apparatus; and therefore cannot be used to define over the prior art apparatus. The courts have held that inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of sizing of the susceptor as taught by Ishibashi with motivation to be changed in an appropriate manner according to the diameter of the wafer.
The apparatus of Adachi in view of Ishibashi does not disclose (claim 1) a thickened edge portion at a radially outer part of the flange, the thickened edge portion forming which forms a wafer catching edge wherein the flange comprises an annular portion extending radially between the support area and the thickened edge portion. and wherein an upper surface of the support area on which the wafer is supported and an upper surface of the flange are substantially coplanar, and the thickened edge portion projects above said upper surfaces; (claim 21) wherein the thickened edge portion is integrally formed with the flange.
However Ishibashi’711 teaches (claim 1) a thickened edge portion (218b [peripheral parts], Fig. 9-10) at a radially outer part of the flange (outer 218a, and 218b), the thickened edge portion (218b) forming which forms a wafer catching edge (inner edge of 218b) wherein the flange (outer 218a, and 218b) comprises an annular portion (outer 218a [concave part]) extending radially between the support area (area under 200 [wafer]) and the thickened edge portion (218b), and wherein an upper surface of the support area (upper surface of 218a under wafer) on which the wafer (200) is supported and an upper surface of the flange (upper surface of outer 218a, and 218b) are substantially coplanar (Fig. 9-10), and the thickened edge portion (218b) projects above said upper surfaces (Fig. 9-10); (claim 21) wherein the thickened edge portion (218b) is integrally formed with the flange (outer 218a, and 218b), for the purpose of suppressing deposition of films on the rear surfaces of the wafers due to the top surfaces of the thickened edge portion (218b) being coplanar with the top surfaces of the wafer (200, para. [0110]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Ishibashi’711 with motivation to suppress deposition of films on the rear surfaces of the wafers due to the top surfaces of the thickened edge portion being coplanar with the top surfaces of the wafer.
Claims 2-3: (Withdrawn).
Claim 4: The apparatus of Adachi in view of Ishibashi discloses wherein the support area (central area under 10, Fig. 2A-2B, Adachi) is closed so that the wafer support is substantially plate-shaped and capable of supporting an entire bottom surface of a wafer (Fig. 2A-2B).
Claim 5: (Withdrawn).
Claim 6: The apparatus of Adachi in view of Ishibashi discloses wherein the wafer support (11, Fig. 2A-2B, Adachi) with the wafer (10) is removable from the wafer boat (1, para. [0007]).
Claim 7: (Cancelled).
Claims 8-19: (Withdrawn).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20040099219 discloses a wafer boat (wafer loading boat, Fig. 11-12a-12b) which has first and second supporting pillars (11, 21) with slots (20a, 11a) that support the wafer holder (25) which is a plate, but has cutouts for the second supporter to lift the substrate (100, para. [0063-0066]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718