DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 7-19 was/were withdrawn; Claim 7 is no longer withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1 is/are amended; claim(s) 21 is/are newly added.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by Ishibashi’711 in addition to previously relied on references below.
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 7 is/are no longer withdrawn as claim 7 (Fig. 8) is generic to Species 1 and 2, and additionally, Species 4 (Fig. 8) is hereby removed as a species. Examiner and Applicant agreed to this update in an interview (filed 02/17/2026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20060078839 to Adachi in view of US 20050000449 to Ishibashi and further in view of US 20100154711 to Ishibashi (Ishibashi’711).
Claims 1, 21: Adachi discloses a semiconductor substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a processing chamber ([vertical heat treatment furnace], not shown but disclose para. [0037]) configured for batch processing a plurality of wafers (10 [wafers]), wherein the batch processing includes depositing a layer on each wafer of the plurality of wafers (para. [0007]);
a wafer boat (1 [heat treatment boat], Fig. 1) configured to accommodate the plurality of wafers (10) and receivable in the processing chamber (para. [0007]), the wafer boat (1) comprising at least two wafer boat posts (3 [pillars]), wherein each wafer boat post (3) comprises a plurality of slots (4 [wafer support sections], para. [0008]); and a plurality of wafer supports (11 [heat treatment jig], Fig. 2a-2e), each wafer support (11) of the plurality of wafer (11) supports comprising quartz (para. [0035], [0082]) and being substantially flat (para. [0044, 0106]) and further comprising: a support area (center area under 10) configured to support at least a circumferential edge of a wafer of the plurality of wafers (Fig. 2A-2B);
and a flange (edge of 11) circumferentially surrounding the support area (center area under 10), wherein the flange (edge of 11) is receivable in and supported by the slots (4).
However Adachi does not disclose (claim 1) wherein the flange has a width to create a distance between the circumferential edge of the wafer of the plurality of wafers and the wafer boat posts of the wafer; (claim 20) wherein the width of the flange is substantially 10 mm.
Ishibashi discloses (claims 1, 20) wherein the size of the susceptor can be a size where there is a gap between the edge of the component and the outer edge of the wafer, for the purpose of being changed in an appropriate manner according to the diameter of the wafer (para. [0094]).
It is noted that the wafer is an article worked upon in the apparatus, thus the recitations tie the structure of the apparatus to a substrate that may be worked upon by the apparatus, but is notably not part of the apparatus; and therefore cannot be used to define over the prior art apparatus. The courts have held that inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of sizing of the susceptor as taught by Ishibashi with motivation to be changed in an appropriate manner according to the diameter of the wafer.
The apparatus of Adachi in view of Ishibashi does not disclose (claim 1) a thickened edge portion which forms a wafer catching edge; (claim 21) wherein the thickened portion is integrally formed with the flange.
However Ishibashi’711 teaches (claim 1) a thickened edge portion (218b [peripheral parts], Fig. 9-10) which forms a wafer catching edge (218b); (claim 21) wherein the thickened portion (218b) is integrally formed with the flange (outer portion of 218), for the purpose of suppressing deposition of films on the rear surfaces of the wafers due to the top surfaces of the thickened edge portion (218b) being coplanar with the top surfaces of the wafer (200, para. [0110]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Ishibashi’711 with motivation to suppress deposition of films on the rear surfaces of the wafers due to the top surfaces of the thickened edge portion being coplanar with the top surfaces of the wafer.
Claims 2-3: (Withdrawn).
Claim 4: The apparatus of Adachi in view of Ishibashi discloses wherein the support area (central area under 10, Fig. 2A-2B, Adachi) is closed so that the wafer support is substantially plate-shaped and capable of supporting an entire bottom surface of a wafer (Fig. 2A-2B).
Claim 5: (Withdrawn).
Claim 6: The apparatus of Adachi in view of Ishibashi discloses wherein the wafer support (11, Fig. 2A-2B, Adachi) with the wafer (10) is removable from the wafer boat (1, para. [0007]).
Claim 7: (Cancelled).
Claims 8-19: (Withdrawn).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20040099219 discloses a wafer boat (wafer loading boat, Fig. 11-12a-12b) which has first and second supporting pillars (11, 21) with slots (20a, 11a) that support the wafer holder (25) which is a plate, but has cutouts for the second supporter to lift the substrate (100, para. [0063-0066]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718