DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 7-20 are cancelled. Claims 1-6 and 21-34 are pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 1, 21 and 29 are independent claims. Claims 21-34 are withdrawn. Claims 1-6 are currently examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites "... the source powder is distributed within the compartment … based on a relative positioning between the heating element and the crucible…", which is not described in the specification as originally filed. Claims 2-6 are rejected because they depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straubinger et al (US 20130305983 A1, “Straubinger”) in view of Jang et al (US 20210372003 A1, “Jang”).
Regarding claim 1, Straubinger teaches a crucible for manufacturing a semiconductor crystal comprising a hollow wall that includes an outer crucible wall 102 and a vertical portion of barriers 116A’ and 116B’ (an inner wall) (fig 2, 0029-0030), the inner wall being formed using a graphite membrane (0025, 0030, 0038), and defining a compartment between the inner wall (a vertical portion of barriers 116A’ and 116B’) and the outer wall (fig 2), the graphite membrane having a porosity sufficient to enable diffusion of vapor sublimated from source powder disposed within the compartment when the source powder is sublimated by a heating element (abstract, 0007, 0016, 0029-0031, 0034, 0037-0042); a seed crystal site (first seed crystal site) disposed to receive a first seed crystal 106B (or 106A) (figs 1 and 2, 0024); and another seed crystal site (a second seed crystal site) at an opposed end of the crucible from the first seed crystal site and disposed to receive a second seed crystal 106A (or 106B) (figs 1 and 2, 0024), wherein the hollow wall (including the outer wall and inner wall (the vertical portion of barriers 116A’ and 116B’)) extends along a direction between the first seed crystal and the second seed crystal (fig 2).
Straubinger teaches the source powder being distributed within the compartment, the heating element and the crucible as addressed above, and further teaches that the source powder is distributed within the compartment to establish an axial temperature gradient from the source powder to the first seed crystal site and to the second seed crystal site being established (fig 3, 0031, 0032), but does not explicitly teach the heating element disposed around an exterior of the crucible and based on a relative positioning between the heating element and the crucible. However, Jang teaches an apparatus, wherein a heater disposed around an exterior of the crucible, and a relative position between the heater and the crucible is adjusted by moving of the heater for producing more favorable temperature gradient/distribution (abstract, 0005, 0006, 0017, 0038, 0058, 0079, 0084, 0085, 0094, 0101, 0103). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Straubinger per teaching of Jang in order to provide suitable conditions for making crystal with reduced defects and improved quality (Jang 0005, 0006, 0017, 0035, 0074). It is well established that the mere rearrangement of parts without modifying the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. See, e.g., In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975); see also MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C). Also, it is well established that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See also MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 2, Straubinger/Jang teaches a horizonal portion of the graphite membranes (graphite filter) within the crucible and positioned above the second seed crystal site when the crucible has a vertical orientation and the second seed crystal site is at a bottom of the crucible (Straubinger fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, Straubinger/Jang teaches a horizonal portion of the graphite membranes (a divider) configured to separate the crucible into a first crucible portion and a second crucible portion (Straubinger fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, Straubinger/Jang teaches that the growth system comprising the crucible has a longitudinal symmetry axis, e.g., the crucible is cylindrical (Straubinger 0029). Furthermore, absent persuasive evidence showing that a particular configuration is significant, a mere change in shape is not sufficient to provide a patentable distinction over the prior art since the shape itself may be considered as merely a matter of design choice. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (B).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straubinger/ Jang as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kagan et al (WO 2022106639 A1, “Kagan”).
Regarding claim 4, Straubinger/Jang teaches the divider separating the crucible into the first crucible portion and the second crucible portion as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach the divider includes a second graphite membrane having a porosity that does not permit passage of the vapor. However, Kagan teaches a furnace for growing crystals, wherein a member made of graphite is used for preventing leakage of vapor (page 31). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Straubinger/Jang per teachings of Kagan in order to provide an improved furnace apparatus for crystal production (Kagan page 4). Further, it is well-established that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straubinger/Jang as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Shaoping Wang (US 20070256630 A1, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 5, Straubinger/Jang teaches the crucible being divided into the first crucible portion including the first seed crystal site and the second crucible portion including the second seed crystal site as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach the crucible is detachable. However, it is a known practice that a top/first portion for a first seed and a bottom/second portion for a second seed crucible are jointed together through a mating joint as taught by Wang (figs 7-10, 0082 and 0084), e.g.., the crucible being detachable. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Straubinger/Jang per teachings of Wang in order to provide an apparatus which is capable of producing crystal with controlled qualities (Wang 0021, 0082 and 0084). Furthermore, the court has held that making the structure integral or separable would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. MPEP 2144.04 V.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because the arguments do not apply to the new ground rejection provided above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714