DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-6 and 13 have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IKENAGA (US 20190323117 A1, cited in previous office action), hereinafter “Ikenaga,” in view of KIM (US 20200208250 A1, cited in conclusion section of the previous office action), hereinafter “Kim.”
Re: Independent claim 1, Ikenaga discloses a mask comprising:
a body having a length in a first direction and comprising (Fig. 1, deposition mask 20 having a body length in a first direction; Note: the first direction is interpreted as the long direction where the ear areas 24 overlap the frame 15.):
a plurality of first cell areas arranged in the first direction and respectively comprising a plurality of first holes (Fig. 1, shows multiple cell areas such as the three effective areas labeled 22, i.e., first cell areas, on a deposition mask 20 in a first direction; See Figs. 10 and 13; ¶0065: A plurality of through holes 25 are formed in the effective area 22; Also see annotated Fig. 13 below.); and
a plurality of second cell areas respectively comprising a plurality of second holes (Fig. 1 shows multiple cell areas including two effective areas adjacent to the three effective areas labeled 22 on mask 20; See Figs. 10 and 13; ¶0065: A plurality of through holes; Also see annotated Fig. 13 below.); and
a clamping part protruding from the body in the first direction and being integral with the body (Fig. 1, ear areas 24, i.e., clamping part, protruding in a first direction; ¶0064: deposition mask 20 is attached to the frame 15 at each ear area 24), wherein an alignment mark is defined on the body and is offset from the first holes and the second holes (Fig. 13 shows pitch marks 47, i.e., alignment mark, offset from first holes in the left cell area and the second holes in the right cell area; ¶0103: Pitch marks are used as reference points), and
wherein the alignment mark overlaps the first and second cell areas … when viewed in a second direction crossing the first direction (Fig. 13 shows pitch marks 47 overlapping the first and second cell areas when viewed in a vertical direction of Fig. 13 which crosses the first direction; See Annotated Fig. 13 below).
However, Ikenaga does not specifically disclose … and an area between the first and second cell areas.
In a similar field of endeavor having to do with mask alignment, Kim discloses … and an area between the first and second cell areas (Fig. 5 shows an align key region 444a, i.e., alignment marks, between cell areas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have modified Ikenaga to include alignment marks in an area between cell regions, as disclosed in Kim, in order to improve an alignment mark detection rate thus increasing accuracy in mask positional alignment (See Kim, ¶0009).
Re: claim 4, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim discloses the mask of claim 1.
Ikenaga further discloses wherein the alignment mark comprises a plurality of marks arranged in the first direction (Fig. 13 shows a plurality of pitch marks 47, i.e., alignment marks, aligned in a first direction. See Annotated Fig. 13 above).
Re: claim 5, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim discloses the mask of claim 4.
Ikenaga further discloses wherein the alignment mark comprises a first alignment mark and a second alignment mark spaced apart from each other in the second direction with the first holes and the second holes therebetween (Fig. 13 shows a first pitch mark 47 and a second pitch mark 47 spaced apart in a second direction with first and second holes therebetween. Also, see annotated Fig. 13 above.),
wherein each of the first and second alignment marks comprises the marks, and wherein the marks of each of the first and second alignment marks are aligned with each other in the second direction (Fig. 13 shows a first pitch mark 47 and a second pitch mark 47 aligned with each other in a second direction.).
Re: claim 6, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim discloses the mask of claim 5.
Ikenaga further discloses wherein each of the marks has a circular, oval, or cross shape on a plane (Fig. 13 shows pitch marks 47 which are circular in shape.).
Re: claim 13, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim discloses the mask of claim 1.
Ikenaga further discloses wherein the alignment mark is on an area on which the first cell areas and the second cell areas are adjacent to each other (Fig. 13 shows alignment marks 47 with two adjacent cell areas 22b and 22a), and
wherein the number of first cell areas and the number of second cell areas are the same (Fig. 13 shows cell areas 22b and 22a with alignment marks in an area between the cell areas. In this embodiment there is one cell area to the left and one cell area to the right of the alignment marks 47, i.e., the number of cell areas are the same).
Claims 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IKENAGA (US 20190323117 A1) in view of KIM (US 20200208250 A1) and SONODA et al. (US 20120183676 A1, cited in previous office action), hereinafter “Sonoda.”
Re: claim 2, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim discloses the mask of claim 1.
However, the combination does not clearly disclose wherein the alignment mark is a hole or a recess.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sonoda discloses wherein the alignment mark is a hole or a recess (¶0384: The alignment markers 84 are each, for example, an opening formed in an alignment marker section 83 of the shadow mask 81. The opening can also be a notch section.; ¶0464: providing the shadow mask 81 with a reference position marker such as an alignment marker for an absolute alignment which alignment marker is used to place the shadow mask 81 at an absolute position and (ii) referring to the positional relationship between the above reference marker and a reference position provided on the device side.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date have modified the mask disclosed in Ikenaga to include alignment markers as taught by Sonoda in order to improve alignment accuracy, and in turn further improve vapor deposition accuracy (See Sonoda, ¶1132).
Re: claim 7, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim discloses the mask of claim 1.
Ikenaga further discloses wherein the alignment mark comprises a first alignment mark and a second alignment mark spaced apart from each other in the second direction with the first holes and the second holes therebetween (Fig. 13 shows a first pitch mark 47 and a second pitch mark 47 spaced apart in a second direction with first and second holes therebetween.),
However, Ikenaga does not specifically disclose wherein each of the first and second alignment marks has a bar shape extending in the first direction, and wherein the marks of each of the first and second alignment marks are aligned with each other in the second direction.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sonoda discloses wherein each of the first and second alignment marks has a bar shape extending in the first direction (Figs. 5: shape (a) belt/bar; Fig. 24: alignment markers 84 extend in a first direction and may be bar shaped; ¶0359: The alignment markers 84 and 221 may each be, as illustrated in (a) through (d) of FIG. 5, in the shape of, for example, (i) a belt, i.e., a bar shape …The alignment markers 84 and 221 are thus not particularly limited in terms of shape.), and wherein the marks of each of the first and second alignment marks are aligned with each other in the second direction (Fig. 24 shows first and second alignment marks 84 which are aligned with each other in a second direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the mask disclosed in Ikenaga to include alignment markers, as taught by Sonoda, in order to improve alignment accuracy, and in turn further improve vapor deposition accuracy (See Sonoda, ¶1132).
Re: claim 8, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim and Sonoda discloses the mask of claim 7.
Sonoda further discloses wherein a length of each of the first and second alignment marks in the first direction is greater than a distance between adjacent cell areas of the first and second cell areas (Fig. 24 shows alignment markers 84 which have a length greater than adjacent openings 82, i.e., cell areas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the mask disclosed in Ikenaga to include alignment markers, as taught by Sonoda, in order to improve alignment accuracy and in turn further improve vapor deposition accuracy (See Sonoda, ¶1132).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IKENAGA (US 20190323117 A1) in view of KIM (US 20200208250 A1) and LUO et al. (US 20210230734 A1, cited in previous office action), hereinafter “Luo.”
Re: claim 3, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim discloses the mask of claim 1.
However, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim does not specifically disclose wherein the alignment mark comprises a photoresist.
In a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses wherein the alignment mark comprises a photoresist (¶0035: forming at least one second detection mark opening in the fixed mask sheet by laser cutting at a position corresponding to the first detection mark opening… As shown in FIGS. 5 to 7, a first detection mark opening 51 may be disposed in the blocking 2 between openings corresponding to sub-pixel openings 53 in the mask sheet 3, or may be disposed in the blocking 2 corresponding to a portion between the sub-pixel opening 53 and the frame 1. As shown in FIG. 7, a second detection mark opening 55 may be disposed between at least part of the sub-pixel openings 53 in a row direction or a column direction in which the sub-pixels are arranged.; ¶0044: FIG. 2 shows a process of forming an original align mark. Taking an align hole on the blocking as an example, a photoresist material is first coated on the blocking, and then part of the photoresist material corresponding to a position of the original align mark is removed to form a photoresist material notch. The blocking is etched on the side coated with the photoresist material, and a groove is formed on one side of the blocking facing the photoresist material corresponding to a position of the photoresist material notch. Secondly, another groove is formed on the other side of the blocking at the position corresponding to the original align mark in the same manner, and the grooves on two sides of the blocking are communicated to each other to form the original align mark.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious by a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the mask as disclosed by Ikenaga to include a process of forming alignment marks using a photoresist method, as disclosed by Luo, in order to reduce the probability or degree of deformation or displacement of the evaporation align hole in the mask assembly and to maintained the original shape of the evaporation align hole, which is conducive to improving the accuracy of mask sheet alignment and the accuracy of evaporation (See Luo, ¶0084).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IKENAGA (US 20190323117 A1) in view of KIM (US 20200208250 A1) and YU et al. (US 20210255540 A1, cited in previous office action), hereinafter “Yu.”
Re: claim 14, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim discloses the mask of claim 1.
Ikenaga further discloses wherein the alignment mark is on an area on which the first cell areas and the second cell areas are adjacent to each other (Fig. 13 shows alignment marks 47 with two adjacent cell areas 22b and 22a), and
However, Ikenaga does not specifically disclose wherein the number of first cell areas and the number of second cell areas are different from each other.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yu discloses wherein the number of first cell areas and the number of second cell areas are different from each other (Fig. 1I shows align key region 142a; See Fig. 4; ¶0105: The plurality of first align key regions 342a and 342b disposed along the first portion 342 makes it easy to align the mask 300.; Fig. 5 shows a plurality of align key regions 442a, 442b and 444a surrounding a plurality of cell areas.; ¶0107: The mask 400 shown in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6 includes a first portion 442, a second portion 444, and a third portion 446. The first portion 442 surrounds the outer periphery of the plurality of cell regions CELL. The second portion 444 is located between the cell regions CELL. Further, the third portion 446 defines the plurality of openings 170 in the plurality of cell regions CELL.; ¶0108: the mask 400 according to yet another embodiment of the present disclosure includes a plurality of first align key regions 442a and 442b and a plurality of second align key regions 444a.; In other words, different alignment keys/marks may be used to provide alignment between a variation of cell areas in a mask such that a first and second number of cell areas may be different from each other.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mask structure as disclosed by Ikenaga, to include variations of alignment marks around a different number of cell areas in order to increase a detection rate of the align key and easily align the mask (See Yu, ¶0018).
Re: claim 15, the combination of Ikenaga in view of Kim and Yu discloses the mask of claim 14.
Yu further discloses wherein the number of first cell areas is greater than that of second cell areas (See Fig. 4; ¶0105: The plurality of first align key regions 342a and 342b disposed along the first portion 342 makes it easy to align the mask 300.; Fig. 5 shows a plurality of align key regions 442a, 442b and 444a surrounding a plurality of cell areas.; ¶0108: the mask 400 according to yet another embodiment of the present disclosure includes a plurality of first align key regions 442a and 442b and a plurality of second align key regions 444a.; In other words, different alignment keys/marks may be used to provide alignment between a variation of cell areas in a mask such that a first and second number of cell areas may be different from each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the mask structure as disclosed by Ikenaga, to include variations of alignment marks around a different number of cell areas in order to increase a detection rate of the align key and easily align the mask (See Yu, ¶0018).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM ADROVEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898