DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-15 are pending in the Amendment filed 01/29/2026.
The rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugishima et al. (US 20230159864 A1) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to independent claims 1 and 2 (excluding “hydroxylamine” from the claimed compositions).
However, claims 1-3, 6, and 8-10 are rejected over newly relied upon reference to Honda et al. (US 6103680 A).
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over newly cited reference to Sun et al. (CN 111381459 A, Machine Translation).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 11 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-10 are rejected over newly relied upon reference to Honda et al. (US 6103680 A), which teaches a composition comprising hydroxyethyl hydrazine, i.e. claimed compound (A) and EDTA, i.e., compound (B) [col. 6, Example 5; claim 1].
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over newly cited reference to Sun et al. (CN 111381459 A, Machine Translation), which teaches a cleaning composition comprising hydrazine derivatives and amines [claim 1, claim 5; Abstract].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As to claims 8-10, each of the claimed recite intended uses of the claimed composition of claim 1. Each claim is therefore not given patentable weight because they are directed to an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.02, II. As such, each of the claims 8-10 fail to further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Honda et al. (US 6103680 A).
As to claim 1, Honda discloses a cleaning liquid for cleaning a substrate [Abstract] having a first metal atom-containing layer that contains ruthenium and a second metal atom-containing layer that contains a metal atom other than ruthenium, wherein both of the layers contact each other, wherein at least one of the first metal atom-containing layer and the second metal atom-containing layer is exposed on a surface [Abstract], the cleaning liquid comprising:
[Examiner Note: The above italicized preamble recitation is not given patentable weight because it is interpreted as an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.01, II.]
at least one hydrazine compound (A) selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by General Formula (al) [col. 6, Example 5, “HEH”, hydroxyethyl hydrazine], a hydrate of the compound, and a salt of the compound; and
at least one basic compound (B) selected from the group consisting of an amine other than the hydrazine compound (A) [col. 6, Example 5, “EDTA”] and a quaternary hydroxide,
(al) wherein R1 represents an organic group including no carbonyl group or a hydrogen atom, and R2 represents an organic group including no carbonyl group [col. 6, Example 5, “HEH”, hydroxyethyl hydrazine], and
wherein the cleaning liquid does not contain hydroxylamine [col. 6, Example 5].
As to claim 2, Honda discloses a cleaning liquid for cleaning a substrate [Abstract] having a first metal atom-containing layer that contains a noble metal atom and a second metal atom-containing layer that contains a base metal atom, wherein both of the layers contact each other, wherein at least one of the first metal atom-containing layer and the second metal atom-containing layer is exposed on a surface [Abstract], the cleaning liquid comprising:
[Examiner Note: The above italicized preamble recitation is not given patentable weight because it is interpreted as an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.01, II.]
at least one hydrazine compound (A) selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by General Formula (al) [col. 6, Example 5, “HEH”, hydroxyethyl hydrazine], a hydrate of the compound, and a salt of the compound; and
at least one basic compound (B) selected from the group consisting of an amine other than the hydrazine compound (A) [col. 6, Example 5, “EDTA”] and a quaternary hydroxide,
(al) wherein R1 represents an organic group including no carbonyl group or a hydrogen atom, and R2 represents an organic group including no carbonyl group [col. 6, Example 5, “HEH”, hydroxyethyl hydrazine], and
wherein the cleaning liquid does not contain hydroxylamine [col. 6, Example 5].
As to claim 8, Honda discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, wherein the second metal atom containing layer contains copper.
Examiner Note: The above italicized limitation is not given patentable weight because it is interpreted as an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.02, II.
As to claim 9, Honda discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning liquid is used for cleaning the substrate after chemical mechanical polishing of a wiring layer, and the wiring layer is the first metal atom-containing layer or the second metal atom-containing layer.
Examiner Note: The above italicized limitation is not given patentable weight because it is interpreted as an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.02, II.
As to claim 10, Honda discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning liquid is used for cleaning the substrate after a via connected to a wiring layer is formed by a dual damascene Process.
Examiner Note: The above italicized limitation is not given patentable weight because it is interpreted as an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.02, II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al. (US 6103680 A), as applied to claims 1-2 and 8-10 above.
As to claim 3, Honda discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, further comprising a hydroxy carboxylic acid (C) [claim 1, “citric acid, lactic acid…tartaric acid, ethylene-diaminetetraacetic acid…and mixtures thereof”].
Here, Honda fails to explicitly disclose a composition of Example 5 [col. 6] further including a hydroxy carboxylic acid. However, Honda teaches that mixtures of carboxylic acids are suitable to form the cleaning composition, and therefore renders obvious the combination of Example 5 (i.e., EDTA) with other carboxylic acids, among them “citric acid, lactic acid…tartaric acid” [claim 1] which are “hydroxy carboxylic acid (C)” as recited in claim 3.
As to claim 6, Honda discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of a buffer, an anticorrosive agent [claim 16], a surfactant [claim 16], and an organic solvent [claim 5].
Here, Honda fails to explicitly disclose a composition of Example 5 [col. 6] further including a buffer, an anticorrosive agent, a surfactant, and an organic solvent. However, Honda teaches that the cleaning composition may further include a water-miscible solvent [claim 5], and further a surfactant, corrosion inhibitor, or combination thereof [claim 15]. Honda therefore renders obvious the combination of Example 5 (i.e., EDTA) with an organic solvent, and further a surfactant, corrosion inhibitor, or combination thereof, in order to form an effective cleaning composition, as taught by Honda [claim 3; claim 15].
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 111381459 A, Machine Translation).
As to claim 1, Sun discloses a cleaning liquid for cleaning a substrate [Abstract] having a first metal atom-containing layer that contains ruthenium and a second metal atom-containing layer that contains a metal atom other than ruthenium, wherein both of the layers contact each other, wherein at least one of the first metal atom-containing layer and the second metal atom-containing layer is exposed on a surface [Abstract], the cleaning liquid comprising:
[Examiner Note: The above italicized preamble recitation is not given patentable weight because it is interpreted as an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.01, II.]
at least one hydrazine compound (A) selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by General Formula (al) [claim 1; claim 6, “ hydrazine ethanol”], a hydrate of the compound, and a salt of the compound; and
at least one basic compound (B) selected from the group consisting of an amine other than the hydrazine compound (A) [claims 1-3] and a quaternary hydroxide,
(al) wherein R1 represents an organic group including no carbonyl group or a hydrogen atom, and R2 represents an organic group including no carbonyl group [claim 1; claim 6, “ hydrazine ethanol”], and
wherein the cleaning liquid does not contain hydroxylamine [claim 1; claim 6].
Here, Sun fails to explicitly disclose a specific embodiment comprising the disclosed species hydrazine ethanol [claim 1, claim 6], but nonetheless would render obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a photoresist cleaning composition comprising the combination of hydrazine ethanol and an amine compound [claim 1-3] in order to form a cleaning composition effective to remove photoresist residue from semiconductor wafers comprising gold and silver, as taught by Sun [Abstract, claims 1-3].
As to claim 2, Honda discloses a cleaning liquid for cleaning a substrate [Abstract] having a first metal atom-containing layer that contains a noble metal atom and a second metal atom-containing layer that contains a base metal atom, wherein both of the layers contact each other, wherein at least one of the first metal atom-containing layer and the second metal atom-containing layer is exposed on a surface [Abstract], the cleaning liquid comprising:
[Examiner Note: The above italicized preamble recitation is not given patentable weight because it is interpreted as an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.01, II.]
at least one hydrazine compound (A) selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by General Formula (al) [claim 1; claim 6, “ hydrazine ethanol”], a hydrate of the compound, and a salt of the compound; and
at least one basic compound (B) selected from the group consisting of an amine other than the hydrazine compound (A) [claims 1-3] and a quaternary hydroxide,
(al) wherein R1 represents an organic group including no carbonyl group or a hydrogen atom, and R2 represents an organic group including no carbonyl group [claim 1; claim 6, “ hydrazine ethanol”], and
wherein the cleaning liquid does not contain hydroxylamine [claim 1; claim 6].
Here, Sun fails to explicitly disclose a specific embodiment comprising the disclosed species hydrazine ethanol [claim 1, claim 6], but nonetheless would render obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a photoresist cleaning composition comprising the combination of hydrazine ethanol and an amine compound [claim 1-3] in order to form a cleaning composition effective to remove photoresist residue from semiconductor wafers comprising gold and silver, as taught by Sun [Abstract, claims 1-3].
As to claim 4, Sun discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, wherein the hydrazine compound (A) has a concentration of 1.0% by mass or less with respect to a total mass of the cleaning liquid [claim 11].
As to claim 5, Sun discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, wherein the basic compound (B) is at least one selected from the group consisting of a quaternary hydroxide, a tertiary monoamine, and a tertiary alkanolamine [claims 3-4].
As to claim 6, Sun discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of a buffer [claim 5], an anticorrosive agent, a surfactant, and an organic solvent.
As to claim 7, Sun discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 6, wherein the buffer is a compound with pKa of 6 to 11 [claim 5, e.g., boric acid].
As to claim 8, Sun discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, wherein the second metal atom-containing layer contains copper [Abstract].
Examiner Note: The above italicized limitation is not given patentable weight because it is interpreted as an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.02, II.
As to claim 9, Sun discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning liquid is used for cleaning the substrate after chemical mechanical polishing of a wiring layer, and the wiring layer is the first metal atom-containing layer or the second metal atom-containing layer [Abstract].
Examiner Note: The above italicized limitation is not given patentable weight because it is interpreted as an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.02, II.
As to claim 10, Sun discloses the cleaning liquid according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning liquid is used for cleaning the substrate after a via connected to a wiring layer is formed by a dual damascene Process [Abstract].
Examiner Note: The above italicized limitation is not given patentable weight because it is interpreted as an intended use of the composition which does not limit the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.02, II.
As to claim 12, Sun discloses a method for cleaning a substrate having a first metal atom-containing layer that contains a noble metal atom and a second metal atom-containing layer that contains a base metal atom, wherein both of the layers contact each other, [Abstract] the method comprising cleaning a substrate wherein at least one of the first metal atom-containing layer and the second metal atom-containing layer is exposed on a surface, using the cleaning liquid according to claim 1 [Abstract, claim 1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 11, the closest prior art of record to Honda et al. (US 6103680 A) fails to teach or suggest “the method comprising cleaning a substrate wherein at least one of the first metal atom-containing layer and the second metal atom-containing layer is exposed on a surface, using the cleaning liquid according to claim 1.” in conjunction with the preamble of claim 11 (“a substrate having a first metal atom-containing layer that contains a ruthenium atom and a second metal atom-containing layer that contains a metal atom other than ruthenium”).
Claims 13-15 are considered to contain allowable subject matter based on their dependence on claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: The additionally cited references are cited to show compositions comprising hydrazine or derivatives thereof [Abstract].
/CHRISTOPHER REMAVEGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1713