Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark; Daniel O. et al. (US 20090017206 A1) and Kambara; Shinji et al. (US 20210238034 A1) in view of Grant; Robert Bruce (US 20100071549 A1). Clark teaches a gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) recycling system (204-232; Figure 2,5) for connection to a processing chamber (202; Figure 2,5), comprising: a pump (208; Figure 2,5) configured to fluidly connect to one or more outlet passages (204; Figure 2,5) of the processing chamber (202; Figure 2,5) to exhaust a gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) from the processing chamber (202; Figure 2,5);one or more filtration devices (212,212’,228; Figure 2,5-Applicant’s 182,184; Figure 1) in fluid communication with the pump (208; Figure 2,5) such that the gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) flows from the pump (208; Figure 2,5) to the one or more filtration devices (212,212’,228; Figure 2,5-Applicant’s 182,184; Figure 1), the one or more filtration devices (212,212’,228; Figure 2,5-Applicant’s 182,184; Figure 1) configured to remove one or more impurities from the gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) to generate a filtered gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) that has a purity (“high purity”; [0055],[0061],[0063]), wherein the one or more filtration devices (212,212’,228; Figure 2,5-Applicant’s 182,184; Figure 1) comprise: a first filtration device (212; Figure 2,5); and a second filtration device (228; Figure 2,5) in fluid communication between the first filtration device (212; Figure 2,5) and the gas supply system (230; Figure 2; 510; Figure 5; hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) such that the gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) flows from the first filtration device (212; Figure 2,5) to the second filtration device (228; Figure 2,5); and a gas supply system (230; Figure 2; 510; Figure 5; hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) in fluid communication with the one or more filtration devices (212,212’,228; Figure 2,5-Applicant’s 182,184; Figure 1) such that the filtered gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) flows from the one or more filtration devices (212,212’,228; Figure 2,5-Applicant’s 182,184; Figure 1) to the gas supply system (230; Figure 2; 510; Figure 5; hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..), the gas supply system (230; Figure 2; 510; Figure 5; hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) configured to fluidly connect to one or more inlet passages (232; Figure 2,5) of the processing chamber (202; Figure 2,5) – claim 1
Clark further teaches:
Clark further teaches a scrubber (112; Figure 4) in a separate embodiment – claim 1
The gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) recycling system (204-232; Figure 2,5) of claim 2, further comprising: a third filtration device (212’; Figure 2,5) in fluid communication between the pump (208; Figure 2,5) and a bypass line (210; Figure 2,5) that bypasses the one or more filtration devices (212; Figure 2,5-Applicant’s 182,184; Figure 1); a controller (158; Figure 1A; [0050]-common to Figure 2) comprising instructions that, when executed, cause a plurality of operations to be conducted, the plurality of operations – claim 3
the gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) recycling system (204-232; Figure 2,5) of claim 1, wherein the gas supply system (230; Figure 2; 510; Figure 5; hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) comprises: a purge supply system (510; Figure 5) in fluid communication with one or more purge gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) sources (230; Figure 2; 510; Figure 5);a process supply system (230; Figure 5) in fluid communication with one or more reactive gas sources (230; Figure 5-hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) and one or more carrier gas sources (510; Figure 5; hydrogen; [0022], [0038], etc..) – claim 5
The gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) recycling system (204-232; Figure 2,5) of claim 5, wherein the filtered gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) flows into one or more of the purge supply system (510; Figure 5), the process supply system (230; Figure 5), or the cleaning supply system, as claimed by claim 6
The gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) recycling system (204-232; Figure 2,5) of claim 1, further comprising: a buffer tank (220, 222, 220’, or 222’; Figure 2,5) in fluid communication between the one or more filtration devices (212,212’; Figure 2,5-Applicant’s 182,184; Figure 1) and the gas supply system (230; Figure 2; 510; Figure 5; hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..),a compressor (224; Figure 2,5) in fluid communication between the one or more filtration devices (228; Figure 2,5-Applicant’s 182,184; Figure 1) and the buffer tank (220, 222, 220’, or 222’; Figure 2,5), wherein the compressor (224; Figure 2,5) is configured to pressurize the filtered gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..), as claimed by claim 7
Kambara also teaches a hydrogen recycle system (All Figures) including high purity hydrogen recovery of 99.99999% ([0037]) using an optimized process controller (15; Figure 1).
Clark and Kambara do not teach:
Clark’s one or more filtration devices (212,212’,228; Figure 2,5-Applicant’s 182,184; Figure 1) configured to remove one or more impurities from the gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) to generate a filtered gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) that has a purity (“high purity”; [0055],[0061],[0063]) content of 99.9% or higher, wherein the first filtration device (212; Figure 2,5) is a scrubber and the second filtration device (228; Figure 2,5) is an electrochemical filter – claim 1
Clark’s controller (158; Figure 1A; [0050]-common to Figure 2) comprising a plurality of operations comprising: identifying a first portion and a second portion of the gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..), directing the first portion of the gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) to Clark’s first filtration device (212; Figure 2,5), and directing the second portion of the gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) to Clark’s third filtration device (212’; Figure 2,5) – claim 3
a cleaning supply system in fluid communication with one or more cleaning gas (hydrogen, silane; [0022], [0038], etc..) sources – claim 5
Grant also teaches a hydrogen recycling system (title; Figure 1,2) including an electrochemical solid-state purifier (46; Figure 1) for dopant gas recovery ([0033]). Grant also teaches a cleaning gas source (60; Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Clark to optimize Clark’s controller (158; Figure 1A; [0050]-common to Figure 2) for increased hydrogen and/or process gas recovery as taught by Clark and Kambara.
Motivation for Clark to optimize Clark’s controller (158; Figure 1A; [0050]-common to Figure 2) for increased hydrogen and/or process gas recovery as taught by Clark and Kambara is for reducing process economic overhead by reducing raw material purchases as taught by Kambara ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Clark to add Grant’s electrochemical solid-state purifier (46; Figure 1), additional scrubber, and cleaning gas source (60; Figure 2).
Motivation for Clark to add Grant’s electrochemical solid-state purifier (46; Figure 1) and additional scrubber is for dopant gas recovery as taught by Grant ([0033]).
Motivation for Clark to add Grant’s cleaning gas source (60; Figure 2) is for “removing deposits from the internal surfaces of the process chamber” as taught by Clark ([0037]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
“
Kambara fails to cure the deficiencies of Clark. Kambara discloses that a "hydrogen recycle means.. includes a plasma reaction vessel.. a hydrogen separation membrane an electrode. and an adsorbent that is filled in the discharge space and adsorbs the supplied exhaust gas." Kambara fails to disclose "one or more filtration devices compris[ing] a first filtration device; and a second filtration device in fluid communication between the first filtration device and the gas supply system such that the gas flows from the first filtration device to the second filtration device, wherein the first filtration device is a scrubber and the second filtration device is an electrochemical filter." Therefore, Clark and Kambara, alone or in combination, fail to teach, show, suggest, or otherwise render obvious claim 1 and claims dependent thereon. Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.
“
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 7 under Clark; Daniel O. et al. (US 20090017206 A1) in view of Kambara; Shinji et al. (US 20210238034 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Clark; Daniel O. et al. (US 20090017206 A1) and Kambara; Shinji et al. (US 20210238034 A1) in view of Grant; Robert Bruce (US 20100071549 A1).
Applicant states:
“
Claims 5-6 depend from independent claim 1. Claim 4 has been cancelled. The deficiencies of Clark and Kambara are disclosed herein. Grant fails to cure the deficiencies of Clark and Kambara. Grant teaches that a " gas conduit 44 includes a number of devices for treating the diverted portion of the gas a first gas treatment device 46 may comprise a solid-state purifier comprising an alkali metal ion conducting membrane [which] can behave as an electrochemical concentration cell, with the alkali metal ions reacting with species contained in the diverted portion of the gas " (Grant para. [0033]). Grant is silent regarding "the first filtration device and the gas supply system such that the gas flows from the first filtration device to the second filtration device, wherein the first filtration device is a scrubber and the second filtration device is an electrochemical filter."
“
In response, the Examiner disagrees and notes that, as stated before, Clark further teaches a scrubber (112; Figure 4) in a separate embodiment. Further, Grant also teaches a hydrogen recycling system (title; Figure 1,2) including an electrochemical solid-state purifier (46; Figure 1) for dopant gas recovery ([0033]). Grant also teaches a cleaning gas source (60; Figure 2).
Applicant states:
“
Furthermore, one with ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to add Grant's electrochemical solid-state purifier to the substrate coating system of Clark, as alleged in the Office Action. Clark teaches that "during the coating process, an excess hydrogen and silane gas stream may be evacuated by blower package 108 from the substrate coating chamber 102 through conduit 104, throttle valve 106 and conduit 110, and passed into scrubber 112 then into cold trap 116 into dryer 122 where the gas stream may be dried to less than about 2 ppm water [and] may be a high purity stream of hydrogen gas which may then be inserted into gas box 134 for reuse as a reagent" (Clark para. [0038]).
“
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, all of Grant and Clark have teaching, suggestion, and motivation for the combination found either in the references themselves. Specifically, at least both Grant and Clark seek to reclaim and use process gas dopant as taught by Grant ([0013], [0033]) and Clark ([0025],[0038],[0052]…)
Applicant states:
“
By contrast, Grant teaches that "a solid-state purifier comprising an alkali metal ion conducting membrane [behaving] as an electrochemical concentration cell" (Grant para. [0033]). Introducing Grant's alkali-ion membrane purifier downstream of Clark's wet scrubber would present feed-compatibility issues (moisture and ionic carryover) that Clark itself mitigates only by deep drying, and would require re-engineering operating pressure and flow conditions away from Clark's architecture. Therefore, Clark, Kambara, and Grant, alone or in combination, fail to teach, show, suggest, or otherwise render obvious claim 1 and claims dependent thereon. Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.
“
In response, the Examiner disagrees and notes that even assuming arguendo that Grant requires a liquid in Grant’s solid-state purifier, such a requirement is also met based on the fact that Clark’s scrubber (112; Figure 4) is upstream of Clark’s drier (122) and Clark’s cold trap (116) that each are intended to condense (116) and then vaporize (122), respectively, downstream from the added Grant’s electrochemical solid-state purifier (46; Figure 1) for dopant gas recovery ([0033]) – claim 1. This would be the only logical place for a person of ordinary skill in the art to add Grant’s electrochemical solid-state purifier (46; Figure 1) to Clark’s apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Recycling systems for semiconductor processing systems include US 20110206842 A1; US 20150139879 A1; US 20130139690 A1; US 20120058022 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716