DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are pending. Claim 10 has been canceled. Claims 16-19 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 11, 14, 18, and 20 have been amended.
Declaration
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(a) filed 12/8/2025 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-15 and 20-21 based upon 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as set forth in the last Office action because the declaration fails to establish that No Kyung Park is not a joint inventor of the subject matter disclosed in US 2021/0335883 that is relied upon for rejection below.
The declaration is ineffective because it lacks a reasonable explanation of No Kyung Park’s role in the US 2021/0335883. When the inventor attributes a reference to himself and the reference names someone else in addition to the inventor, a reasonable explanation of the other person’s involvement is required. The declaration does not establish the subject matter that is invented by No Kyung Park in the US 2021/0335883. A naked assertion that “No Kyung Park contributed to the conception of subject matter other than the specific subject matter cited in the Office action” in insufficient. Thus, the declaration fails to establish No Kyung Park is not an inventor of the subject matter cited in the rejection below. See MPEP 2155.01, Example 2 in particular.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7, 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 reciting “a first alignment electrode, a second alignment electrode, a third alignment electrode, a fourth alignment electrode” renders the claim indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis. It is unclear how are these related to the first/second/third/fourth alignment electrodes previously recited in claim 1.
Claim 20 reciting “all of the alignment electrodes are connected to receive the anode signal or the cathode signal from the connection electrodes” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is the intended scope. Does the claim intend to recite that all of the alignment electrodes are connected to receive the same signal? E.g. all of the alignment electrodes are connected to receive the anode signal? Or does the claim intended to recite that each of the alignment electrodes are connected to receive one of the anode signal or the cathode signal.
Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-15 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. US 2021/0335883 A1 (Park).
In re claim 1, Park discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2,4,5,19) a display device comprising:
pixels PX1,PX2,PX3,
wherein the pixels comprise:
alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 on a base layer 19,BNL1;
a light emitting element ED on the alignment electrodes; and
connection electrodes CNE electrically connected to the light emitting element ED,
wherein each of the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 is electrically connected to one of the connection electrodes CNE through one of contact portions OP1,OP2,OP3 (see FIG. 19 annotated above, first alignment electrode RM_P1 (on the left of each pixel) is electrically connected to connection electrode CNE2_7 through contact opening OP2, second alignment electrode RME2_7 is electrically connected to connection electrode CNE5_7 through contact opening OP3, third alignment electrode RME1_7 (on the left of each pixel) is electrically connected to connection electrode CNE1_7 through contact opening OP1, and fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (on the right of each pixel) is electrically connected to connection electrode CNE4_7 through contact opening O31),
wherein a number of the contact portions (three contact openings OP1,OP2,OP3) defined in each of the pixels is less than a number of the alignment electrodes (at least four alignment electrodes RM_P1, RME2_7, RME1_7, and RM_E2 all in PX1),
wherein the connection electrodes CNE comprise a first connection electrode CNE2_7, a second connection electrode CNE3_7, a third connection electrode CNE4_7, a fourth connection electrode CNE5_7, and a fifth connection electrode CNE1_7,
wherein the alignment electrodes comprise (see FIG. 19 annotated above) a first alignment electrode RM_P1 (on the left side of each subpixel), a second alignment electrode RME2_7, a third alignment electrode RME1_7, and a fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (on the right side of each subpixel),
wherein the light emitting element ED comprises a first light emitting element ED_A, a second light emitting element ED_C, a third light emitting element ED_D, and a fourth light emitting element ED_B,
wherein the first light emitting element ED_A is electrically connected between the first connection electrode CNE2_7 and the second connection electrode CNE3_7, and is aligned between the first alignment electrode RM_P1 (left in pixel) and the second alignment electrode RME2_7,
wherein the second light emitting element ED_C is electrically connected between the second connection electrode CNE3_7 and the third connection electrode CNE4_7, and is aligned between (e.g. having lateral disposition between) the first alignment electrode RM_P1 (left in pixel) and the second alignment electrode RME2_7,
wherein the third light emitting element ED_D is electrically connected between the third connection electrode CNE4_7 and the fourth connection electrode CNE5_7, and is aligned between the third alignment electrode RME1_7 and the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (right in pixel), and
wherein the fourth light emitting element ED_B is electrically connected between the fourth connection electrode CNE5_7 and the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7, and is aligned between the third alignment electrode RME1_7 and the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (right in pixel).
In re claim 2, Park discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4-5 & 19) wherein the connection electrodes CNE comprise an anode connection electrode CNE2_7 (connected to p-type layer 32 of the diode ED, ¶ 137) and a cathode connection electrode CNE1_7 (connected to n-type layer 31 of the diode ED, ¶ 136),
wherein the light emitting element ED is electrically connected between the anode connection electrode CNE2_7 and the cathode connection electrode CNE1_7, and
wherein the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 are electrically connected to at least one of the anode connection electrode CNE2_7 (through OP2) and the cathode connection electrode CNE1_7 (through OP1).
In re claim 3, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 4 & 19) wherein the anode connection electrode CNE2_7 and the cathode connection electrode CNE1_7 are formed from a same conductive layer.
In re claim 4, Park discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2, 4, 5 & 19) wherein the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 are connected to receive an anode signal or a cathode signal (¶ 91). E.g. RME1_7 which is coupled to CNE1_7 which is connected to the n-type layer 31 of the diode and receives a cathode signal.
In re claim 5, as best understood, Park discloses (e.g. see second FIG. 19 annotated above) wherein the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 comprise a first alignment electrode RM_P1 (on the left), a second alignment electrode RM_E1 (on the right), a third alignment electrode RM_E2 (in the middle), a fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (on the left), and a root alignment electrode RM_S1 (on the right), and
wherein the root alignment electrode RM_S1 (on the right), the second alignment electrode RM_E1 (on the right), and the third alignment electrode RM_E2 (in the middle) are integrally formed (parts of RME1_7) and are electrically connected to each other.
In re claim 6, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 19, see second annotated drawing above) wherein a portion of the cathode connection electrode CNE1_7 is electrically connected to the root alignment electrode RM_S1, and another portion of the cathode connection electrode CNE1_7 is electrically connected to the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2. The entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected. As such, the claimed elements are all electrically connected as they belong in the same display circuit.
In re claim 7, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 19, see second annotated drawing above) wherein the second alignment electrode RM_E1 (on the right), the third alignment electrode RM_E2 (in the middle), and the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (on the left) are electrically connected to each other (can be indirectly connected). The entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected. As such, the claimed elements are all electrically connected as they belong in the same display circuit.
In re claim 8, Park discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2, 4, 5 & 19) wherein the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 are connected to receive an electrical signal from the connection electrodes CNE (¶ 91).
In re claim 9, Park discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2, 4, 5 & 19, , see second annotated drawing above) wherein the first alignment electrode RM_P1 (on the left) is connected to receive an anode signal (RM_P1 is coupled to CNE2_7 which is connected to the p-type layer 32 of the diode and receives an anode signal), and the second alignment electrode RM_E1 (on the right), the third alignment electrode RM_E2 (in the middle), and the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (on the left) are connected to receive a cathode signal (RM_E1, RM_E2 are coupled to CNE1_7,CNE5_7 which are connected to the n-type layer 31 of the diodes and receives a cathode signal).
In re claim 11, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 19, see first annotated drawing above) wherein the contact portions comprise a first contact portion OP2, a second contact portion OP1, and a third contact portion OP3,
wherein the first connection electrode CNE2_7 is electrically connected to the first alignment electrode RM_P1 (left) through the first contact portion OP2,
wherein the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7 is electrically connected to the second alignment electrode RME2_7 and the third alignment electrode RME1_7 through the second contact portion OP1 (electrically connected either directly or indirectly since the entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected), and is electrically connected to the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (right) through the third contact portion OP3 (electrically connected either directly or indirectly since the entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected), and
wherein the first connection electrode CNE2_7 is configured to supply an anode signal to the first to fourth light emitting elements ED and the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7 is configured to supply a cathode signal to the first to fourth light emitting elements ED so that the light emitting elements ED emit light (all of the light emitting elements are coupled to receive the anode signal and the cathode signal when the device is turned on). The entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected. As such, signals are either directly or indirectly supplied to the electrodes claimed.
In re claim 12, Park discloses (see first FIG. 19 annotated above) wherein the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7 overlaps the second contact portion OP1 and the third contact portion OP3 in a plan view (CNE1_7 overlaps OP1 and OP3 along the DR2 direction).
In re claim 13, Park discloses (e.g. see first FIG. 19 annotated above) wherein the first contact portion OP2, the second contact portion OP1, and the third contact portion OP3 are arranged parallel to a direction DR1 (OP1,OP2,OP3 having edges parallel along DR1 direction) in which the first alignment electrode RM_P1 (left), the second alignment electrode RME2_7, the third alignment electrode RME1_7, and the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (right) are adjacent to each other (adjacent in DR1 direction).
In re claim 14, Park discloses (see annotated versions of FIG. 19 above) the first to fourth light emitting elements ED and the first alignment electrode are connected to receive the anode signal through the first connection electrode CNE2_7 (CNE2_7 is connected to the p-type layer 32 of the diode and receives the anode signal), and the first to fourth light emitting elements ED, the second alignment electrode, the third alignment electrode, and the fourth alignment electrode are connected to receive the cathode signal through the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7 (CNE1_7 is connected to the n-type layer 31 of the diode and receives the cathode signal). Furthermore, the entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected. As such, signals are either directly or indirectly supplied to the electrodes claimed.
In re claim 15, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 19) wherein the first connection electrode CNE2_7 and the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7 are formed from a same conductive layer.
In re claim 20, as best understood, Park discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2, 4, 5 & 19) a display device comprising:
alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 on a base layer 19,BNL1;
a light emitting element ED between the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2; and
connection electrodes CNE configured to supply an anode signal or a cathode signal to the light emitting element ED,
wherein “all of the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 are connected to receive the anode signal or the cathode signal” (¶ 91) from the connection electrodes CNE. Each alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 is connected to one of the connection electrodes CNE which is either connected to the n-type layer 31 or the p-type layer 32 of the diode. Those connected to the p-type layer 32 receives the canoed signal, and those connected to the n-type layer 31 receives the cathode signal.
In re claim 21, Park discloses an electronic device (FIG. 3) comprising the display device of claim 1 (¶ 44).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 rejected over Park, Applicant argues the openings OP1,OP2,OP3 does not teach the claimed contact portions (Remark, pages 11-13).
This is not persuasive. Claim 1 recites “each of the alignment electrodes is electrically connected to one of the connection electrodes through one of contact portions”. No specific “contact portions” have been claimed what would structurally distinguish over contact openings OP1,OP2,OP3 through which each of the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 electrically connects to one of the connection electrodes CNE. E.g. as shown in the first annotated drawing of FIG. 19 above, the first alignment electrode RM_P1 (on the left of each pixel) is electrically connected to connection electrode CNE2_7 through contact opening OP2, second alignment electrode RME2_7 is electrically connected to connection electrode CNE5_7 through contact opening OP3, third alignment electrode RME1_7 (on the left of each pixel) is electrically connected to connection electrode CNE1_7 through contact opening OP1, and fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (on the right of each pixel) is electrically connected to connection electrode CNE4_7 through contact opening O31).
Furthermore, as shown in FIG. 19, three contact openings OP1,OP2,OP3 are present in each of the pixels PX, and there are at least four alignment electrodes RM_P1, RME2_7, RME1_7, and RM_E2 present in each pixels PX. Therefore, the number of contact portions (i.e. three) is less than the number of alignment electrodes within each pixels.
As such, the contact openings OP1,OP2,OP3 teaches the claimed contact portions.
Regarding claim 20 rejected over Park, Applicant argues RME is a floating electrode and does not receive any electrical signal (Remark, page 14).
This is not persuasive. As shown in FIG. 19, each alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 is connected to one of the connection electrodes CNE through contact openings OP1,OP2,OP3. Each of the connection electrodes is either connected to the n-type layer 31 or the p-type layer 32 of the diode to address the diodes (¶ 91). Those that are connected to the p-type layer 32 receives the canoed signal, and those connected to the n-type layer 31 receives the cathode signal. Therefore, each of the alignment electrodes is connected to receive the anode signal or the cathode signal from the connection electrodes.
Conclusion
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896