DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed 12/8/2025.
Claims 1-21 are pending. Claim 21 is new. Claims 16-19 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 11, 14 and 20 have been amended.
Declaration
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(a) filed 12/8/2025 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-15 and 20-21 based upon 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as set forth in the last Office action because the declaration fails to establish that No Kyung Park is not a joint inventor of the subject matter disclosed in US 2021/0335883 that is relied upon for rejection below.
The declaration is ineffective because it lacks a reasonable explanation of No Kyung Park’s role in the US 2021/0335883. When the inventor attributes a reference to himself and the reference names someone else in addition to the inventor, a reasonable explanation of the other person’s involvement is required. The declaration does not establish the subject matter that is invented by No Kyung Park in the US 2021/0335883. A naked assertion that “No Kyung Park contributed to the conception of subject matter other than the specific subject matter cited in the Office action” in insufficient. Thus, the declaration fails to establish No Kyung Park is not an inventor of the subject matter cited in the rejection below. See MPEP 2155.01, Example 2 in particular.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 reciting “wherein the connection electrodes are electrically connected to the alignment electrodes through contact portions” renders the claim indefinite. The specific correspondence of the connection electrodes, the alignment electrodes, and contact portions is unclear. The correspondence may be one to one, one to many. or many to one. It is unclear if the intended scope is
the connection electrodes are each electrically connected to one of the alignment electrodes through one of the contact portions, or
the connection electrodes are each electrically connected to one of the alignment electrodes through a plurality of contact portions, or
the connection electrodes are each electrically connected to all of the alignment electrodes through one of the contact portions, or
the connection electrodes are each electrically connected to all of the alignment electrodes through a plurality of contact portions, or
the connection electrodes are all electrically connected to one of the alignment electrodes through one of the contact portions, or
the connection electrodes are all electrically connected to one of the alignment electrodes through a plurality of the contact portions, etc.
Claim 4 reciting “wherein when the display device is driven, …” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how is the claim limitation intended to further limit the device claimed structurally. The limitation appears conditional. It raises question as to what is required by the device “when” the display device is driven vs “when” the display device is not driven.
Claim 8 reciting “wherein when the display device is driven, the alignment electrodes are not in a floating state” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how is the claim limitation intended to further limit the device claimed structurally. The limitation appears conditional. It raises question as to what is required by the device “when” the display device is driven vs “when” the display device is not driven.
Claim 9 reciting “wherein when the display device is driven, the alignment electrodes are not in a floating state, …” renders the claim indefinite for similar reason as explained for claim 8 above. It is unclear how is the claim limitation intended to further limit the device claimed structurally.
Claim 14 reciting “wherein when the display device is driven, …” renders the claim indefinite for similar reason as explained for claim 8 above. It is unclear how is the claim limitation intended to further limit the device claimed structurally.
Claim 20 reciting “wherein when the display device is driven, the alignment electrodes are not in a floating state” renders the claim indefinite for similar reason as explained for claim 8 above. It is unclear how is the claim limitation intended to further limit the device claimed structurally.
Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. US 2021/0335883 A1 (Park).
In re claim 1, as best understood, Park discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2,4,5) a display device comprising:
pixels PX1,PX2,PX3,
wherein the pixels comprise:
alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 on a base layer 19,BNL1;
a light emitting element ED on the alignment electrodes; and
connection electrodes CNE1,CNE2 electrically connected to the light emitting element ED,
wherein “the connection electrodes CNE1,CNE2 are electrically connected to the alignment electrodes RME1 through contact portions OP1” (as best understood, FIG. 2 shows connection electrodes CNE1 of PX1 and PX3 each connects to a corresponding one of alignment electrodes RME1 at a corresponding one of contact portions OP1), and
wherein a number of the contact portions OP1 defined in each of the pixels (at most one OP1 in each subpixel) is less than a number of the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 (two in each subpixel).
In re claim 2, Park discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4-5) wherein the connection electrodes CNE1,CNE2 comprise an anode connection electrode CNE2 (connected to p-type layer 32 of the diode ED, ¶ 137) and a cathode connection electrode CNE1 (connected to n-type layer 31 of the diode ED, ¶ 136),
wherein the light emitting element ED is electrically connected between the anode connection electrode CNE2 and the cathode connection electrode CNE1, and
wherein the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 are electrically connected to at least one of the anode connection electrode CNE2 and the cathode connection electrode CNE1.
In re claim 3, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 4) wherein the anode connection electrode CNE2 and the cathode connection electrode CNE1 are formed from a same conductive layer.
In re claim 4, as best understood, Park discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2, 4, 5) wherein “when the display is driven”, an anode signal or a cathode signal is provided to the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 (¶ 91). RME1 which is coupled to CNE1 which is connected to the n-type layer 31 of the diode and receives a cathode signal when the diode is turned on.
In re claim 5, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 18) wherein the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 comprise a first alignment electrode RM_E3, a second alignment electrode RM_E1, a third alignment electrode RM_E2, a fourth alignment electrode RM_E4, and a root alignment electrode RM_S1, and
wherein the root alignment electrode RM_S1, the second alignment electrode RM_E1, and the third alignment electrode RM_E2 are integrally formed (parts of RME1_6) and are electrically connected to each other.
In re claim 6, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 18) wherein a portion of the cathode connection electrode CNE1_6 is electrically connected to the root alignment electrode RM_S1 (through OP1, and another portion of the cathode connection electrode CNE1_6 is electrically connected to the fourth alignment electrode RM_E4 (through diode ED). Furthermore, the entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected. As such, the claimed elements are all electrically connected as they belong in the same display circuit.
In re claim 7, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 18) wherein the second alignment electrode RM_E1, the third alignment electrode RM_E2, and the fourth alignment electrode RM_E4 are electrically connected to each other (either directly or indirectly). The entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected. As such, the claimed elements are all electrically connected as they belong in the same display circuit.
In re claim 8, as best understood, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 2) wherein “when the display is driven, the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 are not in a floating state” (voltage is applied to emit light, ¶ 91).
In re claim 9, as best understood, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 18) wherein “when the display is driven, the alignment electrodes are not in a floating state (voltage is applied to emit light, ¶ 91), an anode signal flows through the first alignment electrode RM_E3, and a cathode signal flows through the second alignment electrode RM_E1, the third alignment electrode RM_E2, and the fourth alignment electrode (e.g. RM_E1 or RM_E2 of another subpixel)”.
In re claim 10. Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 19) wherein the connection electrodes CNE comprise a first connection electrode CNE2_7, a second connection electrode CNE3_7, a third connection electrode CNE4_7, a fourth connection electrode CNE5_7, and a fifth connection electrode CNE1_7,
wherein the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 comprise (see FIG. 19 annotated above) a first alignment electrode RM_P1 (on the left side of each subpixel), a second alignment electrode RME2_7, a third alignment electrode RME1_7, and a fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (on the right side of each subpixel),
wherein the light emitting element ED comprises a first light emitting element ED_A, a second light emitting element ED_C, a third light emitting element ED_D, and a fourth light emitting element ED_B,
wherein the first light emitting element ED_A is electrically connected between the first connection electrode CNE2_7 and the second connection electrode CNE3_7, and is aligned between the first alignment electrode RM_P1 (left) and the second alignment electrode RME2_7,
wherein the second light emitting element ED_C is electrically connected between the second connection electrode CNE3_7 and the third connection electrode CNE4_7, and is aligned between (e.g. having lateral disposition between) the first alignment electrode RM_P1 (left) and the second alignment electrode RME2_7,
wherein the third light emitting element ED_D is electrically connected between the third connection electrode CNE4_7 and the fourth connection electrode CNE5_7, and is aligned between the third alignment electrode RME1_7 and the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (right), and
wherein the fourth light emitting element ED_B is electrically connected between the fourth connection electrode CNE5_7 and the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7, and is aligned between the third alignment electrode RME1_7 and the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (right).
In re claim 11, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 19, see annotated drawing above) wherein the contact portions comprise a first contact portion OP2, a second contact portion OP1, and a third contact portion OP3,
wherein the first connection electrode CNE2_7 is electrically connected to the first alignment electrode RM_P1 (left) through the first contact portion OP2,
wherein the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7 is electrically connected to the second alignment electrode RME2_7 and the third alignment electrode RME1_7 through the second contact portion OP1 (electrically connected either directly or indirectly since the entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected), and is electrically connected to the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (right) through the third contact portion OP3 (electrically connected either directly or indirectly since the entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected), and
wherein the first connection electrode CNE2_7 is configured to supply an anode signal to the first to fourth light emitting elements ED and the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7 is configured to supply a cathode signal to the first to fourth light emitting elements ED so that the light emitting elements ED emit light (all of the light emitting elements are coupled to receive the anode signal and the cathode signal when the device is turned on). The entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected. As such, signals are either directly or indirectly supplied to the electrodes claimed.
In re claim 12, Park discloses (see FIG. 19 annotated above) wherein the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7 overlaps the second contact portion OP1 and the third contact portion OP3 in a plan view (CNE1_7 overlaps OP1 and OP3 along the DR2 direction).
In re claim 13, Park discloses (e.g. see FIG. 19 annotated above) wherein the first contact portion OP2, the second contact portion OP1, and the third contact portion OP3 are arranged parallel to a direction DR1 (OP1,OP2,OP3 having edges parallel along DR1 direction) in which the first alignment electrode RM_P1 (left), the second alignment electrode RME2_7, the third alignment electrode RME1_7, and the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2 (right) are adjacent to each other (adjacent in DR1 direction).
In re claim 14, as best understood, Park discloses wherein “when the display is driven, the anode signal provided through the first connection electrode CNE2_7 is supplied to the first to fourth light emitting elements ED and the first alignment electrode RM_P1, and the cathode signal provided through the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7 is supplied to the firth to fourth light emitting elements ED, the second alignment electrode RME2_7, the third alignment electrode RME1_7, and the fourth alignment electrode RM_E2”. The entirety of the display device is considered to be electrically connected. As such, signals are either directly or indirectly supplied to the electrodes claimed.
In re claim 15, Park discloses (e.g. FIG. 19) wherein the first connection electrode CNE2_7 and the fifth connection electrode CNE1_7 are formed from a same conductive layer.
In re claim 20, as best understood, Park discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2, 4, 5) a display device comprising:
alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 on a base layer 19,BNL1;
a light emitting element ED between the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2; and
connection electrodes CNE1,CNE2 configured to supply an anode signal or a cathode signal to the light emitting element ED,
wherein “when the display device is driven, the alignment electrodes RME1,RME2 are not in a floating state and are supplied with the anode signal or the cathode signal” (¶ 91). RME1 which is coupled to CNE1 which is connected to the n-type layer 31 of the diode and receives a cathode signal when the diode is turned on.
In re claim 21, Park discloses an electronic device (FIG. 3) comprising the display device of claim 1 (¶ 44).
Claims 1-4, 8 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 2021/0313498 A1 (Kim).
In re claim 1, as best understood, Kim discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-7) a display device comprising:
pixels PX1,PX2,PX3,
wherein the pixels comprise:
alignment electrodes 21,22 on a base layer 19,BNL1;
a light emitting element 30 on the alignment electrodes; and
connection electrodes CNE1,CNE2 electrically connected to the light emitting element 30,
wherein “the connection electrodes CNE1 are electrically connected to the alignment electrodes 21 through contact portions OP” (as best understood, FIGs. 4-5 shows each connection electrode CNE1 is connected to corresponding one of alignment electrodes 21 through a corresponding one of contact portions OP), and
wherein a number of the contact portions defined in each of the pixels (only one OP above 21 in each subpixel) is less than a number of the alignment electrodes 21,22 (two in each subpixel).
Only contacts OP above the alignment electrodes 21 are considered to be the “contact portions”, while the openings OP above other alignment electrode 22 are not considered to be part of the “contact portions”. Claim does not specifically exclude the presence of other contact openings in each pixels. As such, there is only one contact portion in each pixel corresponding to the openings OP above electrodes 21 only, while each pixel include two alignment electrodes 21 and 22. Therefore, the number of contact portions in each pixels is less than the number of alignment electrodes.
In re claim 2, Kim discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4-5 & 7) wherein the connection electrodes CNE1,CNE2 comprise an anode connection electrode CNE1 (connected to p-type layer 32 of the diode 30, ¶ 135) and a cathode connection electrode CNE2 (connected to n-type layer 31 of the diode 30, ¶ 135),
wherein the light emitting element 30 is electrically connected between the anode connection electrode CNE1 and the cathode connection electrode CNE2, and
wherein the alignment electrodes 21,22 are electrically connected to at least one of the anode connection electrode CNE1 and the cathode connection electrode CNE2.
In re claim 3, Kim discloses (e.g. FIG. 5) wherein the anode connection electrode CNE1 and the cathode connection electrode CNE2 are formed from a same conductive layer.
In re claim 4, as best understood, Kim discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-7) wherein “when the display is driven”, an anode signal or a cathode signal is provided to the alignment electrodes 21,22 (¶ 135). Electrode 21 which is coupled to CNE1 which is connected to the p-type layer 32 of the diode and receives an anode signal when the diode is turned on. Electrode 22 which is coupled to CNE2 which is connected to the n-type layer 31 of the diode and receives an anode signal when the diode is turned on.
In re claim 8, as best understood, Kim discloses (e.g. FIG. 4) wherein “when the display is driven, the alignment electrodes 21,22 are not in a floating state” (voltage is applied to emit light, ¶ 134).
In re claim 20, as best understood, Kim discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-7) a display device comprising:
alignment electrodes 21,22 on a base layer 19,BNL1;
a light emitting element 30 between the alignment electrodes 21,22; and
connection electrodes CNE1,CNE2 configured to supply an anode signal or a cathode signal to the light emitting element 30,
wherein “when the display device is driven, the alignment electrodes 21,22 are not in a floating state and are supplied with the anode signal or the cathode signal” (¶ 91). Electrode 21 is coupled to CNE1 which is connected to the p-type layer 32 of the diode and receives an anode signal when the diode is turned on. Electrode 22 is coupled to CNE2 which is connected to the n-type layer 31 of the diode and receives a cathode signal when the diode is turned on.
In re claim 21, Kim discloses an electronic device (FIG. 1) comprising the display device of claim 1 (¶ 67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 rejected under 35 USC § 112(b), the specific correspondence of the connection electrodes, the alignment electrodes, and contact portions is unclear in the recitation “wherein the connection electrodes are electrically connected to the alignment electrodes through contact portions”.
Regarding claims 4, 8, 9, 14, and 20 rejected under 35 USC § 112(b), the recitation to “when the display is driven” remain indefinite. It is unclear how does the conditional limitation is sought to structurally limit the device claims. Supply of electric current pertains to a function, not a structural feature of the claimed device.
Regarding claims rejected over Park US 2021/0335883 A1, the declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(a) filed 12/8/2025 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-15 and 20-21 based upon 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
The declaration is ineffective because it lacks a reasonable explanation of No Kyung Park’s role in the US 2021/0335883. When the inventor attributes a reference to himself and the reference names someone else in addition to the inventor, a reasonable explanation of the other person’s involvement is required. The declaration does not establish the subject matter that is invented by No Kyung Park in the US 2021/0335883. A naked assertion that “No Kyung Park contributed to the conception of subject matter other than the specific subject matter cited in the Office action” in insufficient. Thus, the declaration fails to establish No Kyung Park is not an inventor of the subject matter cited in the rejection below. See MPEP 2155.01, Example 2 in particular.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-15 and 20-21 based upon 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Park US 2021/0335883 A1 is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896