DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New grounds of rejection are due to amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 contradicts claim 1 that requires a constant supply of the growth inhibitor, not a pulse, making claim 6 indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the metal halide precursor". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 contradicts claim 17 that requires a constant supply of the growth inhibitor, not a pulse, making claim 20 indefinite.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 contradicts claim 1 that requires a constant supply of the growth inhibitor, not a pulse. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 20 contradicts claim 17 that requires a constant supply of the growth inhibitor, not a pulse. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni et al. (US 2022/0372618 A1, hereafter Ni) in view of Abelson et al. (US 11584986 B1, hereafter Abelson).
As to claim 1, Ni teaches providing a substrate comprising a hydrogen-terminated surface in a reaction chamber (para 0030-0036, 0054-0058); and depositing a thin film on the substrate by a plurality of deposition cycles comprising: contacting the substrate with a first vapor phase metal precursor; contacting the substrate with a second vapor phase reactant; and contacting the substrate with a vapor phase growth inhibitor, wherein the growth inhibitor comprises a halide growth inhibitor or an organic growth inhibitor (As shown in Figs 1 and 3).
Ni does not teach that the growth inhibitor is constantly flowed throughout the deposition process. Abelson teaches that it is known in the art to constantly flow an inhibitor during a similar deposition process in order to reduce the film nucleation rate on less desired surfaces in col. 1 lines 45-55, col. 13-14 lines 53-11. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Ni to include that the growth inhibitor is constantly flowed throughout the deposition process as taught by Ableson in order to reduce the film nucleation rate on less desired surfaces.
As to claim 2, the surface is as claimed in Ni para 0030-0036, 0054-0058.
As to claims 3 and 6, Ni et al. does not explicitly teach a pulse time or a temperature. However these are both experimental quantities to achieve a desired result. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed temperature or pulse times, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As to claims 4-5, a purge occurs after each introduction in Ni Figs 1 and 3.
As to claim 7, the vapor phase growth inhibitor is HBr, for example, in Ni para 0053.
As to claim 8, the inhibitor is as claimed in Ni para 0035.
As to claims 9, Ni teaches a titanium precursor in the abstract. Abelson teaches metalorganic titanium precursors along with other metals having carbonyl and allyl ligands in col. 1 line 63-col. 2 line 25.
As to claims 12, 14-15 and 17-19, the film is titanium nitride, the reactant is ammonia, the precursor is titanium tetrachloride and the inhibitor is HBr in the abstract and para 0053, Figs 1 and 3 of Ni.
As to claim 20, the introduction occurs sequentially and cyclically in Ni Figs 1 and 3.
Claim(s) 10-11, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni and Abelson in view of Bhatnagar (US 2021/0125832 A1).
As to claims 10-11 and 16, Ni and Abelson do not teach the claimed Ti precursor. The claimed titanium precursors, along with other precursors are known in Bhatnagar para 0063, 0070 for Ti ALD.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art to modify Ni and Abelson to include the claimed Ti precursors and other precursors as Bhatnagar teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such. Further, the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)
As to claim 13, Ni and Abelson teach ammonia. Bhatnagar teaches alternatives to ammonia for nitrogen sources such as those claimed in para 0068.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art to modify Ni and Abelson to include the claimed N precursors as Bhatnagar teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such. Further, the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718