DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of titanium in the reply filed on 3/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2020/0270750 A1, hereafter Park)
As to claim 1, Park teaches providing a substrate comprising a hydrogen-terminated surface in a reaction chamber (para 0041); and depositing a thin film on the substrate by a plurality of deposition cycles comprising: contacting the substrate with a first vapor phase metal precursor; contacting the substrate with a second vapor phase reactant; and contacting the substrate with a vapor phase growth inhibitor, wherein the growth inhibitor comprises a halide growth inhibitor or an organic growth inhibitor (As shown in Figs 1a-1d, 2a-2e, para 0041-0044).
As to claim 2, the surface is as claimed in Figs 1-2 as shown.
As to claim 3, the temperature is claimed in para 0074, 0077.
As to claims 4-5, a purge occurs after each introduction in para 0041.
As to claim 7, the vapor phase growth inhibitor is HCl, for example, in para 0041.
As to claims 9-11, the titanium precursors are known in para 0003-0004.
As to claims 12-15 and 17-19, the film is titanium nitride, the reactant is ammonia, the precursor is titanium tetrachloride and the inhibitor is HCl in para 0041-0044.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 12-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ni et al. (US 2022/0372618 A1, hereafter Ni).
As to claim 1, Ni teaches providing a substrate comprising a hydrogen-terminated surface in a reaction chamber (para 0030-0036, 0054-0058); and depositing a thin film on the substrate by a plurality of deposition cycles comprising: contacting the substrate with a first vapor phase metal precursor; contacting the substrate with a second vapor phase reactant; and contacting the substrate with a vapor phase growth inhibitor, wherein the growth inhibitor comprises a halide growth inhibitor or an organic growth inhibitor (As shown in Figs 1 and 3).
As to claim 2, the surface is as claimed in para 0030-0036, 0054-0058.
As to claims 4-5, a purge occurs after each introduction in Figs 1 and 3.
As to claim 7, the vapor phase growth inhibitor is HCl, for example, in para 0053.
As to claim 8, the inhibitor is as claimed in para 0035.
As to claims 9-10, the titanium precursor is known in the abstract.
As to claims 12-15 and 17-19, the film is titanium nitride, the reactant is ammonia, the precursor is titanium tetrachloride and the inhibitor is HCl in the abstract and para 0053, Figs 1 and 3.
As to claim 20, the introduction occurs sequentially and cyclically in Figs 1 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatnagar (US 2021/0125832 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0270750 A1, hereafter Park)
As to claim 1, Bhatnagar teaches providing a substrate comprising a surface in a reaction chamber (Fig 2); and depositing a thin film on the substrate by a plurality of deposition cycles comprising: contacting the substrate with a first vapor phase metal precursor; contacting the substrate with a second vapor phase reactant; and contacting the substrate with a vapor phase growth inhibitor, wherein the growth inhibitor comprises a halide growth inhibitor or an organic growth inhibitor (As shown in Fig 2). Bhatnagar does not explicitly teach that its surface is hydrogen terminated.
Park shows a -OH terminated surface in Figs 1-2 used as a reactive group before a Ti precursor pulse in para 0041. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bhatnagar to include a -OH terminated surface as taught by Park in order to have a reactive group deposited on the substrate before a Ti precursor pulse.
As to claim 2, the surface is as claimed in Park Figs 1-2 as shown.
As to claim 3, the temperature is claimed in Bhatnagar para 0060.
As to claims 4-5, a purge occurs after each introduction in Bhatnagar para 0066, 0078.
As to claim 6, Bhatnagar teaches a pulse of HCl as shown in Fig. 2 at the time claimed in para 0083.
As to claim 7, the vapor phase growth inhibitor is HCl, for example, in Bhatnagar para 0079.
As to claims 9-11, the titanium precursors are known in Bhatnagar para 0063, 0070.
As to claims 12-15 and 17-19, the film is titanium nitride, the reactant is ammonia, the precursor is titanium tetrachloride and the inhibitor is HCl in Bhatnagar para 0063-0068, 0079.
As to claim 20, the process is alternate and sequential as claimed in Bhatnagar Fig. 2.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatnagar (US 2021/0125832 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0270750 A1, hereafter Park) OR Park in view of Ni et al. (US 2022/0372618 A1, hereafter Ni)
As to claims 8 and 16, Park and Bhatnagar teach the titanium precursor as discussed above, but do not teach the organic inhibitor. Ni teaches using an organic inhibitor as claimed in para 0035, 0074 to have control over surface absorption (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art to modify Park and Bhatnagar or Park to include the claimed organic inhibitors as Ni teaches the art recognized suitability and utility to control surface absorption. Further, the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni et al. (US 2022/0372618 A1, hereafter Ni).
Ni et al. does not explicitly teach a pulse time or a temperature. However these are both experimental quantities to achieve a desired result. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed temperature or pulse times, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni et al. (US 2022/0372618 A1, hereafter Ni) in view of Bhatnagar or Park.
Ni does not teach the claimed Ti precursor. The claimed titanium precursors are known in Bhatnagar para 0063, 0070 for Ti ALD or known in Park para 0003-0004.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art to modify Ni to include the claimed Ti precursors as Bhatnagar or Park teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such. Further, the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718