DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II-Figure 3 in the reply filed on January 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-4, 7-8, 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an impedance adjusting device in claims 1-2, 5-6, and 9-10.
Page 5, line 20-page 6, line 5, the specification indicates that the impedance adjusting device may have a first capacitor, a second capacitor, and an inductor. At least one of a first capacitance of the first capacitor, a second capacitance of the second capacitor, and an inductance of the inductor may be variable and may be controlled by the controller. The first capacitor and the inductor may be electrically connected in series. The first capacitor may be electrically connected to the lower electrode. The inductor may be electrically connected to the lower electrode via the first capacitor. The second capacitor and the inductor may be electrically connected in parallel to the lower electrode via the first capacitor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. 2013/0134877).
Referring to Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0024]-[0040], Kim et al. disclose a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a chamber 260 (par.[0028]); a lower electrode 250 provided in the chamber and included in a substrate support configured to place a substrate thereon (par.[0030]); an upper electrode 240 provided in the chamber and disposed to face the lower electrode (par.[0029]); a gas supply (i.e. gas distribution means) configured to supply a processing gas between the upper electrode and the lower electrode (par.[0029]); a high-frequency power supply 210 electrically connected to the upper electrode and configured to generate a plasma of the processing gas by applying a high-frequency voltage to the upper electrode (par.[0025]); a first meter 272 configured to measure a potential waveform of the upper electrode (par.[0031]); a second meter 274 configured to measure a potential waveform of the lower electrode (par.[0031]); a detector 270 configured to detect a voltage waveform (pars.[0032],[0036],i.e. calculating voltage); an impedance adjusting device 230 configured to adjust an impedance of the lower electrode (pars.[0026], [0034]-[0035]); and a controller 270 configured to control the impedance adjusting device to adjust the impedance of the lower electrode based on the voltage waveform detected by the detector (pars.[0031]-[0032]).
Kim et al. is silent on a detector configured to detect a voltage waveform obtained by subtracting a second potential waveform measured by the second meter from a first potential waveform measured by the first meter; however, Kim et al. teach that the controller operates to calculate voltage waveform based on the voltages provided by the meters 272, 274 (pars.[0032], [0036]). Calculations for a controller include adding, subtracting, multiplying and dividing. Hence, the controller 270 includes a detector and operates to detect a voltage waveform obtained by subtracting a second potential waveform measured by the second meter from a first potential waveform measured by the first meter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Kim et al. to include a detector configured to detect a voltage waveform obtained by subtracting a second potential waveform measured by the second meter from a first potential waveform measured by the first meter in order to control the power distribution between the electrodes.
With respect to claim 2. the plasma processing apparatus of Kim et al. further includes wherein the controller 270 controls the impedance adjusting device 230 to adjust the impedance of the lower electrode so as to reduce a peak value on a positive potential side of the voltage waveform (pars.[0031]-[0032], [0052]-[0054]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 9-10, and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art, Kim et al., discloses a chamber; a lower electrode; an upper electrode; a gas supply; a high-frequency power supply; a first meter; a second meter; a detector; an impedance adjusting device; and a controller. However, Kim et al. fail to teach nor is there motivation for wherein the impedance adjusting device has a first capacitor, a second capacitor, and an inductor, at least one of a first capacitance of the first capacitor, a second capacitance of the second capacitor, and an inductance of the inductor is variable and controlled by the controller, the first capacitor and the inductor are electrically connected in series, the first capacitor is electrically connected to the lower electrode, the inductor is electrically connected to the lower electrode via the first capacitor, and the second capacitor and the inductor are electrically connected in parallel to the lower electrode via the first capacitor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tomita et al.’100, Barnes et al.’881, Bera et al.’089, Woo et al.’039, Maebashi’450, Rocha-Alvarez et al.’489, Sato’966, and Miyama’199 teach an impedance adjusting device. Shindo et al.’217 teach first and second meters. Okabe et al.’374 teach first and second meters, an impedance adjusting device, and a controller. Satoyoshi et al.’769 teach a plurality of impedance adjusting devices connected to the lower electrode.
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716