DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 13-20 was/were withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 9, 12 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by Huston in addition to previously relied on references below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the chamber body defines a channel" in the claim. It is unclear which channel is being referred to, as there are multiple channels mentioned in the specification including “chamber purging channel,” “lid purging channel,” “cap channel,” “channel (part of a flange and not a chamber body).” Examiner interprets broadly. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210320018 to Chandrasekar in view of US 20130160946 to Smargiassi, and further in view of US 20150059981 to Huston.
Claims 1-3: Chandrasekar discloses a choke plate for use in a substrate processing system, comprising: a plate (410/500 [choke plate], Fig. 4-6) defines a first aperture (505 [first aperture]) through the plate (410/500) and a second aperture (510 [second aperture]) through the plate (410/500); the second aperture (510) is laterally offset from the first aperture (505, Fig. 5-6, para. [0057]); the choke plate (410/500) comprising: a flange (flange where 510 lies); and the choke plate (410/500) comprises a rim (412 [rim]).
However Chandrasekar does not disclose (claim 1) a flange that defines a purging inlet, the rim defining a plurality of purging outlets that are fluidly coupled with the purging inlet, each of the plurality of purging outlets being fluidly coupled with the first aperture.
Smargiassi discloses (claim 1) a flange (108 [flange], Fig. 3) that defines a purging inlet (104 [inlet portion]), the rim (110/111) defining a plurality of purging outlets (323 [slots]) that are fluidly coupled with the purging inlet (104), each of the plurality of purging outlets (323) being fluidly coupled with the first aperture (112 [ring hole space]); (claim 2) wherein the purging inlet (104, Fig. 3-4) is defined along a top surface of the flange (446 of 104 is defined along the top of 108); (claim 3) wherein the purging inlet (104) is defined along a bottom surface of the flange (446 of 104 is defined along the bottom of 108); for the purpose of providing post-deposition processing of advanced dielectric films and address the semiconductor manufacturing challenges of depositing highly uniform films with low thermal budgets (para. [0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the details of the flange and the rim, inlet and outlets as taught by Smargiassi with motivation to provide post-deposition processing of advanced dielectric films and address the semiconductor manufacturing challenges of depositing highly uniform films with low thermal budgets.
The apparatus of Chandrasekar in view of Smargiassi does not disclose via a purge channel that extends horizontally along the flange, and at least one plenum that is defined within the rim vertically below the purge channel, and disposed lower than the flange.
Huston discloses via a purge channel (226 [upper duct, Fig. 2-3) that extends horizontally along the flange (222 [upper flange], Fig. 2), and at least one plenum (plenum inside 204 [lower duct]) that is defined within the rim (204) vertically below the purge channel (226), and disposed lower than the flange (222), for the purpose of fluidly coupling the upper and lower ducts to establish a flow path from the processing volume to the exhaust system (para. [0032-0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Huston with motivation to fluidly couple the upper and lower ducts to establish a flow path from the processing volume to the exhaust system.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrasekar in view of Smargiassi as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of US 20210032747 to Pathak.
Claims 4-7: The apparatus of Chandrasekar in view of Smargiassi does not disclose (claim 4) wherein: the at least one plenum comprises a first plenum, a second plenum, and at least one baffle that extends between and fluidly couples the first and second plenum; and the first and second plenum and baffle are in fluid communication with the purging inlet and the plurality of purging outlets; (claim 5) wherein: the at least one baffle comprises a plurality of baffles, the plurality of baffles comprising a first baffle and a second baffle; and the first baffle has a different cross-sectional area than the second baffle; (claim 6) wherein: the first baffle is closer to the purging inlet than the second baffle; and the first baffle has a smaller cross-sectional area than the second baffle; (claim 7) wherein the choke plate comprises a closing plate, the closing plate engaged to the rim to define the first and second plenums and the baffle therebetween.
Pathak discloses (claim 4) the at least one plenum (115a, 115b, Fig. 6A) comprises a first plenum (115a), a second plenum (115b), and at least one baffle (117) that extends between and fluidly couples the first and second plenum (115 of 114); and the first and second plenum (115 of 114) and baffle (117) are in fluid communication with the purging inlet (gas inlet, para. [0051]) and the plurality of purging outlets (gas outlets, para. [0046]); (claim 5) wherein: the at least one baffle (117 [baffles]) comprises a plurality of baffles (117), the plurality of baffles comprising a first baffle and a second baffle; and the first baffle has a different cross-sectional area than the second baffle (para. [0046], [0062], [0077]); (claim 6) wherein: the first baffle is closer to the purging inlet than the second baffle (see Fig. 6A); and the first baffle has a different cross-sectional area than the second baffle (para. [0046, 0062, 0077]); (claim 7) wherein the choke plate (110) comprises a closing plate (170a [plates]), the closing plate engaged to the rim (rim of 110) to define the first and second plenums (114 [internal volume]) and the baffle (117 [baffle]) therebetween. Pathak discloses this for the purpose of interrupting or preventing the fluid flow directly from the different volumes (para. [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plenums, baffles, and components as taught by Pathak with motivation to interrupt or prevent the fluid flow directly from the different volumes.
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210320018 to Chandrasekar in view of US 20130160946 to Smargiassi, and further in view of US 20150059981 to Huston.
Claims 8, 9: Chandrasekar discloses a substrate processing system comprising: a chamber body (109/402 [quad section]/[housing or chamber body], Fig. 1B, 4) defining a transfer region (120 [transfer region], para. [0033]); a substrate support (130 [substrate support]) disposed within the transfer region (120); a lid plate (405 [lid plate]) seated on the chamber body (109/402), wherein the lid plate (405) defines an aperture (407 [apertures]) through the lid plate (405); and
a choke plate (410/500 [choke plate], Fig. 4-6) seated on the lid plate (405) along a first surface of the choke plate (Fig. 4), wherein: the choke plate (410) defines a first aperture (505 [first aperture]) through the plate (410/500) and a second aperture (510 [second aperture]) through the plate (410/500); the second aperture (510) is laterally offset from the first aperture (505, Fig. 5-6, para. [0057]);
the choke plate (410/500) comprises a flange (flange where 510 lies); and the choke plate (410/500) comprises a rim (412 [rim]), a pumping liner (415 [pumping liner]) seated on the choke plate (410/500, para. [0053]); and a faceplate (420 [faceplate]) seated on the pumping liner (415, para. [0053]).
However Chandrasekar does not disclose (claim 8) a flange that defines a purging inlet, the rim defining a plurality of purging outlets that are fluidly coupled with the purging inlet, each of the plurality of purging outlets being fluidly coupled with the first aperture; (claim 9) the chamber body defines a chamber purging channel in communication with the purging inlet to form a part of a processing purge flow path.
Smargiassi discloses (claim 8) a flange (108 [flange], Fig. 3) that defines a purging inlet (104 [inlet portion]), the rim (110/111) defining a plurality of purging outlets (323 [slots]) that are fluidly coupled with the purging inlet (104), each of the plurality of purging outlets (323) being fluidly coupled with the first aperture (112 [ring hole space]); (claim 9) the chamber body (550 [top plate], Fig. 7) defines a chamber purging channel (540 [inlet conduit]) in communication with the purging inlet (104) to form a part of a processing purge flow path ((570/572/574, para. [0050]); for the purpose of providing post-deposition processing of advanced dielectric films and address the semiconductor manufacturing challenges of depositing highly uniform films with low thermal budgets (para. [0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the details of the flange and the rim, inlet and outlets as taught by Smargiassi with motivation to provide post-deposition processing of advanced dielectric films and address the semiconductor manufacturing challenges of depositing highly uniform films with low thermal budgets.
The apparatus of Chandrasekar in view of Smargiassi does not disclose via a purge channel that extends horizontally along the flange, and at least one plenum that is defined within the rim vertically below the purge channel, and disposed lower than the flange.
Huston discloses via a purge channel (226 [upper duct, Fig. 2-3) that extends horizontally along the flange (222 [upper flange], Fig. 2), and at least one plenum (plenum inside 204 [lower duct]) that is defined within the rim (204) vertically below the purge channel (226), and disposed lower than the flange (222), for the purpose of fluidly coupling the upper and lower ducts to establish a flow path from the processing volume to the exhaust system (para. [0032-0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Huston with motivation to fluidly couple the upper and lower ducts to establish a flow path from the processing volume to the exhaust system.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrasekar as applied to claims 8, 9 above, and further in view of US 20040020759 to Lawson.
Claim 12: The apparatus of Chandrasekar in view of Smargiassi does not disclose wherein the rim of the choke plate has a length of between about 70 mm and 100 mm.
However Lawson teaches that a plate (32 [adapter], Fig. 2) can comprise different heights for the purpose of being application dependent (para. [0078]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of heights of the plate as taught by Lawson with motivation to be application dependent.
Claims 13-20: (Withdrawn).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected independent claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent claim including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250118577 discloses a choke plate (400, Fig. 1-4) by same assignee. US 20230069317 discloses a choke plate (500, Fig. 5-6) by same assignee. US 20090200269 discloses RF return straps (246, Fig. 1) which are connected to a conducting ring (222) and chamber wall liner (252) which provides a return path, without the bellows (262, para. [0030]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718