DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2021/0320150; herein “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses in Fig. 17 and related text a display device comprising:
a display substrate comprising:
a display area (e.g. DA, see [0061]);
a non-display area (e.g. NDA, see [0061])adjacent to the display area; and
light emitting elements (EL, see [0087]) disposed in the display area; and
a light control substrate (300, see [0065]) facing the display substrate and comprising:
a color filter layer (layer comprising CF1/CF2/CF3, see [0099]);
a light conversion layer (layer comprising WLC1/WLC2/LTU, see [0099]); and
an intermediate layer (e.g. CAP1, IBK1, and OBK1) disposed between the color filter layer and the light conversion layer,
a capping layer (CAP2, see [0099]); wherein
the intermediate layer has a side surface facing a direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device (e.g. the slanted surface in direct contact with CAP2, which faces left in Fig. 17),
in a cross-sectional view, the capping layer extends over and covers an entirety of the side surface of the intermediate layer (see Fig. 17),
the color filter layer extends from the display area to the non-display area and comprises a first surface facing the display substrate,
the first surface comprises a step difference overlapping the non-display area (see Fig. 12);
in the cross-sectional view, the capping layer (CAP2) is in continuous and direct contact with the intermediate layer from a portion overlapping the step difference to the display area (see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 6, Yang further discloses wherein the intermediate layer (CPA1/OBK1/IBK1) covers the step difference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Oh et al. (US 2021/0249478; herein “Oh”).
Regarding claim 2, Yang further discloses
a first color filter (CF1), a second color filter (CF2), and a third color filter (CF3) that each comprise a rear surface facing the intermediate layer (note that the first color filter CF1 and third color filter CF3 form a light shielding region extending from the display area to the non-display area, see [0182]).
Yang does not disclose
the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter that each comprise the rear surface extending from the display area to the non-display area and facing the intermediate layer, and
the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter overlap each other in the non-display area.
In the same field of endeavor, Oh teaches in Fig. 2A and related text
the first color filter (123), the second color filter (122), and the third color filter (121, see [0067) each comprise the rear surface extending to areas of light shielding regions;
the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter overlap each other in the light shielding regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yang by having the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter each comprise a rear surface extending to areas of light shielding regions and the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter overlap each other in the light shielding regions, as shown by Oh, in order to provide a high quality image and provide improved methods of manufacture (see Oh [0006] and [0152] at least). The limitations “the rear surface extending from the display area to the non-display area and facing the intermediate layer,” and “the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter overlap each other in the non-display area” is therefore taught by the combination of the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter having rear surfaces extending to light shielding regions and overlapping in the light shielding regions, as shown by Oh, and the light shielding region extending from the display area to the non-display area and the light shielding region being in the non-display area, as shown by Yang.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the combined device shows wherein an edge of the first color filter is disposed on the rear surface of the second (third) color filter to form the step difference (Oh: edges of the second color filter 122 protrude more than corresponding edges of the first color filter 123 and edges of the third color filter 121 protrude more than corresponding edges of the second color filter 122, see Fig. 1; thus there is a step difference at each edge).
Regarding claim 5, the combined device shows
the step difference comprises a first step difference portion and a second step difference portion,
an edge of the first color filter is disposed on the rear surface of the second color filter to form the first step different portion, and
an edge of the second color filter is disposed on the rear surface of the third color filter to form the second step different portion (Oh: edges of the second color filter 122 protrude more than corresponding edges of the first color filter 123 and edges of the third color filter 121 protrude more than corresponding edges of the second color filter 122, see Fig. 1; thus there is a step difference at each edge).
Regarding claim 9, the combined device shows wherein the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter have different colors relative to each other (Yang: see [0187]-[0189; Oh: see [0069]).
Regarding claim 10, Yang further discloses
a bank portion (IBK2, see [0099]) including openings defined therethrough to correspond to the light emitting elements; and
a light conversion portion (WLC1/WLC2, see [0099]) and a light transmission portion (LTU, see [0099]) that are disposed in the openings, and the light conversion portion comprises a quantum dot converting a wavelength of a source light of the light emitting element (see [0132]).
Regarding claim 11, the combined device shows wherein the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter overlap each other in an area in which the bank portion is disposed (Oh: 123/122/121 overlap in regions of banks 130/140).
Regarding claim 12, the combined device shows wherein the intermediate layer has a refractive index less than a refractive index of the light conversion portion (Yang: CAP1 of intermediate layer may include, e.g. aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, tin oxide, see [0109]; SCT1 may contain a titanium oxide, aluminum oxide, tin oxide, see [0130]; thus in at least some disclosed combinations CAP1 is lower than SCT1).
Regarding claim 13, Yang further discloses wherein the light conversion portion comprises:
a first light conversion portion (WLC1) converting the source light to a first color light; and
a second light conversion portion (WLC2) converting the source light to a second color light,
the first color filter (CF1) overlaps the first light conversion portion,
the second color filter (CF2) overlaps the second light conversion portion, and
the third color filter (CF3) overlaps the light transmission portion (CF3) (see Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Jung et al. (US 2021/0384283; herein “Jung”).
Regarding claim 15, Yang does not disclose
a sealing member disposed between the display substrate and the light control substrate to overlap the non-display area, wherein the step difference is disposed closer to an outer side of the light control substrate than the sealing member is in a plan view.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches in Fig. 12 and related text
a sealing member (50, see [0048]) disposed between the display substrate (10) and the light control substrate (30) to overlap the non-display area, wherein the step difference (i.e. the outer end of the color filter layer(s) 310/260) is disposed closer to an outer side of the light control substrate than the sealing member is in a plan view (see Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yang by having a sealing member disposed between the display substrate and the light control substrate to overlap the non-display area and the step difference is disposed closer to an outer side of the light control substrate than the sealing member is in a plan view, as shown by Jung, in order to allow for connection pads and the connection of flexible circuit boards to device for driving the device (see Jung [0081]).
Claim(s) 16, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Oh.
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses in Fig. 17 and related text a display device comprising:
a display substrate comprising:
a display area (e.g. DA, see [0061]);
a non-display area (e.g. NDA, see [0061])adjacent to the display area; and
light emitting elements (EL, see [0087]) disposed in the display area; and
an upper substrate (SUB2) comprising a rear surface facing the display substrate;
a color filter layer (layer comprising CF1/CF2/CF3, see [0099]) disposed on the rear surface of the upper substrate;
a light conversion layer (layer comprising WLC1/WLC2/LTU, see [0099]) disposed between the display substrate and the color filter layer; and
a intermediate layer (e.g. CAP1, IBK1, and OBK1) disposed between the color filter layer and the light conversion layer,
a capping layer (CAP2, see [0099]); wherein
the intermediate layer has a side surface facing a direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device (e.g. the slanted surface in direct contact with CAP2, which faces left in Fig. 17),
in a cross-sectional view, the capping layer extends over and covers an entirety of the side surface of the intermediate layer (see Fig. 17),
the color filter layer comprises a first color filter (CF1), a second color filter (CF2), and a third color filter (CF3) (note that the first color filter CF1 and third color filter CF3 form a light shielding region extending from the display area to the non-display area, see [0182]),
an edge of the third color filter (CF3) protrudes more than an edge of the first color filter (CF1) toward an outer side of the upper substrate, and
the edge of the first color filter is covered by the intermediate layer (see Fig. 17);
in the cross-sectional view, the capping layer (CAP2) is in continuous and direct contact with the intermediate layer from a portion overlapping the edge of the third color filter to the display area (see Fig. 17).
Yang does not disclose
the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter, that extend from the display area to the non-display area and are sequentially disposed in a direction from the intermediate layer to the upper substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Oh teaches in Fig. 2A and related text
the first color filter (123), the second color filter (122), and the third color filter (121, see [0067) are sequentially disposed in a direction towards the upper substrate (note that the first color filter 123, the second color filter 122, and the third color filter 121 extend to areas of light shielding regions, see [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yang by having the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter, extending to light shielding regions and being sequentially disposed in a direction toward the upper substrate, as shown by Oh, in order to provide a high quality image and provide improved methods of manufacture (see Oh [0006] and [0152] at least). The limitation “the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter, that extend from the display area to the non-display area and are sequentially disposed in a direction from the intermediate layer to the upper substrate” is therefore taught by the combination of the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter extending to light shielding regions and being sequentially disposed in a direction toward the upper substrate, as shown by Oh, and the light shielding region extending from the display area to the non-display area and a direction from the intermediate layer to the upper substrate being toward the upper substrate, as shown by Yang.
Regarding claim 20, the combined device shows
an edge of the second color filter protrudes more than the edge of the first color filter toward the outer side of the upper substrate, and
the edge of the third color filter protrudes more than the edge of the second color filter toward the outer side of the upper substrate (Oh: edges of the second color filter 122 protrude more than corresponding edges of the first color filter 123 and edges of the third color filter 121 protrude more than corresponding edges of the second color filter 122, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Yang discloses in Fig. 17 and related text a display device comprising:
a display substrate comprising:
a display area (e.g. DA, see [0061]);
a non-display area (e.g. NDA, see [0061])adjacent to the display area; and
light emitting elements (EL, see [0087]) disposed in the display area; and
an upper substrate (SUB2) comprising a rear surface facing the display substrate;
a color filter layer (layer comprising CF1/CF2/CF3, see [0099]) disposed on the rear surface of the upper substrate;
a light conversion layer (layer comprising WLC1/WLC2/LTU, see [0099]) disposed between the display substrate and the color filter layer; and
a intermediate layer (CAP2) disposed between the color filter layer and the light conversion layer (e.g. between in at least one direction),
a capping layer (CAP1, OBK1, and IBK1); wherein
the intermediate layer has a side surface facing a direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device (e.g. a slanted surface in direct contact with OBK1 or IBK1, which faces left or right in Fig. 17),
in a cross-sectional view, the capping layer extends over and covers an entirety of the side surface of the intermediate layer (see Fig. 17),
the color filter layer comprises a first color filter (CF1), a second color filter (CF2), and a third color filter (CF3) (note that the first color filter CF1 and third color filter CF3 form a light shielding region extending from the display area to the non-display area, see [0182]),
an edge of the third color filter (CF3) protrudes more than an edge of the first color filter (CF1) toward an outer side of the upper substrate, and
the edge of the first color filter is covered by the intermediate layer (see Fig. 17);
wherein the capping layer (CAP1, OBK1, and IBK1) directly contacts the upper substrate (CAP1 portion directly contacts SUB2), and the capping layer includes a plurality of step portions (see Fig. 17).
Yang does not disclose
the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter, that extend from the display area to the non-display area and are sequentially disposed in a direction from the intermediate layer to the upper substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Oh teaches in Fig. 2A and related text
the first color filter (123), the second color filter (122), and the third color filter (121, see [0067) are sequentially disposed in a direction towards the upper substrate (note that the first color filter 123, the second color filter 122, and the third color filter 121 extend to areas of light shielding regions, see [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yang by having the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter, extending to light shielding regions and being sequentially disposed in a direction toward the upper substrate, as shown by Oh, in order to provide a high quality image and provide improved methods of manufacture (see Oh [0006] and [0152] at least). The limitation “the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter, that extend from the display area to the non-display area and are sequentially disposed in a direction from the intermediate layer to the upper substrate” is therefore taught by the combination of the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter extending to light shielding regions and being sequentially disposed in a direction toward the upper substrate, as shown by Oh, and the light shielding region extending from the display area to the non-display area and a direction from the intermediate layer to the upper substrate being toward the upper substrate, as shown by Yang.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection above. It is noted that the Yang reference has been newly interpreted in regards to the intermediate layer.
Conclusion
/LAUREN R BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 3/30/2026