DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments to claims 16; and 30, and request for reconsideration of the finality of their rejections of the last Office action are persuasive and, therefore, the finality of the rejections of claims 16; and 30 of that action is withdrawn. Claims 16-29; and 30-32 are now allowable.
However, the amendments to claim 1, and request for reconsideration of its rejection’s finality of the last Office action are not persuasive, as a new ground of rejection for claim 1 is presented herewith.
Claims Status
Claims 1-32 are currently pending. Claims 1; 16; and 30 have been amended. No claims have been canceled, and no new claims have been added.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-29; and 30-32 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
A. Re claim 16, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious the limitations of: a second area adjacent to and extending from the first area and within the opening of the organic insulating layer; and a third area disposed at an outer edge of the second area and within the opening of the organic insulating layer, the third area having a third thickness that is uniform, in combination with the additionally claimed features of claim 16.
In Re claims 17-29, they are allowable due to their dependence from claim 16.
B. Re claim 30, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious the limitations of: the second area being extended to the first area and within the opening of the organic insulating layer; and wherein a third area of the intermediate layer is disposed at an outer edge of the second area and within the opening of the organic insulating layer, the third area having a third thickness that is uniform, in combination with the additionally claimed features of claim 30.
In Re claims 31-32, they are allowable due to their dependence from claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al (US 2018/0006098 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Hong) in view of Lee (US 2020/0303469 A1-IDS prior art, hereafter Lee 469) and OH et al (US 2018/0006106 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Oh).
Re claim 1, Hong discloses in FIG. 7 (with references to FIGS. 3A, 4 and 6A-6K) a display device (organic light-emitting display device) comprising:
an organic insulating layer (107; [0089]) disposed on a substrate (100; [0053]) and having an opening (107h2; [0088]);
a first electrode (210; [0090]) disposed on the organic insulating layer (107);
an auxiliary electrode (215; [0090]) disposed on the organic insulating layer (107), the auxiliary electrode (215) having a first portion (region from center to left side of 215; see inserted figure below) overlapping the opening (107h2) of the organic insulating layer (107) in a plan view (FIGS. 3A and 3B; [0028] and [0048]-[0049]);
a bank layer (109; [0092]) including a first bank opening (unlabeled hole over 210) and a second bank opening (unlabeled hole over 215), the first bank opening (unlabeled hole over 210) overlapping the first electrode (210) in the plan view (FIGS. 3A-3B), and the second bank opening (unlabeled hole over 215) overlapping the first portion (region from center to left side of 215) of the auxiliary electrode (215) in the plan view (FIGS. 3A-3B);
an intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223; [0067] and [0107]) disposed on the first electrode (210) and the auxiliary electrode (215), the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223) including a hole (OP3/OP4/OP6; [0068] and [0107]) exposing a portion (at CNT1; [0051]) of the auxiliary electrode (215);
and
a second electrode (230; [0048]-[0049]; [0066]; [0068] and [0099]-[0100]) disposed on the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223) and overlapping ([0099]-[0100]) the first electrode (210) and the auxiliary electrode (215) in the plan view (FIGS. 3A-3B), the second electrode (230) electrically contacting (at CNT1; [0051] and [0100]) the auxiliary electrode (215) through the hole (OP3/OP4/OP6) of the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223),
wherein a thickness (vertical height) of the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223) varies (changes; see inserted figure below) in a direction away from (left or right of) a center (middle) of the hole (OP3/OP4/OP6) of the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223).
For the record, the inserted figure (annotated FIG. 7 of Hong) depicts 1st, 2nd and 3rd areas, a 1st portion of an auxiliary electrode (215), an opening (107h2) in an organic insulating layer (107), and a center of an intermediate layer (221/222/223) hole (OP3/OP4/OP6), where the intermediate layer (221/222/223) varies in thickness away from the center of an intermediate layer (221/222/223) hole (OP3/OP4/OP6) from the 1st, 2nd and 3rd areas.
Hong fails to disclose the organic insulating layer (107) having a contact opening; the auxiliary electrode (215) having a second portion overlapping the contact opening of the organic insulating layer in the plan view; and the hole (OP3/OP4/OP6) exposing a portion of the auxiliary electrode (215) in the opening (107h2) of the organic insulating layer (107).
However,
A. Lee 469 discloses in FIG. 6 a display device comprising: an organic insulating layer (170; [0080]) having an opening (170h2; [0080]) and a contact opening (170h1; [0080]); and an auxiliary electrode (210a; [0083]) having a second portion (at OP; [0083]) overlapping (in; [0083]) the contact opening (170h1) of the organic insulating layer (170) a plan view (from above OP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hong by adding the contact opening of Lee 469, the organic insulating layer (107) having a contact opening; the auxiliary electrode (215) having a second portion overlapping the contact opening of the organic insulating layer in the plan view; and the hole (OP3/OP4/OP6) exposing a portion of the auxiliary electrode (215) in the opening (107h2) of the organic insulating layer (107), in order to reduce undesirable outgassing of the organic insulating material from the organic insulating layer (Lee 469; [0082] and [0084]).
And,
B. Oh discloses in FIG. 2B a display device comprising: a hole (CH1; [0051]) in an insulating layer (L3; [0051]) exposing a portion (upper surface) of an auxiliary electrode (BE; [0051]) in the opening (CH1) of the insulating layer (L3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hong and Lee 469 by using the exposing a portion of the auxiliary electrode in the opening of the insulating layer, and the auxiliary electrode shape of Oh such that the hole (OP3/OP4/OP6) exposing a portion of the auxiliary electrode (215) in the opening (107h2) of the organic insulating layer (107), as a design choice (MPEP § 2144.04) for forming a point contact for multi-level, where the contact is stable in the event of damage to the auxiliary electrode (Oh; [0053]).
Re claim 2, Hong discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223) further comprises: a first area (see 1st Area in inserted figure) adjacent to the hole (OP3/OP4/OP6) of the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223); and a second area (see 2nd Area in inserted figure) adjacent to the first area (1st Area), the second area extended (connected) to the first area (1st Area) and having a maximum point (upper horizontal plane) that is a greatest height (max vertical extension) of the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223).
Re claim 3, Hong discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein a thickness (vertical extension) of the first area (1st Area) increases in a direction away from (right side of) the hole (OP3/OP4/OP6) of the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223).
Re claim 12, Hong discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223) comprises an emission layer (222; [0107]), and the hole (OP3/OP4/OP6) of the intermediate layer (laminate 221/222/223) penetrates through ([0107]) the emission layer (222).
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong and Lee 469 and Oh as applied to claim 2, and further in view of LEI et al (US 2022/0375787 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Lei).
Re claims 4-8, Hong and and Lee 469 and Oh disclose the device of claim 2.
But, fail to disclose wherein a plane shape of at least one of the first area and the second area is annular; wherein an area of a plane shape of the hole of the intermediate layer is about 60 +/- 20% of a sum of the area of the plane shape of the hole of the intermediate layer, an area of a plane shape of the first area, and an area of a plane shape of the second area; wherein a radius of a plane shape of the hole of the intermediate layer, is about 60 +/- 20% of a radius of an outer boundary of a plane shape of the second area; wherein a distance from a boundary of the hole of the intermediate layer to an outer boundary of a plane shape of the first area, is about 15 +/- 10% of a radius of an outer boundary of a plane shape of the second area; and wherein a distance from an outer boundary of a plane shape of the first area to an outer boundary of a plane shape of the second area, is about 25 +/- 20% of a radius of the outer boundary of the plane shape of the second area.
However,
Lei discloses in FIGS. 2A-3A a method comprising: removing a portion (tapered region in FIG. 3A; [0043]-[0044]) of a first area (sidewalls in FIG. 3A; [0043]-[0044]) of an intermediate layer (organic material 208; [0025] and [0043]) around a hole (316a in FIG. 3A; [0043]-[0044]) of the intermediate layer (208) and forming a second area (region beyond DT in FIG. 3A) of the intermediate layer (208) to protrude (extend) by irradiating a laser (of system 220; [0033]-[0034] and [0036]) to the intermediate layer (208), the second area (region beyond DT) being extended to (integral with) the first area (sidewalls).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure method of Hong and Lee 469 and Oh by using the irradiating a laser of Lei for the same of Hong, such that a portion of a first area of the intermediate layer around the hole of the intermediate layer is removed, a second area of the intermediate layer is formed to protrude by irradiating the laser to the intermediate layer, the second area being extended to (integral with) the first area, enabling very precise via shape control, including top/bottom opening size, opening morphology, and taper between top/bottom openings with reduced debris formation and little to no damage to the underlying conductive layer (Lei; [0034]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong and Lee 469 and Oh as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sato et al (US 2012/0126219 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Sato).
Re claims 9-11, Hong and Lee 469 and Oh disclose the display device of claim 2.
But, fail to explicitly disclose wherein the thickness of the intermediate layer in the first area is about 10 +/- 5% of the thickness of the intermediate layer at an outer edge of the second area; wherein the thickness of the intermediate layer in the first area is greater than or equal to about 200 Å and less than or equal to about 600 Å; wherein a maximum value of the thickness of the intermediate layer in the second area is about 140 +/- 20 % of the thickness of the intermediate layer at an outer edge of the second area; wherein the first thickness is about 10 +/- 5 % of the third thickness; wherein the first thickness is greater than or equal to about 200 Å and less than or equal to about 600 Å; and wherein a maximum value of the second thickness is about 140 +/- 20 % of the third thickness.
However,
Sata discloses in FIG. 1 a display device comprising: an intermediate layer (laminate HIL 3/HTL 4/EML 5/ETL 6/EIL 7; [0132]) having a thickness of 5.1-2,200 nm ([0081]; [0097] and [0104]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hong and Lee 469 and Oh, through routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05), by using the intermediate layer thickness of Sato, and measuring different thicknesses along the sloped portions of the first and second areas (see inserted figure) such that the thickness of the intermediate layer in the first area is about 10 +/- 5% of the thickness of the intermediate layer at an outer edge of the second area; wherein the thickness of the intermediate layer in the first area is greater than or equal to about 200 Å and less than or equal to about 600 Å; wherein a maximum value of the thickness of the intermediate layer in the second area is about 140 +/- 20 % of the thickness of the intermediate layer at an outer edge of the second area; wherein the first thickness is about 10 +/- 5 % of the third thickness; wherein the first thickness is greater than or equal to about 200 Å and less than or equal to about 600 Å; and wherein a maximum value of the second thickness is about 140 +/- 20 % of the third thickness, for increasing the luminescent efficiency (Sato; [0081]), through receiving and transporting of holes using a single-layered structure or a multi-layered structure made of a plurality of layers which are identical or different in composition (Sato; [0084]), and receiving and transporting of electrons using low-molecular-weight or high-molecular-weight compounds (Sato; [0098]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong and Lee 469 and Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WANG et al (US 2021/0257581 A1-prior art of record, hereafter Wang).
Re claims 13-15, Hong and Lee 469 and Oh disclose the display device of claim 1, further comprising: an auxiliary common voltage line (Hong: 153; [0069]), wherein the auxiliary common voltage line (153) overlaps the opening (107h2) of the organic insulating layer (107) in the plan view (FIGS. 3A-3B).
Hong and Lee 469 and Oh fail to disclose a common voltage line disposed on the substrate and extending in a direction; and the auxiliary common voltage line overlapping the common voltage line in the plan view, the auxiliary common voltage line electrically connected to the common voltage line through a contact hole in at least one insulation layer disposed between the common voltage line and the auxiliary common voltage line, wherein the common voltage line overlap the opening of the organic insulating layer in the plan view; an inorganic insulating layer directly contacting an upper surface of the auxiliary common voltage line; and wherein the auxiliary electrode comprises: the first portion overlapping an opening of the organic insulating layer in a plan view and having a width greater than a width of the opening of the organic insulating layer; and a second portion integral with the first portion and having a width less than the width of the first portion, wherein the second portion of the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the auxiliary common voltage line through a contact hole penetrating through the organic insulating layer and the inorganic insulating layer.
However,
Wang discloses in FIGS. 1-3 a display device comprising: a common voltage line (102; [0041]) disposed on a substrate (100; [0041]) and extending in a direction (FIGS. 1 and 3); and an auxiliary common voltage line (107; [0041]) overlapping the common voltage line (102) in the plan view (FIGS. 2 and 3), the auxiliary common voltage line (107) electrically connected to the common voltage line (102) through a contact hole (115; [0048]) in at least one insulation layer (103/104; [0048]) disposed between the common voltage line (102) and the auxiliary common voltage line (107), wherein the auxiliary common voltage line (107) and the common voltage line (102) overlap an opening (116; [0044] and [0048]) of an organic insulating layer (109; [0041]) in the plan view (FIGS. 2 and 3);
an inorganic insulating layer (SiOx, SiNx or SiON 108; [0054] and [0059]) directly contacting (physically touching) an upper surface (top horizontal plane) of the auxiliary common voltage line (107); and
wherein an auxiliary electrode (111; [0041]) comprises: a first portion (beyond 116) overlapping the opening (116) of the organic insulating layer (109) in a plan view (FIGS. 2 and 3) and having a width greater than (extension beyond) a width (lateral extension) of the opening (116) of the organic insulating layer (109); and
a second portion (in 116) integral with (connected to) the first portion (beyond 116) and having a width less (more narrow) than the width (extension beyond) of the first portion (beyond 116), wherein the second portion (in 116) of the auxiliary electrode (111) is electrically connected to ([0048]) the auxiliary common voltage line (107) through a contact hole (116; [0048]) penetrating through the organic insulating layer (109) and the inorganic insulating layer (108).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hong and Lee 469 and Oh by adding the common voltage layer line of Wang, positioning it such that common voltage line is disposed on a substrate and extending in a direction; with an auxiliary common voltage line overlapping the common voltage line in the plan view, the auxiliary common voltage line electrically connected to the common voltage line through a contact hole in at least one insulation layer disposed between the common voltage line and the auxiliary common voltage line, wherein the auxiliary common voltage line and the common voltage line overlap an opening of the organic insulating layer in the plan view;
an inorganic insulating layer directly contacting an upper surface of the auxiliary common voltage line; and
wherein an auxiliary electrode comprises: a first portion overlapping the opening of the organic insulating layer and having a width greater than a width of the opening of the organic insulating layer; and
a second portion integral with the first portion and having a width less than the width of the first portion, wherein the second portion of the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the auxiliary common voltage line through a contact hole penetrating through the organic insulating layer and the inorganic insulating layer, in order to increase the storage capacitance capabilities of the display (Wang; [0012]), and to add light shielding of the drive circuits from external light (Hong; [0111] and Wang; [0010]).
Response to Arguments
A. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a reference combination not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
No specific arguments have been presented against dependent claims 2-15 beyond they would be allowable due to their dependence from claim 1. Therefore, the examiner will make no comment(s) in light of the current of the current rejection of claim 1.
B. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-14, filed 10/21/2025, with respect to claims 16; and 30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 16; and 30 have been withdrawn. Claims 16; and 30, and their respective dependent claims are now deemed allowable (see Allowable Subject Matter above).
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892