DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species III directed to Figs. 5, 6-7, and 10 (claims 1-7, 10-16 and 24-29) in the reply filed on December 23rd, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-9 and 17-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshikawa (Pub. No.: US 2005/0230853 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikawa discloses a display device in Fig. 8C comprising: a substrate (wiring board 41) (see [0083]); a plurality of electrode pads (pads 45Ba, 45Bb and 45Bc) comprising a first electrode pad (pad 45Bb) and a common electrode pad (pad 45Ba) on the substrate (pad 45Ba connecting to cathode 35 and can be grounded for during operation of LED chip 30) (see [0064] and [0085]); a light emitting element (LED chip 30) comprising a first contact electrode (anode 34) on the first electrode pad (on pad 45Bb) and a second contact electrode (cathode 35) on the common electrode pad (on pad 45Ba) (see [0085]); a conductive adhesive member (conductive resin 7) comprising a plurality of conductive balls (plurality of conductive particles 7b) connecting the first electrode pad and the first contact electrode and connecting the common electrode pad and the second contact electrode (see [0085]); and a plurality of protrusions (6 bumps 47) on the substrate and protruding in a thickness direction of the substrate (vertical direction in Fig. 8C), wherein first protrusions (at least 2 bumps 47 on each of pads 45Ba/45Bb/45Bc) from among the plurality of protrusions overlap the plurality of electrode pads in the thickness direction of the substrate (see Fig. 8C).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshikawa discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein at least some of the plurality of conductive balls are located between the plurality of protrusions (at least some conductive particles 7b on pad 45Bb locating between bumps 47 disposing on pads 45Ba and 45Bc from the top view) (see Fig. 8C).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshikawa discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first protrusions protrude from top surfaces of the plurality of electrode pads (protruding from top surfaces of each of pads 45Ba/45Bb/45Bc) (see Fig. 8C).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshikawa discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first electrode pad (pad 45Bb) and the common electrode pad (pad 45Ba) are adjacent to each other in a first direction (horizontal direction) and extend in a second direction (vertical direction) crossing the first direction (see Fig. 5), and wherein the light emitting element is a flip chip type micro light emitting diode (LED chip 30 being flipped) located between the first electrode pad and the common electrode pad (from the top view, LED chip 30 are between sidewalls of Pad 45Ba and Pad 45Bb) (see Fig. 5 and 8C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (Pub. No.: US 2005/0230853 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, Yoshikawa discloses the display device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the plurality of protrusions have a shape such as a hemisphere, a triangular pyramid, a quadrangular pyramid, and a donut.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device comprising wherein the plurality of protrusions have a shape such as a hemisphere, a triangular pyramid, a quadrangular pyramid, and a donut based on the manufacturing design for lowering manufacturing cost. Since it has been held that where the general structure are discloses in the prior art, changing in shape involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (Pub. No.: US 2005/0230853 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugahara et al. (Pub. No.: US 2004/0005728 A1), hereinafter as Sugahara.
Regarding claim 15, Yoshikawa discloses the display device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the first contact electrode is smaller than a thickness of the second contact electrode
Sugahara discloses a display device comprising wherein a thickness of a first contact electrode (thickness of p-type electrode 110) is smaller than a thickness of a second contact electrode (thickness of n-type electrode 111) (see Fig. 1 and [0019-0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the structure of light emitting element of Yoshikawa to have the thickness of the first contact electrode smaller than a thickness of the second contact electrode as same as the display device of Sugahara because the modified structure would provide better performance and more reliable light emitting device by having fewer defects by using n-type semiconductor as the substrate.
Claims 24-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (Pub. No.: US 2005/0230853 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0190631 A1), hereinafter as Kim.
Regarding claim 24, Yoshikawa discloses a first display device in Fig. 8C comprising: a substrate (wiring board 41) (see [0083]); a plurality of electrode pads (pads 45Ba, 45Bb and 45Bc) comprising a first electrode pad (pad 45Bb) and a common electrode pad (pad 45Ba) on the substrate (pad 45Ba connecting to cathode 35 and can be grounded for during operation of LED chip 30) (see [0064] and [0085]); a light emitting element (LED chip 30) comprising a first contact electrode (anode 34) on the first electrode pad (on pad 45Bb) and a second contact electrode (cathode 35) on the common electrode pad (on pad 45Ba) (see [0085]); a conductive adhesive member (conductive resin 7) comprising a plurality of conductive balls (plurality of conductive particles 7b) connecting the first electrode pad and the first contact electrode and connecting the common electrode pad and the second contact electrode (see [0085]); and a plurality of protrusions (6 bumps 47) on the substrate and protruding in a thickness direction of the substrate, wherein first protrusions (at least 2 bumps 47 on each of pads 45Ba/45Bb/45Bc) from among the plurality of protrusions overlap the plurality of electrode pads in the thickness direction of the substrate (see Fig. 8C).
Yoshikawa fails to disclose the display device is a tiled display device and being a first display device among a plurality of the display devices and a seam located between the plurality of display devices.
Kim discloses a tiled display device (multi-screen display device) comprising a plurality of display devices (screen modules 500-1 to 500-4) and a seam (gap locating above coupling member 700) located between the plurality of display devices (see Fig. 20-21 and [0232-0235]), wherein a first display device (one of screen modules 500-1 to 500-4) from among the plurality of display devices comprising a light emitting element (a unit pixel) (see Fig. 21 and [0235-00236]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify display device of Yoshikawa to be made into a tiled display device comprising a plurality of the display devices having seams as same as the tiled display device of Kim because the modified structure would provide larger and reliable display panel with a low manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Yoshikawa and Kim discloses the tiled display device of claim 24, wherein the light emitting element is a flip chip type micro light emitting diode (LED chip 30 being flipped) (see Yoshikawa and Fig. 8C).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Yoshikawa and Kim discloses the tiled display device of claim 24, Yoshikawa fails to disclose the substrate comprises glass. However, Kim discloses the tiled display device comprising a substrate comprises glass (base plate 100) (see Fig. 21 and [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate of the display device of Yoshikawa to be made from glass material as same as the substrate of the tiled display device of Kim because the modified structure would provide the display device with high quality and extreme flat substrate for improving device performance and thermal stability.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Yoshikawa and Kim discloses the tiled display device of claim 24, Yoshikawa fails to disclose wherein the first display device further comprises: a pad on the first surface of the substrate; and a side line on the first surface of the substrate, a second surface opposite to the first surface, and one side surface between the first surface and the second surface, and connected to the pad.
However, Kim discloses wherein the first display device (one of screen module 500-1 to 500-4 including the display device of Fig. 15) further comprises: a pad (data pad DPP) on the first surface of the substrate (front surface 100a) (see Fig. 15, [0068]); and a side line (data routing film 20) on the first surface of the substrate, a second surface (rear surface 100b) opposite to the first surface, and one side surface (sidewall of base plate 100) between the first surface and the second surface, and connected to the pad (see Fig. 20-21 and [0233-0234]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the pad and side line of Kim into the display device of Yoshikawa because the modified structure would provide a reliable electrical connection to power the light emitting device for forming a tiled display device with low manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Yoshikawa and Kim discloses the tiled display device of claim 24, wherein the plurality of display devices are arranged in a matrix form in M rows and N columns (see Kim, Fig. 20 and [0233]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-7, 10-13 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to disclose or suggest the claimed invention having:
Wherein second protrusions from among the plurality of protrusions are located between the first electrode pad and the common electrode pad as recited in claim 2. Claims 5-7 depend on claim 2, and therefore also include said claimed limitation.
Further comprising a planarization layer between the plurality of electrode pads and the substrate; a pixel defining layer on the planarization layer and surrounding the plurality of electrode pads; and a first passivation layer on some of the plurality of electrode pads and the pixel defining layer, wherein the plurality of protrusions comprises a same material as the first passivation layer as recited in claim 10. Claims 11 depend on claim 10, and therefore also include said claimed limitation.
Wherein a maximum length of a protrusion from among the plurality of protrusions is smaller than a diameter of a conductive ball from among the plurality of conductive balls as recited in claim 12. Claim 13 depend on claim 12, and therefore also include said claimed limitation.
Wherein the first display device further comprises: a connection line on the second surface of the substrate; and a flexible film connected to the connection line through the conductive adhesive member, wherein the side line is connected to the connection line as recited in claim 28.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818