Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 and newly added claims 21-25, in the reply filed on November 7, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 9818722).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a semiconductor device package, comprising:
a carrier (100) comprising a predetermined non-shielding region (NS) [Figs. 26-27, annotated below];
an electronic component (400) disposed over the predetermined non-shielding region (NS) [Fig. 6]; and
a shielding layer (600) comprising a first portion (portion along line P1-P1) disposed over the predetermined non-shielding region (NS) [Figs. 25-27, below].
[AltContent: textbox (E1)][AltContent: textbox (E3)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: textbox (P1)]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (E2)][AltContent: textbox (E3)]
[AltContent: textbox (E1)]
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 26’)]
[AltContent: textbox (NS)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (P3)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (S)][AltContent: textbox (E4)]
[AltContent: textbox (L2)][AltContent: textbox (C2)][AltContent: textbox (T)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the first portion (P1) of the shielding layer (600) extends from a first edge (E1) of the carrier (100) toward a top surface (T) of the carrier (100) [Fig. 26, annotated above].
Regarding claim 3. Wang discloses wherein the shielding layer (600) further comprises a second portion (potion along P2-P2 line) disposed over the predetermined non-shielding region (NS), the second portion (P2) extends from the first edge (E1) toward the top surface (similar to T) of the carrier, and the second portion (P2) is separated (separated by device 200) from the first portion (P1) [Figs. 25-26. above].
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the shielding layer (600) further comprises a third portion (portion P3 perpendicular to line P1-P1 and device 400) disposed over the predetermined non-shielding region (NS), the third portion extends from a second edge (E4) toward the top surface of the carrier (similar to T), and the second edge (E4) is distinct from the first edge (E1) [Figs. 25-26. above].
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses wherein the first portion (P1) of the shielding layer (600) is spaced apart from the third portion (P3) of the shielding layer (See line P1-P1 separated from P3 by device 400) [Figs. 25-26, above].
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein a length of the first portion (P1) of the shielding layer is different from a length of the third portion (P3) of the shielding layer from a top view perspective [Figs. 25-26, above].
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses wherein the carrier (100) further comprises a shielding region (S) , the shielding layer (600) further comprises a fourth portion (arbitrary portion within region S) disposed over the shielding region (S), and the fourth portion is separated (see region NS) from the first portion (P1) from a top view perspective [Figs. 25-27].
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses an encapsulant (300) disposed between the shielding region and the shielding layer (600) [Figs. 25-27].
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses wherein the shielding layer (600) further comprises a second portion (portion 600 comprising the curve portion C2 and L-shaped L2 connected to the first potion T) connected to the first portion (portion located at top surface T) and extending over a first lateral side of the carrier [Fig. 26, above].
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses wherein the first portion (P1) of the shielding layer (600) is exposed (outside of ER region) from a coverage of the electronic component (400) [Figs. 25-27, above].
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses wherein the electronic component (400) comprises a connector (410) configured to provide an external connection wiring [Fig. 26].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11-14, and 22-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815