DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “wherein the driving sub-active pattern and the first sub-active pattern are formed of different materials from each other” is unclear as to the proper interpretation and scope of “different.” Specifically, it is noted that each of the materials comprise amorphous silicon as a principal component, which would not generally be construed as “different.” While it is understood that applicant believes that the addition of hydrogen makes the one material “different” from the other, it is unclear how little or how much would need to be added to the amorphous silicon in order to be construed as “different.” For example, it is unclear if even minor amounts of impurity or dopant would constitute “different” materials, or if merely a difference in crystallinity would constitute a “different” material. Accordingly, the proper scope of “different” cannot be ascertained and the claim is therefore indefinite.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a thickness of the driving sub-active pattern is greater than a thickness of the driving active pattern,” is unclear in light of the original disclosure. Specifically, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty (see MPEP 2173.03) The original disclosure recites the opposite relationship (see original claim 1 and [0006]) and therefore it is unclear if there is an error in the relationship of claims, an error in the relationship of specification, or some other error or inconsistency (e.g. claimed elements being referred to by terms inconsistent with the specification), and therefore unclear as to what relationship is required. It is noted that, while the original disclosure also recites the claimed relationship (see [0109]), the inconsistencies therein, combined with the similar nature of the names of the various elements and additional inconsistencies with the figures. With the exception of the relationship between TH1 and TH2 disclosed in Fig. 5B and related text, the myriad inconsistencies with all the relative thicknesses has introduced irreparable uncertainty as to which relationship is the correct relationship.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, the limitation “a thickness of the first sub-active pattern is greater than a thickness of the first active pattern,” is unclear in light of the specification. Specifically, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty (see MPEP 2173.03) The original disclosure recites the opposite relationship (see original claim 1 and [0006]) and therefore it is unclear if there is an error in the relationship of claims, an error in the relationship of specification, or some other error or inconsistency (e.g. claimed elements being referred to by terms inconsistent with the specification), and therefore unclear as to what relationship is required. It is noted that, while the original disclosure also recites the claimed relationship (see [0109]), the inconsistencies therein, combined with the similar nature of the names of the various elements and additional inconsistencies with the figures. With the exception of the relationship between TH1 and TH2 disclosed in Fig. 5B and related text, the myriad inconsistencies with all the relative thicknesses has introduced irreparable uncertainty as to which relationship is the correct relationship.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the limitation “wherein the driving sub-active pattern is formed of amorphous silicon, and the first sub-active pattern is formed of the amorphous silicon and hydrogen atoms bonded thereto,” is unclear as to how the first sub-active pattern is formed of “the amorphous silicon” and yet be a “different” material as required by claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “a second material different from the first material…a third material different from the first material and the second material” is unclear as to the proper interpretation and scope of “different.” Specifically, it is noted that each of the materials comprise silicon as a principal component, which would not generally be construed as “different” materials. While it is understood that applicant believes that the addition of hydrogen or the crystallinity makes the one material “different” from the other, it is unclear how little or how much would need to be changed in order to be construed as “different.” For example, it is unclear if even minor amounts of impurity or dopant would constitute “different” materials, or if merely a difference in crystallinity would constitute a “different” material. Accordingly, the proper scope of “different” cannot be ascertained and the claim is therefore indefinite.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “wherein the second material comprises amorphous silicon and hydrogen atoms bonded thereto, and the third material comprises the amorphous silicon,” is unclear as to how it is related to “a driving sub-active pattern disposed on the driving active pattern and comprising a third material different from the first material and the second material.” Specifically, it is unclear as to how the third material can be different from the second and also “comprises the amorphous silicon” of the second.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “a first material” is unclear as to how it is related to the “a first material” of claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “a thickness of the driving sub-active pattern is greater than a thickness of the second sub-active pattern,” is unclear in light of the specification. Specifically, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty (see MPEP 2173.03) The original disclosure recites the opposite relationship (see original claim 1 and [0006]) and therefore it is unclear if there is an error in the relationship of claims, an error in the relationship of specification, or some other error or inconsistency (e.g. claimed elements being referred to by terms inconsistent with the specification), and therefore unclear as to what relationship is required. It is noted that, while the original disclosure also recites the claimed relationship (see [0109]), the inconsistencies therein, combined with the similar nature of the names of the various elements and additional inconsistencies with the figures. With the exception of the relationship between TH1 and TH2 disclosed in Fig. 5B and related text, the myriad inconsistencies with all the relative thicknesses has introduced irreparable uncertainty as to which relationship is the correct relationship.
Note the dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0327362; herein “Park ‘362”) in view of Mizuki et al. (WO 2013065267, using machine translation provided herewith; herein “Mizuki”).
Regarding claim 1, Park ‘362 discloses in Fig. 3-4 and related text a display device comprising:
a substrate (SUB);
a first active layer comprising a driving active pattern of a driving transistor (active layer of DT, see [0134]; see also ACT6 of ST6, [0148], and [0154]) disposed on the substrate and a first active pattern of a first transistor (active layer of ST3, see [0142]; see also ACT6 of ST6, [0148], and [0154]) disposed on the substrate;
a first insulating film (131, see [0159]) disposed on the first active layer and the second active layer;
a driving gate electrode (gate of DT, see [0140]; see also G6 of ST6, [0148], and [0154]) disposed on the first insulating film (and overlapping the driving active pattern); and
a first gate electrode (gate of ST3, see [0142]; see also G6 of ST6, [0148], and [0154]) disposed on the first insulating film and overlapping the first active pattern.
Park ‘362 does not explicitly disclose
a second active layer comprising a driving sub-active pattern disposed on the first active layer to overlap the driving active pattern and a first sub-active pattern disposed on the first active layer to overlap the first active pattern, wherein the driving sub-active pattern and the first sub-active pattern are formed of different materials from each other;
a driving gate electrode disposed on the first insulating film and overlapping the driving sub-active pattern; and
wherein a thickness of the driving active pattern is greater than a thickness of the driving sub-active pattern.
In the same field of endeavor, In the same field of endeavor, Mizuki teaches in Fig. 2 and related text a display device with a transistor, the transistor comprising
a first active layer (e.g. 14A, see pg. 3 para. 7)
a second active layer (e.g. 14B and 14C, see pg. 3 para 8 through pg. 4 para. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park ‘362 by having each transistor with a first and second active layer, as taught by Mizuki, in order to achieve transistors with high speed and high electron mobility (see pg. 2 para. 2).
The combined device therefore shows
a second active layer comprising a driving sub-active pattern (Mizuki: at least a portion of 14C as applied to the driving transistor of Park ‘362) disposed on the first active layer to overlap the driving active pattern (Mizuki: 14A as applied to the driving transistor of Park ‘362) and a first sub-active pattern (Mizuki: at least a portion of 14B as applied to the first transistor of Park ‘362) disposed on the first active layer to overlap the first active pattern (Mizuki: 14A as applied to the driving transistor of Park ‘362), wherein the driving sub-active pattern and the first sub-active pattern are formed of different materials from each other (Mizuki: 14B is hydrogenated amorphous Si, 14C is n+ amorphous silicon see pg. 3 para 8 through pg. 4 para. 3);
a driving gate electrode (Mizuki: 12G as applied to the driving transistor of Park ‘362) disposed on the first insulating film and overlapping the driving sub-active pattern (Mizuki: the at least a portion of 14C as applied to the driving transistor of Park ‘362); and
wherein a thickness of the driving active pattern is greater than a thickness of the driving sub-active pattern (Mizuki: in one example interpretation 14A is 10-50nm and 14C is “about” 50nm, therefore in at least some embodiments 14A is greater than 14C; in another example interpretation a portion of 14C can be chosen as the driving “sub-active pattern” such that the thicknesses of the claim are met).
Regarding claim 2, the combined device shows a thickness of the first active pattern (Mizuki: 14A as applied to the first transistor) is greater than a thickness of the first sub-active pattern (Mizuki: the at least a portion of 14B as applied to the first transistor) (Mizuki: in one example interpretation 14A is 10-50nm and 14B is “about” 50nm, therefore in at least some embodiments 14A is greater than 14B; in another example interpretation a portion of 14B can be chosen as the first “sub-active pattern” such that the thicknesses of the claim are met).
Regarding claim 3, the combined device shows wherein the thickness of the driving sub-active pattern (Mizuki: the at least a portion of 14C as applied to the first transistor) is greater than the thickness of the first sub-active pattern (Mizuki: the at least a portion of 14B as applied to the first transistor) (Mizuki: in one example interpretation 14B is “about” 50nm and 14C is “about” 50nm, therefore in at least some embodiments 14C is greater than 14B; in another example interpretation a portion of 14B can be chosen as the first “sub-active pattern” and a portion of 14C can be chosen as the driving “sub-active pattern” such that the thicknesses of the claim are met).
Regarding claim 4, the combined device shows wherein the thickness of the first sub-active pattern is less than about 20 A (Mizuki: see pg. 3 para 8 through pg. 4 para. 3; note that “about” is undefined and therefore any value on approximately the same scale can read on the value).
Regarding claim 5, the combined device shows wherein the thickness of the driving sub-active pattern is greater than or equal to about 20 A and less than about 100 A (Mizuki: see pg. 3 para 8 through pg. 4 para. 3; note that “about” is undefined and therefore any value on approximately the same scale can read on the value).
Regarding claim 6, the combined device shows
wherein the first active layer is formed of polycrystalline silicon (Mizuki: 14A, see pg. 3 para. 7),
wherein the driving sub-active pattern (Mizuki: at least a portion of 14C as applied to the driving transistor of Park ‘362) is formed of amorphous silicon (see pg. 3 para 8 through pg. 4 para. 3), and
the first sub-active pattern (Mizuki: at least a portion of 14B as applied to the first transistor of Park ‘362) is formed of the amorphous silicon and hydrogen atoms bonded thereto (see pg. 3 para 8 through pg. 4 para. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Park ‘362 discloses in Fig. 3-4 and related text a display device comprising:
a write scan line (GWL, see [0112]) from which a write scan signal is applied; and
a sub-pixel (PX, see [0110]) connected to the write scan line,
wherein the sub-pixel comprises
a light-emitting element (LEL, see [0137]);
a driving transistor (DT, see [0134]) which provides a driving current flowing to the light- emitting element in response to a voltage of a gate electrode (see [0142]); and
a first transistor (ST3, see [0142]) which controls a connection between the gate electrode and a first electrode of the driving transistor (see [0142]) in response to the write scan signal from the write scan line.
In the same field of endeavor, Park ‘362 and Mizuki teach the remaining limitations in substantially the same manner and for the same reasons as applied to claims 1 and 2 above.
Note that it is the Examiner' s position that the limitations of “which provides a driving current flowing to the light- emitting element in response to a voltage of a gate electrode,” and “which controls a connection between the gate electrode and a first electrode of the driving transistor in response to the write scan signal from the write scan line,” are functional limitations of the apparatus claimed. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114.I and 2112.01. Additionally, the limitation of “from which a write scan signal is applied,” is directed to a method of using the device and that because the combined device has all of the structural limitations of the claimed invention the device is capable of being operated in the manner claimed by the applicant. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.II and 2112.01.
Regarding claim 12, the combined device shows the remaining limitations in substantially the same manner and for the same reasons as applied to claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 13, the combined device shows the remaining limitations in substantially the same manner and for the same reasons as applied to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 14, the combined device shows
an initialization scan line (Park ‘362: GIL, see [0089]) from which an initialization scan signal is applied; and
a second transistor (Park ‘362: ST1, see [0140]) which controls a connection between the gate electrode of the driving transistor and an initialization voltage line (VIL, see [0140]) from which an initialization voltage is applied in response to the initialization scan signal of the initialization scan line,
wherein the second transistor (Park ‘362: ST1 when modified by Mizuki to have the structure of the transistor shown by Mizuki) comprises a second active pattern (Mizuki: 14A as applied to the second transistor) comprising the first material and a second sub-active pattern (Mizuki: 14B as applied to the second transistor) disposed on the second active pattern and comprising the second material.
Note that it is the Examiner' s position that the limitation of “which controls a connection between the gate electrode of the driving transistor and an initialization voltage line from which an initialization voltage is applied in response to the initialization scan signal of the initialization scan line,” is a functional limitation of the apparatus claimed. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114.I and 2112.01. Additionally, the limitations of “from which an initialization scan signal is applied,” and “from which an initialization voltage is applied” are directed to a method of using the device and that because the combined device has all of the structural limitations of the claimed invention the device is capable of being operated in the manner claimed by the applicant. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.II and 2112.01.
Regarding claim 15, the combined device shows wherein the thickness of the driving sub-active pattern (Mizuki: the at least a portion of 14C as applied to the first transistor) is greater than the thickness of the second sub-active pattern (Mizuki: the at least a portion of 14B as applied to the second transistor) (Mizuki: in one example interpretation 14B is “about” 50nm and 14C is “about” 50nm, therefore in at least some embodiments 14C is greater than 14B; in another example interpretation a portion of 14B can be chosen as the second “sub-active pattern” and a portion of 14C can be chosen as the driving “sub-active pattern” such that the thicknesses of the claim are met).
Regarding claim 16, the combined device shows wherein the thickness of the second sub-active pattern is less than about 20 A (Mizuki: see pg. 3 para 8 through pg. 4 para. 3; note that “about” is undefined and therefore any value on approximately the same scale can read on the value).
Regarding claim 17, the combined device shows
a data line (Park ‘362: Dj, see [0141]) from which a data voltage is applied; and
a third transistor (ST2, see [0141]) which controls a connection between the data line and a second electrode of the driving transistor in response to the write scan signal of the write scan line,
wherein the third transistor (Park ‘362: ST2 when modified by Mizuki to have the structure of the transistor shown by Mizuki) comprises a third active pattern (Mizuki: 14A as applied to the second transistor) comprising the first material and an insulating film disposed on the third active pattern, and
wherein the third active pattern (Park ‘362: 131, see [0159]) is in contact with the insulating film.
Note that it is the Examiner' s position that the limitation of “which controls a connection between the data line and a second electrode of the driving transistor in response to the write scan signal of the write scan line” is a functional limitations of the apparatus claimed. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114.I and 2112.01. Additionally, the limitation of “from which a data voltage is applied” is directed to a method of using the device and that because the combined device has all of the structural limitations of the claimed invention the device is capable of being operated in the manner claimed by the applicant. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.II and 2112.01.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘362 in view of Mizuki, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kuramasu et al. (US 6506669; herein “Kuramasu”).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Park ’362 does not explicitly disclose
wherein the driving sub-active pattern comprises first protrusions protruding from an upper surface thereof,
the first sub-active pattern comprises second protrusions protruding from an upper surface thereof, and
wherein a height of the second protrusions with respect to the upper surface of the first sub-active pattern is smaller than a height of the first protrusion with respect to the upper surface of the driving sub-active pattern;
wherein the first active pattern comprises third protrusions protruding from an upper surface thereof, and
the height of the second protrusion with respect to the upper surface of the first sub-active pattern is smaller than a height of the third protrusions with respect to the upper surface of the first active pattern.
In the same filed of endeavor, Kuramasu teaches in Fig. 9 and related text a polysilicon active layer (2, see col. 12, line 61) wherein the polysilicon active layer comprises protrusions protruding from an upper surface thereof and layers above being conformal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park ‘362 by having the polysilicon active layer comprises protrusions protruding from an upper surface thereof and the layer above being conformal, as taught by Kuramasu, in order to provide a polysilicon layer with increased mobility. The limitation “wherein the first active pattern comprises third protrusions protruding from an upper surface thereof,” is therefore taught by the first active pattern being a polysilicon layer as shown by Mizuki in combination with the polysilicon layer in having protrusions as shown by Kuramasu. The limitations “wherein the driving sub-active pattern comprises first protrusions protruding from an upper surface thereof, the first sub-active pattern comprises second protrusions protruding from an upper surface thereof” are therefore taught by the driving active pattern and the first active pattern having protrusions, and the driving sub-active pattern and the first sub-active pattern being a layer formed over the protrusion, as shown by Mizuki, and the layers above being conformal as shown by Kuramasu.
Further, note that the limitations “wherein a height of the second protrusions…is smaller than a height of the first protrusion” and “the height of the second protrusion…is smaller than a height of the third protrusions” are taught, in one example interpretation, by the fact that a height can be taken at any point along the protrusions, and therefore can be chosen such that the claimed limitation is met. Alternatively, note that it would have been obvious to have the relative heights as claimed for the purpose of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e. smaller, larger, or equal to), with a reasonable expectation of success (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘362 in view of Mizuki, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0367122; herein “Park ‘122”).
Regarding claim 18, Park ‘362 further discloses a data line (Dj, see [0141]) from which a data voltage is applied but does not explicitly disclose
a timing controller which controls drivers in a way such that the write scan signal and the data voltage are supplied at a frame frequency of 60 Hz or higher in a first driving mode, and the write scan signal and the data voltage are supplied at a frame frequency of less than 60 Hz in a second driving mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Park ‘122 teaches in Fig. 1 and related text a display device comprising a
a timing controller (TC, see [0044]) which controls drivers in a way such that the write scan signal and the data voltage are supplied at a frame frequency of 60 Hz or higher in a first driving mode, and the write scan signal and the data voltage are supplied at a frame frequency of less than 60 Hz in a second driving mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Park ‘362 by having a timing controller which controls drivers, as taught by Park ‘122, in order to allow for improved control over the display device.
Note that it is the Examiner' s position that the limitation of “which controls drivers” is a functional limitation of the apparatus claimed. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114.I and 2112.01. Additionally, the limitation of “which controls drivers in a way such that the write scan signal and the data voltage are supplied at a frame frequency of 60 Hz or higher in a first driving mode, and the write scan signal and the data voltage are supplied at a frame frequency of less than 60 Hz in a second driving mode” is directed to a method of using the device and that because the combined device has all of the structural limitations of the claimed invention the device is capable of being operated in the manner claimed by the applicant. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.II and 2112.01.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (page 9) that the recitations of “different” material are not indefinite because amorphous silicon with hydrogen atoms bonded thereto and amorphous silicon would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be distinct materials with important functional and structural differences.
In response, the examiner disagrees. Specifically, while the examiner can accept that amorphous silicon with hydrogen atoms bonded thereto and amorphous silicon can be defined as being “different” materials, this is only one example of materials which would be defined as “different.” The claim, however, does not recite the specific materials and rather recites “different” materials. Having only one example of materials which applicant asserts are “different,” and noting that one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the materials are the same material, i.e. silicon, the scope of “different” cannot be ascertained because it is unclear how little or how much would need to be added to or changed about the silicon in order to be construed as “different.” For example, it is unclear if even minor amounts of impurity or dopant would constitute “different” materials, or if merely a minor difference in crystallinity would constitute a “different” material. Accordingly, the proper scope of “different” cannot be ascertained and the claim is therefore indefinite.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN R BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 4/3/2026