DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 12/16/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2019/0067406).
Re claim 1, Lee teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1 & 4, [0053, 0059, 0101], a display device comprising:
-a display panel (110) including a non-display area (BA, PA) in which a panel pad (IPP-110) is disposed; and
-a pad portion (PA) which contacts the non-display area (BA, PA) of the display panel (110),
wherein the pad portion (PA) includes an alignment mark (AM-110) overlapping the panel pad (IPP-110),
the panel pad (IPP-110) includes: a first vertical portion (left portion) and a second vertical portion (right portion) spaced apart from each other in a first direction (A2), wherein the alignment mark (AM-110) is disposed inside an area defined by the first vertical portion (left portion) and the second vertical portion (right portion);
a first horizontal portion (top portion) connected to the first vertical portion (left portion), and
a second horizontal portion (bottom portion) connected to the second vertical portion (right pad), and
the first horizontal portion (top portion) and the second horizontal portion (bottom portion) are spaced apart from each other in a second direction (A1) crossing the first direction (A2).
Re claim 2, Lee teaches, Fig. 4, a distance between the first vertical portion (left portion) and the second vertical portion (right portion) in the first direction (A2) is equal to or longer than a length of the alignment mark (AM-110) in the first direction (A2).
Re claim 5, Lee teaches, Fig. 4, the first horizontal portion (top) and the second horizontal portion (bottom) extend from the first vertical portion (left) and the second vertical portion (right), respectively, in direction (A2) closer to the alignment mark (AM-110).
Re claim 6, Lee teaches, Fig. 4, at least one selected from the first vertical portion (left) and the second vertical portion (right) includes parts spaced apart from each other in the first direction (A2).
Re claim 8, Lee teaches, Fig. 4, a corner of the alignment mark (formed by AM-110 & IPD-110) corresponding to the first horizontal portion (top) of the panel pad (IPP-110) which does not overlap the first horizontal portion (e.g., center of top portion) of the panel pad (IPP-110).
Re claim 9, Lee teaches, Fig. 4, the panel pad (IPP-110) is not connected to a wire disposed in the display panel (110).
Re claim 11, Lee teaches, Fig. 4, the panel pad (IPP-110) further comprises a third horizontal portion (e.g., middle part of top portion or bottom portion) connected between the first vertical portion (left) and the second vertical portion (right).
Re claim 12, Lee teaches, under BRI & best understanding, Figs. 1 & 4, [0053, 0059, 0101], a display device comprising:
-a display panel (110) including a non-display area (BA, PA) in which a panel pad (IPP-110) is disposed; and
-a pad portion (PA) which contacts the non-display area (BA, PA) of the display panel (110),
wherein the pad portion (PA) includes an alignment mark (AM-110) overlapping the panel pad (IPP-110),
the panel pad (IPP-110) includes a first vertical portion (left portion) and a second vertical portion (right portion) spaced apart from each other in a first direction (A2), wherein the alignment mark (AM-110) is disposed inside an area defined by the first vertical portion (left portion) and the second vertical portion (right portion).
Re claim 18, Lee teaches, Fig. 4, at least one selected from the first vertical portion (left) and the second vertical portion (right) includes parts spaced apart from each other in the first direction (A2).
Re claim 19, Lee teaches, Fig. 4, the panel pad (IPP-110) further comprises a third horizontal portion (bottom portion) connected between the first vertical portion (left) and the second vertical portion (right).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
The teachings of Lee have been discussed above.
Re claim 10, Lee teaches the first vertical portion & the first horizontal portion (of IPP-110) (Fig. 4), does not explicitly teach an angle between the first vertical portion and the first horizontal portion is less than 90 degrees.
Lee does teach an angle between the first vertical portion (of IPD-110) and the first horizontal portion (of AM-110) is less than 90 degrees (Fig. 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ/modify the teaching as taught by Lee to obtain an angle between the first vertical portion and the first horizontal portion is less than 90 degrees as claimed, because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Alter, 105 USPQ 233.
Re claim 20, Lee teaches the first vertical portion (of IPP-110) & a horizontal side of the alignment mark (of AM-110) (Fig. 4), does not explicitly teach an angle between the first vertical portion and a horizontal side of the alignment mark is less than 90 degrees.
Lee does teach an angle between the first vertical portion (of IPD-110) and a horizontal side of the alignment mark (of AM-110) is less than 90 degrees (Fig. 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ/modify the teaching as taught by Lee to obtain an angle between the first vertical portion and a horizontal side of the alignment mark is less than 90 degrees as claimed, because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Alter, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 3, 4, 7 & 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
The claims amended with newly added features, rejection and interpretation under Lee et al. are changed to meet the currently amended claims. The rejection of claims under An et al. is withdrawn. Details included in the above rejection.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 1/26/26