Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amikura; Norihiko et al. (US 20140203702 A1). Amikura teaches a gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10), comprising: an upper plate (66A; Figure 1,7-10 - Applicant’s 3; Figure 1) provided with a plurality of injection holes (66a-d; Figure 7-Applicant’s 6-9; Figure 1,2), the plurality of injection holes (66a-d; Figure 7-Applicant’s 6-9; Figure 1,2) comprising a center injection hole (66a; Figure 7- Applicant’s 5; Figure 2) and a plurality of outer injection holes (66b-d; Figure 7- Applicant’s 6-9; Figure 1,2); a divider plate (64; Figure 7-Applicant’s 10; Figure 2) constructed and arranged against the upper plate (66A; Figure 1,7-10 - Applicant’s 3; Figure 1) to guide a flow of gas from the injection holes (66a-d; Figure 7-Applicant’s 6-9; Figure 1,2); a first gas line (34a-GC1-CH1; Figure 7) fluidly coupled to the center injection hole (66a; Figure 7- Applicant’s 5; Figure 2); and a plurality of second gas lines (34b-d-GC2-4-CH2-4; Figure 7) fluidly coupled to the plurality of outer injection holes (66b-d; Figure 7- Applicant’s 6-9; Figure 1,2); wherein the plurality of outer injection holes (66b-d; Figure 7- Applicant’s 6-9; Figure 1,2) is arranged concentrically around the center injection hole (66a; Figure 7- Applicant’s 5; Figure 2); and wherein the divider plate (64; Figure 7-Applicant’s 10; Figure 2) is provided with a center through hole (TH1; Figure 7) fluidly communicating with the center injection hole (66a; Figure 7- Applicant’s 5; Figure 2); and {the divider plate (64; Figure 7-Applicant’s 10; Figure 2)} is provided with a plurality of protrusions (walls forming FG2-4 or material of 64 between FG2-4; Figure 7-Applicant’s 25-28; Figure 2) extending towards the upper plate (66A; Figure 1,7-10 - Applicant’s 3; Figure 1) thereby creating a plurality of zones (FG2-4; Figure 7), each of the zones (FG2-4; Figure 7) fluidly communicating with one of the outer injection holes (66b-d; Figure 7- Applicant’s 6-9; Figure 1,2); and wherein the center through hole (TH1; Figure 7) is configured to receive a gas from the center injection hole (66a; Figure 7- Applicant’s 5; Figure 2) and to provide the gas through a shower plate (60p; Figure 7 - Applicant’s 30; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 1
Amikura further teaches:
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 1, wherein the protrusions (walls forming FG2-4 or material of 64 between FG2-4; Figure 7-Applicant’s 25-28; Figure 2) are arranged radially from the center to the outside of the divider plate (64; Figure 7-Applicant’s 10; Figure 2), as claimed by claim 6
A substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1,7) comprising: a reaction chamber (12; Figure 1); a susceptor (16; Figure 1) positioned in the reaction chamber (12; Figure 1) constructed and arranged to support a substrate, wherein the apparatus (Figure 1,7) comprises the gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) of claim 1 and the shower plate (60p; Figure 7 - Applicant’s 30; Figure 1) is constructed and arranged to face the susceptor (16; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura; Norihiko et al. (US 20140203702 A1) in view of Kim; Kwang-Sik (US 7104476 B2). Amikura is discussed above. Amikura does not teach:
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 1, further comprising a first liquid gas line (Applicant’s 90; Figure 3) and a first dry gas line (Applicant’s 91; Figure 3) configured to connect to an upstream of the first gas line (34a-GC1-CH1; Figure 7), as claimed by claim 2. The above and below italicized claim text is considered intended use claim requirements for the pending apparatus claims. The state of matter and/or chemical identity for the conveyed fluid is not considered part of the pending apparatus claims. Further, it has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter , 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2115).
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 1, further comprising a second liquid gas line and a second dry gas line configured to connect to an upstream of the second gas lines (34b-d-GC2-4-CH2-4; Figure 7), as claimed by claim 3
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the zones (FG2-4; Figure 7) is provided with a substantially trapezoidal shape (Figure 16), as claimed by claim 4
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 1, wherein the number of the zones (FG2-4; Figure 7) is four, wherein the size of one zone is bigger than that of the other three zones (FG2-4; Figure 7), as claimed by claim 5
Kim also teaches a wafer processing system (Figure 1) including trapezoidal zoned gas injection (Figure 2B,2C) and upstream branched gas delivery network (Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Amikura to add Kim’s gas distribution network (Figure 3) and for Amikura to optimize Amikura’s zone dimensions as taught by Kim.
Motivation for Amikura to add Kim’s gas distribution network (Figure 3) is for performing an ALD process as taught by Kim (column 3; lines 25-27).
Motivation for Amikura to optimize Amikura’s zone dimensions as taught by Kim is manufacturing variability as desired as taught by Kim (column 2; lines 63-column 4; line 3).
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura; Norihiko et al. (US 20140203702 A1) in view of Rocha-Alvarez, Juan Carlos et al. (US 20050263248 A1). Amikura is discussed above.
Amikura further teaches:
the gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 1, wherein the shower plate (60p; Figure 7 - Applicant’s 30; Figure 1) is provided with a plurality of holes (60h; Figure 7) to guide a flow of gas outside the gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) – claim 7
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 7, further comprising a gas flow channel (GR1; Figure 7) disposed between a lower surface of the divider plate (64; Figure 7-Applicant’s 10; Figure 2) and an upper surface of the shower plate (60p; Figure 7 - Applicant’s 30; Figure 1) – claim 9
Amikura does not teach:
wherein the shower plate (60p; Figure 7 - Applicant’s 30; Figure 1) is attached to a lower surface of the upper plate (66A; Figure 1,7-10 - Applicant’s 3; Figure 1) - claim 7
the gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 1, further comprising an insulator connected to an upper surface of Amikura’s upper plate (66A; Figure 1,7-10 - Applicant’s 3; Figure 1), wherein the insulator is provided with a center hole fluidly communicating with Amikura’s center injection hole (66a; Figure 7- Applicant’s 5; Figure 2) and is provided with a plurality of outer holes, each of which fluidly communicating with Amikura’s outer injection holes (66b-d; Figure 7- Applicant’s 6-9; Figure 1,2), as claimed bty claim 8
gas flow channel (GR1; Figure 7) configured to fluidly communicate with Amikura’s center through hole (TH1; Figure 7) and perimeters of Amikura’s zones (FG2-4; Figure 7) - claim 9
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 9, further comprising a gas divider (Applicant’s 170; Figure 4) disposed in the gas flow channel (GR1; Figure 7), as claimed by claim 10
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 10, wherein the gas divider (Applicant’s 170; Figure 4) is ring shape, as claimed by claim 11
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 11, further comprising gas divider (Applicant’s 170; Figure 4) protrusions arranged radially from the gas divider (Applicant’s 170; Figure 4) to the edge, as claimed by claim 12
Rocha-Alvarez also teaches a zoned gas distribution apparatus (Figure 1,7) for a wafer processing system (Figure 4) including Rocha-Alvarez’s insulator (440; Figure 4) formed of “an insulative dielectric material” ([0024]) and provided with a center hole and connected to an upper surface of Rocha-Alvarez’s upper plate (228; Figure 4) in fluid communication. Rocha-Alvarez further teaches a ring-shaped gas divider (436; Figure 1,7) with protrusions (477; Figure 1,7) and prior art (Figure 1) mixed gas delivery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Amikura to add a dielectric lid plate and gas divider as taught by Rocha-Alvarez and for Amikura to optimize Amikura’s dimensions and/or shapes for securing components.
Motivation for Amikura to add a dielectric lid plate and gas divider is for “electrical insulation” as taught by Rocha-Alvarez ([0024]).
Motivation for Amikura to optimize Amikura’s dimensions and/or shapes is for securing components based on reactor design and wafer size.
Motivation for Amikura to premix gas sources as taught by Rocha-Alvarez is for “uniform deposition of a thin film” as taught by Rocha-Alvarez (column 1; lines 42-47).
Claims 13-14, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura; Norihiko et al. (US 20140203702 A1) and Rocha-Alvarez, Juan Carlos et al. (US 20050263248 A1) in view of Kim; Kwang-Sik (US 7104476 B2). Amikura, Rocha-Alvarez, and Kim are discussed above. Amikura and Rocha-Alvarez do not teach:
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 8, further comprising a plurality of gas splitters, each of which fluidly communicates with the outer holes, as claimed by claim 13
The gas supply unit (30; Figure 1,7-10) according to claim 13, further comprising a controller configured to control flow rates of the gas splitters, as claimed by claim 14
The substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1,7) of claim 14, further comprising a vacuum port disposed in a sidewall of the reaction chamber (12; Figure 1), wherein the biggest zone of the zones (FG2-4; Figure 7) is disposed in a vicinity of the vacuum port, as claimed by claim 17
Kim further teaches plural gas splitters (A-D; Figure 3), independent controllers (MFC; Figure 2D), and vacuum port (60; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Amikura to add Kim’s splitters, controllers, and vacuum port as taught by Kim.
Motivation for Amikura to add Kim’s splitters and controllers as taught by Kim is for performing an ALD process as taught by Kim (column 3; lines 25-27).
Motivation for Amikura to add Kim’s vacuum port is for ingress / egress of wafers as taught by Kim.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amikura; Norihiko et al. (US 20140203702 A1) in view of Carducci; James D. et al. (US 20090179085 A1). Amikura is discussed above. Amikura does not teach the substrate processing apparatus (Figure 1,7) of claim 15, further comprising a substrate transport tube disposed in a sidewall of the reaction chamber (12; Figure 1), wherein the biggest zone of the zones (FG2-4; Figure 7) is disposed in a vicinity of the substrate transport tube, as claimed by claim 16.
Carducci also teaches a wafer processing apparatus (Figure 1) including a zoned gas injection (Figure 2A) and wafer slit valve / transport tube opening (120; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Amikura to add Carducci’s slit valve / transport tube opening (120; Figure 1) with optimized zone (FG2-4; Figure 7) distribution.
Motivation for Amikura to add Carducci’s slit valve / transport tube opening (120; Figure 1) with optimized zone (FG2-4; Figure 7) distribution is for adding egress/Ingres means and improved performance and economy ([0017]) as taught by Carducci.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-9, filed November 25, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-17 under Moshtagh; Vahid S. et al. (US 20090107403 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Amikura; Norihiko et al. (US 20140203702 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zoned gas injection for wafer processing apparatus include:
US 20060191637 A1
US 20210142984 A1
US 20130341433 A1
US 20180269036 A1
US 20150184287 A1
US 20220093373 A1
US 20120064698 A1
US 20140203702 A1
US 20040134611 A1
US 20090107403 A1
US 6245192 B1
US 9121097 B2
US 8277888 B2
US 10145012 B2
US 10851457 B2
US 7658800 B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716