DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to response to RCE filed on 04/03/26.
Summary of claims
Claims 16-19 and 21-36 are pending.
Claims 16-19 and 21-36 are rejected.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on December 23th, 2020 is acceptable.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 16-19 and 21-36 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent 11568123. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
As claims 16-19 and 21-36 the scope of the claimed limitation of the instant application is essentially the same as claimed limitations of claims 1-20 of US Patent 11568123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 19, 21-26, 29-33 and 35-36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruguler et al. (US Pub. 8887105).
As to claims 16 and 22 the prior art teach a method comprising:
predicting an etch depth profile of a layer of a modeled wafer based on a the calibrated etch model (see fig 1), the etch model configured to predict the etch depth profile based (i) on loading information that indicates dependence of an etch rate for a resist profile on a quantity, or a pattern, or both a quantity and a pattern, of material being etched, or (ii) on flux information that indicates dependence of an etch rate for a resist profile on an intensity, or a spread angle, or both an intensity and a spread angle, of radiation incident on the resist profile, or (iii) and/or on re-deposition information that indicates dependence of an etch rate for a resist profile on an amount of material removed from the resist profile that is re-deposited back on the resist profile, or (iv) any combination selected from (i) to (iii) (see fig 1-4 col. 8 lines 20 to col. 9 lines 40);
and using the predicted etch depth profile (v) to generate or enhance a metrology target design, (vi) to correct a photomask, (vii) to verify a post-etch process window, (viii) to co-optimize a lithography illumination and photomask, or (ix) as input for defect prediction of an inspection system, or (x) as input to a pattern fidelity control system to improve across wafer patterning performance or (xi) any combination selected from (v) to (x) (see fig 4-6 col. 9 lines 9-51 and col. 12 lines 33-65)
As to claims 19 and 36 the prior art teaches comprising using the predicted etch depth profile to generate or enhancing the metrology target design comprises adjusting one or more dimensions and/or a pattern of the metrology target design (see fig 1-4 col. 7 lines 50 to col. 8 lines 40).
As to claims 21, the prior art teach wherein the using the predicted etch depth profile further comprises using the predicted etch depth profile in rigorous coupled-wave analysis (RCWA) to generate or enhance a metrology target design (see fig 1-4 col. 8 lines 10 to col. 9 lines 20).
As to claims 23 and 29 the prior art teaches a method comprising:
calibrating an etch model using two or more selected from: cross-section profile of a layer of a wafer, scanning electron microscope measurement s from a layer of a wafer generated based on a corresponding etch process, or scatterometry measurements from a layer of a wafer generated based ona corresponding etch process (see fig 1-4 col. 8 lines 20 to col. 9 lines 40);
predicting an etch parameter of a layer of a modeled wafer based on the calibrated etch model (see fig 3-7 col. 6 lines 37 to col. 7 lines 30);
and using the predicted etch parameter to (i) correct a photomask, or (ii) verify a post- etch process window, or (iii) co-optimize a lithography illumination and photomask, or (iv) and/or generate or enhance a metrology target design, or (v) any combination selected from (i) to (iv) (see fig 4-6 col. 9 lines 9-51 and col. 12 lines 33-65).
As to claim 24 and 31 the prior art teaches wherein the combination of cross-section profile, scanning electron microscope, and scatterometry measurements include overlay data and alignment data (see fig 2-4 col 8 lines 10-65).
As to claim 25 and 32 the prior art teaches wherein the etch parameter comprises an etch bias of a plurality of patterns of the layer (see fig 3-5 col 8 lines 40 to col. 9 lines 20).
As to claims 26 and 33 the prior art teach wherein the etch parameter comprises an etch depth profile of the layer (see fig 3-5 col 9 lines 10 to col. 10 lines 50).
As to claims 30 and 35, the prior art teach a method comprising:
calibrating an etch model for predicting a cross-wafer etch fingerprint as input for wafer inspection or patterning control operations and having parameters that describe cross wafer variations of a corresponding etch process, using two or more selected from: a cross-wafer cross-section profile of a layer of wafer, scanning electron microscope measurements from a layer of a wafer generated based on the etch process, or scatterometry measurements from a layer of a wafer generated based on the etch process (see fig 1-4 col. 8 lines 20 to col. 9 lines 40);
predicting an etch parameter of a layer of a modeled wafer based on the calibrated etch model (see fig 3-7 col. 6 lines 37 to col. 7 lines 30);
and using the predicted etch parameter as input for defect prediction of an inspection system, or to a pattern fidelity control system to improve across wafer patterning performance (see fig 4-6 col. 9 lines 9-51 and col. 12 lines 33-65).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18, 27-28 and 34 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851