Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 3 July 2025 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 9-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 15-17 are added.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: shared remote plasma unit wherein no specific structure for performing the function was located in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
As discussed above, “shared remote plasma unit” invokes interpretation under U.S.C. 112(f). However, no reference thereof in the disclosure details a specific structure to perform the claimed function attributed thereto. Without any disclosure of any structure, materials, or acts for performing the functions or any link of structure to the functions, one cannot conclude that the inventor was in possession of the claimed invention. Therefore, claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. In order to expedite examination, any feature capable of performing the claimed function has been interpreted as readable thereon. Any claim not mentioned specifically is rejected based on its dependency.
Claim 1 limitation “shared remote plasma unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, claims 1-8 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See above for claim interpretation. Any claim not mentioned specifically is rejected based on its dependency.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/00012273 to Sankarakrishnan et al.
Regarding claim 1: Sankarakrishnan et al. disclose a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a plurality of reaction chambers (Fig. 2, 202x2); a shared remote plasma unit (262) configured to (i.e. capable of) receiving a cleaning gas (see, e.g., paras. 37 and 47); a plurality of first cleaning gas lines (e.g., 292 and 296) configured to fluidly couple the shared remote plasma unit to the reaction chambers, wherein each of the first cleaning gas lines is provided with a respective valve (e.g. 300; also see e.g., para. 35) and is connected to a sidewall (212) of each reaction chamber of the plurality of reaction chambers.
Paragraph 35 of Sankarakrishnan et al. states: “It is also contemplated that each region 202 may have gas delivery thereto controlled by a separate dedicated valve 300 so that the flow of cleaning gas may be delivered selectively and independently to each region 202, including delivering cleaning gas to one of the regions 202 and not the other.” Note: each region 202 corresponds to individual ones of the plurality of reaction chambers.
With respect to claim 2, which is drawn to the identity of a gas used in the apparatus during an intended use thereof, it is noted that the courts have ruled expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Nevertheless, it is also noted that Sankarakrishnan et al. teaches that at least one of the claimed gases may be used for processing (see, e.g., para. 44).
With respect to claim 3, Sankarakrishnan et al. further disclose the apparatus comprising a susceptor (230) positioned within each reaction chamber of the plurality of reaction chambers, each susceptor constructed and arranged to support a substrate.
With respect to claims 4-5, Sankarakrishnan et al. further disclose the apparatus comprising a shower plate (274 and 276) constructed and arranged to face each of the susceptors, wherein each shower plate is provided with plurality of holes (280 and 284) capable of supplying the cleaning gas.
With respect to claim 6, Sankarakrishnan et al. further disclose the apparatus comprising a plurality of second cleaning lines/process gas line (each 290 and each 260) each of which is disposed between the shared remote plasma unit and a respective shower plate, including the shower plate.
With respect to claim 17, which is drawn to intended use of the claimed apparatus of which Sankarakrishnan et al. is capable, it is noted that the courts have ruled a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankarakrishnan et al. as applied to claims 1-6 and 17 above and as further set forth below.
With respect to claim 7, Sankarakrishnan et al. disclose the substrate processing apparatus substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, Sankarakrishnan et al. fails to each of the second cleaning lines/process gas lines is provided with a respective gate valve to supply a process gas to the reaction chamber through the respective shower plate.
Nevertheless, as described above, elsewhere in Sankarakrishnan et al. it is disclosed that using individual, separate, dedicated valves for providing a gas from a shared source to two separate processing regions/structures via separate gas lines allows for a gas to be delivered selectively and independently to the separate processing regions/structures, including delivering a gas to one region/structure and not the other (see, e.g., para. 35).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Sankarakrishnan et al. each of the second cleaning lines/process gas lines with individual, separate, dedicated gate valves in order to allow for a process gas to be delivered selectively and independently to the separate processing regions, including delivering the process gas to one region and not the other as taught elsewhere in Sankarakrishnan et al.
With respect to claims 8 and 16, which are drawn to intended uses of the claimed apparatus of which modified Sankarakrishnan et al. is capable, it is noted that the courts have ruled a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
With respect to claim 15, modified Sankarakrishnan et al. fails to disclose each process gas line is below the respective gate valve. However, the courts have ruled the mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In the instant case there is no evidence that the exact position of the respective gate valves provided as described above would affect the function as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 15-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record previously and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Pubs. 2006/0266288; 2014/0374024; and 2017/0294292 disclose apparatus wherein a remote plasma unit is shared by a plurality of reaction chambers. No additional more relevant prior art was located at the time the present office action was issued.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716