Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 3 July 2025 was previously acknowledged.
Claims 9-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 15-17 are added. Claims 6-7 are cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: shared remote plasma unit, wherein Applicant has stated on the record that the remote plasma unit is term of art as exemplified by cited and relied upon prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any claim not specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence.
Claim 1 uses “second cleaning line” and “second cleaning gas line” seemingly interchangeably. They appear to refer to the same feature. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed they are meant to refer to the same feature and has examined accordingly. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0012273 to Sankarakrishnan et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0162366 to Yanagisawa.
Regarding claim 1: Sankarakrishnan et al. disclose a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a plurality of reaction chambers (Fig. 2, 202x2); a shared remote plasma unit (262) configured to (i.e. capable of) receiving a cleaning gas (see, e.g., paras. 37 and 47); a plurality of first cleaning gas lines (e.g., 292x2, 294x2 and 296x2) configured to fluidly couple the shared remote plasma unit to the reaction chambers, wherein each of the first cleaning gas lines is provided with a respective valve (e.g. 300; also see e.g., para. 35) and is connected to a sidewall (212) of each reaction chamber of the plurality of reaction chambers.
Additionally, Sankarakrishnan et al. further disclose the apparatus comprising a plurality of second cleaning lines (each 290 and each 260) each of which is disposed between the shared remote plasma unit (262) and a respective shower plate (276)
Sankarakrishnan et al. fail to explicitly teach and/or explicitly illustrate either 1) each of the first cleaning gas lines is provided with a respective valve; and 2) each of the second cleaning gas lines is provided with a process gas line and a respective gate valve to supply a process gas to the reaction chamber through the respective shower plate.
With respect to the plurality of first cleaning gas lines, paragraph 35 of Sankarakrishnan et al. states: “It is also contemplated that each region 202 may have gas delivery thereto controlled by a separate dedicated valve 300 so that the flow of cleaning gas may be delivered selectively and independently to each region 202, including delivering cleaning gas to one of the regions 202 and not the other.” Note: each region 202 corresponds to individual ones of the plurality of reaction chambers.
Thus, although not illustrated, Sankarakrishnan et al. teaches each of the first gas cleaning gas lines is provided with a respective valve.
Sankarakrishnan et al. do teach second cleaning gas lines (each 290 and each 260) each of which is disposed between the shared remote plasma unit (262) and a respective shower plate (276).
Additionally, Yanagisawa teach a cleaning gas line disposed between a remote plasma unit (e.g. Fig. 1, 42) and a shower plate (e.g. 20) of a reaction chamber (12), wherein the cleaning gas line is provided with a process gas line (e.g. 50 and 51) and a respective gate valve (62) to supply a process gas to the reaction chamber through the respective shower plate for the purpose of preventing mixing of cleaning gas supplied via an RPU with a material gas (i.e. process gas) by shutting of the remote plasma unit and a reaction chamber from one another (see, e.g., para. 37). Also see, e.g., MPEP 2143 example rationales A, C, D and G.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Sankarakrishnan et al. each of the second cleaning gas lines disposed between the remote plasma unit and the shower plate of the reaction chamber, wherein the cleaning gas line is provided with a process gas line and a respective gate valve to supply a process gas to the reaction chamber through the respective shower plate in order to prevent mixing of cleaning gas supplied via the RPU with a material gas (i.e. process gas) by shutting of the remote plasma unit and the reaction chamber from one another as taught by Yanagisawa.
With respect to claim 2, which is drawn to the identity of a gas used (e.g. a cleaning gas) in the apparatus during an intended use thereof, it is noted that the courts have ruled expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Nevertheless, it is also noted that Sankarakrishnan et al. teach the cleaning gas may be at least one of the claimed gases (see, e.g., para. 44).
With respect to claim 3, in modified Sankarakrishnan et al., Sankarakrishnan et al. further disclose the apparatus comprising a susceptor (230) positioned within each reaction chamber of the plurality of reaction chambers, each susceptor constructed and arranged to support a substrate. See, e.g., Fig. 2
With respect to claims 4-5, in modified Sankarakrishnan et al., Sankarakrishnan et al. further disclose each respective shower plate constructed and arranged to face the respective susceptor and is provided with a plurality of holes (284) and capable of supplying the cleaning gas. See, e.g., Fig. 2.
With respect to claims 8 and 16-17, which are drawn to intended uses of the claimed apparatus and which modified Sankarakrishnan et al. is capable of performing, it is noted that the courts have ruled a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
With respect to claim 15, in modified Sankarakrishnan et al., Yanagisawa discloses the process gas line is between the gate valve and the shower plate. Thus, in modified Sankarakrishnan et al., it would be obvious to provide each process gas line between the respective gate valve and the respective shower plate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 15-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the claimed remote shared remote plasma unit of claim 1, Applicant has stated on the record that the remote plasma unit is term of art as exemplified by, e.g., relied upon prior art. Examiner accepts this characterization and had withdrawn previous rejections under 25 USC 112a, b with respect to language interpreted under 35 USC 112f. See MPEP 2181.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record previously and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Pubs. 2006/0266288; 2014/0374024; and 2017/0294292 disclose apparatus wherein a remote plasma unit is shared by a plurality of reaction chambers. No additional more relevant prior art was located at the time the present office action was issued.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716