DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a final office action in response to the applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 08/26/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the current office action. Claims 1, 11, and 18 have been amended by the applicant.
Status of the Rejection
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshizawa et al. (US-20220020599) in view of Feng et al. (US-20220102144-A1), Ji (CN-115602686-A, machine translation), Porshnev et al. (US-20100112793-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Koshizawa teaches a semiconductor processing method (Paragraph [0002] methods related to semiconductor integration) comprising:
providing a fluorine-containing precursor (Paragraph [0113] precursors may include fluorine-containing precursors), wherein a substrate is housed within the processing region (Paragraph [0039] Figure 2 substrate (element 202) is housed inside of processing region (element 201)), and wherein the substrate comprises a boron-containing material (Paragraph [0112] a boron-containing material is present on the substrate and is to be removed);
generating plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor (Paragraph [0112] Figure 9 a plasma is generated (step 910));
contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor (Paragraph [0112] Figure 9 the plasma in flowed into contact with the boron-containing material removing it (step 915)); and
removing the boron-containing material from the substrate (Paragraph [0112] Figure 9 the plasma in flowed into contact with the boron-containing material removing it (step 915)).
Koshizawa fails to teach that the boron-containing material is overlying an amorphous carbon hardmask material. However, Koshizawa teaches that the boron-containing material is overlying another material or materials (Paragraph [0112] a boron-containing material is present on the substrate and is to be removed. Paragraph [0116] the removal of the boron-containing material will expose an underlying material). In one example, Koshizawa teaches that the boron-containing material is overlying an etch stop layer which has further layers below it (Paragraphs [0063-0064] Figures 5A and 5B a boron-containing material (element 510) is deposited on a substrate (element 505) that includes a etch stop layer (element 508) and another layer (element 506)).
Feng teaches methods related to forming structures on a substrate ([Abstract]). Feng teaches that amorphous carbon can be used as an etch stop layer (Paragraph [0053] bottom layer (element 404) can be amorphous carbon and bottom layer (element 404) can function as an etch stop layer). Feng teaches that amorphous carbon can be used as a dielectric layer (Paragraph [0054] first dielectric layer (element 406) can be amorphous carbon).
Ji teaches method of manufacturing semiconductor devices (Paragraph [0003]). Ji teaches that a single layer can be used as both a hard mask layer and an etch stop layer during different steps of a manufacturing process (Paragraph [0062] hard mask layer can be used as an etch barrier layer or as a mask).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Koshizawa by using amorphous carbon as the material for the etch stop layer, as Feng teaches that amorphous carbon can be a suitable material as an etch stop layer. Further, as taught by Ji this etch stop layer could be used as a hard mask layer in later processing, and therefore the amorphous carbon etch stop layer could be considered an amorphous carbon hardmask layer. With this modification the boron-containing layer deposited within the method taught by Koshizawa would be overlying an amorphous carbon hardmask layer as claimed.
This modification would have been the simple substitution of one material suitable for an etch stop layer with amorphous carbon, which is known to be a suitable etch stop layer material. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP §2143(B). Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Modified Koshizawa as outlined above fails explicitly teach that the fluorine-containing precursor is provided to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, and that plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor are generated in the processing region in which the substrate is housed, wherein a plasma power is maintained at between about 500 W and about 1,500 W while generating plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor.
Koshizawa does teach processes and apparatus for generating plasma within a processing region and that the specifics of the taught process may be considered optional or modified (Paragraph [0061] Figures 2 and 4, method taught that can be performed on processing chamber 200. Paragraphs [0039] and [0041] processing chamber (element 200) includes a processing region (element 201) where process gases provided. Paragraph [0109] all aspects of removal operation of method 900 (Figure 9) can be considered optional within broader operations, such that the process can be conducted within the processing chamber 200).
Porshnev teaches methods related to processing a substrate that include ion implantation, deposition, and etching (Paragraph [0008]). Porshnev teaches that the ion implantation process uses boron-containing gas, thereby creating a boron-containing material (Paragraph [0019]). Teaches an etching process can be used to remove some of the doped material, where an etching gas such as NF3 is supplied to a processing chamber and is formed into a plasma with a source power from about 100W to about 2,000W (Paragraphs [0045-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Koshizawa by replacing the use of a remote plasma, with the process step of supplying precursors to the processing region, forming a plasma using these precursors within this region, and using the precursors to etch a boron-containing material, as Porshnev teaches. With this modification the use of the power taught as suitable by Porshnev for such a process would be used, thereby meeting all the instant limitations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of system and process taught by Porshnev could allow for additional processes to be performed without transfer of the substrate to a different apparatus (Porshnev Paragraph [0045] the etching process can be performed in the same chamber as preceeding deposition or implantation processes, allowing for the processing to be conducted in a single pass without breaking vacuum. Koshizawa Paragraph [0110] method 900 can include additional operations prior to the taught). Additionally, this modification would have been obvious as it would have been the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. This combination would have had the predictable result of providing a suitable means for providing fluorine-containing plasma effluents in order to etch a boron-containing material. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Porshnev fails to explicitly teach that the plasma power is maintained at between about 500W and about 1,500W. However, Porshnev further teaches that the source power is from about 100W to about 2,000W (Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a plasma power at a level within the disclosed range of about 100W to about 2,000W, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of between about 500W and about 1,500W. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein the fluorine-containing precursor comprises nitrogen trifluoride (NF3) (Paragraph [0113] fluorine-containing precursor may be nitrogen trifluoride).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein the boron-containing material is characterized by a boron-content of greater than or about 20 at.% (Paragraph [0079] the boron-containing film may include greater than 20 at. % boron incorporation).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein the boron-containing material further comprises nitrogen (Paragraph [0079] the precursors that form the boron-containing material may include nitrogen, therefore the material itself may comprise nitrogen. Alternatively, Paragraph [0070] the substrate may be pretreated such that nitrogen terminations form on the surface to facilitate the nucleation of the boron-containing material, such terminations would thereby be incorporated into the boron-contain material).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein the boron-containing material and the amorphous carbon hardmask material define at least one aperture extending through both the boron-containing material and the amorphous carbon hardmask material (Paragraph [0112] a boron-containing material is present on the substrate and is to be removed. Paragraph [0111] Figures 10A 10B, prior to the removal of the boron-containing material the boron-containing material layer (element 1006) and the substrate (element 1005) may contain an opening that exposes an underlying structure (element 1008b) as in Figure 10b or that can be filled with a protective material (element 1010) as in Figure 10a. As outlined in the rejection of claim 1, an underlying layer can be an amorphous carbon hardmask material, such that the substrate layer (element 1005) can be considered to comprise the amorphous carbon hardmask material layer).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein a temperature within the semiconductor processing chamber is maintained at less than or about 100°C (Paragraph [0115] the temperature may be 100°C or higher). Porshnev further teaches that the chuck temperature can be about 15-90°C (Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein a pressure within the semiconductor processing chamber is maintained at less than or about 1 Torr (Paragraph [0115] the pressure may be below about 1 Torr). Porshnev further teaches that the chamber pressure can be about 7-100mTorr (Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Porshnev fails to explicitly teach wherein a plasma power is maintained at greater than or about 1,000 W while generating plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor.
However, Porshnev further teaches that the source power is from about 100W to about 2,000W (Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a plasma power at a level within the disclosed range of about 100W to about 2,000W, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of greater than or about 1,000W. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches herein the boron-containing material is removed from the substrate at a rate of greater than or about 5,000 A/min (Paragraph [0118] removal rate may be 80 nm/min (equivalent to 800A/min) or higher).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein a selectivity of the removal of the boron-containing material relative to the amorphous carbon hardmask material is greater than or about 10:1 (Paragraph [0117] the etch selectively relative to a silicon carbon nitride may be maintained at greater than 100:1).
Regarding Claim 18, Koshizawa teaches a semiconductor processing method (Paragraph [0002] methods related to semiconductor integration) comprising:
providing fluorine-containing precursor (Paragraph [0113] precursors may include fluorine-containing precursors), wherein the fluorine-containing precursor comprises nitrogen trifluoride (NF3) (Paragraph [0113] fluorine-containing precursor may be nitrogen trifluoride), wherein a substrate is housed within the processing region (Paragraph [0039] Figure 2 substrate (element 202) is housed inside of processing region (element 201)), and wherein the substrate comprises a boron-containing material;
generating plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor (Paragraph [0112] Figure 9 a plasma is generated (step 910));
contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor (Paragraph [0112] Figure 9 the plasma in flowed into contact with the boron-containing material removing it (step 915)); and
removing the boron-containing material from the substrate (Paragraph [0112] Figure 9 the plasma in flowed into contact with the boron-containing material removing it (step 915)).
Koshizawa fails to teach that the boron-containing material is overlying an amorphous carbon hardmask material. However, Koshizawa teaches that the boron-containing material is overlying another material or materials (Paragraph [0112] a boron-containing material is present on the substrate and is to be removed. Paragraph [0116] the removal of the boron-containing material will expose an underlying material). In one example, Koshizawa teaches that the boron-containing material is overlying an etch stop layer which has further layers below it (Paragraphs [0063-0064] Figures 5A and 5B a boron-containing material (element 510) is deposited on a substrate (element 505) that includes a etch stop layer (element 508) and another layer (element 506)).
Feng teaches methods related to forming structures on a substrate ([Abstract]). Feng teaches that amorphous carbon can be used as an etch stop layer (Paragraph [0053] bottom layer (element 404) can be amorphous carbon and bottom layer (element 404) can function as an etch stop layer). Feng teaches that amorphous carbon can be used as a dielectric layer (Paragraph [0054] first dielectric layer (element 406) can be amorphous carbon).
Ji teaches method of manufacturing semiconductor devices (Paragraph [0003]). Ji teaches that a single layer can be used as both a hard mask layer and an etch stop layer during different steps of a manufacturing process (Paragraph [0062] hard mask layer can be used as an etch barrier layer or as a mask).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Koshizawa by using amorphous carbon as the material for the etch stop layer, as Feng teaches that amorphous carbon can be a suitable material as an etch stop layer. Further, as taught by Ji this etch stop layer could be used as a hard mask layer in later processing, and therefore the amorphous carbon etch stop layer could be considered an amorphous carbon hardmask layer. With this modification the boron-containing layer deposited within the method taught by Koshizawa would be overlying an amorphous carbon hardmask layer as claimed.
This modification would have been the simple substitution of one material suitable for an etch stop layer with amorphous carbon, which is known to be a suitable etch stop layer material. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP §2143(B). Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Modified Koshizawa as outlined above fails explicitly teach that the fluorine-containing precursor is provided to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, and that plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor are generated in the processing region in which the substrate is housed, wherein a plasma power is maintained at between about 500 W and about 1,500 W while generating plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor.
Koshizawa does teach processes and apparatus for generating plasma within a processing region and that the specifics of the taught process may be considered optional or modified (Paragraph [0061] Figures 2 and 4, method taught that can be performed on processing chamber 200. Paragraphs [0039] and [0041] processing chamber (element 200) includes a processing region (element 201) where process gases provided. Paragraph [0109] all aspects of removal operation of method 900 (Figure 9) can be considered optional within broader operations, such that the process can be conducted within the processing chamber 200).
Porshnev teaches methods related to processing a substrate that include ion implantation, deposition, and etching (Paragraph [0008]). Porshnev teaches that the ion implantation process uses boron-containing gas, thereby creating a boron-containing material (Paragraph [0019]). Teaches an etching process can be used to remove some of the doped material, where an etching gas such as NF3 is supplied to a processing chamber and is formed into a plasma with a source power from about 100W to about 2,000W (Paragraphs [0045-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Koshizawa by replacing the use of a remote plasma, with the process step of supplying precursors to the processing region, forming a plasma using these precursors within this region, and using the precursors to etch a boron-containing material, as Porshnev teaches. With this modification the use of the power taught as suitable by Porshnev for such a process would be used, thereby meeting all the instant limitations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of system and process taught by Porshnev could allow for additional processes to be performed without transfer of the substrate to a different apparatus (Porshnev Paragraph [0045] the etching process can be performed in the same chamber as preceeding deposition or implantation processes, allowing for the processing to be conducted in a single pass without breaking vacuum. Koshizawa Paragraph [0110] method 900 can include additional operations prior to the taught). Additionally, this modification would have been obvious as it would have been the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. This combination would have had the predictable result of providing a suitable means for providing fluorine-containing plasma effluents in order to etch a boron-containing material. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Porshnev fails to explicitly teach that the plasma power is maintained at between about 500W and about 1,500W. However, Porshnev further teaches that the source power is from about 100W to about 2,000W (Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a plasma power at a level within the disclosed range of about 100W to about 2,000W, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of between about 500W and about 1,500W. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as outlined above.
Koshizawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the boron-containing material is removed from the substrate in less than or about 10 minutes.
However, Koshizawa teaches that the thickness of the boron-containing material may be 300nm or greater (Paragraph [0066]). Koshizawa further teaches that the removal rate of the boron-containing material may be 80 nm/min or greater (Paragraph [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a thickness for the boron-containing material and a removal rate of the boron-containing material at levels within the respective disclosed ranges of 300nm or greater and 80nm/min or greater such that the total removal time for the boron-containing material overlapped with the claimed range of less than 10 minutes. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein: the amorphous carbon material defines at least one aperture; and removing the boron-containing material from the substrate maintains sidewalls and a bottom surface of the at least one aperture (Paragraph [0067] method 400 includes transferring the pattern of the boron-containing layer to underlying structure and removing the boron-containing layer Paragraph [0111-0112] Figure 10b the patterning of the can comprise forming an aperture, exposing element 1008b. Removal process is conducted to limit damage to existing structures, thereby maintaining them, which would include the sidewalls and bottom surface of the aperture that exposes 1008b).
Claims 11-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Feng, Ji, Porshnev, and Demmin et al. (US-6635185-B2).
Regarding Claim 11, Koshizawa teaches a semiconductor processing method (Paragraph [0002] methods related to semiconductor integration) comprising:
providing a fluorine-containing precursor (Paragraph [0113] precursors may include fluorine-containing precursors), wherein a substrate is housed within the processing region (Paragraph [0039] Figure 2 substrate (element 202) is housed inside of processing region (element 201)), wherein the substrate comprises a boron-containing material overlying a material (Paragraph [0112] a boron-containing material is present on the substrate and is to be removed. Paragraph [0111] Figures 10a and 10b, substrate may contain additional masking or structural layers. [0116] the removal of the boron-containing material will expose an underlying material), and wherein the boron-containing material and the material define at least one aperture extending through both the boron-containing material and the material (Paragraph [0112] a boron-containing material is present on the substrate and is to be removed. Paragraph [0111] Figures 10A 10B, prior to the removal of the boron-containing material the boron-containing material layer (element 1006) and the substrate (element 1005) may contain an opening that exposes an underlying structure (element 1008b) as in Figure 10b or that can be filled with a protective material (element 1010) as in Figure 10a);
generating plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor (Paragraph [0112] Figure 9 a plasma is generated (step 910));
contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor (Paragraph [0112] Figure 9 the plasma in flowed into contact with the boron-containing material removing it (step 915)); and
removing the boron-containing material from the substrate (Paragraph [0112] Figure 9 the plasma in flowed into contact with the boron-containing material removing it (step 915)).
Koshizawa fails to teach that the boron-containing material is overlying an amorphous carbon hardmask material. However, Koshizawa teaches that the boron-containing material is overlying another material or materials (Paragraph [0112] a boron-containing material is present on the substrate and is to be removed. Paragraph [0116] the removal of the boron-containing material will expose an underlying material). In one example, Koshizawa teaches that the boron-containing material is overlying an etch stop layer which has further layers below it (Paragraphs [0063-0064] Figures 5A and 5B a boron-containing material (element 510) is deposited on a substrate (element 505) that includes a etch stop layer (element 508) and another layer (element 506)).
Feng teaches methods related to forming structures on a substrate ([Abstract]). Feng teaches that amorphous carbon can be used as an etch stop layer (Paragraph [0053] bottom layer (element 404) can be amorphous carbon and bottom layer (element 404) can function as an etch stop layer). Feng teaches that amorphous carbon can be used as a dielectric layer (Paragraph [0054] first dielectric layer (element 406) can be amorphous carbon).
Ji teaches method of manufacturing semiconductor devices (Paragraph [0003]). Ji teaches that a single layer can be used as both a hard mask layer and an etch stop layer during different steps of a manufacturing process (Paragraph [0062] hard mask layer can be used as an etch barrier layer or as a mask).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Koshizawa by using amorphous carbon as the material for the etch stop layer, as Feng teaches that amorphous carbon can be a suitable material as an etch stop layer. Further, as taught by Ji this etch stop layer could be used as a hard mask layer in later processing, and therefore the amorphous carbon etch stop layer could be considered an amorphous carbon hardmask layer. With this modification the boron-containing layer deposited within the method taught by Koshizawa would be overlying an amorphous carbon hardmask layer as claimed.
This modification would have been the simple substitution of one material suitable for an etch stop layer with amorphous carbon, which is known to be a suitable etch stop layer material. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP §2143(B). Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Modified Koshizawa as outlined above fails explicitly teach that the fluorine-containing precursor is provided to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, and that plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor are generated in the processing region in which the substrate is housed, wherein a plasma power is maintained at between about 500 W and about 1,500 W while generating plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor.
Koshizawa does teach processes and apparatus for generating plasma within a processing region and that the specifics of the taught process may be considered optional or modified (Paragraph [0061] Figures 2 and 4, method taught that can be performed on processing chamber 200. Paragraphs [0039] and [0041] processing chamber (element 200) includes a processing region (element 201) where process gases provided. Paragraph [0109] all aspects of removal operation of method 900 (Figure 9) can be considered optional within broader operations, such that the process can be conducted within the processing chamber 200).
Porshnev teaches methods related to processing a substrate that include ion implantation, deposition, and etching (Paragraph [0008]). Porshnev teaches that the ion implantation process uses boron-containing gas, thereby creating a boron-containing material (Paragraph [0019]). Teaches an etching process can be used to remove some of the doped material, where an etching gas such as NF3 is supplied to a processing chamber and is formed into a plasma with a source power from about 100W to about 2,000W (Paragraphs [0045-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Koshizawa by replacing the use of a remote plasma, with the process step of supplying precursors to the processing region, forming a plasma using these precursors within this region, and using the precursors to etch a boron-containing material, as Porshnev teaches. With this modification the use of the power taught as suitable by Porshnev for such a process would be used, thereby meeting all the instant limitations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of system and process taught by Porshnev could allow for additional processes to be performed without transfer of the substrate to a different apparatus (Porshnev Paragraph [0045] the etching process can be performed in the same chamber as preceeding deposition or implantation processes, allowing for the processing to be conducted in a single pass without breaking vacuum. Koshizawa Paragraph [0110] method 900 can include additional operations prior to the taught). Additionally, this modification would have been obvious as it would have been the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. This combination would have had the predictable result of providing a suitable means for providing fluorine-containing plasma effluents in order to etch a boron-containing material. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Porshnev fails to explicitly teach that the plasma power is maintained at between about 500W and about 1,500W. However, Porshnev further teaches that the source power is from about 100W to about 2,000W (Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a plasma power at a level within the disclosed range of about 100W to about 2,000W, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of between about 500W and about 1,500W. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Modified Koshizawa as outlined above fails to teach wherein a temperature within the semiconductor processing chamber is maintained at less than or about 90°C during the removing of the boron-containing material from the substrate.
Porshnev teaches that the chuck temperature is maintained at about 15°C to about 90°C.
Demmin teaches methods of plasma etching (Column 1 line 5-12). Demmin teaches that changing the parameters used during the plasma etching process are a result-effective variable which can be optimized (Column 7 lines 15-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Koshizawa by changing the parameters, such as the temperature, used during the plasma etching process to remove the boron-containing material from the substrate, for example, by supplying a chuck temperature within the range taught by Porshnev, such that the instant limitation was met, as the modification of the parameters during etching is a result-effective variable which can be optimized. See MPEP 2144.05 IIB.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein the fluorine- containing precursor comprises nitrogen trifluoride (NF3) (Paragraph [0113] fluorine-containing precursor may be nitrogen trifluoride).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein the boron-containing material is characterized by a thickness of greater than or about 250 nm (Paragraph [0066] thickness may be greater than 300nm).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein the fluorine-containing precursor is provided without a carrier gas (Paragraphs [0112-0114] one etchant precursor may be provided, additional gas are optionally included). Porshnev further teaches that the fluorine-containing precursor is provided without a carrier gas (Paragraph [0046] etching gas is provided while hydrogen and inert gases are optionally included).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches further comprising: prior to providing the fluorine-containing precursor, etching the amorphous carbon hardmask material to form the at least one aperture extending through the amorphous carbon hardmask material (Paragraph [0062] Figure 4, method 400 may be performed in chamber 200. Paragraph [0067] method 400 includes transferring the pattern of the boron-containing layer to underlying structure, which can include the amorphous carbon hardmask material).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as outlined above. Koshizawa further teaches wherein removing the boron-containing material from the substrate is performed in the same semiconductor processing chamber as etching the amorphous carbon hardmask material (Paragraph [0062] Figure 4, method 400 may be performed in chamber 200. Paragraph [0067] method 400 includes transferring the pattern of the boron-containing layer to underlying structure and removing the boron-containing layer).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshizawa in view of Feng, Ji, Porshnev, and Demmin as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Duan et al. (US-20170062218-A1).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Koshizawa teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as outlined above.
Koshizawa fails to teach wherein a flow rate of the fluorine-containing precursor is less than or about 1,000 sccm.
Duan teaches methods related to the fabricating integrated circuits (Paragraph [0003]). Duan teaches a plasma etching process that can be used to etch a boron-containing material (Paragraph [0067] Figures 2a and 2b plasma cleaning process (step 270) is used to remove material previously deposited. Paragraph [0066] the previously deposited material is a boron-containing material (step 250)). Duan teaches that the plasma etching process can use a fluorine-containing gas, including nitrogen trifluoride (NF3) (Paragraph [0069]). Duan teaches that the fluorine-containing gas can be supplied at a rate of 100-1000 sccm (Paragraph [0071]).
It would have been obvious to have modified the method of modified Koshizawa by replacing the unspecified flow rate for nitrogen trifluoride with the flow rate for nitrogen trifluoride taught by Duan.
This modification would have been obvious as it would have been the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. This combination would have had the predictable result of providing a suitable flow rate for nitrogen trifluoride during a plasma etch process. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Pg. 1-2, filed 08/26/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1713 /DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713