DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated 04/02/2026.
2. Claims 1-6 and 17-24 are currently pending.
3. Claims 1, 3-6, 17, and 19-20 have been amended.
4. Claims 7-16 have been cancelled.
5. Claims 21-24 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-6 and 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al (US 2020/0017971) in view of Inoue et al (JPH11240794A) and Takasuka et al (US 2012/0024227).
Regarding claim 1:
Kao teaches a lid (lid assembly, 104) configured for a cross-flow semiconductor process chamber (100) [fig 1 & 0020], the lid (104) comprising: a precursor inlet (110) on a an inlet side of the lid (left side of 104) and a precursor outlet (112) on an outlet side of the lid (right side of 104) opposite a center of the lid from the precursor inlet side (see fig 1), the precursor inlet (110) configured to allow a cross-flow of a precursor from the precursor inlet side of the lid to an exhaust side of the lid in a generally linear fashion (process gases flow in the processing region 120 across the substrate 101) [fig 1 & 0020].
Kao does not specifically disclose at least one purge gas inlet on the lid, the at least one purge gas inlet in fluid communication with a purge gas channel having at least one opening configured to provide a flow of purge gas at a center of a substrate along the generally linear cross-flow of the precursor in the cross-flow semiconductor process chamber when the lid is assembled to the cross-flow semiconductor process chamber.
Inoue teaches at least one purge gas inlet (reference gas inlet, 14) on the lid (ceiling region of the reaction chamber), the at least one purge gas inlet (14) in fluid communication with a purge gas channel (flow path, 13) having at least one opening (17) configured to provide a flow of purge gas (reference gas) at a center of a substrate (19) along the generally linear cross-flow of the precursor in the cross-flow semiconductor process chamber when the lid is assembled to the cross-flow semiconductor process chamber (see fig 3) [fig 3 & 0032-0033].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lid of Kao with at least one purge gas inlet in fluid communication with a purge gas channel having at least one opening, as in Inoue, to act as a barrier preventing adhesion of the precursor on the ceiling region of the reaction chamber and therefore, adhesion product does not drop [Inoue – 0034].
Although directed to an intended use, the structure of Kao modified by Inoue does not appear to be capable of providing “an adjustable flow of purge gas … so that a flow of the purge gas is greater at the center of the substrate than at the outlet side and the inlet side of the lid”.
Takasuka teaches a structure capable of providing an adjustable flow of purge gas (flow rate control device 36 connected to each of buffer chamber 23 to 25 can independently control a flow rate of the purge gas) … so that a flow of the purge gas is greater at the center of the substrate than at the outlet side and the inlet side of the lid (capable of adjusting a flow rate distribution of the purge gas) [fig 1 & 0052-0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the structure of the at least one purge gas inlet in fluid communication with a purge gas channel having at least one opening of modified Kao to include a structure capable of providing an adjustable flow of purge gas so that a flow of the purge gas is greater at the center of the substrate than at the outlet side and the inlet side of the lid, as in Takasuka, to optimize a flow condition for supplying the purge gas to achieve a uniform film deposition rate or quality of the film formed [Takasuka – 0054].
Regarding claims 2-6:
The limitations of claim(s) 2-6 do NOT impart any additional structure to the claimed lid. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967). Specifically, the “purge plate” is NOT a positively recited structure of the lid. The “purge plate” is merely what applicant intends to connect to the lid. Therefore, said limitations are NOT structurally limiting of the lid.
Regarding claim 17:
Kao teaches a cross-flow process chamber (chamber, 100) [fig 1 & 0018] comprising: a chamber body (chamber body, 102) having at least one sidewall and a bottom (see fig 1) [fig 1 & 0018]; a lid (lid assembly, 104) on the chamber body (102) enclosing a process volume (interior of 100) [fig 1 & 0020], the lid (104) comprising: a precursor inlet (110) on a an inlet side of the lid (left side of 104) and a precursor outlet (112) on an outlet side of the lid (right side of 104) opposite a center of the lid from the precursor inlet side (see fig 1), the precursor inlet (110) configured to allow a cross-flow of a precursor from the precursor inlet side of the lid to an exhaust side of the lid in a generally linear fashion (process gases flow in the processing region 120 across the substrate 101) [fig 1 & 0020]; and a substrate support (pedestal, 116) within the process volume (interior of 100) [fig 1 & 0020].
Kao does not specifically disclose at least one purge gas inlet on the lid, the at least one purge gas inlet in fluid communication with a purge gas channel having at least one opening configured to provide a flow of purge gas at a center of a substrate along the generally linear cross-flow of the precursor in the cross-flow semiconductor process chamber when the lid is assembled to the cross-flow semiconductor process chamber; and the substrate support configured to rotate a substrate around a central axis of the substrate support with a surface of the substrate remaining in a process plane.
Inoue teaches at least one purge gas inlet (reference gas inlet, 14) on the lid (ceiling region of the reaction chamber), the at least one purge gas inlet (14) in fluid communication with a purge gas channel (flow path, 13) having at least one opening (17) configured to provide a flow of purge gas (reference gas) at a center of a substrate (19) along the generally linear cross-flow of the precursor in the cross-flow semiconductor process chamber when the lid is assembled to the cross-flow semiconductor process chamber (see fig 3) [fig 3 & 0032-0033]; and a substrate support (18) configured to rotate (rotating) a substrate (19) around a central axis of the substrate support (18) with a surface of the substrate (19) remaining in a process plane [fig 3 & 0036].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lid of Kao with at least one purge gas inlet in fluid communication with a purge gas channel having at least one opening, as in Inoue, to act as a barrier preventing adhesion of the precursor on the ceiling region of the reaction chamber and therefore, adhesion product does not drop [Inoue – 0034]. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the substrate support of Kao to rotate, as in Inoue, to ensure uniformity of film thickness and resistivity by rotating [Inoue – 0060].
Although directed to an intended use, the structure of Kao modified by Inoue does not appear to be capable of providing “an adjustable flow of purge gas … so that a flow of the purge gas is greater at the center of the substrate than at the outlet side and the inlet side of the lid”.
Takasuka teaches a structure capable of providing an adjustable flow of purge gas (flow rate control device 36 connected to each of buffer chamber 23 to 25 can independently control a flow rate of the purge gas) … so that a flow of the purge gas is greater at the center of the substrate than at the outlet side and the inlet side of the lid (capable of adjusting a flow rate distribution of the purge gas) [fig 1 & 0052-0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the structure of the at least one purge gas inlet in fluid communication with a purge gas channel having at least one opening of modified Kao to include a structure capable of providing an adjustable flow of purge gas so that a flow of the purge gas is greater at the center of the substrate than at the outlet side and the inlet side of the lid, as in Takasuka, to optimize a flow condition for supplying the purge gas to achieve a uniform film deposition rate or quality of the film formed [Takasuka – 0054].
Regarding claims 18-20:
The limitations of claim(s) 18-20 do NOT impart any additional structure to the claimed cross-flow process chamber. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967). Specifically, the “purge plate” is NOT a positively recited structure of the cross-flow process chamber. The “purge plate” is merely what applicant intends to connect to the lid of the cross-flow process chamber. Therefore, said limitations are NOT structurally limiting of the cross-flow process chamber.
Regarding claims 21-23:
Although taught by the cited prior art, the limitations of claim(s) 21-23 are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Since the structure of the prior art teaches all structural limitations of the claim, the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitations. Where the claimed and prior art apparatus are identical or substantially identical in structure, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 24:
Kao teaches the central axis of the substrate support (116) is configured to be aligned with the center of the substrate (substrate, 101) during processing of the substrate (see fig 1) [fig 1 & 0019].
Although taught by the cited prior art, the limitations of claim(s) 24 are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Since the structure of the prior art teaches all structural limitations of the claim, the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitations. Where the claimed and prior art apparatus are identical or substantially identical in structure, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Furthermore, inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/02/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and claim(s) 1-6 and 17-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takahashi et al (JPH05-175135) teaches at least one purge gas inlet connected to a purge plate [fig 1].
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896