DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This is a non-final office action in response to the applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 05/28/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the current office action. Claims 1, 11, and 17 have been amended by the applicant.
Status of the Rejection
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arteaga Muller (WO-2022015689-A1) in view of Cui et al. (KR-20220154787-A, machine translation, hereafter Cui-787) and Wright et al. (US-20210222292-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Arteaga Muller teaches a semiconductor processing method (Paragraph [0002] methods for selective etching in semiconductor manufacturing taught) comprising:
flowing an etchant precursor into a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is housed within the processing region, and wherein the substrate defines an exposed region of a titanium-containing material (Paragraph [0010] a vapor of thionyl chloride, which can be considered an etchant precursor, is introduced into a reaction chamber where a substrate is held to be processes. The substrate has a metal or metal-containing film. Paragraph [0011] the metal or metal-containing film can contain titanium);
contacting the substrate with the etchant precursor (Paragraph [0010] thionyl chloride reacts with metal or metal-containing film);
removing at least a portion of the titanium-containing material (Paragraph [0010] thionyl chloride etches and therefore removes, some of the metal or metal-containing film); and
Subsequent to flowing the etchant precursor, purging the processing region (Paragraph [0055] the thionyl chloride reacts with the metal-containing film and the volatile by-products are purged subsequently).
Arteaga Muller fails to teach wherein a flow rate of the etchant precursor is pulsed such that the etchant precursor is flowed for a first period of time greater than or about 1 second.
Cui-787 teaches methods of selective etching (Paragraph [0003]). Cui-787 teaches a method where an etchant precursor, that can include chlorine, is flowed into the processing area, brought in contact with the material to be etched, and in a plasma-free process removes the material to be etched (Paragraphs [0007-0008]). Cui-787 teaches that by pulsing the supply of the precursor additional control over the etching process is gained (Paragraph [0055]). Cui-787 teaches that the duration of the pulse can be 1 second or more (Paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Arteaga Muller by supplying the etchant precursor with a pulsed flow rate such that the etchant precursor is flowed for a first period of time greater than or about 1 second, as is taught by Cui-787.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of a pulsed flow rate allows for more control over the etching process (Cui-787 Paragraph [0055]). Additionally, this modification could be considered the modification could be considered the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Arteaga Muller teaches a base method of etching and the pulsed supply of the etchant as taught by Cui-787 would have been applicable to this method and would have resulted in the predictable result of supply the precursor in a manner suitable for an etching method with the improved results outlined above. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Modified Arteaga Muller fails to teach that the purging of the processing region occurs for a second period of time of less than or about 60 seconds.
Wright teaches methods of etching that can be used to etch titanium containing materials (Paragraph [0001]). Wright teaches that etching is conducted by supplying a chlorine-containing precursor and another gas into a reaction chamber so that the material to be etched is exposed and etched (Paragraphs [0024-0032]). Wright teaches that after the etching reaction has taken place, excess precursor and reaction by-products are removed by purging where the purging time can be between about 0.05 and 10 seconds (Paragraphs [0032-0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Arteaga Muller by selecting a purge time of between about 0.05 and 10 seconds as taught by Wright.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because Arteaga Muller teaches the use of a purge step, but fails to teach a purge time, while Wright teaches a suitable purge time for a similar process of etching. This modification can be considered the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. This combination would have created the predictable result of providing a suitable purge time for removing etching reactant and reaction by-products from a processing chamber. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding Claims 2-4, modified Arteaga Muller teaches a method that meets all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Arteaga Muller further teaches wherein the etchant precursor comprises a halogen-containing precursor, as required by claim 2, wherein the etchant precursor comprises a chlorine-containing precursor, as required by claim 3, and wherein the etchant precursor comprises thionyl chloride (SOCl2), as required by claim 4 (Paragraph [0010] thionyl chloride is used as the etchant precursor and contains chloride, which is a halogen).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Arteaga Muller teaches a method that meets all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Arteaga Muller further teaches wherein removing the portion of the titanium-containing material is performed plasma-free (Paragraph [0011] thionyl chloride is not activated by plasma in the etching process step).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Arteaga Muller teaches a method that meets all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above.
Arteaga Muller further teaches that the etching step is conducted at a temperature of 150-600°C (Paragraph [0011-12] temperature is 150-600°C during the step of exposing the substrate to thionyl chloride).
Therefore, Arteaga Muller fails to explicitly teach that wherein removing the portion of the titanium-containing material is performed at a temperature less than or about 450 °C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a temperature for the etching step at a level within the disclosed range of 150-600°C, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of less than 450°C. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Arteaga Muller teaches a method that meets all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above.
Arteaga Muller further teaches that the etching step is conducted at a pressure of less than 100 Torr (Paragraphs [0011-12] pressure is less than 100 Torr during the step of exposing the substrate to thionyl chloride).
Therefore, Arteaga Muller fails to explicitly teach wherein removing the portion of the titanium-containing material is performed at a pressure greater than or about 0.1 Torr.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a pressure for the etching step at a level within the disclosed range of less than 100 Torr, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of greater than or about 0.1 Torr. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Arteaga Muller teaches a method that meets all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above.
Arteaga Muller further teaches that the etching step is conducted at a pressure of less than 100 Torr (Paragraphs [0011-12] pressure is less than 100 Torr during the step of exposing the substrate to thionyl chloride).
Therefore, Arteaga Muller fails to explicitly wherein removing the portion of the titanium-containing material is performed at a pressure less than or about 50 Torr.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a pressure for the etching step at a level within the disclosed range of less than 100 Torr, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of less than or about 50 Torr. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arteaga Muller in view of Cui-787 and Wright, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cui et al. (WO-2022055876-A1).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Arteaga Muller teaches a method that meets all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above.
Modified Arteaga Muller fails to teach that the method further comprises a pre-treatment performed prior to flowing the etchant precursor, wherein the pre-treatment comprises contacting the substrate with a plasma comprising one or more of oxygen, hydrogen, or nitrogen.
Cui teaches a method of etching with a halogen-containing precursor (Paragraph [0006]). Cui teaches that the etching method can be plasma-free (Paragraph [0007]). Cui teaches that prior to the etching step there may be a pre-treatment step that comprises using a plasma of oxygen, hydrogen or nitrogen (Paragraph [0007]). Cui teaches that the pre-treatment step can remove residues, byproducts, or films that may prevent access for the etchants to the material to be etched (Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Arteaga Muller by including the pre-treatment step taught by Cui prior to the flowing of the etchant precursor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of this pre-treatment step can remove residues, byproducts, or films that may prevent access for the etchants to the material to be etched (Cui Paragraph [0047]). Additionally, this modification could be considered the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield to predictable results. The modification of including the pre-treatment would have had the predictable result of removing any unwanted material that could prevent access to the material to be etched. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Arteaga Muller teaches a method that meets all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above.
Modified Arteaga Muller fails to teach that the method further comprises a post-treatment performed subsequent removing the portion of the titanium-containing material, wherein the post-treatment comprises contacting the substrate with a plasma comprising one or more of oxygen, hydrogen, or nitrogen.
Cui teaches a method of etching with a halogen-containing precursor (Paragraph [0006]). Cui teaches that the etching method can be plasma-free (Paragraph [0007]). Cui teaches that following to the etching step there may be a post-treatment step that comprises using a plasma of oxygen, hydrogen, or nitrogen (Paragraph [0007]). Cui teaches that the post-treatment step can clear residue left from the etching process (Paragraph [0052])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Arteaga Muller by including the post-treatment step taught by Cui following the flowing of the etchant precursor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of this post-treatment step can remove residue left from the etching process (Cui Paragraph [0052]). Additionally, this modification could be considered the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield to predictable results. The modification of including the post-treatment would have had the predictable result of removing any unwanted residue that remained following the etching step. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claims 11-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arteaga Muller in view of Cui and Cui-787.
Regarding Claim 11, Arteaga Muller teaches a semiconductor processing method (Paragraph [0002] methods for selective etching in semiconductor manufacturing taught) comprising:
flowing an etchant precursor into a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is housed within the processing region, and wherein the substrate defines an exposed region of a titanium-containing material (Paragraph [0010] a vapor of thionyl chloride, which can be considered an etchant precursor, is introduced into a reaction chamber where a substrate is held to be processes. The substrate has a metal or metal-containing film. Paragraph [0011] the metal or metal-containing film can contain titanium);
contacting the substrate with the etchant precursor (Paragraph [0010] thionyl chloride reacts with metal or metal-containing film); and
removing at least a portion of the titanium-containing material (Paragraph [0010] thionyl chloride etches and therefore removes, some of the metal or metal-containing film).
Arteaga Muller fails to teach that the method includes forming a plasma of a treatment precursor comprising one or more of oxygen, hydrogen, or nitrogen to produce treatment plasma effluents; flowing the treatment plasma effluents into a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber; contacting the substrate with the treatment plasma effluents, wherein the treatment plasma effluents are configured to remove a residue from a surface of the titanium- containing material.
Cui teaches a method of etching with a halogen-containing precursor (Paragraph [0006]). Cui teaches that the etching method can be plasma-free (Paragraph [0007]). Cui teaches that prior to the etching step there may be a pre-treatment step that comprises using a plasma of oxygen, hydrogen or nitrogen (Paragraph [0007]). Cui teaches that the plasma pre-treatment can utilize a remote plasma process (Paragraph [0048]). Cui teaches that the pre-treatment step can remove residues, byproducts, or films that may prevent access for the etchants to the material to be etched (Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Arteaga Muller by including the pre-treatment step taught by Cui prior to the flowing of the etchant precursor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of this pre-treatment step can remove residues, byproducts, or films that may prevent access for the etchants to the material to be etched (Cui Paragraph [0047]). Additionally, this modification could be considered the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield to predictable results. The modification of including the pre-treatment would have had the predictable result of removing any unwanted material that could prevent access to the material to be etched. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Modified Arteaga Muller fails to teach wherein a flow rate of the etchant precursor is pulsed.
Cui-787 teaches methods of selective etching (Paragraph [0003]). Cui-787 teaches a method where an etchant precursor, that can include chlorine, is flowed into the processing area, brought in contact with the material to be etched, and in a plasma-free process removes the material to be etched (Paragraphs [0007-0008]). Cui-787 teaches that by pulsing the supply of the precursor additional control over the etching process is gained (Paragraph [0055]). Cui-787 teaches that the duration of the pulse can be 1 second or more (Paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Arteaga Muller by supplying the etchant precursor with a pulsed flow rate such that the etchant precursor is flowed for a first period of time greater than or about 1 second, as is taught by Cui-787.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of a pulsed flow rate allows for more control over the etching process (Cui-787 Paragraph [0055]). Additionally, this modification could be considered the modification could be considered the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Arteaga Muller teaches a base method of etching and the pulsed supply of the etchant as taught by Cui-787 would have been applicable to this method and would have resulted in the predictable result of supply the precursor in a manner suitable for an etching method with the improved results outlined above. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding Claim 12, Arteaga Muller teaches further comprising halting formation of the plasma of the treatment precursor prior to flowing the etchant precursor (Paragraph [0011] thionyl chloride is not activated by plasma, therefore the formation of plasma must end prior to the flowing of thionyl chloride). Additionally, Cui that the etching step is conducted plasma-free while the pre-treatment step is conducted with plasma (Paragraph [0007]), therefore the plasma formation of the pre-treatment is taught to end prior to the following etching step.
Regarding Claim 13, Arteaga Muller teaches wherein the etchant precursor comprises thionyl chloride (SOCl2) (Paragraph [0010] thionyl chloride is used as the etchant precursor).
Regarding Claim 14, Arteaga Muller teaches that the etching step is conducted at a temperature of 150-600°C (Paragraph [0011-12] temperature is 150-600°C during the step of exposing the substrate to thionyl chloride).
Therefore, Arteaga Muller fails to explicitly teach that wherein removing the portion of the titanium-containing material is performed at a temperature less than or about 400 °C.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a temperature for the etching step at a level within the disclosed range of 150-600°C, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of less than 400°C. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 15, Arteaga Muller teaches that the etching step is conducted at a pressure of less than 100 Torr (Paragraphs [0011-12] pressure is less than 100 Torr during the step of exposing the substrate to thionyl chloride).
Therefore, Arteaga Muller fails to explicitly wherein removing the portion of the titanium-containing material is performed at a pressure less than or about 30 Torr.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a pressure for the etching step at a level within the disclosed range of less than 100 Torr, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of less than or about 30 Torr. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Arteaga Muller as outlined above in regards to claim 11, fails to teach that the further comprises a post-treatment performed subsequent removing the portion of the titanium-containing material, wherein the post-treatment comprises contacting the substrate with a plasma comprising one or more of oxygen, hydrogen, or nitrogen.
Cui teaches a method of etching with a halogen-containing precursor (Paragraph [0006]). Cui teaches that the etching method can be plasma-free (Paragraph [0007]). Cui teaches that following to the etching step there may be a post-treatment step that comprises using a plasma of oxygen, hydrogen, or nitrogen (Paragraph [0007]). Cui teaches that the post-treatment step can clear residue left from the etching process (Paragraph [0052])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Arteaga Muller by including the post-treatment step taught by Cui following the flowing of the etchant precursor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of this post-treatment step can remove residue left from the etching process (Cui Paragraph [0052]). Additionally, this modification could be considered the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield to predictable results. The modification of including the post-treatment would have had the predictable result of removing any unwanted residue that remained following the etching step. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding Claim 17, Arteaga Muller teaches a semiconductor processing method (Paragraph [0002] methods for selective etching in semiconductor manufacturing taught) comprising:
flowing an etchant precursor into a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is housed within the processing region, and wherein the substrate defines an exposed region of a titanium-containing material (Paragraph [0010] a vapor of thionyl chloride, which can be considered an etchant precursor, is introduced into a reaction chamber where a substrate is held to be processes. The substrate has a metal or metal-containing film. Paragraph [0011] the metal or metal-containing film can contain titanium);
contacting the substrate with the etchant precursor (Paragraph [0010] thionyl chloride reacts with metal or metal-containing film); and
removing at least a portion of the titanium-containing material (Paragraph [0010] thionyl chloride etches and therefore removes, some of the metal or metal-containing film).
Arteaga Muller fails to teach that the method further comprises forming a plasma of a treatment precursor comprising one or more of oxygen, hydrogen, or nitrogen to produce treatment plasma effluents; and contacting the substrate with the treatment plasma effluents.
Cui teaches a method of etching with a halogen-containing precursor (Paragraph [0006]). Cui teaches that the etching method can be plasma-free (Paragraph [0007]). Cui teaches that following to the etching step there may be a post-treatment step that comprises using a plasma of oxygen, hydrogen, or nitrogen (Paragraph [0007]). Cui teaches that the post-treatment step can clear residue left from the etching process (Paragraph [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Arteaga Muller by including the post-treatment step taught by Cui following the flowing of the etchant precursor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of this post-treatment step can remove residue left from the etching process (Cui Paragraph [0052]). Additionally, this modification could be considered the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield to predictable results. The modification of including the post-treatment would have had the predictable result of removing any unwanted residue that remained following the etching step. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Modified Arteaga Muller fails to teach wherein a flow rate of the etchant precursor is pulsed.
Cui-787 teaches methods of selective etching (Paragraph [0003]). Cui-787 teaches a method where an etchant precursor, that can include chlorine, is flowed into the processing area, brought in contact with the material to be etched, and in a plasma-free process removes the material to be etched (Paragraphs [0007-0008]). Cui-787 teaches that by pulsing the supply of the precursor additional control over the etching process is gained (Paragraph [0055]). Cui-787 teaches that the duration of the pulse can be 1 second or more (Paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Arteaga Muller by supplying the etchant precursor with a pulsed flow rate such that the etchant precursor is flowed for a first period of time greater than or about 1 second, as is taught by Cui-787.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of a pulsed flow rate allows for more control over the etching process (Cui-787 Paragraph [0055]). Additionally, this modification could be considered the modification could be considered the application of a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Arteaga Muller teaches a base method of etching and the pulsed supply of the etchant as taught by Cui-787 would have been applicable to this method and would have resulted in the predictable result of supply the precursor in a manner suitable for an etching method with the improved results outlined above. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding Claim 18, Arteaga Muller teaches wherein the etchant precursor comprises chlorine (Paragraph [0010] the etchant precursor is thionyl chloride, which comprises chlorine).
Regarding Claim 20, Arteaga Muller teaches that the etching step is conducted at a temperature of 150-600°C (Paragraph [0011-12] temperature is 150-600°C during the step of exposing the substrate to thionyl chloride). Arteaga Muller teaches that the etching step is conducted at a pressure of less than 100 Torr (Paragraphs [0011-12] pressure is less than 100 Torr during the step of exposing the substrate to thionyl chloride).
Therefore, Arteaga Muller fails to explicitly teach that wherein removing the portion of the titanium-containing material is performed at a temperature less than or about 450 °C. Arteaga Muller also fails to explicitly teach wherein removing the portion of the titanium-containing material is performed at a pressure greater than or about 0.1 Torr.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a temperature for the etching step at a level within the disclosed range of 150-600°C, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of less than 450°C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and incorporated a pressure for the etching step at a level within the disclosed range of less than 100 Torr, including at amounts that overlap with the claimed range of greater than or about 0.1 Torr. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arteaga Muller in view of Cui and Cui-787, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Demmin et al. (US-6635185-B2).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Arteaga Muller teaches a method that meets all the limitations of claims 17 and 18 as outlined above. Cui teaches that various semiconductor manufacturing processes can leave residues (Paragraph [0047] byproducts from previous processing can be on the layer to be etched) and that the post-treatment step can clear residue left from the etching process from the substrate or the processing chamber (Paragraph [0052]).
Modified Arteaga Muller fails to teach wherein the treatment plasma effluents are configured to remove residual chlorine.
Demmin teaches methods related to etching (Column 1 lines 5-12). Demmin teaches that process conditions for a plasma etching process can be modified in order to achieve a satisfactory etch (Column 7 lines 15-25).
Following the etching process taught by modified Arteaga Muller, residues could have been formed on the substrate or the processing chamber that came from the material etched (a metal or metal-containing film that contained titanium. Arteaga Muller Paragraphs [0010-11]) and/or from the etchant precursor (thionyl chloride, SOCl2. Arteaga Muller Paragraph [0010]). Therefore, the residues that could form, that would be removed by the post-treatment process taught by Cui, might comprise titanium, sulfur, oxygen, and/or chlorine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Arteaga Muller by optimizing the process conditions of the post-treatment plasma etching process in order to remove any residue formed from the etching step, including a residue of residual chlorine.
This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because Demmin teaches that the process parameters of a plasma etch are result-effective variables that can be optimized in order satisfactorily complete an etching step. See MPEP 2144.05 IIB.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/A.K.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1713 /DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713