DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, the limitation “in the channel length direction, a width of the first gate electrode is larger than a width of the second gate electrode,” does not appear to have support in the originally filed disclosure. Specifically, there is no disclosure of the relative widths of the gates. It is noted that drawings are not to scale (see MPEP 2125 and [0027] of Applicant’s disclosure). For the claimed invention which requires the relative extension of the semiconductor layer beyond the semiconductor layer and second gate beyond the semiconductor layer, as recited in claims 1 and 4 (see also elected Fig. 15A-C and page 4, para. 1 of Applicant remarks filed 11/10/2025), the relative widths of the gates cannot be ascertained from the figures other than in an attempt to determine the widths based on scale.
Note the dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata et al. (US 2011/0003418; herein “Sakata”) in view of Huang et al. (US 5,917,210; herein “Huang”).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Sakata discloses in Fig. 1C and related text a semiconductor device comprising:
a second gate (401C, see [0130]) electrode over a substrate (400);
a semiconductor layer (403, see [0069]) over the second gate electrode;
a source electrode and a drain electrode (405a/b, see [0115]), each over and in contact with the semiconductor layer; and
a first gate electrode (409C, see [0130]) over the source electrode and the drain electrode,
wherein the first gate electrode (409C) overlaps both of the source electrode and the drain electrode (405a/b),
wherein, in a channel length direction (horizontal as shown in Fig. 1C), one end of the semiconductor layer (e.g. left end of 403) extends beyond one end of the first gate electrode (e.g. left end of 409C), and another end of the semiconductor layer (e.g. right end of 403) extends beyond another end of the first gate electrode (e.g. right end of 409C), and
wherein, in the channel length direction, one end of the second gate electrode (e.g. left end of 401C) extends beyond the one end of the semiconductor layer (the left end 403); and
wherein each of the first gate electrode (409C), the second gate electrode (401C), the source electrode and the drain electrode (405a/b) extends in a channel width direction.
Sakata does not explicitly disclose
in the channel length direction, another end of the second gate electrode does not extend beyond another end of the semiconductor layer;
wherein, in the channel length direction, a width of the first gate electrode is larger than a width of the second gate electrode.
In the same field of endeavor, Huang teaches in Fig. 4 and related text a semiconductor device comprising a second gate electrode (e.g. left 31, see col. 5 line 14), wherein, in the channel length direction, one end of the second gate electrode (e.g. left end of left 31) extends beyond the one end of the semiconductor layer (33, see col. 5 line 17) another end of the second gate electrode (e.g. right end of left 31) does not extend beyond another end of the semiconductor layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Sakata by having another end of the second gate electrode does not extend beyond another end of the semiconductor layer in the channel length direction, as taught by Huang, in order to reduce parasitic capacitance in the transistor (see col. 1 lines 4-7).
Further, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Sakata and Huang to have the width of the first gate electrode be larger than the width of the second gate electrode because it would have been an obvious matter of design, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Additionally, it would have been obvious for the purpose of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e. larger than, smaller than, or equal to), with a reasonable expectation of success (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)). Lastly, note that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the width to be a result effective variable affecting parasitic capacitance of the gate and control of the channel. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Sakata and Huang to have the widths within the claimed range in order to achieve a desired balance parasitic capacitance and control of the channel, and since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B and 2143. Furthermore, it has also been held that the applicant must show that a particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936, (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the law is replete with cases in which when the mere difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some dimensional limitation or other variable within the claims, patentability cannot be found. The instant disclosure does not set forth evidence ascribing unexpected results due to the claimed dimensions. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 1984), which held that the dimensional limitations failed to point out a feature which performed and operated any differently from the prior art.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Sakata further discloses wherein a gate insulating layer (402/407, see [0069]) is provided between the second gate electrode (401C) and the semiconductor layer (403), and between the semiconductor layer and the first gate electrode (409C).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Sakata further discloses wherein the semiconductor layer (403) is an oxide semiconductor layer (see [0069]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,581,439 in view of Sakata.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, claim 1 of ‘439 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant application except for both ends of the semiconductor layer extend beyond both ends of the first gate electrode and the width of the first gate electrode be larger than the width of the second gate electrode.
In the same field of endeavor, Sakata teaches the limitation in the manner outlined above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of ‘439 by having both ends of the semiconductor layer extend beyond both ends of the first gate electrode, as taught by Sakata because Sakata shows that both ends of the semiconductor layer extending beyond both ends of the first gate electrode is equivalent to both ends of the semiconductor layer not extending beyond both ends of the first gate electrode are equivalent structures known in the art (see Figs. 1A-C). Therefore, because these two were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the both ends of the semiconductor layer extending beyond both ends of the first gate electrode for another structure without the feature.
Note that the first gate electrode, the second gate electrode, the source electrode, and the drain electrode extending in a channel width direction is understood to be a feature that would be present in any three-dimensional object. Therefore, while it is not explicitly recited in the claims of ‘439, it is understood to be a feature of the electrodes recited.
Further, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Sakata and Huang to have the width of the first gate electrode be larger than the width of the second gate electrode because it would have been an obvious matter of design, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, it would have been obvious for the purpose of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e. larger than, smaller than, or equal to), with a reasonable expectation of success (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)). Lastly, note that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the width to be a result effective variable affecting parasitic capacitance of the gate and control of the channel. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Sakata and Huang to have the widths within the claimed range in order to achieve a desired balance parasitic capacitance and control of the channel, and since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B and 2143. Furthermore, it has also been held that the applicant must show that a particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936, (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the law is replete with cases in which when the mere difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some dimensional limitation or other variable within the claims, patentability cannot be found. The instant disclosure does not set forth evidence ascribing unexpected results due to the claimed dimensions. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 1984), which held that the dimensional limitations failed to point out a feature which performed and operated any differently from the prior art.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, the additional limitation of the instant application is further taught by claim 1 of ‘439.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, the additional limitation of the instant application is taught by claim 6 of ‘439.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above, in particular the newly presented obviousness rationale as it relates to the relative widths of the gates.
Conclusion
/LAUREN R BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 2/3/2026