Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 13-16,18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heo et al, US 2022/0051235 A1.
Heo teaches: a display device comprising,
a base layer (110) comprising a plurality of pixel regions, which comprise a first pixel region (SP1) and a second pixel region (SP2) adjacent to the first pixel region, and a non-pixel region disposed adjacent to the plurality of pixel regions;
a pixel defining film (116) disposed on the non-pixel region of the base layer and comprising a pixel opening disposed corresponding to each of the plurality of pixel regions; and
a light-emitting element layer (123) at least partially disposed in the pixel opening, wherein
a valley pattern (1341) Figure 10) surrounding a portion of each of the plurality of pixel regions is defined in the pixel defining film,
the valley pattern comprises:
a first valley pattern (641) surrounding a portion of the first pixel region (SP1 Figure 6); and a second valley pattern (642) surrounding a portion of the second pixel region (SP2), an opening portion (OP Figure 6) is defined at which the valley pattern does not surround the plurality of pixel regions,
the opening portion comprises:
a first opening portion (OP) corresponding to the first valley pattern (641 Figure 6); and a second opening portion (OP) corresponding to the second valley pattern (642), and the first opening portion and the second opening portion do not face each other (figure 6)
and
the first opening portion (OP) is between the first pixel region SP1 and the second valley pattern (642) or the second opening portion (OP) is between the second pixel region (SP2) and the first valley pattern (641). See figure 6 and 10-16
2. The display device of claim 1, wherein the valley pattern has a shape recessed from an upper surface of the pixel defining film in a thickness direction of the pixel defining film. (figure 14)
13. The display device of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the first pixel region (sp1) and at least a portion of the second pixel region (sp2) are disposed adjacent to each other in a first direction, the first pixel region comprises:
a first lateral side extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction; and a second lateral side extending from the first lateral side in the first direction, the second pixel region comprises:
a third lateral side extending in the second direction and facing the first lateral side; and a
fourth lateral side extending from the third lateral side in the first direction, the first opening portion is defined adjacent to the first lateral side, and the second opening portion is defined adjacent to the fourth lateral side. (see figure 14)
14. The display device of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the first pixel region (sp1) and at least a portion of the second pixel region (sp2) (Figure 14) are disposed adjacent to each other in a first direction, the first pixel region comprises:
a first lateral side extending in a fourth direction that is a direction between the first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (figure 8); and
a second lateral side extending from the first lateral side in a fifth direction intersecting the fourth direction, the second pixel region comprises:
a third lateral side extending in the fourth direction; and
a fourth lateral side extending from the third lateral side in the fifth direction, the first opening portion is defined adjacent to two vertices at which the first lateral side and the second lateral side meet each other and which are spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and the second opening portion is defined adjacent to two vertices at which the third lateral side and the fourth lateral side meet each other and which are spaced apart from each other in the second direction. Figure 14
15. The display device of claim 1, wherein
the plurality of pixel regions further comprises a third pixel region adjacent to the second pixel region,
the valley pattern further comprises a third valley pattern (643) surrounding a portion of the third pixel region (sp3),
the display device further comprising a third opening portion disposed at which the third valley pattern does not surround the third pixel region, and
the third opening portion (OP) does not face the second opening portion. (figure 6)
16. The display device of claim 15, wherein
the first pixel region emits a first light.
the second pixel region emits a second light having a wavelength different from that of the first light, and
the third pixel region emits a third light having a wavelength different from those of the first light and the second light. (para 54))
18. A display device comprising:
a base layer (110) comprising a plurality of pixel regions (sp1, sp2, p3) (figure 6), which comprise a first pixel region (sp1) emitting first light (para 54) (figure 10) and a second pixel region (sP2) adjacent to the first pixel region and emitting second light (para 23) having a wavelength different from that of the first light, and a non-pixel region (figure 10) disposed adjacent to the plurality of pixel regions (para 134); and
a pixel defining film (240 para 133) disposed on the non-pixel region of the base layer and comprising a pixel opening disposed corresponding to each of the plurality of pixel regions (figure 10), wherein a valley pattern (v) surrounding a portion of each of the plurality of pixel regions is defined in the pixel defining film, the valley pattern comprises:
a first valley pattern (642) surrounding a portion of the first pixel region; and a second valley pattern (642) surrounding a portion of the second pixel region, a first opening portion (OP) is defined at which the first valley pattern (641) does not surround the first pixel region (SP1), a second opening portion (OP) is defined at which the second valley pattern (642) does not surround the second pixel region, each of the first pixel region and the second pixel region comprises sides extending in a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (figure 6), the first opening portion is defined adjacent to the side extending in the second direction (figure 6), the second opening portion is defined adjacent to the side extending in the first direction; and
the first opening portion (OP) is between the first pixel region SP1 and the second valley pattern (642) or the second opening portion (OP) is between the second pixel region (SP2) and the first valley pattern (641). See figure 6 and 10-16
19. The display device of claim 18, wherein at least a portion of the first pixel region (sp1) and at least a portion of the second pixel region (sp2) are disposed adjacent to each other in the first direction (figure 14), the first pixel region comprises: a first lateral side extending in the second direction; and a second lateral side extending from the first lateral side in the first direction, the second pixel region (sp2) comprises: a third lateral side extending in the second direction and facing the first lateral side (figure 14); and a fourth lateral side extending from the third lateral side in the first direction (figure 14), the first opening portion is defined adjacent to the first lateral side (figure 14), and the second opening portion is defined adjacent to the fourth lateral side (figure 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo et al
Heo fails to teach:
3. The display device of claim 2, wherein a depth of the valley pattern is in a range of about 100 nm to about 500 nm.
In regards to the depth, this value would have been optimized through routine experimentation and would not lend itself to patentability in the instant application, without displaying unexpected results. (in Re Aller)
17. The display device of claim 1, wherein
a ratio of the first opening portion and the first valley pattern is in a range of about 10% to about 50%, and
a ratio of the second opening portion and the second valley pattern is in a range of about 10% to about 50%.
In regards to the ratio, this value would have been optimized through routine experimentation and would not lend itself to patentability in the instant application, without displaying unexpected results. (in Re Aller)
Claim(s) 4-7 and 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoe et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han, Byunguk et al, US 2021/280647
Hoe fails to teach:
4. The display device of claim 2, wherein
the valley pattern comprises:
a lower surface parallel to the upper surface of the pixel defining film; and a side surface connecting the lower surface of the valley pattern and the upper surface of the pixel defining film to each other and inclined from the lower surface of the valley pattern, and an angle of the side surface is in a range of about 70 degrees to about 90 degrees.
5. The display device of claim 4, wherein the light-emitting element layer comprises: a first electrode disposed on the base layer; an organic layer disposed on the first electrode and the pixel defining film and including a light-emitting layer; and a second electrode disposed on the organic layer, and a portion of the organic layer and a portion of the second electrode are disposed in the valley pattern.
6. The display device of claim 5, wherein the organic layer comprises: a first portion disposed on the upper surface of the pixel defining film; and a second portion disposed on the side surface, and a thickness of the second portion is less than a thickness of the first portion in the thickness direction.
7. The display device of claim 6, wherein the thickness of the second portion is in a range of about 10% to about 20% of the thickness of the first portion.
11. The display device of claim 5, wherein the organic layer comprises:
a hole control layer disposed on the first electrode and the pixel defining film;
the light-emitting layer disposed on the hole control layer; and
an electron control layer disposed between the light-emitting layer and the second electrode.
In regards to the angle, this value would have been optimized through routine experimentation and would not lend itself to patentability in the instant application, without displaying unexpected results. (in Re Aller)
In regards to claim 5,
Han teaches
A first electrode 210) disposed on the base layer (figure 10);
an organic layer (220) disposed on the first electrode and the pixel defining film and including a light emitting layer (223) (figure 10) and
a second electrode (230) disposed on the organic layer, and a portion of the organic layer and a portion of the second electrode are disposed in the valley pattern (v). (figures 8 and 10 and para 110-114)
In regards to claims 6 and 7, Heo is silent to the thickness.
In regards to the thickness, this value would have been optimized through routine experimentation and would not lend itself to patentability in the instant application, without displaying unexpected results. (in Re Aller)
In regards to claim 11,
Han teaches:
The first functional layer (221) may include for example at least one of a hole injection layer or a hole transport layer. (para 115, Fig 10) disposed on the first electrode and the pixel defining film; the light emitting layer disposed on the hole control layer; and an electron control layer (para 115) The second functional layer 222 may include at least one of an electron transport layer or the electron injection layer.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han, Byunguk et al, US 2021/280647 and in further view Koo, Byounghyum et al, US 2021/0391397 A1
Heo fails to teach:
8. The display device of claim 5, wherein the second electrode comprises: a first electrode portion disposed on the upper surface of the pixel defining film; and a second electrode portion disposed on the side surface, and a thickness of the second electrode portion is less than a thickness of the first electrode portion in the thickness direction.
9. The display device of claim 5, further comprising:
a dummy portion disposed on the pixel defining film and partially overlapping the valley pattern in a plan view, wherein
the organic layer comprises:
a third portion disposed on the dummy portion; and a fourth portion disposed on the lower surface of the valley pattern, and
the third portion and the fourth portion are not connected to each other.
10. The display device of claim 9, wherein
the dummy portion comprises a protruding portion protruding from the side surface of the valley pattern, and
a length of the protruding portion is in a range of about 0.05 micrometers to about 0.1 micrometers in a cross-sectional view.
In regards to claims 8-10,
Han teaches
A first electrode 210) disposed on the base layer (figure 10);
an organic layer (220) disposed on the first electrode and the pixel defining film and including a light emitting layer (223) (figure 10) and
a second electrode (230) disposed on the organic layer, and a portion of the organic layer and a portion of the second electrode are disposed in the valley pattern (v). (figures 8 and 10 and para 110-114)
Koo teaches:
A display device comprising a valley pattern (para 301);
First and second protrusions (840a and 840b), figure 12 B
.. “When the angles at the ends of the lower bases of the first and second protrusions (840a and 840b) are adjusted, … the second electrode 133 may be disconnected at one side surface of the first protrusion (840a), (e.g., between the first and second protrusions 80a and 840b). See figure 12B
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the above references, because a disconnection structure of an organic layer may be stably secured. Thus, it is possible to improve production yield and processability. (para 15, Koo)
In regards to the thickness, this value would have been optimized through routine experimentation and would not lend itself to patentability in the instant application, without displaying unexpected results. (in Re Aller)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baik, Suengmin et al, US 2019/067392 A1
Heo fails to teach:
12. The display device of claim 5, wherein the organic layer comprises:
a first light-emitting stack disposed on the first electrode and the pixel defining film and comprising a first light-emitting layer;
a first charge generation layer disposed on the first light-emitting stack; and
a second light-emitting stack disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second electrode and comprising a second light-emitting layer.
In regards to claims 12, Baik teaches:
A charge generation layer (CGL) (Figure 2a) disposed on the first light emitting stack (STC1) (para 43), and a second light emitting stack (STC2) disposed between the first charge generation layer and comprising a second light emitting layer. (para 47)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the above references, because the CGL establishes a relatively long flow path of leakage current. (Baik para 53)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo and further in view of Ryu et al, US 20200320959 A1.
Heo teaches:
20. An electronic device comprising:
a device comprising a plurality of pixel regions, which comprise a first pixel region (sp1) emitting first light (para 54) and a second pixel region (sp2) adjacent to the first pixel region (sp1) and emitting second light (para 54) having a wavelength different from that of the first light, and a non-pixel region disposed adjacent to the plurality of pixel regions; (Figure 6)
a base layer (110);
a pixel defining film (116) disposed on the base layer in the non-pixel region and comprising a pixel opening disposed corresponding to each of the plurality of pixel regions; and figure 14
a light-emitting element layer (223) at least partially disposed in the pixel opening, figure 14
a valley (641-643) pattern surrounding a portion of each of the plurality of pixel regions is defined in the pixel defining film, para 134 figure 10
the valley pattern comprises:
a first valley pattern (641) surrounding a portion of the first pixel region (sp1); and
a second valley pattern (642) surrounding a portion of the second pixel region (sp2),
a first opening (OP) is defined at which the first valley pattern does not surround the first pixel region (sp1),
a second opening (OP) is defined at which the second valley pattern does not surround the second pixel region (SP2), and
the first opening portion (OP) and the second opening portion (OP) do not face each othe ; and
the first opening portion (OP) is between the first pixel region SP1 and the second valley pattern (642) or the second opening portion (OP) is between the second pixel region (SP2) and the first valley pattern (641). See figure 6 and 10-16
Heo fails to teach:
a window disposed on the display module; and
an outer case disposed under the display module.
Ryu teaches:
[0072] In an exemplary embodiment, as illustrated in FIG. 1B, the display device DD may include a window module WM, a display panel DP, a driving module DRM, an electronic module EM, and an outer case EDC.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the above references, because this is conventionally done in the art to form a display module.
.Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL . LEBENTRITT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2893
/MICHAEL LEBENTRITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893