DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moder (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0286730A1) (of record) in view of Sakaguchi (U.S. PG Pub No US2001/0044216A1) (of record) and Cha (U.S. PG Pub No US2007/0298591A1). *Kudymov (U.S. PG Pub No US 2019/0096877A1) (of record) is provided as evidentiary support for claim 20*
Regarding claim 15, Moder teaches a method [see figs. 4A-4C, 0079, 0109] of fabricating a layered structure (900) fig. 4C [0113] comprising steps to:
grow an epitaxial layer (comprising 710, 720) fig. 4A [0080] (“obtained by epitaxy”) on a substrate (705 of 700) fig. 4A [0084], wherein the substrate (705) is silicon [0029, 0084], wherein the epitaxial layer (comprising 710) has a first resistivity proximal (in lower portion of 710 nearer to 705) to the substrate (705) and a second resistivity distal (in upper portion of 710 further from 705) from the substrate (705), and wherein the second resistivity is less than the first resistivity (710 could be implemented with a “non-uniform vertical dopant profile” [0084] having greater concentration of dopants in upper end than lower end, resulting in greater conductivity/lower resistivity in upper/distal portion of 710) (further, many different dopant distributions in 710, 720 may be contemplated [0053-0063, 0068, 0082-0087, 0110]);
porosify [0088, 0112] the epitaxial layer (comprising 710, 720) to form a porous layer (820) fig. 4B [0088, 0107, 0112] with porosity greater than 30% proximal (in lower end of “coarse-porous” 710/821 [0088, 0107, 0112] – porosity may be 30-80% [0041-0042]) the substrate (705) and porosity less than or equal to 25% (may be 5-25% in “fine-porous” [0088, 0107, 0112] upper end of 825/720 [0041-0042]) distal from the substrate (705); and
epitaxially grow [0112] a semiconductor layer (730) fig. 4C [0112] over the porous layer (820).
However, Moder does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate (705) is silicon (and) wherein the epitaxial layer (710, 720) is silicon (epitaxial layer may be GaAs [0052] instead),
and wherein the first resistivity is in a range between 0.4 ohm-cm and 10 ohm-cm and the second resistivity is in a range between 0.01 ohm-cm and 0.4 ohm-cm (of n-doped epitaxial layer 710, 720).
Sakaguchi teaches a method [see title, 0100] wherein the substrate (comprising 501) fig. 3B [0100]is silicon, wherein the epitaxial [0070] layer (503) fig. 3B [0100] is silicon (or GaAs) [0100, 0278].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Moder such that the epitaxial layer is formed of single-crystal silicon [0070, 0100, 0278] instead of epitaxially-grown, single crystal GaAs [0278] in order to enable the formation of different types of devices possibly better suited for silicon material, such as MOSFETs [0100, 0287], as well as silicon’s favorable etching characteristics [0279], as taught by Sakaguchi.
However, Moder in view of Sakaguchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first resistivity is in a range between 0.4 ohm-cm and 10 ohm-cm and the second resistivity is in a range between 0.01 ohm-cm and 0.4 ohm-cm (does not explicitly disclose resistivity of n-doped silicon epitaxial layer 710, 720).
Cha teaches a method [see title, 0024] wherein the first resistivity (of 22) fig. 2 [0029] is in a range between 0.4 ohm-cm and 10 ohm-cm (1-50 ohm-cm) [0024-0025] (may have same resistivity as 20) and the second resistivity (of 24) fig. 2 [0026] is in a range between 0.01 ohm-cm and 0.4 ohm-cm (0.00001-0.1 ohm-cm [0026]) (‘epitaxial layer’ is defined as epitaxial material comprising 22 with 24, which interface and share crystalline orientation [0004-0012] so as to defined a layer of n-doped silicon material [0024-0026] having at least two portions with two distinct resistivity value(s) [0023-0027]).
While Cha does not explicitly disclose the first resistivity in a range between 0.4 and 10 ohm-cm, Cha discloses that the resistivity of epitaxial layer portion 22 may be 1-50 ohm-cm [0024-0025]. Likewise, while Cha does not explicitly disclose the second resistivity in a range between 0.01 and 0.4 ohm-cm, Cha discloses that the resistivity of epitaxial layer portion 24 may be 0.00001-0.1 ohm-cm [0026]. In both cases, the values disclosed by Cha [0024-0026] overlap with the scope of the recited ranges. Therefore, in the absence of evidence of criticality for the slightly different claimed ranges, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the resistivity ranges recited in the ranges to be sufficiently within the scope of the teachings of Cha [0024-0026]. (See MPEP 2144.05, I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the epitaxial layer of silicon material in the method of Moder in view of Sakaguchi to have a high-resistivity portion in proximity to the substrate [0024-0025] and a low-resistivity portion there above [0026] in order to reduce manufacturing costs [0015-0017] and selectively control relative resistivity [0026-0027] for applications in a variety of contexts [0028], as taught by Cha.
Regarding claim 16, Moder in view of Sakaguchi and Cha teaches the method [see figs. 4A-4C, 0079, 0109] of claim 15. Moder also teaches further comprising doping the epitaxial layer (comprising 710, 720) fig. 4A [0080] during the step to grow the epitaxial layer (epitaxial 710, 720 provided as doped-layers [0080-0086]).
Regarding claim 17, Moder in view of Sakaguchi and Cha teaches the method [see figs. 4A-4C, 0079, 0109] of claim 16. Moder also teaches wherein the doping comprises doping the epitaxial layer (comprising 710) fig. 4A [0080] with a lower level of dopant (710 could be implemented with a “non-uniform vertical dopant profile” [0084] having greater concentration of dopants in upper end than lower end) proximal to the substrate (705) fig. 4A [0084] than adjacent to the channel layer.
Regarding claim 18, Moder in view of Sakaguchi and Cha teaches the method [see figs. 4A-4C, 0079, 0109] of claim 15. Moder also teaches further comprising a step to ion implant [see figs. 4A, 0109-0110] at least part of the epitaxial layer (comprising 710, 720) fig. 4A [0080] (to form 725 regions) [fig. 4A, 0110] prior to the step to porosify [see fig. 4B, 0112] the epitaxial layer (to form 820) fig. 4B [0088-0089, 0112].
Regarding claim 19, Moder in view of Sakaguchi and Cha teaches the method [see figs. 4A-4C, 0079, 0109] of claim 15. Moder also teaches further wherein the step to porosify [see fig, 4B, 0088-0089, 0112] the epitaxial layer (comprising 710, 720) fig. 4A [0080] further comprises porosifying (base layer 705 could also be porsofied [0089]) at least an upper part of the substrate (705) fig. 4A [0084], wherein the upper part of the substrate (705) has the first resistivity (as part of 710 --- prior to porsification, 705 could have same dopant concentration as 710 [0085]).
Regarding claim 20, Moder in view of Sakaguchi and Cha teaches the method [see figs. 4A-4C, 0079, 0109] of claim 15. Moder also teaches further comprising a step to provide a source, a drain, and a gate over the semiconductor layer (730) fig. 4C [0090-0091] to form a switch [0091], wherein the semiconductor layer (730) fig. 4C [0090-0091] forms a channel layer [0091].
With respect to the underlined, Moder does not explicitly depict a source, drain, gate and channel. However, [0093] of Moder indicates that epitaxial layer 730 is used to form a “power switch”, and the claimed components (i.e., a source, a drain, a gate, a channel …) are well-known for a power-switch transistor. As evidence of this, see [0019-0024] of Kudymov (U.S. PG Pub No US 2019/0096877A1) as well as exemplary embodiments such as fig. 5 of Kudymov.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form (of record) are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature semiconductor devices with porous layers.
Newly-added Nakazawa (US-20110266617-A1) and Manabe (US5733796A) detail the relationship between doping concentrations and epitaxial silicon resistivity for multiple epitaxial regions. See, for example, fig. 10 of Nakazawa reproduced below.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 08/13/2026