DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17, 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0148765).
Referring to figures 1-36, Yu et al. teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (100) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other;
a second semiconductor chip (130) disposed above the first semiconductor chip (100) and having a third surface and a fourth surface opposite to each other, wherein the third surface of the second semiconductor chip faces the second surface of the first semiconductor chip (see figures 12-22); and
the first semiconductor chip (100) has a first sidewall extending from the second surface to the first surface, a first angle between the first surface and the first sidewall and a second angle between the second surface and the first sidewall being less than 90 degrees, the second angle being different from the first angle (see figures 12-22), and
wherein the second semiconductor chip (130) has a second sidewall extending from the fourth surface to the third surface, a third angle between the third surface and the second sidewall being less than 90 degrees (see figures 12-22).
Regarding to claim 13, a dielectric filling material (160/300) with a plurality of portions, each of which extends along the first sidewall or the second sidewall (see figure 21).
Regarding to claim 14, the first semiconductor chip (100) has a first semiconductor substrate along the second surface, and the second semiconductor chip (130) has a second semiconductor substrate along the fourth surface (see figure 21).
Regarding to claim 15, one or more hybrid bonding layers (106/108) interposed between the second surface and the third surface (see paragraph# 29, figure 6).
Regarding to claim 17, a plurality of connector structures (108) formed along the first surface of the first semiconductor chip (100, see figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0148765) applied in claim(s) 12-15, 17 above in view of CHANG et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0387484 (provision application date).
Referring to figures 1-36, Yu et al. teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (100) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other;
a second semiconductor chip (130) disposed above the first semiconductor chip (100) and having a third surface and a fourth surface opposite to each other, wherein the third surface of the second semiconductor chip faces the second surface of the first semiconductor chip (see figures 12-22); and
the first semiconductor chip (100) has a first sidewall extending from the second surface to the first surface, a first angle between the first surface and the first sidewall and a second angle between the second surface and the first sidewall being less than 90 degrees, the second angle being different from the first angle (see figures 12-22), and
wherein the second semiconductor chip (130) has a second sidewall extending from the fourth surface to the third surface, a third angle between the third surface and the second sidewall being less than 90 degrees (see figures 12-22).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the first semiconductor chip has a first metal seal ring around a perimeter of the first semiconductor chip, and the second semiconductor chip has a second metal seal ring around a perimeter of the second semiconductor chip (in claim 16).
CHANG teaches a semiconductor package having a the first semiconductor chip (100) has a first metal seal ring (130) around a perimeter of the first semiconductor chip, and the second semiconductor chip (200) has a second metal seal ring (23) around a perimeter of the second semiconductor chip (see figure 2a, meeting claim 16), and the first semiconductor chip has a first semiconductor substrate(102) along the second surface, and the second semiconductor chip has a second semiconductor substrate (202) along the fourth surface (see figures 2-8)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would to forming metal seal ring and carrier wafer in as taught by CHANG in Kriman et al. because sealing ring would protect multiple semiconductors dies and forming the carrier/substrate to provide the support for the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11, 21-23 are allowed. None of the prior art teaches or suggests that each of the first and second portions of the dielectric filling material has a width that decreases in a corresponding increasing depth toward the first surface of the first semiconductor chip, and
wherein a first angle between the first surface and the first sidewall is less than 90 degrees, in claim 11; a first portion disposed along a substrate portion of the first semiconductor chip, the first portion having a first taper angle; and a second portion disposed along an oxide portion formed over an active surface of the substrate portion, the second portion having a second taper angle different from the first taper angle, the first taper angle and the second taper angle being less than 90 degrees, in claim 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893