Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aqad (US 20220214614 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 -9 , Aqad discloses photoacid generators (PAGs) having a moiety of formula (1) (abstract), wherein the generator is used in photoresist compositions for forming patterned resists in electronic devices.
Aqad does not disclose a specific experimental embodiment meeting the limitations of the claims. These limitations are met by the general disclosure of the reference
The PAGs of Aqad are generally disclosed from [0018]-[0031], where the PAG may be a polymer or a discrete monocationic-anionic salt ([0026]-[0028]), where the polymer may be a polyanion or a polycation and the corresponding cation/anion electrostatically associated therewith.
The general formula (1) is preferably embodied by a formula (2-1) as follows:
Where Ar1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C6-C40 aryl or heteroaryl group, R1 is an alkyl, branched alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl group as described in [0019], Y is a single bond or divalent group as described in [0019], Ar2 represents an arylene group that may or may not be substituted and bear 6-40 carbons thereupon, X is S or I, R2 independently represents a linear/branched/cyclic alkyl group, aryl group, heteroaryl group, or other group as defined in [0021].
Exemplary cations are depicted in [0022]:
The above cations meet the limitations of the claimed formula (I) for where:
R8 is a phenyl group (C6 hydrocarbyl group) and s=2
Subscript q=0, subscript p=1
R1 is an ether bond
R2 is a C1 methylene linkage (C1 alkanediyl group)
R5 is a fluorine or iodine, and subscript m=1 (claim 3)
Subscript n=0
R3 or R4 is a methyl, ethyl, or phenyl group
The reference does not explicitly show an instance where both R3 and R4 are a hydrocarbyl group of a particular embodiment. However – the art clearly shows that such groups are interchangeable, and a person of ordinary art could immediately envision an embodiment where both R3 and R4 are, for instance, methyl groups. A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use such an embodiment with recognition that the chemical similarity between such structures would render both embodiments similar in performance and compatibility (See MPEP 2144.09).
Exemplary anions (in monomer form) for use in a polymeric anion are shown in [0028]:
The above anions meet the limitations of claim 2’s claimed formulas (a1) and (a2) where:
X1 is an ester bond
X2 is a methyladamantyl group bonded to a carboxyl group (-X21-C(=O)-)
X3 is a methylene or ethylene
Rf1-Rf4 are fluorines, or Rf1 and Rf2 are hydrogens and Rf3 and Rf4 are fluorines
X4 is a fluorinated phenylene ring
The polymerized PAG may be present with other monomer units that are not PAGs, and the PAG-bearing polymer may or may not be present alone or in admixture with other non-PAG polymers ([0033]-[0034]). Example monomers are depicted from [0035]-[0046], and exemplary polymers are depicted from [0047]-[0048].
Exemplary monomers include those depicted below:
Where the above monomers read upon the claimed formula (b1) of Claim 5 where:
RA is a hydrogen or methyl group (see [0041])
Y1 is a single bond or phenyl group
R11 is an acid-labile group
The reference discloses a chemically amplified resist composition, describing a resist that describes acid-labile groups being cleaved during a post-exposure bake process after exposure generates acid from the PAG (claim 6).
The composition of the reference comprises the above PAG and a solvent (claim 4), as well as optional components such as surfactants (claim 7 – see [0066]-[0067]).
The composition of the reference is used in a pattern forming process, wherein the resist is coated onto a substrate and baked to form a film thereupon, then patternwise exposed to radiation such as from a ArF/EB/EUV source (claim 9), and developed using a developer (claim 8) – See [0074]-[0081].
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention prior to filing date from the disclosure of Aqad, which discloses substantially chemically similar embodiments and substantially similar processing methods/parameters, to arrive at a composition and resist having good CDU and minimized patterning defects.
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aqad (US 20220214614 A1) and LaBeaume (US 20150093709 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 -9 , Aqad discloses photoacid generators (PAGs) having a moiety of formula (1) (abstract), wherein the generator is used in photoresist compositions for forming patterned resists in electronic devices.
Aqad does not disclose a specific experimental embodiment meeting the limitations of the claims. These limitations are met by the general disclosure of the reference
The PAGs of Aqad are generally disclosed from [0018]-[0031], where the PAG may be a polymer or a discrete monocationic-anionic salt ([0026]-[0028]), where the polymer may be a polyanion or a polycation and the corresponding cation/anion electrostatically associated therewith.
The general formula (1) is preferably embodied by a formula (2-1) as follows:
Where Ar1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C6-C40 aryl or heteroaryl group, R1 is an alkyl, branched alkyl, cycloalkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl group as described in [0019], Y is a single bond or divalent group as described in [0019], Ar2 represents an arylene group that may or may not be substituted and bear 6-40 carbons thereupon, X is S or I, R2 independently represents a linear/branched/cyclic alkyl group, aryl group, heteroaryl group, or other group as defined in [0021].
Exemplary cations are depicted in [0022]:
The above cations meet the limitations of the claimed formula (I) for where:
R8 is a phenyl group (C6 hydrocarbyl group) and s=2
Subscript q=0, subscript p=1
R1 is an ether bond
R2 is a C1 methylene linkage (C1 alkanediyl group)
R5 is a fluorine or iodine, and subscript m=1 (claim 3)
Subscript n=0
R3 or R4 is a methyl, ethyl, or phenyl group
The reference does not explicitly show an instance where both R3 and R4 are a hydrocarbyl group of a particular embodiment.
This limitation is met by Labeaume, which discloses acid generators having a carbocyclic aryl or heteroaromatic group substituted with acetate moieties (abstract), wherein the acid generators may be sulfonium salts such as those depicted below:
Wherein the above cations meet the limitations of the claim where
R8 is a phenyl group (C6 hydrocarbyl group) and s=2, and the two phenyl groups may be bound together with a bond
Subscript q=0, subscript p=1
R1 is an ether bond
R2 is a C1 methylene linkage (C1 alkanediyl group)
Subscript m=0
Subscript n=0
R3 and R4 may be methyl groups, or may be a methyl group and a trifluoropropyl group
Ar is a phenyl group
A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these sulfonium cations and the functional groups thereupon as art-directed alternatives to each other, and would find it obvious to select functional groups from Aqad and LaBeaume with the expectations that such substitutions (such as using two methyl groups on the R3/R4 positions of Aqad’s generators, or using an I/F on the terminal phenyl group of LaBeaume ) would result in substantially similarly behaving cations for acid generation.
Exemplary anions disclosed by Aqad (in monomer form) for use in a polymeric anion are shown in [0028]:
The above anions meet the limitations of claim 2’s claimed formulas (a1) and (a2) where:
X1 is an ester bond
X2 is a methyladamantyl group bonded to a carboxyl group (-X21-C(=O)-)
X3 is a methylene or ethylene
Rf1-Rf4 are fluorines, or Rf1 and Rf2 are hydrogens and Rf3 and Rf4 are fluorines
X4 is a fluorinated phenylene ring
The polymerized PAG may be present with other monomer units that are not PAGs, and the PAG-bearing polymer may or may not be present alone or in admixture with other non-PAG polymers ([0033]-[0034]). Example monomers are depicted from [0035]-[0046], and exemplary polymers are depicted from [0047]-[0048].
Exemplary monomers include those depicted below:
Where the above monomers read upon the claimed formula (b1) of Claim 5 where:
RA is a hydrogen or methyl group (see [0041])
Y1 is a single bond or phenyl group
R11 is an acid-labile group
The reference discloses a chemically amplified resist composition, describing a resist that describes acid-labile groups being cleaved during a post-exposure bake process after exposure generates acid from the PAG (claim 6).
The composition of the reference comprises the above PAG and a solvent (claim 4), as well as optional components such as surfactants (claim 7 – see [0066]-[0067]).
The composition of the reference is used in a pattern forming process, wherein the resist is coated onto a substrate and baked to form a film thereupon, then patternwise exposed to radiation such as from a ArF/EB/EUV source (claim 9), and developed using a developer (claim 8) – See [0074]-[0081].
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention prior to filing date from the disclosure of Aqad and LaBeaume, which disclose substantially chemically similar embodiments and exemplary art-recognized functional groups thereupon, and also disclose substantially similar processing methods/parameters to arrive at a composition and resist having good CDU and minimized patterning defects.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4 and 7-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4 and 9-11 of copending Application No. 18095235 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding the instant claims 1 and 2, the claim recites salt consisting of a sulfonium cation that is present with a polymer-bound sulfonic acid anion. The reference claim 1 recites a sulfonium cation and a corresponding non-nucleophilic counter-ion (anion) – the reference claim does not delimit the structure of the anion. A polymeric sulfonic acid anion – such as the one recited in the instant claim 1, is a non-nucleophilic counter ion. A person of ordinary skill in the art who achieves the instant invention (sulfonium salt consisting of a sulfonium cation and a polymeric sulfonic acid anion) has also achieved the reference invention reciting a cation and anion. Reference claim 2 further delimits the structure of the reference application’s non-nucleophilic counter anion to be a sulfonate/imide/methide – again, the polymeric sulfonate anion of the instant claim 1 meets these limitations as there is no delimitation that the sulfonate of the reference claim is a mono-anionic species or a polyanionic species. Instant claim 2 delimits a specific structure of the claimed sulfonic acid polyanion – a person of ordinary skill in the art who achieves the invention of the instant claim 2 has achieved the reference claim 2.
Instant claims 3 and 4 and Reference claims 3 and 4 are verbatim.
Instant claim 7 and reference claim 9 are verbatim
Instant claims 8-9 and reference claims 10-11 are verbatim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/A.P.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734