DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s reply filed 7/6/2026 and the RCE filed 7/17/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-6, 8-15, 17-19, and 21-23 are pending.
Claims 7, 16, and 20 are canceled.
Claims 21-23 are new.
Claims 1, 5, 9-10, 12-13, and 18 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent 5,906,683) in view of Sajoto (US Patent 6,527,865), Umotoy (US Pub. 2002/0072164), Yang (US Pub. 2018/0122680), and Kishimoto (US Pub. 2008/0164144).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a cooling system for a gas phase reactor (Abstract, Figs. 2-5, elements as follows), the cooling system comprising:
a first plate comprising a first surface (Figs. 1-5, base plate #10 with upper surface), a first width, a first thickness (see Figs. 1-5); and a groove formed within the first plate, wherein the groove extends to the first surface of the first plate (Fig. 2, recess #109);
a second plate comprising a second surface (Figs. 1-5, annular cap #110), a second width, and a second thickness (see Figs. 1-5),
wherein the first plate and the second plate are coupled together at the first surface and the second plate to form a conduit comprising the groove enclosed by a portion of the second plate (Fig. 3, coolant passage #94), wherein the first plate and the second plate each form an annular structure (see Figs. 1-5), the second plate comprising an inner diameter and an outer diameter (see Fig. 2), and wherein a cooling fluid inlet and cooling fluid outlet are disposed radially outward from the inner diameter of the second plate (Figs. 1 and 4, manifold #30 comprises inlet #32 and outlet #34 radially outward from #110).
Chen does not teach wherein the first plate or second plate is formed of a first metal.
However, Sajoto teaches wherein a lid and/or chamber can comprise stainless steel (Sajoto – C4, L66- C5, L1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to fabricate the plates of Chen from stainless steel as a matter of obvious material selection suitable for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07 and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Modified Chen does not teach wherein the second plate is a bi-metal plate comprising a first layer and a second layer, wherein the second layer is formed of a second metal different from the first metal.
However, Umotoy teaches wherein a lid plate is a bi-metal plate comprising a second layer, wherein the second layer is formed of a second metal different from the first metal (Umotoy – [0041] and Fig. 1B, lid assembly #10 comprises plates #12, 14, 16; [0041]-[0042]: #12/14/16 can comprise the same or different materials, including aluminum, nickel, aluminum alloys, and other metals- all of which are different from the stainless steel of modified Chen).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the second plate of modified Chen to comprise the two layer bi-metal structure of Umotoy as a matter of simple substitution (a bi-layer plate instead of a single-layer plate) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143.
The Examiner respectfully submits that a PHOSITA in the CVD arts is a highly educated, highly trained, highly skilled engineer with a breadth of knowledge spanning multiple scientific disciplines (chemical, mechanical, electrical, material, etc.). As such, said PHOSITA could easily arrive at the claimed invention using the disclosures of Chen and Umotoy without knowledge of the instant disclosure.
Modified Chen does not teach a tube, wherein the tube is disposed within the conduit; and wherein the tube comprises a cooling fluid inlet at a first end of the tube and a cooling fluid outlet at a second end of the tube.
However, Yang teaches wherein cooling systems can include just channels or channels with pipes (Yang – [0036]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the Chen apparatus to comprise tubes within the cooling conduits as a matter of simple substitution to obtain predictable results ([0036]: Yang teaches wherein either structure can be used effectively for cooling).
Modified Chen does not teach wherein the tube is metal (Yang is silent as to the materials used).
However, Kishimoto teaches wherein a cooling tube is metal (Kishimoto – [0083]: stainless steel).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to fabricate the tube of modified Chen (Yang) from stainless steel as a matter of obvious material selection suitable for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07 and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 2, Chen does not teach wherein the first plate and the first layer are formed of stainless steel (Chen is silent as to the materials used).
However, Sajoto teaches wherein a lid and/or chamber can comprise stainless steel (Sajoto – C4, L66- C5, L1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to fabricate the plates of Chen from stainless steel as a matter of obvious material selection suitable for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07 and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches teach wherein the first width is greater than the second width (see Fig. 1, #10 wider than #110).
Regarding claim 4, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the second thickness is greater than the first thickness.
However, the difference between the prior art structure (Chen) and the claimed invention is merely a recitation of relative dimensions.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to change the thickness of the plates of Chen as a matter of obvious change in size/proportion. The courts have held that such a difference does not render the claimed invention patentably distinct. See MPEP 2144.04(IV) and In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
The Examiner respectfully submits that changing the width or thickness of either plate of Chen would not cause it to perform differently with minor to moderate changes in size.
Regarding claim 6, modified Chen does not teach wherein the tube is formed of stainless steel (Yang is silent as to the materials used).
However, Kishimoto teaches wherein a cooling tube is stainless steel (Kishimoto – [0083]: stainless steel).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to fabricate the tube of modified Chen from stainless steel as a matter of obvious material selection suitable for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07 and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches wherein the groove is continuous and comprises a plurality of concentric arcuate shaped sections (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Chen does not teach wherein the second metal is aluminum.
However, Umotoy teaches wherein a lid plate is a bi-metal plate comprising a second layer, wherein the second layer is formed of a second metal different from the first metal (Umotoy – [0041] and Fig. 1B, lid assembly #10 comprises plates #12, 14, 16; [0041]-[0042]: #12/14/16 can comprise the same or different materials, including aluminum, nickel, aluminum alloys, and other metals- all of which are different from the stainless steel of modified Chen).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the second plate of modified Chen to comprise the two layer bi-metal structure of Umotoy as a matter of simple substitution (a bi-layer plate instead of a single-layer plate) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143.
Additionally, it has been held that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for its intended use is supportive of an obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 22, Chen teaches wherein the groove comprises a serpentine path between the cooling fluid inlet and the cooling fluid outlet (see Fig. 4).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent 5,906,683), Sajoto (US Patent 6,527,865), Umotoy (US Pub. 2002/0072164), Yang (US Pub. 2018/0122680), and Kishimoto (US Pub. 2008/0164144), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 21-22 above, further in view of Demaray (US Patent 5,433,835).
The limitations of claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 21-22 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, modified Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first plate and the second plate are brazed together at the first surface and the second surface/first layer (Chen teaches welding – C6, L4-6).
However, Demaray teaches wherein welding and brazing are art-recognized equivalent techniques for joining members (Demaray – [0022]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to utilize either brazing or soldering for joining the first and second plates of modified Chen as a matter of obvious substitution of art-recognized equivalent techniques. See MPEP 2144.06(II).
Claims 9-12, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent 5,906,683) in view of Sajoto (US Patent 6,527,865) and Umotoy (US Pub. 2002/0072164).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a cooling system for a gas phase reactor (Abstract, Figs. 2-5, elements as follows), the cooling system comprising: a first plate comprising a first surface (Figs. 1-5, base plate #10 with upper surface), a first thickness, a first width (see Figs. 1-5), and a groove is formed within the first plate, wherein the groove extends to the first surface of the first plate (Fig. 2, recess #109), a second plate comprising a first layer (Figs. 1-5, annular cap #110), wherein the second plate comprises a second thickness and a second width (see Figs. 1-5), wherein the first plate and the second plate are coupled together using a weld (C6, L4-6) at the first surface and the second surface to form a conduit comprising the groove enclosed by a portion of the second surface (Fig. 3, coolant passage #94), and a cooling fluid inlet and cooling fluid outlet fluidly connected to the conduit (Figs. 1 and 4, manifold #30 comprises inlet #32 and outlet #34 radially outward from #110).
Chen does not teach wherein the first plate is formed of a first metal (Chen is silent as to the materials used).
However, Sajoto teaches wherein a plate is formed of a first metal (Sajoto – C4, L66- C5, L1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to fabricate the plates of Chen from metal as a matter of obvious material selection suitable for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07 and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Modified Chen does not teach wherein the second plate is a bi-metal plate comprising a first layer and a second layer, wherein the second layer is formed of a second metal different from the first metal.
However, Umotoy teaches wherein a lid plate is a bi-metal plate comprising a second layer, wherein the second layer is formed of a second metal different from the first metal (Umotoy – [0041] and Fig. 1B, lid assembly #10 comprises plates #12, 14, 16; [0041]-[0042]: #12/14/16 can comprise the same or different materials, including aluminum, nickel, aluminum alloys, and other metals- all of which are different from the stainless steel of modified Chen).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the second plate of modified Chen to comprise the two layer bi-metal structure of Umotoy as a matter of simple substitution (a bi-layer plate instead of a single-layer plate) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143.
The Examiner respectfully submits that a PHOSITA in the CVD arts is a highly educated, highly trained, highly skilled engineer with a breadth of knowledge spanning multiple scientific disciplines (chemical, mechanical, electrical, material, etc.). As such, said PHOSITA could easily arrive at the claimed invention using the disclosures of Chen and Umotoy without knowledge of the instant disclosure.
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches wherein the groove comprises a serpentine path between the cooling fluid inlet and the cooling fluid outlet (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Chen does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Sajoto teaches wherein a first metal is stainless steel (Sajoto – C4, L66- C5, L1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to fabricate the plates of Chen from stainless steel as a matter of obvious material selection suitable for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07 and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 12, modified Chen does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Umotoy teaches wherein a lid plate is a bi-metal plate comprising a second layer, wherein the second layer is formed of a second metal different from the first metal (Umotoy – [0041] and Fig. 1B, lid assembly #10 comprises plates #12, 14, 16; [0041]-[0042]: #12/14/16 can comprise the same or different materials, including aluminum, nickel, aluminum alloys, and other metals- all of which are different from the stainless steel of modified Chen).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the second plate of modified Chen to comprise the two layer bi-metal structure of Umotoy as a matter of simple substitution (a bi-layer plate instead of a single-layer plate) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches teach wherein the first width is greater than the second width (see Fig. 1, #10 wider than #110).
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the second thickness is greater than the first thickness.
However, the difference between the prior art structure (Chen) and the claimed invention is merely a recitation of relative dimensions.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to change the thickness of the plates of Chen as a matter of obvious change in size/proportion. The courts have held that such a difference does not render the claimed invention patentably distinct. See MPEP 2144.04(IV) and In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
The Examiner respectfully submits that changing the width or thickness of either plate of Chen would not cause it to perform differently with minor to moderate changes in size.
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches wherein the first plate and the second plate each form an annular structure (see Figs. 1-5), the second plate comprising an inner diameter and an outer diameter (see Fig. 2), and wherein a cooling fluid inlet and cooling fluid outlet are disposed radially outward from the inner diameter of the second plate (Figs. 1 and 4, manifold #30 comprises inlet #32 and outlet #34 radially outward from #110), wherein the groove comprises a continuous serpentine path between the inlet/outlet (see Fig. 2).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent 5,906,683), Sajoto (US Patent 6,527,865), and Umotoy (US Pub. 2002/0072164), as applied to claims 9-12, 15, and 17 above, further in view of Batzer (US Pub. 2018/0163305).
The limitations of claims 9-12, 15, and 17 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches wherein the weld is directly in contact with the second plate and the first plate (C6, L4-6: e-beam welding).
Modified Chen does not teach wherein a material used for the weld comprises tungsten.
However, Batzer teaches wherein e-beam welding and tungsten inert gas welding are art-recognized equivalents for apparatus fabrication (Batzer – [0058]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to utilize either e-beam or TIG welding for joining the first and second plates of modified Chen as a matter of obvious substitution of art-recognized equivalent techniques. See MPEP 2144.06(II).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent 5,906,683), Sajoto (US Patent 6,527,865), and Umotoy (US Pub. 2002/0072164), as applied to claims 9-12, 15, and 17 above, further in view of Yang (US Pub. 2018/0122680) and Kishimoto (US Pub. 2008/0164144).
The limitations of claims 9-12, 15, and 17 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 14, modified Chen does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Yang teaches wherein cooling systems can include just channels or channels with pipes (Yang – [0036]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Chen apparatus to comprise tubes within the cooling conduits as a matter of simple substitution to obtain predictable results ([0036]: Yang teaches wherein either structure can be used effectively for cooling).
Modified Chen does not teach wherein the tube is metal (Yang is silent as to the materials used).
However, Kishimoto teaches wherein a cooling tube is metal (Kishimoto – [0083]: stainless steel).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to fabricate the tube of modified Chen (Yang) from stainless steel as a matter of obvious material selection suitable for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07 and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn (US Pub. 2014/0000843) in view of Chiang (US Pub. 2002/0076490), Chen (US Patent 5,906,683), Sajoto (US Patent 6,527,865), Umotoy (US Pub. 2002/0072164), Yang (US Pub. 2018/0122680), and Kishimoto (US Pub. 2008/0164144).
Regarding claim 18, Dunn teaches a gas phase reactor system (Fig. 1, entirety), comprising: a reaction chamber (Fig. 1, chamber #10) comprising an upper region (Fig. 1, above susceptor #18), a lower region (Fig. 1, below susceptor #18), a bottom plate defining a bottom of the reaction chamber (Fig. 1, bottom wall #62), a susceptor disposed above the bottom plate (Fig. 1, susceptor #18); and a showerhead disposed within the upper region (Fig. 1, showerhead #12).
Dunn does not teach a first cooling system disposed below the lower region and coupled to the bottom plate, and a second cooling system disposed above the showerhead.
However, Chiang teaches this limitation (Chiang – [0109] and Fig. 13, cooling plate #110 and adjacent components form first system; [0104] and Fig. 13, cooling channels #146 above showerhead form second system).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the Dunn apparatus to comprise the first/second cooling systems of Chiang in order to control lid temperatures (Chiang – [0104]) and support temperatures (Chiang – [0163]) during processing (Chiang – [0009], [0019], [0025])
Modified Dunn does not teach wherein the first cooling system comprises: a first plate comprising a first surface and a first groove formed within the first plate, wherein the first groove extends to the first surface of the first plate, wherein the first plate is formed of a first metal; a second plate comprising a second surface, wherein the first plate and the second plate are coupled together at the first surface and the second surface to form a first conduit comprising the first groove enclosed by a portion of the second surface, nor the similar limitations of the second cooling system.
However, Chen teaches wherein a cooling system comprises: a first plate comprising a first surface (Figs. 1-5, base plate #10 with upper surface), a first width, a first thickness (see Figs. 1-5); and a groove formed within the first plate, wherein the groove extends to the first surface of the first plate (Fig. 2, recess #109); a second plate comprising a second surface (Figs. 1-5, annular cap #110), a second width, and a second thickness (see Figs. 1-5), wherein the first plate and the second plate are coupled together at the first surface and the second plate to form a conduit comprising the groove enclosed by a portion of the second plate (Fig. 3, coolant passage #94), wherein the first plate and the second plate each form an annular structure (see Figs. 1-5), the second plate comprising an inner diameter and an outer diameter (see Fig. 2), and wherein a cooling fluid inlet and cooling fluid outlet are disposed radially outward from the inner diameter of the second plate (Figs. 1 and 4, manifold #30 comprises inlet #32 and outlet #34 radially outward from #110).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify each cooling system of modified Dunn to comprise the plate structure of Chen in order to allow temperature control, minimize leakage of fluids, facilitate cleaning, ease assembly/disassembly (Chen – C2, L12-36).
Modified Dunn does not teach wherein the first plate or second plate is formed of a first metal.
However, Sajoto teaches wherein a lid and/or chamber can comprise stainless steel (Sajoto – C4, L66- C5, L1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to fabricate the plates of modified Dunn from stainless steel as a matter of obvious material selection suitable for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07 and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Modified Dunn does not teach wherein the second plate is a bi-metal plate comprising a first layer and a second layer, wherein the second layer is formed of a second metal different from the first metal.
However, Umotoy teaches wherein a lid plate is a bi-metal plate comprising a second layer, wherein the second layer is formed of a second metal different from the first metal (Umotoy – [0041] and Fig. 1B, lid assembly #10 comprises plates #12, 14, 16; [0041]-[0042]: #12/14/16 can comprise the same or different materials, including aluminum, nickel, aluminum alloys, and other metals- all of which are different from the stainless steel of modified Chen).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the second plate of modified Dunn to comprise the two layer bi-metal structure of Umotoy as a matter of simple substitution (a bi-layer plate instead of a single-layer plate) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143.
The Examiner respectfully submits that a PHOSITA in the CVD arts is a highly educated, highly trained, highly skilled engineer with a breadth of knowledge spanning multiple scientific disciplines (chemical, mechanical, electrical, material, etc.). As such, said PHOSITA could easily arrive at the claimed invention using the disclosures of Chen and Umotoy without knowledge of the instant disclosure.
Modified Dunn does not teach a first tube, wherein the tube is disposed within the conduit; and wherein the first tube comprises a first cooling fluid inlet at a first end of the first tube and a first cooling fluid outlet at a second end of the first tube, and a second tube disposed within the conduit, and wherein the second tube comprises a second cooling fluid inlet at a first end of the second tube and a second cooling fluid outlet at a second end of the second tube.
However, Yang teaches wherein cooling systems can include just channels or channels with pipes (Yang – [0036]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify each cooling system of the modified Dunn apparatus to comprise tubes within the cooling conduits as a matter of simple substitution to obtain predictable results ([0036]: Yang teaches wherein either structure can be used effectively for cooling).
Modified Dunn does not teach wherein the tube(s) is/are metal.
However, Kishimoto teaches wherein a cooling tube is metal (Kishimoto – [0083]: stainless steel).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to fabricate the tube of modified Chen (Yang) from stainless steel as a matter of obvious material selection suitable for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07 and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claims 19 and 23, Dunn modified by Chiang does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Chen teaches wherein the first cooling system further comprises a first coupling assembly for connecting the first cooling fluid inlet and the first cooling fluid outlet to a cooling fluid source (Chen – Fig. 1, inlet/outlet #32/34 for connection to a fluid source).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify each cooling system of modified Dunn to comprise the plate structure of Chen in order to allow temperature control, minimize leakage of fluids, facilitate cleaning, ease assembly/disassembly (Chen – C2, L12-36).
Response to Arguments
The status identifier of claim 13 is correct, thus the previous objection is withdrawn.
Claims 13 and 18-19 have been suitably corrected to eliminate indefinite claim language, thus the previous §112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
The arguments concerning the §103 rejections have been carefully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection as presented herein. The Examiner respectfully submits that Umotoy remedies any alleged deficiencies of the other prior art of record.
Conclusion
/Kurt Sweely/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718