DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being
anticipated by Kachatryan et al. (U.S. 2018/0122830) cited in the record.
As to claims 1, 13, Kachatryan discloses a display device (101, para-0045) is a rollable (para-0005+, claim 13) as shown in figures 1-2 comprising:
a display panel (100, para-0047); and
a support layer (the bottom of the elements 400, 500) positioned on the display panel,
wherein the support layer includes:
a metal layer (metal film-400, para-0010, 0052+) positioned below the display panel (100-figure 2); and
an elastic layer (500, para-0048+) positioned on opposing surface of the metal layer below the display panel (100), and
the metal layer (the bottom 400) below the display panel (100) has an alternate structure in which grooves (400h) are alternately defined on each of the opposing surface thereof.
As to claim 3, Kachatryan discloses a thickness of the metal layer (400) is ina
range of about 0.5 mm (para-0011, 0052+) to about 2 mm.
As to claim 4, Kachatryan discloses the elastic layer (500) fills the grooves (400h)
of the metal layer.
As to claim 5, Kachatryan discloses an elasticity coefficient of the elastic layer
(500) is in a range of about 1 KPa to about 10 GPa, para-0017, 0078+.
As to claim 6, Kachatryan discloses the elastic layer includes an elastomer, para-
0012+.
As to claim 7, Kachatryan discloses a thickness of the support layer (400, 500) is
in a range of about 10 µm to about 10 mm, para-0011+.
As to claim 8, Kachatryan discloses a width of each of the grooves is one to ten
times a thickness of the metal layer, para-0014+.
As to claim 9, Kachatryan discloses a height (depth) of each of the groove is one
to ten times a thickness of the metal layer, para-0015+.
As to claim 10, Kachatryan discloses a predetermined region (the stretchable
region when it rolled) of the metal layer (400) is not covered by the elastic layer, para-0005+.
As to claim 11, Kachatryan discloses the support layer (400, 500) further includes
a flat metal layer (the portion connection to an adhesive layer 300) positioned between the metal layer and the display panel.
As to claim 14, Kachatryan discloses a proceeding direction of each of the
grooves (400h) is perpendicular to a rolling direction of the display device (101).
As to claim 15, Kachatryan discloses the grooves (400h) are alternately
positioned on the opposing surface of the metal layer (400) in a rolling direction of the display device.
As to claims 16-19, Kachatryan discloses the groove (400h) has a quadrangular
shape (four angles), a triangular shape (three angles), oval shape, or circuit shape with a curved corner in a cross-section, see the grooves in figures 2-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kachatryan in view of Bang et al. (U.S. 2021/0280641).
Regarding claim 2, Kachatryan discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention except for the metal layer includes at least one selected from aluminum, titanium, and stainless steel.
Bang teaches a display device (1) as shown in figures 1-8 comprising the metal layer (VDL formed of MTL1, para-0162+) includes at least one selected from aluminum, titanium, and stainless steel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Bang employed in the display device of Kachatryan in order to provide a light-weight, high strength, and versatile structure.
Regarding claim 12, Kachatryan discloses all of the limitations of claimed
invention except for slits defined in the flat metal layer in one direction.
Bang teaches a display device (1) as shown in figures 1-8 comprising the metal layer (VDL formed of MTL1, para-0162+) having slits (figure 7) defined in the flat metal layer in one direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Bang employed in the display device of Kachatryan in order to provide a light-weight, high strength, and versatile structure.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kachatryan in view of Zhu (U.S. 2021/0319725).
As to claim 20, Kachatryan discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention
except for a valid thickness of the metal layer for a neutral plane is equal to or less than about 10 % of an actual thickness of the metal layer.
Zhu teaches a flexible display (para-0028+) as shown in figures 1-7 comprising a
valid thickness of the metal layer for a neutral plane (para-0028+) is equal to or less than about 10% of an actual thickness of the metal layer (6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Bang employed in the display device of Kachatryan in order to provide excellent surface within a multilayer structure where there is no bending stress or strain during folding, acting as a point of zero strain.
As to claim 21, Kachatryan as modified by Zhu teaches a neutral plane of the
display device is positioned in the display panel (para-0028+).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Bang employed in the display device of Kachatryan in order to provide excellent surface within a multilayer structure where there is no bending stress or strain during folding, acting as a point of zero strain.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
Kachatryan does not disclose “the support layer includes: a metal layer (400, para-positioned below the display panel; and an elastic layer positioned on opposing surfaces of the metal layer below the display panel, and the metal layer below the display panel has an alternate structure in which grooves are alternately defined on each of the opposing surfaces thereof”.
After carefully review, examiner respectively disagrees because as in figures 1-2, clearly discloses the support layer (the bottom elements 400, 500) includes:
a metal layer (the bottom element 400, para-0010, 0052) positioned below the display panel (100); and an elastic layer (the bottom element 500) positioned on opposing surfaces of the metal layer (400) below the display panel, and the metal layer (400) below the display panel (100) has an alternate structure in which grooves (400h) are alternately defined on each of the opposing surfaces thereof.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848