DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed on 25 July 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,559,599, hereinafter referred to as Yamazaki, in view of U.S. Pub. 2002/0113934, hereinafter referred to as Aoki, in view of U.S. Pub. 2005/0247939, hereinafter referred to as Iketsu et al., in view of U.S. Patent 6,255,130, hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 2, claim 4 of Yamazaki recites most of the limitations of claim 2. Yamazaki appears not to explicitly recite a second insulating layer interposed between the transparent conductive film and the first insulating layer,
wherein the first insulating layer comprises a first opening and the second insulating layer comprises a second opening,
wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps the first opening and the second opening,
wherein the second opening does not overlap the first opening,
wherein in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and
wherein the first opening is larger than the second opening.
Aoki, however, in Fig. 7(b) and in paragraphs 47 and 51, discloses a second insulating layer (9) interposed between the transparent conductive film (7) and the first insulating layer (3),
wherein the first insulating layer (3) comprises a first opening (middle 8) and the second insulating layer (9) comprises a second opening (right 8),
wherein the transparent conductive film (7) overlaps the first opening (middle 8) and the second opening (right 8),
wherein the second opening (right 8) does not overlap the first opening (middle 8),
wherein in the second direction (horizontal direction), the transparent conductive film (7) comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge (right vertical edge of 2) of the first conductive layer (2), and
wherein the first opening (middle 8) is larger than the second opening (right 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 4 of Yamazaki, as disclosed by Aoki, to have made a second insulating layer interposed between the transparent conductive film and the first insulating layer,
wherein the first insulating layer comprises a first opening and the second insulating layer comprises a second opening,
wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps the first opening and the second opening,
wherein the second opening does not overlap the first opening,
wherein in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and
wherein the first opening is larger than the second opening in order to electrically connect the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer and the transparent conductive film while protecting the surrounding elements.
Claim 4 of Yamazaki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered.
Iketsu et al., however, in Fig. 9B and in paragraph 66, discloses a first side edge (side edge of 9b facing 6) of the second insulating layer (9b) facing the second opening (6) is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 4 of Yamazaki, as disclosed by Iketsu et al., to have made a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer (paragraph 66 of Iketsu et al.).
Claim 4 of Yamazaki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer.
Kim, however, in Fig. 1, discloses the transparent conductive film (84; column 13, lines 6-9) overlaps with a third side edge (left vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24; column 7, lines 7-25) opposite the second side edge (right vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 4 of Yamazaki, as disclosed by Kim, to have made the transparent conductive film overlap with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer in order to protect the first conductive layer from corrosion and to supplement adhesiveness between an external circuit and the first conductive layer (column 8, lines 50-56 of Kim).
Regarding claim 3, claim 4 of Yamazaki discloses the connection portion is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant.
Regarding claim 4, Yamazaki recites in claim 4 most of the limitations of claim 4. Yamazaki appears not to explicitly recite a second insulating layer interposed between the transparent conductive film and the first insulating layer,
wherein the first insulating layer comprises a first opening and the second insulating layer comprises a second opening and a third opening,
wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps the first opening and the second opening,
wherein the second opening does not overlap the first opening,
wherein the third opening does not overlap with the first opening,
wherein the first opening is larger than the second opening,
wherein in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and
wherein the first opening is larger than the third opening.
Aoki, however, in Figs. 7(a) and 7(b) and in paragraphs 47 and 51, discloses a second insulating layer (9) interposed between the transparent conductive film (7) and the first insulating layer (3),
wherein the first insulating layer (3) comprises a first opening and the second insulating layer (9) comprises a second opening and a third opening,
wherein the transparent conductive film (7) overlaps the first opening (rightmost 8) and the second opening,
wherein the second opening does not overlap the first opening,
wherein the third opening does not overlap with the first opening,
wherein the first opening is larger than the second opening,
wherein in the second direction (horizontal direction), the transparent conductive film (7) comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge (right vertical edge of 2) of the first conductive layer (2), and
wherein the first opening is larger than the third opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 4 of Yamazaki, as disclosed by Aoki, to have made a second insulating layer interposed between the transparent conductive film and the first insulating layer,
wherein the first insulating layer comprises a first opening and the second insulating layer comprises a second opening and a third opening,
wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps the first opening and the second opening,
wherein the second opening does not overlap the first opening, and
wherein the third opening does not overlap with the first opening,
wherein the first opening is larger than the second opening,
wherein in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and
wherein the first opening is larger than the third opening in order to electrically connect the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer and the transparent conductive film while protecting the surrounding elements.
Yamazaki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered.
Iketsu et al., however, in Fig. 9B and in paragraph 66, discloses a first side edge (side edge of 9b facing 6) of the second insulating layer (9b) facing the second opening (6) is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 4 of Yamazaki, as disclosed by Iketsu et al., to have made a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer (paragraph 66 of Iketsu et al.).
Claim 4 of Yamazaki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer.
Kim, however, in Fig. 1, discloses the transparent conductive film (84; column 13, lines 6-9) overlaps with a third side edge (left vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24; column 7, lines 7-25) opposite the second side edge (right vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 4 of Yamazaki, as disclosed by Kim, to have made the transparent conductive film overlap with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer in order to protect the first conductive layer from corrosion and to supplement adhesiveness between an external circuit and the first conductive layer (column 8, lines 50-56 of Kim).
Regarding claim 5, claim 4 of Yamazaki discloses the connection portion is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant.
Regarding claim 6, claim 4 of Yamazaki recites most of the limitations of claim 6. Yamazaki appears not to explicitly recite a second insulating layer interposed between the transparent conductive film and the first insulating layer,
wherein the first insulating layer comprises a first opening and the second insulating layer comprises a second opening,
wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps the first opening and the second opening,
wherein the second opening does not overlap the first opening,
wherein in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and
wherein the first opening is larger than the second opening.
Aoki, however, in Fig. 7(b) and in paragraphs 47 and 51, discloses a second insulating layer (9) interposed between the transparent conductive film (7) and the first insulating layer (3),
wherein the first insulating layer (3) comprises a first opening (middle 8) and the second insulating layer (9) comprises a second opening (right 8),
wherein the transparent conductive film (7) overlaps the first opening (middle 8) and the second opening (right 8),
wherein the second opening (right 8) does not overlap the first opening (middle 8),
wherein in the second direction (horizontal direction), the transparent conductive film (7) comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge (right vertical edge of 2) of the first conductive layer (2), and
wherein the first opening (middle 8) is larger than the second opening (right 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 4 of Yamazaki, as disclosed by Aoki, to have made a second insulating layer interposed between the transparent conductive film and the first insulating layer,
wherein the first insulating layer comprises a first opening and the second insulating layer comprises a second opening,
wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps the first opening and the second opening,
wherein the second opening does not overlap the first opening,
wherein in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and
wherein the first opening is larger than the second opening in order to electrically connect the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer and the transparent conductive film while protecting the surrounding elements.
Yamazaki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered.
Iketsu et al., however, in Fig. 9B and in paragraph 66, discloses a first side edge (side edge of 9b facing 6) of the second insulating layer (9b) facing the second opening (6) is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 4 of Yamazaki, as disclosed by Iketsu et al., to have made a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer (paragraph 66 of Iketsu et al.).
Claim 4 of Yamazaki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer.
Kim, however, in Fig. 1, discloses the transparent conductive film (84; column 13, lines 6-9) overlaps with a third side edge (left vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24; column 7, lines 7-25) opposite the second side edge (right vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify claim 4 of Yamazaki, as disclosed by Kim, to have made the transparent conductive film overlap with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer in order to protect the first conductive layer from corrosion and to supplement adhesiveness between an external circuit and the first conductive layer (column 8, lines 50-56 of Kim).
Regarding claim 7, claim 4 of Yamazaki discloses the connection portion is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Aoki (U.S. Pub. 2002/0113934) in view of Iketsu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2005/0247939) in view of Kim (U.S. Patent 6,255,130).
Claim 2: Aoki discloses a semiconductor device, in Figs. 10(a) and 10(b) and in paragraphs 4-8, comprising:
a pixel portion (right portion in Fig. 10(a) having pixel electrodes 5); and
a connection portion (left portion in Fig. 10(a) connecting patterns 7) outside the pixel portion,
wherein the connection portion comprises:
a first conductive layer (11) separated from a gate wiring (2) of the pixel portion, wherein the first conductive layer (11) and the gate wiring (2) comprise aluminum;
a second conductive layer (13 and 15) separated from a source wiring (4) of the pixel portion, the second conductive layer (13 and 15) and the source wiring (4) comprise aluminum; and
a transparent conductive film (7) over the second conductive layer (13 and 15),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) is electrically connected to the first conductive layer (11) and the transparent conductive film (7),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) is located over the first conductive layer (11) with a first insulating layer (3) interposed therebetween,
wherein the transparent conductive film (7) is located over the first conductive layer (11) with the first insulating layer (3) and a second insulating layer (9) interposed therebetween,
wherein the first insulating layer (3) comprises a first opening (rightmost 8) and the second insulating layer (9) comprises a second opening (fourth 8 from the right),
wherein the transparent conductive film (7) overlaps with the first opening (rightmost 8) and the second opening (fourth 8 from the right),
wherein the second opening (fourth 8 from the right) does not overlap with the first opening (rightmost 8),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) overlaps with the first conductive layer (11),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) comprises a first region (13) having a first width (width of 13 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) and a second region (15) having a second width (width of 15 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) smaller than the first width, the second region (15) extending from the first region (13),
wherein in a first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 10(a)), the second region (15) of the second conductive layer (13 and 15) extends beyond a first side edge (lower edge of 11 in Fig. 10(a)) of the first conductive layer (11) and a first side edge (lower edge of 7 in Fig. 10(a)) of the transparent conductive film (7), and
wherein in a second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) intersecting with the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 10(a)), the first width (width of 13 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) of the first region (13) of the second conductive layer (13 and 15) is smaller than a width (width of 11 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) of the first conductive layer (11) and smaller than a width (width of 7 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) of the transparent conductive film (7).
The recitation “the semiconductor device has a function of driving in FFS mode” has been considered and determined to be intended use, making the claim scope not distinguish over a semiconductor device capable of having voltage applied to the device to be driven in FFS mode as the intended use recitation. See M.P.E.P. § 2114, and precedents cited therein.
Aoki, in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b) appears not to explicitly disclose wherein in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and
wherein the first opening is larger than the second opening.
Aoki, however, in Figs. 7(a) and 7(b) and in paragraphs 48 and 51, discloses wherein in the second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 7(a)), the transparent conductive film (7) comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge (right vertical edge of 2) of the first conductive layer (2), and
the first opening (right 8) is larger than the second opening (middle 8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 7(a) and 7(b) that is in the same field of endeavor with Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b), before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute, in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and the first opening being larger than the second opening as disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 7(a) and 7(b) for the transparent conductive film and the first and second openings disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b). The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of, in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and the first opening being larger than the second opening disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Fig. 7(b) for transparent conductive film and the first and second openings disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b) would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable electrical connection between the metal layers. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Aoki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered.
Iketsu et al., however, in Fig. 9B and in paragraph 66, discloses a first side edge (side edge of 9b facing 6) of the second insulating layer (9b) facing the second opening (6) is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Aoki with the disclosure of Iketsu et al. to have made a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer (paragraph 66 of Iketsu et al.).
Aoki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer.
Kim, however, in Fig. 1, discloses the transparent conductive film (84; column 13, lines 6-9) overlaps with a third side edge (left vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24; column 7, lines 7-25) opposite the second side edge (right vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Aoki with the disclosure of Kim to have made the transparent conductive film overlap with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer in order to protect the first conductive layer from corrosion and to supplement adhesiveness between an external circuit and the first conductive layer (column 8, lines 50-56 of Kim).
Claim 4: Aoki discloses a semiconductor device, in Figs. 10(a) and 10(b) and in paragraphs 4-8, comprising:
a pixel portion (right portion in Fig. 10(a) having pixel electrodes 5); and
a connection portion (left portion in Fig. 10(a) connecting patterns 7) outside the pixel portion,
wherein the connection portion comprises:
a first conductive layer (11) separated from a gate wiring (2) of the pixel portion, wherein the first conductive layer (11) and the gate wiring (2) comprise aluminum;
a second conductive layer (13 and 15) separated from a source wiring (4) of the pixel portion, the second conductive layer (13 and 15) and the source wiring (4) comprise aluminum; and
a transparent conductive film (7) over the second conductive layer (13 and 15),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) is electrically connected to the first conductive layer (11) and the transparent conductive film (7),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) is located over the first conductive layer (11) with a first insulating layer (3) interposed therebetween,
wherein the transparent conductive film (7) is located over the first conductive layer (11) with the first insulating layer (3) and a second insulating layer (9) interposed therebetween,
wherein the first insulating layer (3) comprises a first opening (rightmost 8) and the second insulating layer (9) comprises a second opening (fourth 8 from the right) and a third opening (fifth 8 from the right),
wherein the transparent conductive film (7) overlaps with the first opening (rightmost 8) and the second opening (fourth 8 from the right),
wherein the second opening (fourth 8 from the right) does not overlap with the first opening (rightmost 8),
wherein the third opening (fifth 8 from the right) does not overlap with the first opening (rightmost 8),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) overlaps with the first conductive layer (11),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) comprises a first region (13) having a first width (width of 13 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) and a second region (15) having a second width (width of 15 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) smaller than the first width, the second region (15) extending from the first region (13),
wherein in a first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 10(a)), the second region (15) of the second conductive layer (13 and 15) extends beyond a first side edge (lower edge of 11 in Fig. 10(a)) of the first conductive layer (11) and a first side edge (lower edge of 7 in Fig. 10(a)) of the transparent conductive film (7), and
wherein in a second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) intersecting with the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 10(a)), the first width (width of 13 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) of the first region (13) of the second conductive layer (13 and 15) is smaller than a width (width of 11 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) of the first conductive layer (11) and smaller than a width (width of 7 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) of the transparent conductive film (7).
The recitation “the semiconductor device has a function of driving in FFS mode” has been considered and determined to be intended use, making the claim scope not distinguish over a semiconductor device capable of having voltage applied to the device to be driven in FFS mode as the intended use recitation. See M.P.E.P. § 2114, and precedents cited therein.
Aoki, in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b) appears not to explicitly disclose wherein in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer,
wherein the first opening is larger than the second opening, and
wherein the first opening is larger than the third opening.
Aoki, however, in Fig. 7(a) and in paragraphs 48 and 51, discloses wherein in the second direction (horizontal direction), the transparent conductive film (7) comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge (right vertical edge of 2) of the first conductive layer (2),
the first opening is larger than the second opening, and
the first opening is larger than the third opening.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Aoki in the embodiment of Fig. 7(a) that is in the same field of endeavor with Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b), before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute, in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, the first opening being larger than the second opening, and the first opening is larger than the third opening as disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Fig. 7(a) for the transparent conductive film and the first and second openings disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b). The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of, in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer the first opening being larger than the second opening, and the first opening is larger than the third opening disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Fig. 7(a) for the transparent conductive film and the first and second openings disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b) would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable electrical connection between the metal layers. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Aoki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered.
Iketsu et al., however, in Fig. 9B and in paragraph 66, discloses a first side edge (side edge of 9b facing 6) of the second insulating layer (9b) facing the second opening (6) is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Aoki with the disclosure of Iketsu et al. to have made a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer (paragraph 66 of Iketsu et al.).
Aoki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer.
Kim, however, in Fig. 1, discloses the transparent conductive film (84; column 13, lines 6-9) overlaps with a third side edge (left vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24; column 7, lines 7-25) opposite the second side edge (right vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Aoki with the disclosure of Kim to have made the transparent conductive film overlap with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer in order to protect the first conductive layer from corrosion and to supplement adhesiveness between an external circuit and the first conductive layer (column 8, lines 50-56 of Kim).
Claim 6: Aoki discloses a semiconductor device, in Figs. 10(a) and 10(b) and in paragraphs 4-8, comprising:
a pixel portion (right portion in Fig. 10(a) having pixel electrodes 5); and
a connection portion (left portion in Fig. 10(a) connecting patterns 7) outside the pixel portion,
wherein the connection portion comprises:
a first conductive layer (11) separated from a gate wiring (2) of the pixel portion, wherein the first conductive layer (11) and the gate wiring (2) comprise aluminum;
a second conductive layer (13 and 15) separated from a source wiring (4) of the pixel portion, the second conductive layer (13 and 15) and the source wiring (4) comprise aluminum; and
a transparent conductive film (7) over the second conductive layer (13 and 15),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) is electrically connected to the first conductive layer (11) and the transparent conductive film (7),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) is located over the first conductive layer (11) with a first insulating layer (3) interposed therebetween,
wherein the transparent conductive film (7) is located over the first conductive layer (11) with the first insulating layer (3) and a second insulating layer (9) interposed therebetween,
wherein the first insulating layer (3) comprises a first opening (rightmost 8) and the second insulating layer (9) comprises a second opening (fourth 8 from the right),
wherein the transparent conductive film (7) overlaps with the first opening (rightmost 8) and the second opening (fourth 8 from the right),
wherein the second opening (fourth 8 from the right) does not overlap with the first opening (rightmost 8),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) overlaps with the first conductive layer (11),
wherein the second conductive layer (13 and 15) comprises a first region (13) having a first width (width of 13 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) and a second region (15) having a second width (width of 15 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) smaller than the first width, the second region (15) extending from the first region (13),
wherein in a first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 10(a)), the second region (15) of the second conductive layer (13 and 15) extends beyond a first side edge (lower edge of 11 in Fig. 10(a)) of the first conductive layer (11) and a first side edge (lower edge of 7 in Fig. 10(a)) of the transparent conductive film (7), and
wherein in a second direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) intersecting with the first direction (vertical direction in Fig. 10(a)), the first width (width of 13 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) of the first region (13) of the second conductive layer (13 and 15) is smaller than a width (width of 11 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) of the first conductive layer (11) and smaller than a width (width of 7 in the horizontal direction in Fig. 10(a)) of the transparent conductive film (7).
Aoki, in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b) appears not to explicitly disclose wherein in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and
wherein the first opening is larger than the second opening.
Aoki, however, in Figs. 7(a) and 7(b) and in paragraphs 48 and 51, discloses wherein in the second direction (horizontal direction), the transparent conductive film (7) comprises a region extending beyond a side edge (right vertical edge of 2) of the first conductive layer (2), and
the first opening (right 8) is larger than the second opening (middle 8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 7(a) and 7(b) that is in the same field of endeavor with Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b), before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute, in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and the first opening being larger than the second opening as disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 7(a) and 7(b) for transparent conductive film and the first and second openings disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b). The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution of, in the second direction, the transparent conductive film comprises a region extending beyond a second side edge of the first conductive layer, and the first opening being larger than the second opening disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 7(a) and 7(b) for the transparent conductive film and the first and second openings disclosed by Aoki in the embodiment of Figs. 10(a) and 10(b) would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable electrical connection between the metal layers. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Aoki appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered.
Iketsu et al., however, in Fig. 9B and in paragraph 66, discloses a first side edge (side edge of 9b facing 6) of the second insulating layer (9b) facing the second opening (6) is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Aoki with the disclosure of Iketsu et al. to have made a first side edge of the second insulating layer facing the second opening is tapered in order to prevent cracks in the second conductive layer (paragraph 66 of Iketsu et al.).
Aoki also appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the transparent conductive film overlaps with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer.
Kim, however, in Fig. 1, discloses the transparent conductive film (84; column 13, lines 6-9) overlaps with a third side edge (left vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24; column 7, lines 7-25) opposite the second side edge (right vertical edge of 24; column 7, lines 7-25) of the first conductive layer (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Aoki with the disclosure of Kim to have made the transparent conductive film overlap with a third side edge of the first conductive layer opposite the second side edge of the first conductive layer in order to protect the first conductive layer from corrosion and to supplement adhesiveness between an external circuit and the first conductive layer (column 8, lines 50-56 of Kim).
Claims 3, 5 and 7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Aoki in view of Iketsu et al. in view of Kim as applied to claim 2, 4 and 6 above, and further in view of Akimoto (U.S. Pub. 2007/0108446).
Claim 3: Aoki in view of Iketsu et al. in view of Kim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 2.
Aoki in view of Iketsu et al. in view of Kim appears not to explicitly disclose the connection portion is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant.
Akimoto, however, in Fig. 9B and in paragraph 143, discloses a connection portion (portion where 71 is connected to 69) is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant (75).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Aoki in view of Iketsu et al. in view of Kim with the disclosure of Akimoto to have made the connection portion is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant in order to provide a region to fill with liquid crystal composition while allowing electrical connections within the device.
Claim 5: Aoki in view of Iketsu et al. in view of Kim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 4.
Aoki in view of Iketsu et al. in view of Kim appears not to explicitly disclose the connection portion is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant.
Akimoto, however, in Fig. 9B and in paragraph 143, discloses a connection portion (portion where 71 is connected to 69) is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant (75).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Aoki in view of Iketsu et al. in view of Kim with the disclosure of Akimoto to have made the connection portion is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant in order to provide a region to fill with liquid crystal composition while allowing electrical connections within the device.
Claim 7: Aoki in view of Iketsu et al. in view of Kim discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 6.
Aoki in view of Iketsu et al. in view of Kim appears not to explicitly disclose the connection portion is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant.
Akimoto, however, in Fig. 9B and in paragraph 143, discloses a connection portion (portion where 71 is connected to 69) is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant (75).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Aoki in view of Iketsu et al. in view of Kim with the disclosure of Akimoto to have made the connection portion is located in a position which does not overlap a sealant in order to provide a region to fill with liquid crystal composition while allowing electrical connections within the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/J.L/ Examiner, Art Unit 2815 /JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815