DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1 and 3-8 stand rejected under Section 102 or in the alternative under Section 103. Claim 2 stands rejected under Section 103. The specification stands objected to. Claims 9-20 stand withdrawn.
Applicants amended claims 1 and 7, and amended withdrawn claims 9, 12-16, and 18-20. Applicants provided an amendment to the specification. Applicants argue that the application is in condition for allowance.
Turning first to the specification: Applicants’ amendment addresses the previously noted specification objection and is accepted and entered. No new matter has been added. The previously noted specification objection is withdrawn.
Section 102/103 rejections: Applicants argue that Yamagata does not disclose a cured layer including a material forming a crosslinked structure through carbon-carbon bonds. As noted in the Office action, the Office’s position is that because, among Yamagata’s embodiments, Yamagata discloses the conditions—polyimide pixel definition layer and use of helium for plasma processing, resulting in a hardened film with weakened moisture absorption—that are in applicants’ disclosure, the result would be expected to be the same as claimed: cross-linked structure through carbon-carbon bonds. For these reasons, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yamagata, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2003/0201443, Figures 3A-7.
Regarding claim 1: Yamagata Figures 3A-7 disclose a display apparatus comprising: a pixel electrode (943) on a substrate (900); a pixel-defining layer (946) on the pixel electrode (943) and defining an opening, the opening exposing at least a portion of the pixel electrode (943); a cured layer (unnumbered hatched layer in Yamagata Figure 7) on the pixel-defining layer (946); and an opposite electrode (949) on the cured layer, wherein the cured layer includes a material forming a crosslinked structure through carbon-carbon bonds. Yamagata specification ¶¶ 60-106, 130-134. Pixel-defining layer (946) can be a polyimide, and Yamagata indicates that the pixel-defining layer is a photosensitive material (resist) in one embodiment and refers to another organic material used for the pixel-defining layer as being photosensitive. Id. ¶¶ 91-92. Furthermore, polyimide is described in a later deposition as being spin coated on the substrate, id. ¶ 94, which indicates that polyimide is in a liquid form, which would require curing to solidify. Yamagata describes the use of various gases in plasma, including noble gases, id. ¶ 132, and one having ordinary skill in the art would know that helium is a noble gas. The result of the plasma treatment is a hardening of the pixel-defining layer (946) where the plasma contacts the pixel-defining layer (946). Id. ¶¶ 130-134. Given the similar materials and plasma gas, the cured layer would be expected to include a material forming a crosslinked structure through carbon-carbon bonds. To the extent that the embodiment in Yamagata Figure 7 is not considered a part of the embodiment in Yamagata Figures 3A-6B, one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yamagata Figures 3A-6B to include the Yamagata Figure 7 treatment because the Yamagata Figure 7 treatment protects the light-emitting device from exposure to moisture and gases that could degrade the light-emitting device. See id. ¶ 131.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1: Yamagata discloses the cured layer is hydrophobic. See id. ¶¶ 131-133.
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1: Yamagata discloses the cured layer has a different chemical structure from a chemical structure of a material included in the pixel-defining layer (946). See id.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 4: Yamagata discloses the pixel-defining layer comprises photosensitive polyimide (PSPI). See id. ¶¶ 91, 92, 94, 131-133.
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 5: Yamagata discloses the material forming the crosslinked structure in the cured layer comprises a PSPI monomer. See id. If the polyimide is spin coated, then the polyimide would be a monomer prior to curing.
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1: Yamagata discloses an intermediate layer (948) on the pixel electrode (946). Id. ¶¶ 95-103.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 7: Yamagata discloses the opposite electrode (949) covers the intermediate layer (948) and the cured layer. See Yamagata Figures 6B, 7; Yamagata specification ¶¶ 95-103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagata, and further in view of Jia, Chinese Pat. Pub. No. CN111477661A, Figure 4.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Yamagata is silent as to the specifics of the cured layer thickness.
Jia Figure 4, directed to the use of a lyophobic layer (105) on a pixel definition layer (1021), discloses the thickness of the lyophobic layer (105) as 50 nm, which is 500 angstroms, Jia specification ¶¶ 54-55, which is in the claimed range of 100-500 angstrom. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yamagata to include the Jia thickness because the Jia thickness is suitable for preventing moisture incursion. Id.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897