DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1 and 3-8 stand rejected under Section 102 or in the alternative under Section 103 in view of Yamagata. Claim 2 stands rejected under Section 103 in view of Yamagata and Jia. Claims 9-20 stand withdrawn as being directed to an unelected invention.
Applicants amended claims 1, 5, 7 and withdrawn claim 9, canceled claims 4 and 8, and added new claims 21 and 22. Applicants argue that the application is in condition for allowance. Claim 1 has been amended to require “wherein the cured layer and the pixel-defining layer are formed from a common monomer, the cured layer having a higher frequency of carbon-carbon bonds between the common monomer within the cured layer than the pixel-defining layer.”
In Yamagata, the cured layer and the pixel-defining layer are formed from a common monomer, among which is polyimide. Yamagata specification ¶ 92. When the polyimide is plasma treated, carbon-carbon bonds will be formed as a part of the hardening process when free radicals are formed after the carbon-nitrogen bond are broken during plasma treatment. Thus, the cured layer will have a higher amount of carbon-carbon bonds. For these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
As for the newly added claims, claim 21 would be rejected based on the same reasoning as claim 1. For claim 22, claim would be rejected based on the fact that Yamagata cites noble gases as gases that can be used in the plasma. Id. ¶ 132. The claimed conditions could be found through routine optimization. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). See Moghadam, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2003/0232495, ¶ 132 (use of helium plasma to harden organo-silicon-base films); Cho, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0376023 ¶ 98 (process pressure conditions during test, including a process pressure condition of 10 mT); Fujiwara, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2010/0181654, Table 1 (various conditions for curing organic layers, including a wavelength at 380 nm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: Claim 1 has been amended to require that the cured layer and the pixel-defining layer be formed from a common monomer, with the cured layer having a higher “frequency” of carbon-carbon bonds between the common monomer within the cured layer than the pixel-defining layer. The use of the term “frequency” in this context is vague because the term is associated with wave-like behavior, not concentration differences in material layers. Because the term is vague, claim 1 is rejected as indefinite.
Claims 2-7, 21, and 22 are rejected for depending from rejected base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yamagata, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2003/0201443, Figures 3A-7.
Regarding claim 1: Yamagata Figures 3A-7 disclose a display apparatus comprising: a pixel electrode (943) on a substrate (900); a pixel-defining layer (946) on the pixel electrode (943) and defining an opening, the opening exposing at least a portion of the pixel electrode (943); a cured layer (unnumbered hatched layer in Yamagata Figure 7) on the pixel-defining layer (946); and an opposite electrode (949) on the cured layer, wherein the cured layer includes a material forming a crosslinked structure through carbon-carbon bonds. Yamagata specification ¶¶ 60-106, 130-134. Pixel-defining layer (946) can be a polyimide, and Yamagata indicates that the pixel-defining layer is a photosensitive material (resist) in one embodiment and refers to another organic material used for the pixel-defining layer as being photosensitive. Id. ¶¶ 91-92. Furthermore, polyimide is described in a later deposition as being spin coated on the substrate, id. ¶ 94, which indicates that polyimide is in a liquid form, which would require curing to solidify. Yamagata describes the use of various gases in plasma, including noble gases, id. ¶ 132, and one having ordinary skill in the art would know that helium is a noble gas. The result of the plasma treatment is a hardening of the pixel-defining layer (946) where the plasma contacts the pixel-defining layer (946). Id. ¶¶ 130-134. Given the similar materials and plasma gas and the resulting hardening of the cured layer, the cured layer would be expected to include a material forming a crosslinked structure through carbon-carbon bonds, wherein the cured layer and the pixel-defining layer are formed from a common monomer, the cured layer having a higher frequency of carbon-carbon bonds between the common monomer within the cured layer than the pixel-defining layer. See discussion in Response to Arguments section. To the extent that the embodiment in Yamagata Figure 7 is not considered a part of the embodiment in Yamagata Figures 3A-6B, one having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yamagata Figures 3A-6B to include the Yamagata Figure 7 treatment because the Yamagata Figure 7 treatment protects the light-emitting device from exposure to moisture and gases that could degrade the light-emitting device. See id. ¶ 131.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1: Yamagata discloses the cured layer is hydrophobic. See id. ¶¶ 131-133.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1: Yamagata discloses the pixel-defining layer comprises photosensitive polyimide (PSPI). See id. ¶¶ 91, 92, 94, 131-133.
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 5: Yamagata discloses the material forming the crosslinked structure in the cured layer comprises a PSPI monomer. See id. If the polyimide is spin coated, then the polyimide would be a monomer prior to curing.
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1: Yamagata discloses an intermediate layer (947 or 948) in direct contact with the cured layer. Id. ¶¶ 95-103. Yamagata is unclear whether insulating film (947) would be deposited after the cured layer is formed, but if the insulating film (947) is formed, then the insulating film (947) would serve as an intermediate layer. If the insulating film (947) is not formed, then organic compound layer (948) is the intermediate layer. Id. ¶¶ 93-95.
Regarding claim 21, which depends from claim 1: Yamagata discloses that the crosslinked structure of the cured layer comprises a photosensitive polyimide with carbon-carbon single bonds, for the reasons stated in claim 1 and in the Response to Arguments section above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagata, and further in view of Jia, Chinese Pat. Pub. No. CN111477661A, Figure 4.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Yamagata is silent as to the specifics of the cured layer thickness.
Jia Figure 4, directed to the use of a lyophobic layer (105) on a pixel definition layer (1021), discloses the thickness of the lyophobic layer (105) as 50 nm, which is 500 angstroms, Jia specification ¶¶ 54-55, which is in the claimed range of 100-500 angstrom. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yamagata to include the Jia thickness because the Jia thickness is suitable for preventing moisture incursion. Id.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagata, with evidence from or in the alternative as obvious in view of Moghadam, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2003/0232495, Cho, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0376023, and Fujiwara, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2010/0181654.
Regarding claim 22, which depends from claim 1: Yamagata discloses that the cured layer is formed by a plasma treatment process using a noble gas. Yamagata specification ¶ 132. Helium is a noble gas, as is well known in the art. Furthermore, the claimed process conditions could be found through routine optimization, and are thus obvious. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). See Moghadam specification ¶ 132 (use of helium plasma to harden organo-silicon-base films); Cho specification ¶ 98 (process pressure conditions during test, including a process pressure condition of 10 mT); Fujiwara specification Table 1 (various conditions for curing organic layers, including a wavelength at 380 nm). One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yamagata to use the disclosed conditions as a starting point because these conditions provide direction on creating the cured layer.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897