Status of the Claims/Amendments
This Office Action Correspondence is in response to Applicant’s amendments filed 03 Oct 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 7, 13, 16 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references in the IDS filed 5/22/2024 have been considered.
References in IDS filed 04/27/2023 have been considered except foreign reference EP0439000B1 because Applicant has not provided a copy of the foreign reference, which is required under 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2)
Specification
Specification filed 06/06/2024 is acknowledged and accepted.
However, the original Specification filed 02/08/2023 is object to for the following:
Para. [0033] "transferred trough the heat transfer plate 230" should read as "transferred through the heat transfer plate 230"
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
“stop shoulder 239”, disclosed in para. [0048] is not indicated/does not appear in the drawings.
“plug port 238” disclosed in para. [0032] and [0047] is not indicated/does not appear in the drawings
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, limitation “within first and second openings defined in the heat transfer plate” is unclear and confusing whether the recited first and second openings of claim 7 are the same or different from “a first opening and a second opening” (claim 1 line 4-5) and “the first opening…the second opening” (claim 1 line 11-12).
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets the above discussed limitations as “within the first and second openings defined in the heat transfer plate.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marakhtanov et al. (US 2023/0059495 A1 hereinafter “Marakhtanov”) in view of Roy et al. (US 2012/0033340 A1 hereinafter “Roy”) and Kosakai et al. (US 2018/0108555 A1 hereinafter “Kosakai”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Marakhtanov teaches an electrostatic chuck assembly (comprising 110, 109, 111, Fig. 1A, para. [0027]-[0029]), comprising:
a body (comprising ceramic support 113 which is annular, Fig. 1, para. [0034]) including a body recess (comprising opening in 113, Fig. 1A);
a heat transfer plate (comprising electrode 109, Fig. 1A, para. [0029]) disposed in the body recess (comprising an opening in 113, Fig. 1A), wherein the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A) includes an upper surface, a lower surface, a coolant channel (comprising temperature control fluid channels 123, Fig. 1A, para. [0029]);
an RF transmission tube (comprising radiofrequency signal supply shaft 141, facilities plate111, and RF supply rod 137 which can be a tube, Fig. 1A, para. [0037], [0061]) configured to transfer RF power to the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A), the RF transmission tube including a shaft (comprising 141 and 137, Fig. 1A) connected to a head (comprising 111, Fig. 1A), wherein a head shoulder (see annotated Fig. 1A below) of the head contacts a continuous area of the lower surface of the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A);
a puck (comprising ceramic layer 110, Fig. 1A) engaged with the upper surface of the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A);
first and second chucking electrodes (comprising clamp electrodes 112, Fig. 1A) are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck (para. [0028]).
Marakhtanov does not explicitly teach the head has a head recess formed therein; the heat transfer plate includes, a first opening, and a second opening; a first chucking electrode disposed in the first opening and a second chucking electrode is disposed in the second opening, wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck, and wherein the first chucking electrode and the second chucking electrode are positioned outside of the puck.
However, Roy teaches a RF transmission tube (comprising 229 and 224, Fig. 2) including a head recess (comprising hollow space in housing 224, Fig. 2) in communication with a bore (comprising hollow space in conduit 229, Fig. 2) of the shaft (comprising 229, Fig. 2) (para. [0036]). Roy teaches that such a configuration enables routing utilities through the RF transmission tube and to the thermal control plate (comprising 204, Fig. 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the head (Markhtanov: comprising 111, Fig. 1A) of the RF transmission tube to include a head recess because Roy teaches such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration of an RF transmission tube which enables routing utilities through the RF transmission tube and to the thermal control plate (Roy: para. [0036]).
Marakhtanov in view of Roy as applied above does not explicitly teach the heat transfer plate includes, a first opening, and a second opening; a first chucking electrode disposed in the first opening and a second chucking electrode is disposed in the second opening, wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck and wherein the first chucking electrode and the second chucking electrode are positioned outside of the puck.
However, Marakhtanov teaches that the electrostatic chuck assembly comprises at least two electrodes (comprising clamp electrodes 112, Fig. 1A) configured for chucking (para. [0028]).
Additionally, Roy teaches a heat transfer plate (comprising thermal control plate 204, Fig. 7) includes, a first opening, and a second opening (comprising openings formed in 204 for accommodating terminals 702 and conductor 706 to respective electrodes in puck 202, Fig. 7, para. [0055]); a first chucking electrode (comprising 702 and 706 coupled with electrode 406, Fig. 4A and 4B, 7) disposed in the first opening and a second chucking electrode (comprising 702 and 706 coupled with electrode 408, Fig. 4A and 4B, 7) is disposed in the second opening (para. [0055]-[0057]), wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck (para. [0055]-[0057]). Roy teaches that such a configuration enables electrically coupling the power supply for chucking (para. [0055]).
Additionally, Kosakai teaches an electrostatic chuck (comprising electrostatic chucking device 1A, Fig. 1, para. [0045]; comprising 1B, Fig. 2) comprising a chucking electrode (comprising 13, Fig. 1 and 2, para. [0094]-[0096]) that can be disposed embedded in the puck (comprising plate 11, Fig. 2) or could obviously and alternatively be disposed outside and in contact with the puck (comprising 11, Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heat transfer plate to include a first opening, and a second opening; a first chucking electrode disposed in the first opening and a second chucking electrode is disposed in the second opening, wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck, and to rearrange the first and second chucking electrodes such that the first chucking electrode and the second chucking electrode are positioned outside of the puck because Roy teaches/suggests providing a first and a second opening in the heat transfer plate and disposing electrodes in said openings enables electrically coupling the power supply for chucking (Roy: para. [0055]), because Kosakai teaches/suggests that placing the chucking electrode(s) outside of the puck is a known suitable alternative arrangement suitable for chucking a substrate.
Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention which does not modify the operation of a device only involves routine skill in the art and is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding claim 4, Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 above and Marakhtanov further teaches a housing (comprising cantilever arm assembly 115, Fig. 1A and 1B) including a housing recess (comprising 118, Fig. 1A and 1B, para. [0035]) secured to the body (comprising 113, Fig. 1A, para. [0034]), wherein the shaft (comprising 141, Fig. 1A) of the RF transmission tube is disposed in a port formed in the housing (comprising 115, Fig. 1A). See annotated Fig. 1A of Marakhtanov below.
Regarding claim 5, Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the puck is a sintered puck.
However, Kosakai further teaches an electrostatic chuck assembly (abstract, Fig. 1) including a ceramic sintered puck (comprising 11, Fig. 1), wherein the sintered puck has mechanical strength and resistance to corrosive gas and plasma (para. [0050]).
Additionally, examiner notes that Marakhtanov teaches the puck (comprising 110, Fig. 1A) comprises a ceramic (para. [0027]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a material such as a sintered ceramic as a material for the puck because Kosakai teaches this is a known material used in an electrostatic chuck assembly that provides/enables mechanical strength and resistance to corrosive gas and plasma (Kosakai: para. [0050]). Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 6, Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 above and Marakhtanov further teaches the puck (comprising 110, Fig. 1A and 1B) has a thickness of 1.25 mm (para. [0027]) which meets claimed range of “thickness of 4 mm or less.”
Regarding claim 7, Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 above and further teaches wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are positioned within the first and second openings defined in the heat transfer plate (see teaches of Roy and Kosakai as applied in claim 1 rejection above).
Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai does not explicitly teach wherein a contact of the first and second chucking electrodes extends into a respective contact point formed in the puck.
However, Roy further teaches a contact (comprising 702, Fig. 7) of the first and second chucking electrodes (comprising 702 and 706, Fig. 7) extends into a respective contact point (comprising bottom surface of 710, Fig. 7) formed in the puck (comprising 202, Fig. 7)(para. [0055]-[0057]). Roy teaches such a configuration enables delivering power to the puck through the electrodes (para. [0055]-[0057]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a contact of the first and second chucking electrodes extends into a respective contact point formed in the puck because Roy teaches such a configuration is a known means to enable delivering power to the puck through the electrodes (Roy: para. [0055]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 above and Marakhtanov further teaches wherein the head is circular in shape wherein the head shoulder is a ring (as understood from teachings in para. [0034], see annotated Fig. 1A of Marakhtanov in claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 9, Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 above and Marakhtanov further teaches wherein the head is disposed in an opening of the body recess, wherein the opening extends from a lower surface of the body (comprising 113, Fig. 1A) to (i.e. toward) a shoulder surface of the body engaged with the lower surface of the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A). See annotated Fig. 1A of Marakhtanov below.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 13, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marakhtanov et al. (US 2023/0059495 A1 hereinafter “Marakhtanov”) in view of Roy et al. (US 2012/0033340 A1 hereinafter “Roy”) and Kosakai et al. (US 2018/0108555 A1 hereinafter “Kosakai”) as applied to claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 above and further in view of Lilleland et al. (US 2015/0004400 A1 hereinafter “Lilleland”).
Regarding claim 2, Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 above but is silent regarding how the puck is assembled/joined to the heat transfer plate.
Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai does not explicitly teach a bond securing the puck to the heat transfer plate, wherein the bond is disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck.
However, Lilleland teaches an electrostatic chuck assembly comprising a puck (comprising 12, Fig. 1, para. [0025]) and a multi-layer bond (comprising 16 and 18, Fig. 1, para. [0019]) securing the puck (comprising 12, Fig. 1) to the heat transfer plate (comprising 14, Fig. 1, para. [0025]), wherein the bond is disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck (comprising 12, Fig. 1) (since the bond 16 and 18 are disposed along the entire lower surface of the puck the bond is also disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck). Lilleland further teaches the puck comprises a ceramic such as aluminum oxide (i.e. alumina) (para. [0026]) and the heat transfer plate comprises aluminum (para. [0027]). Lilleland teaches that such a configuration is suitable means of joining the puck and the heat transfer plate while also enabling the assembly to be recycled /separated without damage to the joined/bonded parts (para. [0018],[0032]).
Additionally, Marakhatnov teaches that the puck (comprising 110, Fig. 1A) comprises a ceramic (para. [0027]) and the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A) comprises a material including aluminum (para. [0027]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a bond securing the puck to the heat transfer plate, wherein the bond is disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck because Lilleland teaches that such a configuration is a known means of joining a puck comprising a ceramic to a heat transfer plate in an electrostatic chuck assembly wherein the particular bond taught by Lilleland would enable separation of the joined/bonded parts without damage to the puck or heat transfer plate which would enable recycling the electrostatic chuck assembly (para. [0018], [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Marakhtanov in view of Roy, Kosakai, and Lilleland teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 above including a bond (see teachings of Lilleland) and Lilleland further teaches the bond (comprising 16 and 18, Fig. 1) is a multi-layer bond (para. [0019]).
Regarding independent claim 13, Marakhtanov teaches an electrostatic chuck assembly (comprising 110, 109, 111, Fig. 1A, para. [0027]-[0029]), comprising:
a body (comprising ceramic support 113 which is annular, Fig. 1, para. [0034]) including a body recess (comprising opening in 113, Fig. 1A);
a heat transfer plate (comprising electrode 109, Fig. 1A, para. [0029]) disposed in the body recess (comprising an opening in 113, Fig. 1A), wherein the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A) includes an upper surface, a lower surface, a coolant channel (comprising temperature control fluid channels 123, Fig. 1A, para. [0029]);
an RF transmission tube (comprising radiofrequency signal supply shaft 141 and facilities plate111, Fig. 1A, para. [0037], [0061]) configured to transfer RF power to the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A), the RF transmission tube including a shaft (comprising 141, Fig. 1A) connected to a head (comprising 111, Fig. 1A), wherein a head shoulder (see annotated Fig. 1A below) of the head contacts a continuous area of the lower surface of the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A);
a puck (comprising ceramic layer 110, Fig. 1A) engaged with the upper surface of the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A);
first and second chucking electrodes(comprising clamp electrodes 112, Fig. 1A) are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck (para. [0028]).
Marakhtanov does not explicitly teach the puck is bonded to the upper surface of the heat transfer plate, the head has a head recess formed therein; the heat transfer plate includes, a first opening, and a second opening; a first chucking electrode disposed in the first opening and a second chucking electrode is disposed in the second opening, wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck; and wherein the first chucking electrode and the second chucking electrode are positioned outside of the puck.
However, Roy teaches a RF transmission tube (comprising 229 and 224, Fig. 2) including a head recess (comprising hollow space in housing 224, Fig. 2) in communication with a bore (comprising hollow space in conduit 229, Fig. 2) of the shaft (comprising 229, Fig. 2) (para. [0036]). Roy teaches that such a configuration enables routing utilities through the RF transmission tube and to the thermal control plate (comprising 204, Fig. 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the head (Markhtanov: comprising 111, Fig. 1A) of the RF transmission tube to include a head recess because Roy teaches such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration of an RF transmission tube which enables routing utilities through the RF transmission tube and to the thermal control plate (Roy: para. [0036]).
Marakhtanov in view of Roy as applied above does not explicitly teach the heat transfer plate includes, a first opening, and a second opening; a first chucking electrode disposed in the first opening and a second chucking electrode is disposed in the second opening, wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck; and wherein the first chucking electrode and the second chucking electrode are positioned outside of the puck.
However, Marakhtanov teaches that the electrostatic chuck assembly comprises at least two electrodes (comprising clamp electrodes 112, Fig. 1A) configured for chucking (para. [0028]).
Additionally, Kosakai teaches an electrostatic chuck (comprising electrostatic chucking device 1A, Fig. 1, para. [0045]; comprising 1B, Fig. 2) comprising a chucking electrode (comprising 13, Fig. 1 and 2, para. [0094]-[0096]) that can be disposed embedded in the puck (comprising plate 11, Fig. 2) or could obviously and alternatively be disposed outside of the puck (comprising 11, Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heat transfer plate includes, a first opening, and a second opening; a first chucking electrode disposed in the first opening and a second chucking electrode is disposed in the second opening, wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck, and to rearrange the first and second chucking electrodes such that the first chucking electrode and the second chucking electrode are positioned outside of the puck because Roy teaches/suggests providing a first and a second opening in the heat transfer plate and disposing electrodes in said openings enables electrically coupling the power supply for chucking (Roy: para. [0055]), because Kosakai teaches/suggests that placing the chucking electrode(s) outside of the puck is a known suitable alternative arrangement suitable for chucking a substrate.
Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention which does not modify the operation of a device only involves routine skill in the art and is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai as applied above does not explicitly teach the puck is bonded to the upper surface of the heat transfer plate.
However, Lilleland teaches an electrostatic chuck assembly comprising a puck (comprising 12, Fig. 1, para. [0025]) and a multi-layer bond (comprising 16 and 18, Fig. 1, para. [0019]) securing the puck (comprising 12, Fig. 1) to the heat transfer plate (comprising 14, Fig. 1, para. [0025]), wherein the bond is disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck (comprising 12, Fig. 1) (since the bond 16 and 18 are disposed along the entire lower surface of the puck the bond is also disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck). Lilleland further teaches the puck comprises a ceramic such as aluminum oxide (i.e. alumina) (para. [0026]) and the heat transfer plate comprises aluminum (para. [0027]). Lilleland teaches that such a configuration is suitable means of joining the puck and the heat transfer plate while also enabling the assembly to be recycled /separated without damage to the joined/bonded parts (para. [0018],[0032]).
Additionally, Marakhatnov teaches that the puck (comprising 110, Fig. 1A) comprises a ceramic (para. [0027]) and the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A) comprises a material including aluminum (para. [0027]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a bond securing the puck to the heat transfer plate, wherein the bond is disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck because Lilleland teaches that such a configuration is a known means of joining a puck comprising a ceramic to a heat transfer plate in an electrostatic chuck assembly wherein the particular bond taught by Lilleland would enable separation of the joined/bonded parts without damage to the puck or heat transfer plate which would enable recycling the electrostatic chuck assembly (para. [0018], [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Marakhatnov in view of Roy, Kosakai and Lilleland teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 13 above and Lilleland further teaches wherein the bond is disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck (comprising 12, Fig. 1) (since the bond 16 and 18 are disposed along the entire lower surface of the puck the bond is also disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck). Thus, the apparatus of modified Marakhatnov would meet claim 14 limitaitons.
Regarding claim 15, Marakhatnov in view of Roy, Kosakai and Lilleland teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 13, 14 above and Lilleland further teaches the bond (comprising 16 and 18, Fig. 1) is a multi-layer bond (para. [0019]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marakhtanov et al. (US 2023/0059495 A1 hereinafter “Marakhtanov”) in view Roy et al. (US 2012/0033340 A1 hereinafter “Roy”) and Kosakai et al. (US 2018/0108555 A1 hereinafter “Kosakai”) as applied to claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 above and further in view of Larosa et al. (US 2019/0371578 A1 hereinafter “Larosa”).
Regarding claim 10, Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above.
Marakhtanov further teaches an opening (comprising 108, Fig. 2) formed in the puck (comprising 110, Fig. 1A) to distribute heat transfer gas (para. [0030], [0032]).
Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai as applied above does not explicitly teach a plug assembly disposed in a plug port formed in the heat transfer plate, wherein the plug assembly is configured to distribute a heat transfer gas to an opening formed in the puck connected to a plurality of channels formed in an upper surface of the puck.
However, Larosa teaches and electrostatic chuck assembly (comprising substrate support pedestal 116, Fig. 1 and 2, para. [0025]) including a plug assembly (comprising porous plug 244, Fig. 2, para. [0035]) disposed in a plug port (comprising second base passage 258, Fig. 2, para. [0037]) formed in the heat transfer plate (comprising cooling base 104, Fig. 2, para. [0035]), wherein the plug assembly (comprising 244, Fig. 2) is configured to distribute a heat transfer gas to an opening (comprising outlet 210, Fig. 2, para. [0036]) formed in the puck (comprising chuck body 206, Fig. 2, para. [0035]-[0036]) connected to a plurality of channels (comprising plenum 280 comprised of the spaces/grooves between the mesas 216, Fig. 2) formed in an upper surface of the puck (comprising 206, Fig. 2)(para. [0032]). Larosa teaches that such a configuration enables preventing arcing and plasma ignition of the heat transfer/backside gas during processing (para. [0039]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plug assembly and a plurality of channels formed in the puck and to configure the plug port assembly to be disposed in a plug port formed in the heat transfer plate, wherein the plug assembly is configured to distribute a heat transfer gas to an opening formed in the puck connected to a plurality of channels formed in an upper surface of the puck because Larosa teaches that such a configuration enables preventing arcing and plasma ignition of the heat transfer gas during processing (Larosa: para. [0039]).
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marakhtanov et al. (US 2023/0059495 A1 hereinafter “Marakhtanov”) in view of Roy et al. (US 2012/0033340 A1 hereinafter “Roy”) and Kosakai et al. (US 2018/0108555 A1 hereinafter “Kosakai”) and Larosa et al. (US 2019/0371578 A1 hereinafter “Larosa”) as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Ikeda et al. (US 2006/0005930 A1) and Nam et al. (US 2013/0128409 A1 hereinafter “Nam”).
Regarding claim 11, Marakhtanov in view of Roy, Kosakai and Larosa teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 10 above and Marakhtanov further teaches a first electric line (comprising one of wires 119A or 119B, Fig. 1A, para. [0028]) in connection with the first chucking electrode (comprising one of electrodes 112, Fig. 1A as modified in claim 1 in view of teachings of Roy); a second electric line (comprising the other one of 119A or 119B, Fig. 1A, para. [0028]) in connection with the second chucking electrode (comprising the other one of electrodes 112, Fig. 1A as modified in claim 1 in view of teachings of Roy); a coolant line (comprising 129, Fig. 1A, para. [0029]) and a gas supply line (comprising 130, Fig. 1A, para. [0030]) configured to supply the heat transfer gas wherein when modifying Markhtanov in view of teachings of Larosa to include the plug assembly in claim 10 rejection limitation “configured to supply the heat transfer gas to the plug assembly” would be met.
Marakhtanov in view of Roy, Kosakai and Larosa as applied above does not explicitly teach a coolant supply line connected with an inlet of the coolant channel; a return coolant line connected to an outlet of the coolant channel; wherein the first and second electric lines, the coolant supply line, the coolant return line, and the gas supply line are partially disposed in a bore of the shaft of the RF transmission tube.
Examiner notes that Marakhtanov already teaches circulation of coolant into the coolant channels (comprising 123, Fig. 1A) formed in the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A, para. [0029]) but is silent regarding the specific supply line and return line.
However, Ikeda further teaches a coolant supply line (comprising introduction channel 505, Fig. 2 and 6) connected with an inlet of the coolant channel (comprising 507, Fig. 2); a return coolant line (comprising discharging channel 506, Fig. 2) connected to an outlet of the coolant channel (comprising 507, Fig. 2) (para. [0056],[0058], [0067]). Ikeda teaches that such a configuration enables circulating coolant/heat exchange medium in the heat transfer plate (comprising electrode 501, Fig.2) (para. [0056]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a coolant supply line connected with an inlet of the coolant channel; a return coolant line connected to an outlet of the coolant channel because Ikeda teaches that this a known suitable mechanism for circulating coolant into the heat transfer plate (Ikeda: para. [0056]) wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this would enable suitable substrate/electrostatic chuck temperature control.
Marakhtanov in view of Roy, Kosakai, Larosa, Ikeda as applied above does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second electric lines, the coolant supply line, the coolant return line, and the gas supply line are partially disposed in a bore of the shaft of the RF transmission tube.
However, Roy teaches disposing gas supply lines (comprising 234, 236, Fig. 2) and electrical conduit/electric line (comprising 232), Fig. 2) in the bore of the shaft (comprising 229, Fig. 2) of the RF transmission tube (comprising 229 and 224, Fig. 2) (para. [0036]).
Additionally, Nam further teaches disposing the first and second electric lines (comprising wires 47, Fig. 2, para. [0054]) for the electrostatic chuck are disposed through a bore in the shaft (comprising second portion 26B, Fig. 2) of the RF transmission tube (comprising hollow RF feed 24, Fig. 2) (para. [0046]). Nam teaches that such a configuration of an RF transmission tube with respect to the electric lines enables improved symmetry of RF deliver (para. [0047]).
Further, Ikeda teaches the electrostatic chuck electric line (comprising 516a, Fig. 6), the coolant supply line (comprising 505, Fig. 6), the coolant return line (comprising 506, Fig. 6), and the gas supply line (comprising 517, Fig. 6) arranged along the RF transmission tube (comprising 502, Fig. 5 and 6) enables providing a simplified substrate support structure (i.e. electrostatic chuck assembly) with reduced number of components and smaller size (para. [0056]-[0058]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the RF transmission tube to have a bore formed in the shaft wherein the first and second electric lines, the coolant supply line, the coolant return line, and the gas supply line are partially disposed in a bore of the shaft of the RF transmission tube because Roy and Nam each teaches a bore in the shaft of the RF transmission tube and because both Roy suggest using the hollow space in the RF transmission tube to hold facilities such as electric lines and gas supply lines (Roy: para. [0036]), because Nam further teaches that such a configuration including electric lines provided in the bore of the shaft of the RF transmission tube can enable more symmetric RF delivery (Nam: para. [0047]), and because Ikeda teaches that providing a coolant supply line, a coolant return line, and a gas supply line along the RF transmission path provides an efficient placement of conduits for a simplified electrostatic chuck assembly (Ikeda: para. [0056]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Marakhtanov in view of Roy, Kosakai, Larosa, Ikeda and Nam teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 as applied above but does not explicitly teach a manifold disposed in the head recess, wherein the coolant supply line, coolant return line, and the gas supply line are partially disposed in the manifold.
However, Marakhtanov in view of Roy, Kosakai, Larosa, Ikeda and Nam as discussed above already teaches a head recess, coolant supply line, coolant return line, and gas supply line.
Additionally, Roy teaches a manifold (comprising 235, Fig. 2) in a head recess (comprising housing 224, Fig. 2, para. [0036]) wherein the manifold (comprising 235, Fig. 2) facilities distribution of process gasses, heat transfer fluids, or power to selective areas of the puck (comprising 202, Fig. 2) (para. [0036]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manifold disposed in the head recess, wherein the coolant supply line, coolant return line, and the gas supply line are partially disposed in the manifold because Roy teaches that a manifold in the head recess can facilitate distribution of heat transfer fluids/coolant, process gases (i.e. heat transfer gas), or power to the puck (Roy: para. [0036]).
Claim(s) 16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marakhtanov et al. (US 2023/0059495 A1 hereinafter “Marakhtanov”) in view of Roy et al. (US 2012/0033340 A1 hereinafter “Roy”), Kosakai et al. (US 2018/0108555 A1 hereinafter “Kosakai”), Lilleland et al. (US 2015/0004400 A1 hereinafter “Lilleland”), and Kubly et al. (US 5,793,192 hereinafter “Kubly”).
Regarding independent claim 16 Marakhtanov teaches a method of processing a substrate, comprising:
chucking a first substrate (comprising wafer W, Fig. 1A, para. [0028]) to a puck (comprising ceramic layer 110, Fig. 1A) engaged with an upper surface of a heat transfer plate (comprising electrode 109, Fig. 1A, para. [0029]) by applying a chucking voltage (i.e. clamping voltage) to the puck using a first chucking electrode and a second chucking electrode (comprising clamp electrodes 112, Fig. 1A, para. [0028]) ;
igniting a plasma above the first substrate (comprising W, Fig. 1A) chucked to the puck (comprising 110, Fig. 1A) using a first RF power (comprising power from 147 or 149, Fig. 1A) (para. [0061] teaches both 147 and 149 are applied during processing/ignition),
wherein the first RF power is transferred from an RF transmission tube (comprising shaft 141, Fig. 1A) to the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A) at a continuous interface between the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A) and a head (comprising 111, Fig. 1A) of the RF transmission tube, wherein the head (comprising 111, Fig. 1A) extends from a shaft (comprising 141, Fig. 1A) of the RF transmission tube; and
processing the first substrate (comprising W, Fig.1A) using a second RF power (comprising the other of 147 or 149, Fig. 1A), wherein the second RF power is transferred from the RF transmission tube (comprising 141 and 111, Fig. 1A) to the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A) at the continuous interface (para. [0061] teaches both 147 and 149 are applied during processing).
Marakhtanov does not teach that the puck is bonded to an upper surface of the heat transfer plate; the first and second electrodes are disposed in the heat transfer plate; wherein first and second chucking electrode have opposing polarities; the head includes a head recess that is in communication with a bore of the shaft; wherein the first chucking electrode and the second chucking electrode are positioned outside of the puck.
However, Roy teaches a RF transmission tube (comprising 229 and 224, Fig. 2) including a head recess (comprising hollow space in housing 224, Fig. 2) in communication with a bore (comprising hollow space in conduit 229, Fig. 2) of the shaft (comprising 229, Fig. 2) (para. [0036]). Roy teaches that such a configuration enables routing utilities through the RF transmission tube and to the thermal control plate (comprising 204, Fig. 2)(para. [0036]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the head (Markhtanov: comprising 111, Fig. 1A) of the RF transmission tube to include a head recess in communication with a bore of the shaft because Roy teaches such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration of an RF transmission tube which would enable routing utilities through the RF transmission tube and to the thermal control plate (Roy: para. [0036]).
Marakhtanov in view of Roy as applied above does not explicitly the puck is bonded to an upper surface of the heat transfer plate; teach the heat transfer plate includes, a first opening, and a second opening; a first chucking electrode disposed in the first opening and a second chucking electrode is disposed in the second opening, wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck; wherein first and second chucking electrode have opposing polarities; the head recess is in communication with a bore of the shaft; wherein the first chucking electrode and the second chucking electrode are positioned outside of the puck.
However, Markhtanov teaches that the electrostatic chuck assembly comprises at least two electrodes (comprising clamp electrodes 112, Fig. 1A) configured for chucking (para. [0028]).
Additionally, Roy teaches a heat transfer plate (comprising thermal control plate 204, Fig. 7) includes, a first opening, and a second opening (comprising openings formed in 204 for accommodating terminals 702 to respective electrodes in puck 202, Fig. 7, para. [0055]); a first chucking electrode (comprising 702 coupled with electrode 406, Fig. 4A and 4B, 7) disposed in the first opening and a second chucking electrode (comprising 702 coupled with electrode 408, Fig. 4A and 4B, 7)is disposed in the second opening (para. [0055]-[0057]), wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck (para. [0055]-[0057]). Roy teaches that such a configuration enables electrically coupling the power supply for chucking (para. [0055]).
Additionally, Kosakai teaches an electrostatic chuck (comprising electrostatic chucking device 1A, Fig. 1, para. [0045]; comprising 1B, Fig. 2) comprising a chucking electrode (comprising 13, Fig. 1 and 2, para. [0094]-[0096]) that can be disposed embedded in the puck (comprising plate 11, Fig. 2) or could obviously and alternatively be disposed outside of the puck (comprising 11, Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heat transfer plate includes, a first opening, and a second opening; a first chucking electrode disposed in the first opening and a second chucking electrode is disposed in the second opening, wherein the first and second chucking electrodes are configured to transfer a chucking voltage to the puck, and to rearrange the first and second chucking electrodes such that the first chucking electrode and the second chucking electrode are positioned outside of the puck because Roy teaches/suggests providing a first and a second opening in the heat transfer plate and disposing electrodes in said openings enables electrically coupling the power supply for chucking (Roy: para. [0055]), because Kosakai teaches/suggests that placing the chucking electrode(s) outside of the puck is a known suitable alternative arrangement suitable for chucking a substrate.
Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention which does not modify the operation of a device only involves routine skill in the art and is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai as applied above does not explicitly teach the puck is bonded to an upper surface of the heat transfer plate; wherein first and second chucking electrode have opposing polarities.
However, Lilleland teaches an electrostatic chuck assembly comprising a puck (comprising 12, Fig. 1, para. [0025]) and a multi-layer bond (comprising 16 and 18, Fig. 1, para. [0019]) securing the puck (comprising 12, Fig. 1) to the heat transfer plate (comprising 14, Fig. 1, para. [0025]), wherein the bond is disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck (comprising 12, Fig. 1) (since the bond 16 and 18 are disposed along the entire lower surface of the puck the bond is also disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck). Lilleland further teaches the puck comprises a ceramic such as aluminum oxide (i.e. alumina) (para. [0026]) and the heat transfer plate comprises aluminum (para. [0027]). Lilleland teaches that such a configuration is suitable means of joining the puck and the heat transfer plate while also enabling the assembly to be recycled /separated without damage to the joined/bonded parts (para. [0018],[0032]).
Additionally, Marakhatnov teaches that the puck (comprising 110, Fig. 1A) comprises a ceramic (para. [0027]) and the heat transfer plate (comprising 109, Fig. 1A) comprises a material including aluminum (para. [0027]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a bond securing the puck to the heat transfer plate, wherein the bond is disposed about a periphery of a lower surface of the puck because Lilleland teaches that such a configuration is a known means of joining a puck comprising a ceramic to a heat transfer plate in an electrostatic chuck assembly wherein the particular bond taught by Lilleland would enable separation of the joined/bonded parts without damage to the puck or heat transfer plate which would enable recycling the electrostatic chuck assembly (para. [0018], [0032]).
Marakhatnov in view of Roy, Kosakai and Lilleland as applied above does not explicitly teach that the first and second chucking electrode have opposing polarities.
However, Marakhatnov teaches that the electrostatic chuck has a bipolar chucking configuration including a first and second electrodes (comprising 112, Fig. 1A) (para. [0028]).
Additionally, Kubly teaches a bipolar chucking configuration wherein the first and second electrodes are at opposite polarities to suitably electrostatically clamp the wafer to the chuck (col 6 line 1 col 7 line 8, see also step 404 and 406, Fig. 4).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide opposite polarities to the first and second chucking electrodes because Marakhatnov teaches the first and second electrodes are part of a bipolar chucking configuration and because Kubly teaches that it is known in the art to provide opposite polarities to the first and second electrodes in a bipolar chucking configuration to enable suitable electrostatic clamping of the wafer to the chuck (Kubly: col 6 line 40-50).
Regarding claim 19, Marakhatnov in view of Roy, Kosakai, Lilleland, and Kubly teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 16 above and Marakhatnov further teaches regulating a temperature of the first substrate (comprising wafer W, Fig. 1A) by supplying a coolant fluid through a coolant supply line (comprising fluid circulation system 125 including line 126, Fig. 1A, para. [0029]) to a coolant channel (comprising temperature control fluid channels 123, Fig. 1A) of the heat transfer plate (comprising 106, Fig. 1A) and by supplying heat transfer gas through a gas line to an opening (comprising backside gas supply ports 108, Fig. 2) in the puck (comprising 110, Fig. 1A) (para. [0030], [0083]).
Marakhatnov in view of Roy, Kosakai, Lilleland, and Kubly as applied above does not explicitly teach wherein the gas line and the coolant supply line are disposed in the RF transmission tube.
However, Roy teaches disposing gas supply lines (comprising 234, 236, Fig. 2) and electrical conduit/electric line (comprising 232), Fig. 2) in the bore of the shaft (comprising 229, Fig. 2) of the RF transmission tube (comprising 229 and 224, Fig. 2) (para. [0036]). Roy teaches that such a configuration enables routing utilities to the thermal control plate/heat transfer plate (comprising 204, Fig. 2)(para. [0036]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured the gas line and the coolant supply line to be disposed in the RF transmission tube because Roy teaches this is known suitable configuration of a chuck assembly to enable routing of utilities to the heat transfer plate (Roy: para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 20, Marakhatnov in view of Roy, Kosakai, Lilleland, and Kubly teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 16 above and Kubly further teaches dechucking the first substrate from the puck by reversing the polarities of the first and second chucking electrodes (Kubly: abstract, step 408, Fig. 4; col 7 line 29-44).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marakhtanov et al. (US 2023/0059495 A1 hereinafter “Marakhtanov”) in view of Roy et al. (US 2012/0033340 A1 hereinafter “Roy”), Kosakai et al. (US 2018/0108555 A1 hereinafter “Kosakai”), Lilleland et al. (US 2015/0004400 A1 hereinafter “Lilleland”), and Kubly et al. (US 5,793,192 hereinafter “Kubly”) as applied to claim 16, 19, 20 above and further in view of Singh (US 2013/0023125 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Marakhtanov in view of Roy, Kosakai, Lilleland and Kubly teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 16 above but does not explicitly teach processing the first substrate with one or more process gases prior to igniting the plasma.
However, Singh teaches a method of etching a substrate including processing the substrate with one or more process gases prior to igniting the plasma (claim 1, para. [0011], [0018]). Singh teaches that such a configuration enables adsorbing the etchant gas into the layer to be etched and the subsequent plasma ignited after the adsorbing step provides activating surface reactions with the substrate layer that has been adsorbed with etchant molecules resulting in less damage to the substrate when etching (para. [0012], [0035],[0041]).
Additionally, Examiner notes that Marakhtanov also teachings etching (para. [0023]-[0024], [0089]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a process step of processing the first substrate with one or more process gases prior to igniting the plasma because Singh teaches that such a step can allow absorption of etchant gas on the layer to be etched and the subsequent plasma can activate surface reactions of the substrate layer that has been adsorbed with etchant molecules resulting in less damage to the substrate when etching (Singh: para. [0012], [0035],[0041]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marakhtanov et al. (US 2023/0059495 A1 hereinafter “Marakhtanov”) in view of Roy et al. (US 2012/0033340 A1 hereinafter “Roy”), Kosakai et al. (US 2018/0108555 A1 hereinafter “Kosakai”), Lilleland et al. (US 2015/0004400 A1 hereinafter “Lilleland”), and Kubly et al. (US 5,793,192 hereinafter “Kubly”) as applied in claims 16, 19, 20 above and further in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 5,449,977) and Takeshita et al. (US 2006/0121729 A1 hereinafter “Takeshita”).
Regarding claim 18, Marakhtanov in view of Roy, Kosakai, Lilleland and Kubly teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 16 above but does not explicitly teach wherein the first RF power is at 800 W with a frequency of 13.56 MHz and the second RF power is at 800 W with a frequency of 60 MHz.
However, Marakhtanov teaches that the first and second RF power supplies (comprising 147 and 149, Fig. 1A) operate at different frequencies and powers (para. [0038]).
Further, Nakagawa teaches that RF power of 13.56 MHz and 800W power is sufficient to ignite/generate a plasma (col 1 line 41-44).
Examiner notes that the first RF power is used to generate/ignite a plasma (see claim 16 rejection above and teachings of Marakhtanov).
Further, Takeshita teaches and RF frequency of 60MHz and power of between 200W and about 1500W being applied to the substrate (para. [0021]). Takeshita further teaches that the RF frequency and bias applied to the chuck assembly/substrate is a result-effective variable that affects the etch rate and the amount of faceting/corner sputtering (para. [0038]-[0040]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first RF power is at 800 W with a frequency of 13.56 MHz because Nakagawa teaches that such a configuration is suitable for generating plasma and it would additionally obvious to optimize the second RF power and frequency because Takeshita teaches that frequency and power applied to the substrate/chuck assembly is a result-effective variable that affects the etch rate and the amount of faceting/corner sputtering (Takeshita: para. [0038]-[0040]), wherein optimizing the power and the frequency would optimize the etch rate when processing a substrate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 Oct 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, due to new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments as further discussed below.
Applicant argues (remarks page 8-9) regarding U.S.C. 103 rejection of independent claims 1, 13, 16 that none of the cited references (Marakhtanov, Roy, Lilleand, Miura, Larosa, Ikeda, Kubly, Singh, Nakagawa, and Takeshita) alone or in combination teach amended limitation "the first chucking electrode and the second chucking electrode are positioned outside of the puck."
Examiner responds claim 1, 13, 16 rejections have been modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Currently claim 1 and 13 is rejected as being unpatentable over Marakhtanov in view of Roy and Kosakai. Claim 16 is rejected as being unpatentable over Marakhtanov in view of Roy, Kosakai, Lilleand and Kubly. Examiner notes that newly cited reference Kosakai teaches that the chucking electrode(s) can be placed in the puck or alternatively outside of the puck as discussed in detail in claims rejections above.
In light of the above, independent claims 1, 13, 16 are rejected.
Further, in view of Examiner’s remarks regarding independent claims 1, 13, 16, the dependent claims 2-12, 14, 15, and 17-20 are also rejected, as detailed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takahasi et al. (US2001/0009497A1) Fig. 1 teaches a chucking electrode (comprising 11, Fig. 1) embedded in an opening formed in the cooling plate (comprising electrode 12 having coolant passage 21, Fig. 1), wherein the chucking electrode is outside of an insulating layer (comprising 14, Fig. 1) (para. [0041]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREEN CHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1716 /RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716