DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of “Group I (claims 1-10)” in the reply filed on January 2, 2026, is acknowledged. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive and restriction for “Group II (claims 11-20)” is hereby withdrawn; therefore, claims 1-20 remain pending, with claims 1,11 and 20 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,11-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 10,699,882 B2; Suemitsu et al.; 06/2020; (“882”).
Regarding Claim 1. 882 teaches in Figs. 1,2 and 5 about a plasma processing chamber (Fig. 1, item 11), comprising:
a concentric coil region (Fig. 1, concentric electromagnet region item 20) comprising a first concentric coil (Fig. 2, item 21), a second concentric coil (Fig. 2, item 22), and a third concentric coil (Fig. 2, item 23), wherein
the first concentric coil comprises a first coil that has a first radius that is measured in a direction parallel to a first plane (Fig. 2, radius of item 21 which is measured in a plane parallel to a first XY-plane),
the second concentric coil comprises a second coil that has a second radius that is measured in a direction parallel to the first plane (Fig. 2, radius of item 22 which is measured in a plane parallel to a first XY-plane),
the third concentric coil comprises a third coil that has a third radius that is measured in a direction parallel to the first plane (Fig. 2, radius of item 23 which is measured in a plane parallel to a first XY-plane),
the second radius is smaller than the third radius (Fig. 2, radius of item 22 is smaller than radius of item 23), and the first radius is smaller than the second radius (Fig. 2, radius of item 21 is smaller than radius of item 22); and
a power supply circuit (Fig. 1, circuit of controller item 43) coupled to the first concentric coil, the second concentric coil, and the third concentric coil (Fig. 1, item 43 is coupled to each of the concentric coils via module items 41 or 42), wherein the power supply circuit is configured to bias the first concentric coil, the second concentric coil, and the third concentric coil to adjust a generated magnetic field in a region of control of a plasma in the plasma processing chamber to control a plasma density of the plasma (“controller 43 of the present embodiment may simultaneously supply the first electric current and the second electric current to the first annular coils and the second annular coils … various motions of plasma can be caused by adjustment of the number of the first annular coils and the number of the second annular coils to be simultaneously driven”, Col. 6, Ln. 45-56; wherein the region of control is embodied by item 11a of Fig. 1), and wherein at least one of the first concentric coil, the second concentric coil, and the third concentric coil is biased oppositely of the other concentric coils (Fig. 5, at least coil items 21 and 22 have oppositive bias currents I21 and I22).
Regarding Claim 2. 882 teaches in Col. 3 about a plasma processing chamber, wherein the power supply circuit is configured to bias the first concentric coil, the second concentric coil, and the third concentric coil to affect the plasma density by changing an absolute magnitude of a current applied to the first concentric coil and the second concentric coil to change a radial flux in the region of control (“magnetic fields are generated in the treatment space 11a by the annular coils … the orbits and ions in the plasma can be controlled so that the distribution of plasma density in the treatment space 11a can be controlled”, Col. 3, Ln. 35-40).
Regarding Claim 3. 882 teaches in Fig. 1 about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
the power supply circuit is further configured to bias adjacent concentric coils in opposite directions (item 43 is configured to bias adjacent concentric coil items 21-28 in opposite directions).
Regarding Claim 11. 882 teaches in Fig. 1 about a method of processing a substrate (item 10), comprising performing a processing sequence on the substrate disposed within a processing region of a plasma processing chamber (processing sequence for item 10 disposed within region item 11a), wherein the processing sequence comprises:
biasing, with a power supply circuit, at least three of a plurality of concentric coils (item 43 biases at least three of the concentric coil items 21-28) to adjust a generated magnetic field in a region of control of a plasma in the plasma processing chamber to control a plasma density of the plasma by changing an absolute magnitude of a current applied to the at least three of the plurality of concentric coils to change a radial flux in the region of control (“magnetic fields are generated in the treatment space 11a by the annular coils … the orbits and ions in the plasma can be controlled so that the distribution of plasma density in the treatment space 11a can be controlled”, Col. 3, Ln. 35-40), wherein the biasing the at least three of the plurality of concentric coils comprises:
delivering a first bias signal to a coil of a first concentric coil of the plurality of concentric coils (delivered bias from item 43 to coil item 21);
delivering a second bias signal to a coil of a second concentric coil of the plurality of concentric coils (delivered bias from item 43 to coil item 22); and
delivering a third bias signal to a coil of a third concentric coil of the plurality of concentric coils (delivered bias from item 43 to coil item 23), and wherein at least one of the at least three of the plurality of concentric coils is biased oppositely of the other concentric coils (coil item 22 is biased oppositely to coil items 21 and 23).
Regarding Claim 12. 882 teaches in Fig. 1 about a method of processing a substrate, wherein
the power supply circuit is further configured to bias adjacent concentric coils in opposite directions (item 43 is configured to bias adjacent concentric coil items 21-28 in opposite directions).
Regarding Claim 20. 882 teaches in Fig. 1 about a method of processing a substrate (item 10), comprising performing a processing sequence on the substrate disposed within a processing region of a plasma processing chamber (processing sequence for item 10 disposed within region item 11a), wherein the processing sequence comprises:
biasing, with a power supply circuit, at least two of a plurality of concentrically aligned coils (item 43 biases at least two of the concentric coil items 21-28) to adjust a generated magnetic field in a region of control of a plasma in the plasma processing chamber to control a plasma density of the plasma by changing an absolute magnitude of a current applied to the at least two of the plurality of concentrically aligned coils to change a radial flux in the region of control (“magnetic fields are generated in the treatment space 11a by the annular coils … the orbits and ions in the plasma can be controlled so that the distribution of plasma density in the treatment space 11a can be controlled”, Col. 3, Ln. 35-40), wherein the biasing the at least two of the plurality of concentric coils comprises:
delivering a first bias signal to a coil of a first concentric coil of the plurality of concentrically aligned coils at a first time (delivered bias from item 43 to coil item 21); and
delivering a second bias signal to a coil of a second concentric coil of the plurality of concentric coils at a second time (delivered bias from item 43 to coil item 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5,7-10,13-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 10,699,882 B2; Suemitsu et al.; 06/2020; (“882”) in view of US 2013/0256271 A1; Panagopoulos et al.; 10/2013; (“271”).
Regarding Claim 4. 882 teaches in Fig. 5 about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
the region of control has a radial field (radial field items H21 or H22).
882 does not teach about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
the region of control has a peak radial field; and
when the generated magnetic field in the region of control of the plasma in the plasma processing chamber is adjusted, the peak radial field is also adjusted.
271 teaches in Figs. 2C and 3A1-3A2 about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
the region of control has a peak radial field (“FIG. 3A2, plasma density is higher mid-radius … and lower at the center and edge of the substrate”, [0050], Ln. 10-12); and
when the generated magnetic field in the region of control of the plasma in the plasma processing chamber is adjusted, the peak radial field is also adjusted (Figs. 2C and 3A1 illustrate the control of the plasma in the plasma processing chamber due to the adjustment of coil currents; indeed, adjusting the current of the coils inherently adjusts the magnetic field in the region of control).
Thus, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to consider utilizing the technique for adjusting the peak magnetic field of 271 in the plasma chamber of 882 in order to control of the plasma in the plasma processing chamber as taught by 271 in at least Figs. 2C and 3A1.
Regarding Claim 5. 271 teaches in Figs. 6F and 6G about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
each of the first concentric coil, the second concentric coil, and the third concentric coil comprise multiple coil layers (Fig. 6G shows multiple coil layers for coil items 632 and 630; Fig. 6F shows multiple coil layers for coil item 634).
Regarding Claim 7. 882 teaches in Fig. 1 about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
the first concentric coil, the second concentric coil, and the third concentric coil adjust the generated magnetic field in the region of control of the plasma in the plasma processing chamber to control the plasma density of the plasma in the plasma processing chamber through a shower head (“upper electrode 18 also functions as a shower head that introduces treatment gas”, Col. 3, Ln. 2-3).
882 does not teach about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
the first concentric coil, the second concentric coil, and the third concentric coil adjust the generated magnetic field in the region of control of the plasma in the plasma processing chamber to control the plasma density of the plasma in the plasma processing chamber through a metallic plate with a high magnetic permeability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to experiment using a metallic plate for the shower head with high magnetic permeability to allow the magnetic fields created by the concentric coils (above the showerhead) to reach the region of control (below the showerhead), since it has been held to be within the general skill of worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design variation and choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 8. 271 teaches in Figs. 2C,3A1,3C1 and 5 about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
the first concentric coil, the second concentric coil, and the third concentric coil are substantially surrounded by a shield barrier on at least one side (magnetic field lines from the edge coil item 212 fit to the shape of the plasma chamber; therefore, the walls of the plasma chamber are taught by 271 to be a magnetic shield barrier); and
the shield barrier is configured to substantially block the generated magnetic field (magnetic field lines from the edge coil item 212 do not penetrate the plasma chamber; therefore, the walls of the plasma chamber are taught by 271 to be a magnetic shield barrier).
Regarding Claim 9. 271 teaches in Figs. 2C,3A1,3C1 and 5 about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
the shield barrier is configured to substantially block the generated magnetic field (magnetic field lines from the edge coil item 212 do not penetrate the plasma chamber; therefore, the walls of the plasma chamber are taught by 271 to be a magnetic shield barrier).
Regarding Claim 10. 882 teaches in Fig. 2 about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
the concentric coil region comprises an even number of concentric coils (region item 20 has eight concentric coils); and
adjacent concentric coils are biased oppositely to produce opposite fluxes when driven (adjacent concentric coil items 21-28 are biased appositively to produce opposite fluxes when driven).
882 does not teach about a plasma processing chamber, wherein
adjacent concentric coils are wound oppositely to produce opposite fluxes when driven.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to either reverse the bias current flow of a coil to produce opposite fluxes when driven or to oppositely wound a coil to produce opposite fluxes according to Ampere’s Law, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 13. See rejection for claim 4.
Regarding Claim 14. See rejection for claim 5.
Regarding Claim 16. See rejection for claim 7.
Regarding Claim 17. 271 teaches in Figs. 2C,3A1,3C1 and 5 about a method of processing a substrate, wherein
plurality of concentric coils are substantially surrounded by a shield barrier on at least one side. (magnetic field lines from the edge coil item 212 fit to the shape of the plasma chamber; therefore, the walls of the plasma chamber are taught by 271 to be a magnetic shield barrier).
Regarding Claim 18. See rejection for claim 9.
Regarding Claim 19. See rejection for claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JORGE ANDRES LOPEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2897