DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
3. When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with paragraph numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
4. Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments, see Claim Rejections, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim, Da Hye et al. (Pub No. US US 20230420519 A1) (hereinafter, Kim).
6. Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 9, applicant argues the prior art does not teach the amended limitations, i.e. “wherein the first source/drain contact feature extends from a first vertical level above a topmost of the plurality of first channels to a second vertical level below a lower most of the plurality of first channels.”
In response to applicant's argument that the source/drain contact feature does not extend down to a second vertical level, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The claimed invention is a source/drain contact feature (Source/drain contact/filling film/interlayer insulating film; 180/153/190; Fig 11; ¶[0234]), which is not limited to only the planar elements (source/drain contact and interlayer insulating film). The prior art recites a filling film (153), wherein the broadest reasonable interpretation of the prior art permits the filling film to be a component of the source/drain contact feature.
7. Applicant’s arguments, see Claim Rejections, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 15 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim, Da Hye et al. (Pub No. US US 20230420519 A1) (hereinafter, Kim).
8. Applicant’s arguments, see Specification, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the objection of the title have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the title has been withdrawn.
9. Applicant’s arguments, see Claim Objections, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the objection of claim 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 4 has been withdrawn.
For above mentioned reasons, the rejection is deemed proper and considered final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1, 6-8 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim, Da Hye et al. (Pub No. US US 20230420519 A1) (hereinafter, Kim).
Re Claim 1, (Currently Amended) Kim teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
an epitaxial source/drain region (Semiconductor liner film/insertion film; 151/152; Fig 11; ¶[0103]), wherein the epitaxial source/drain region has an inner profile (Inner sidewalls of 151/152; Fig 11), and the inner profile includes two or more valley sections (Valleys of inner profile of 151/152; See Fig 11 annotation) alternatively connected between two or more mountain sections (Mountains of inner profile of 151/152; See Fig 11 annotation);
Kim, Fig 11: Embodiment of semiconductor device annotated with mountains and valleys
two or more channel layers (Sheet patterns; NS1; Fig 11; ¶[0032]) in contact with the epitaxial source/drain region, wherein the two or more channel layers are vertically stacked, and the two or more channel layers correspond (Form the mountain portion on other side of source/drain regions; Fig 11) to the two or more mountain sections in the inner profile;
and a source/drain contact feature (Source/drain contact/filling film/interlayer insulating film; 180/153/190; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) disposed in and on the epitaxial source/drain region, wherein the source/drain contact feature has an outer profile matching (Matches portion of inner profile of epitaxial source/drain region 153; Fig 11) the inner profile of the epitaxial source/drain region,
and the outer profile of the source/drain contact feature includes one or more kinks (Filling film 153 is part of the source/drain contact feature, and comprises one or more kinks; Fig 11) correspondinq to the two or more valley sections (Valleys (annotated); Fig 11) and the two or more mountain sections (Mountains (annotated); Fig 11) of the inner profile of the epitaxial source/drain region.
Re Claim 6, (Original) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the source/drain contact feature (Source/drain contact/filling film/interlayer insulating film; 180/153/190; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) comprises an ILD portion (Interlayer insulating film; 190; Fig 11; ¶[0028]) and a core portion (Source/drain contact and filling film; 180/153; Fig 11; ¶[0234]), the core portion is deposed in a central cavity (First source/drain recess and inner profile of filling film 153; 150R; Fig 11; ¶[0093]) of the epitaxial source/drain region defined by the inner profile (Inner sidewalls of 153; Fig 11) and including alternatively narrow sections and wide sections (Defined by mountains and valley of filling film 153; Fig 11).
Re Claim 7, (Original) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein the epitaxial source/drain region (Semiconductor liner film/insertion film; 151/152; Fig 11; ¶[0103]) wraps around (Liner and insertion film wrap around filling film 153 and contact 180; Fig 11) the core portion (Source/drain contact and filling film; 180/153; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) of the source/drain contact feature (Source/drain contact and filling film; 180/153; Fig 11; ¶[0234]).
Re Claim 8, (Original) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a sacrificial source/drain feature (Upper portion of semiconductor filling film 153; Fig 32) disposed between the source/drain contact feature (Lower portion of source/drain contact 180; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) and a contact etch stop layer (Source/drain etch stop film; 185; Fig 11; ¶[0028]).
Re Claim 15, (Currently Amended) Kim teaches a method (Figs 26 to 32 are intermediate steps, Fig 11 comprises of final steps according to an embodiment; ¶[0219]), comprising:
forming a first fin structure (Upper pattern structure; U_AP; Fig 26; ¶[0220]) along a first direction (D3; Fig 26);
forming a sacrificial gate structure (Dummy gate electrode; 120p; Fig 26; ¶[0223]) along a second direction (D1; Fig 26) and across the first fin structure;
Kim, Fig 26: Forming fin structure and sacrificial gate structure
etching back the first fin structure to form source/drain openings (First source/drain recess; 150R; Fig 27; ¶[0227]) on opposing sides of the sacrificial gate structure;
Kim, Fig 27: Etching back fin structure to form source/drain openings
forming epitaxial source/drain regions (Semiconductor liner film; 151; Fig 29; ¶[0229]) in the source/drain openings, wherein each of the epitaxial source/drain regions includes a central cavity (Liner recess; 151R; Fig 29; ¶[0231]);
Kim, Fig 29: Forming epitaxial source/drain regions
forminq an etch stop layer (Semiconductor insertion film, i.e. may act as an etch-stop layer; 152; Fig 11; ¶[0103]) on the epitaxial source/drain reqions;
forminq a sacrificial source/drain region (Upper portion of semiconductor filling film 153; Figs 11/32; Note: 153 may be considered a sacrificial material, such that a portion of 153 is etched back to form the source/drain contact) on the etch stop layer to fill the central cavity
Kim, Fig 32: Forming sacrificial source/drain region in cavity
depositing a CESL (contact etch stop layer) (Etch stop film; 185; Fig 11; ¶[0028]) over the sacrificial source/drain region;
depositing an ILD (interlayer dielectric) layer (Interlayer insulating film; 190; Fig 31; ¶[0236]) over the CESL layer;
Kim, Fig 31: Depositing ILD layer over CESL layer
forming a source/drain contact opening (Opening (not labelled) between ILD layer 190 and silicide layer 155; Fig 11) through the ILD layer and CESL layer to expose the sacrificial source/drain region;
removing the sacrificial source/drain region to form a source/drain cavity (Cavity (step not shown) where silicide film 155 is located; Fig 11); and
filling the source/drain cavity to form a source/drain contact feature (Source/drain contact; 180; Fig 11; ¶[0234]).
Re Claim 16, (Original) Kim teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the first fin structure (Upper pattern structure; U_AP; Fig 26; ¶[0220]) comprises a plurality of vertically stacked semiconductor layers (Sacrificial/active patterns; SC_L/ACT_L; Fig 26; ¶[0222]), and forming the epitaxial source/drain regions comprises:
conformally growing (Continuously formed along source/drain recess 150R; Fig 29) a semiconductor layer (Semiconductor liner film; 151; Fig 29; ¶[0104]) from end surfaces of the plurality of vertically stacked semiconductor layers in the source/drain openings (Source/drain recess; 150R; Fig 28; ¶[0104]); and
terminating growth of the semiconductor layer while a bottom surface (Bottom surface of liner film 151; Fig 29) of the central cavity (Liner recess; 151R; Fig 29; ¶[0231]) is below a lower most semiconductor layer (Lower most sacrificial layer SC_L; Fig 29).
Re Claim 18, (Currently Amended) Kim teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising: after removing the sacrificial source/drain regions (Upper portion of semiconductor filling film 153; Fig 32), forming a silicide layer (Silicide film; 155; Fig 11; ¶[0154]) from the etch stop layer (Etch stop film; 185; Fig 11; ¶[0028]).
Re Claim 19, (Original) Kim teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the central cavity (Liner recess; 151R; Fig 29; ¶[0231]) is defined by an inner profile (Inner sidewalls of 151/152; Fig 11), and the inner profile includes a plurality of valley sections (Valleys of inner profile of 151/152; See Fig 11 annotation) alternatively connected between a plurality of mountain sections (Mountains of inner profile of 151/152; See Fig 11 annotation).
Re Claim 20, (Original) Kim teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the plurality of mountain sections (Mountains of inner profile of 151/152; See Fig 11 annotation) correspond to the plurality of vertically stacked semiconductor layers (Sheet patterns; NS1; Fig 11; ¶[0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Da Hye et al. (Pub No. US US 20230420519 A1) (hereinafter, Kim) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of More, Shahaji et al. (Pub No. US 20220392894 A1) (hereinafter, More).
Re Claim 2, (Original) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the epitaxial source/drain region (Semiconductor liner film/insertion film; 151/152; Fig 11; ¶[0103]) comprises two wing portions (Mountain/Valley portions of Semiconductor liner film and insertion film 151/152; Fig 11; ¶[0103]) extending from the fin portion, the inner profile is defined by the two wing portions.
However, Kim does not teach wherein the epitaxial source/drain region comprises a fin portion, the inner profile is defined by the fin portion.
In the same field of endeavor, More teaches wherein the epitaxial source/drain region (Epitaxial layers; 152/154A/156A; Fig 2H; ¶[0030]) comprises a fin portion (Epitaxial layers; 152; Fig 2H; ¶[0030]), the inner profile (Inner sidewalls of Epitaxial layers 152/154A/156A) is defined by the fin portion.
More, Fig 2H: Multigate device with fin portion beneath source drain regions
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the wing portions of the epitaxial source/drain regions as taught by Kim with the fin portion as taught by More. One would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because the fin portion provides a buffer between doped epitaxial layers and the semiconductor substrate, which can reduce short channel effects in multigate device. In some embodiments, the fin portion may be tuned based on active region size to mitigate short channel effects while optimizing performance (e.g., drive current), as suggested by More (¶[0030]).
Re Claim 3, (Original) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the two or more channel layers (Sheet patterns; NS1; Fig 11; ¶[0032]) extend between a first vertical level (First vertical level; L1; See annotated Fig 11 below) and a second vertical level (Second vertical level; L2; See annotated Fig 11 below), and the first vertical level is above the second vertical level.
Kim, Fig 11: Annotation of 1st - 4th vertical levels and channel layers
Re Claim 4, (Currently Amended) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 3, wherein the source/drain contact feature (Source/drain contact/filling film/interlayer insulating film; 180/153/190; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) extends between a third vertical level (Third vertical level; L3; See annotated Fig 11 above) and a fourth vertical level (Fourth vertical level; L4; See annotated Fig 11 above), the third vertical level is above the fourth vertical level, and the second vertical level (Second vertical level; L2; See annotated Fig 11 above) is above the four vertical level.
Re Claim 5, (Original) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the third vertical level (Third vertical level; L3; See annotated Fig 11 above) is above the first vertical level (First vertical level; L1; See annotated Fig 11 above).
14. Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Da Hye et al. (Pub No. US US 20230420519 A1) (hereinafter, Kim), and further in view of Ye, Hung-Yu et al. (Pub No. US 20220310787 A1) (hereinafter, Ye).
Re Claim 9, (Original) Kim teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first source/drain region (Left hand side semiconductor liner film/insertion film; 151/152; Fig 11; ¶[0103]), wherein the first source/drain region has a first inner profile (Inner sidewalls of left side liner/insertion films 151/152; Fig 11);
a second source/drain region (Right hand side semiconductor liner film/insertion film; 151/152; Fig 11; ¶[0103]) disposed adjacent the first source/drain region, wherein the second source/drain region has a second inner profile (Inner sidewalls of right side liner/insertion films 151/152; Fig 11);
a first source/drain contact feature (Left side source/drain contact/filling film/interlayer insulating film; 180/153/190; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) disposed over the first inner profile of the first source/drain region, wherein the first source/drain contact feature extends from a first vertical level (First vertical level; See annotated Fig 11 below) above a topmost of the plurality of first channels (Sheet patterns; NS1; Fig 11; ¶[0032]) to a second vertical level (Second vertical level; See annotated Fig 11 below) below a lower most of the plurality of first channels; and
a second source/drain contact feature (Right side source/drain contact/filling film/interlayer insulating film; 180/153/190; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) disposed in the second inner profile of the second source/drain region.
However, Kim does not teach a forksheet structure comprising:
a plurality of first channels in contact with the first source/drain region;
a plurality of second channels in contact with the second source/drain region;
a dielectric wall disposed between the plurality of first channel and the plurality of second channels;
In the same field of endeavor, Ye teaches a forksheet structure (See Figs 36A/36B/37B below) comprising:
a plurality of first channels (Nanostructure layers; 505A/505B/505C; Fig 37B; ¶[0112]) in contact with the first source/drain region (Source/drain structures; 516S/516D; Figs 36A/36B; ¶[0112]);
a plurality of second channels (Nanostructure layers; 507A/507B/507C; Fig 37B; ¶[0112]) in contact with the second source/drain region (Source/drain structures; 518S/518D; Figs 36A/36B; ¶[0112]);
a dielectric wall (Dielectric wall; 511; Fig 37B; ¶[0112]) disposed between the plurality of first channel and the plurality of second channels;
Ye, Figs 36A/36B: Semiconductor device with source/drain regions
Ye, Fig 37B: Channels connected to dielectric wall
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used first and second channel layers to contact a source/drain region with a dielectric wall disposed between said channel layers, as taught by Ye, for the semiconductor device of Kim. One would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because the dielectric wall electrically isolates the p-type fin structures from the n-type fin structures, leading to improved power and efficiency due to shorter n-type and p-type transistor spacing, as suggested by Ye (¶[0105]).
Re Claim 10, (Original) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the first source/drain contact feature (Left side source/drain contact/filling film/interlayer insulating film; 180/153/190; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) comprises an ILD portion (Interlayer insulating film; 190; Fig 11; ¶[0028]) disposed in an ILD layer (Interlayer insulating film; 190; Fig 11; ¶[0028]) and a core portion (Source/drain contact and filling film; 180/153; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) disposed in a first cavity (First source/drain recess and inner profile of filling film 153; 150R; Fig 11; ¶[0093]) defined by the first inner profile (Inner sidewalls of left side liner/insertion films 151/152; Fig 11).
Re Claim 11, (Original) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the core portion (Source/drain contact and filling film; 180/153; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) of the first source/drain contact feature (Left side source/drain contact and filling film; 180/153; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) has an outer profile (Outside lining of filling film 153; Fig 11) matching the first inner profile (Inner sidewalls of left side liner/insertion films 151/152; Fig 11) of the first source/drain region (Left hand side semiconductor liner film/insertion film; 151/152; Fig 11; ¶[0103]).
Re Claim 12, (Original) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the ILD portion (Interlayer insulating film; 190; Fig 11; ¶[0028]) has a first width (Width of ILD 190; Fig 11), and the core portion (Source/drain contact and filling film; 180/153; Fig 11; ¶[0234]) has a second width (Width of filling film 153; Fig 11), and the second width is wider than the first width.
Re Claim 13, (Original) Kim teaches thesemiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the first inner profile (Inner sidewalls of left side liner/insertion films 151/152; Fig 11) includes a plurality of valley sections (Valleys of inner profile of 151/152; See Fig 11 annotation) alternatively connected between a plurality of mountain sections (Mountains of inner profile of 151/152; See Fig 11 annotation).
Re Claim 14, (Original) Kim teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, further comprising a sacrificial epitaxial source/drain region (Upper portion of semiconductor filling film 153; Fig 32) disposed around the first source/drain contact feature (Source/drain contact; 180; Fig 11; ¶[0234]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.E.D./
Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817