DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/01/2026 has been accepted and entered. Claims 1-19 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsau et al. (US20200119164A1-Tsau64) in view of Chang et al. (US 20210399104 A1-Chang04), in view of Arimura et al. (Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 132902 (2010)-NPLArimura10), and further in view of Arimura et al. ("Dipole-First Gate Stack as a Scalable and Thermal Budget Flexible Multi-Vt Solution for Nanosheet/CFET Devices," 2021 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2021, pp. 13.5.1-13.5.4-NPLArimura21).
Regarding claim 1, Tsau64 discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic device ([0005], Fig 1), the method comprising:
treating a surface of a metal gate stack (Step 102 removing a dummy gate structure and exposing an interfacial layer so treating a surface of the metal gate, Fig 1) by flowing a metal-containing precursor (metal precursor 310 is delivered via an inert gas-[0031] L 7-8),
the metal gate stack comprising an interfacial layer on a top surface of a channel located between a source and a drain on a substrate (Interfacial layer 232 on top of a channel 204 located between a source 214 and a drain 214 on a substrate 202-Examiner's annotated Fig 3A),
Tsau64 does not discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic device wherein
flowing a metal-containing precursor over the surface of the metal gate stack,
to form a treated interfacial layer having metal atoms formed directly thereon without an annealing process; and
depositing a high-K dielectric layer directly on the treated interfacial layer.
Chang04 teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device comprising
to form a treated interfacial layer having metal atoms formed thereon (Step 106, form dipole pattern, step 108, drive material to first high k layer to form 282p, step 112 form a second high-k layer, so treating interfacial layer 104 having metal formed thereon-Fig 2, Fig 1)
depositing a high-K dielectric layer directly on the treated interfacial layer (Step 106, form dipole pattern, step 108, drive material to first high k layer 282p, step 112 form a second high-k layer 284, so treating interfacial layer IL having metal formed thereon 282p, and depositing high-k layer 284 directly on the treated interfacial layer IL+282P-Fig 2, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Tsau64 and Chang04 combination does not disclose a method of manufacturing an electronic device comprising
having metal atoms formed directly thereon without an annealing process;
flowing a metal-containing precursor over the surface of the metal gate stack,
NPLArimura10 teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device comprising
flowing a metal-containing precursor over the surface of the metal gate stack (Metal sputtering on interfacial layer SiO2 so flowing a metal-containing precursor over the surface of the metal gate stack-page 1, C1, §3, L1-7, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of Chang04, as taught by NPLArimura10 for the purpose of forming effective work function adjustment in metal/high-k stack (NPLArimura10: page 1, C1, §1, L1-3).
Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10 combination does not disclose a method of manufacturing an electronic device comprising
having metal atoms formed directly thereon without an annealing process.
NPLArimura21 teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device comprising
having metal atoms formed directly thereon without an annealing process (having metal atoms La of LaO directly thereon on interfacial layer SiO2 without an annealing process-Dipole-First Gate Stack Process of Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of Chang04, and further in view of NPLArimura10, as taught by NPLArimura21 for the purpose of reducing the thermal budget of the gate stack process (NPLArimura21: [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 2, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device
wherein the interfacial layer comprises a dielectric material selected from one or more of silicon (Si), silicon oxide (SiOx),doped silicon, doped silicon oxide, or spin-on dielectrics (Silicon oxide-[0033] L12-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device
wherein the high-K dielectric layer comprises one or more of hafnium oxide (HfOx), zirconium oxide (ZrOx), or hafnium zirconium oxide (HfZrOx) (Layer 284 includes hafnium oxide-[0041] L 10-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of NPLArimura10, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 5, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Tsau64 further discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic device
wherein the metal-containing precursor is carried to the surface of the metal gate stack by an inert gas (metal precursor 310 is delivered via an inert gas-[0031] L 7-8).
Regarding claim 6, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
NPLArimura10 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device
wherein the metal-containing precursor comprises one or more of lanthanum (La), cerium (Ce), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), terbium (Tb), dysprosium (Dy), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb), lutetium (Lu), magnesium (Mg), scandium (Sc), strontium (Sr),yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), or caesium (Cs) (Metal-La sputtering on interfacial layer SiO2 so the metal-containing precursor comprising lanthanum (La)-page 1, C1, §3, L1-7, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of Chang04, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by NPLArimura10 for the purpose of forming effective work function adjustment in metal/high-k stack (NPLarimura10: page 1, C1, §1, L1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
NPLArimura10 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device
wherein the metal-containing precursor comprises one or more of lanthanum (La) or caesium (Cs) (Metal-La sputtering on interfacial layer SiO2 so the metal-containing precursor comprising lanthanum (La)-page 1, C1, §3, L1-7, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of Chang04, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by NPLArimura10 for the purpose of forming effective work function adjustment in metal/high-k stack (NPLarimura10: page 1, C1, §1, L1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Tsau64 further discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic device
wherein the metal-containing precursor comprises one or more of aluminum (AI), titanium (Ti), gallium (Ga), germanium (Ge), selenium (Se), indium (In), tin (Sn), antimony (Sb), tellurium (Te), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), or molybdenum (Mo) (metal-containing precursor comprises Titanium-[0031] L 13).
Regarding claim 9, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device,
wherein the metal-containing precursor comprises one or more of aluminum (AI) or gallium (Ga) (metal-containing precursor comprises Aluminum or Gallium-[0012] L27-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of NLPArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 11, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device,
wherein the channel comprises n-type material (Channel layer comprising n-type material 215n-Fig 1, [0011] L4-7 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64, in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 12, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device,
wherein the channel comprises p-type material (Channel layer comprising p-type material 215p-Fig 1, [0011] L4-7 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 13, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device,
further comprising flowing the metal-containing precursor over the surface of the high-K dielectric layer to form a dipole layer on the high-K dielectric layer (Step 106-Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 14, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 13, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device,
further comprising forming a metal gate layer on the dipole layer (metal gate layer 430 on dipole layer 279n/p-Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 15, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 14, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device,
wherein the metal gate layer comprises one or more of amorphous silicon, a metal, a metal carbide, a metal nitride, or a metal oxide (metal gate layer 430 comprises metal(s), such as Ti, Al, Ag, Mn, Zr, TiC, TiAl, TiAlC, TiAlSiC, TaC, TaCN, TaSiN, TaAl, TaAlC, TaSiAlC, TiAlN, TiN, TaN, TaSN, Ru, Mo, Al, WN, WCN ZrSi2, MoSi2, TaSi2, NiSi2, or combinations thereof-[0051] L 27-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 16, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 15, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device,
wherein the metal gate layer comprises one or more of titanium aluminum carbide (TiAIC) or titanium nitride (TiN) (metal gate layer 430 comprises metal(s), such as Ti, Al, Ag, Mn, Zr, TiC, TiAl, TiAlC, TiAlSiC, TaC, TaCN, TaSiN, TaAl, TaAlC, TaSiAlC, TiAlN, TiN, TaN, TaSN, Ru, Mo, Al, WN, WCN ZrSi2, MoSi2, TaSi2, NiSi2, or combinations thereof-[0051] L 27-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 17, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 15, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device,
wherein the metal gate layer has a thickness in a range of from 10 A to 30 A (metal grate layer 430 has a thickness of about 1 nm to about 5 nm so in a range of 10 A to 30 A-[0051] L 32-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 18, Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Chang04 further teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device,
wherein the electronic device is a gate-all- around (GAA) device (Fig 3B-18B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Regarding claim 19, Tsau64 discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic device ([0005], Fig 1), the method comprising:
treating a surface of a metal gate stack (Step 102 removing a dummy gate structure and exposing an interfacial layer so treating a surface of the metal gate, Fig 1) by
flowing a metal-containing precursor carried by an inert gas (metal precursor 310 is delivered via an inert gas-[0031] L 7-8),
the metal gate stack comprising an interfacial layer on a top surface of a channel located between a source and a drain on a substrate (Interfacial layer 232 on top of a channel 204 located between a source 214 and a drain 214 on a substrate 202-Examiner's annotated Fig 3A),
to form a treated interfacial layer having metal atoms formed thereon (Interfacial layer 236 is a metal-containing layer so having metal atoms thereon-Fig 1, Fig 5, [0031] L1-3),
the high-K dielectric layer comprising hafnium oxide (HfOx) (Layer 234 include hafnium oxide-[0030] L 17).
Tsau64 does not discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic device wherein
flowing a metal-containing precursor over the surface of the metal gate stack,
an interfacial layer comprising s ilicon oxide (SiOx),
a treated interfacial layer having metal atoms formed directly thereon without an annealing process;
the metal-containing precursor comprising one or more of aluminum (AI), lanthanum (La), caesium (Cs), or gallium (Ga); and
depositing a high-K dielectric layer directly on the treated interfacial layer.
Chang04 teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device wherein
an interfacial layer comprises silicon oxide (SiOx) (Silicon oxide-[0033] L12-15),
the metal-containing precursor comprising one or more of aluminum (AI), lanthanum (La), caesium (Cs), or gallium (Ga) (Aluminum or Gallium-[0012] L27-29),
depositing a high-K dielectric layer directly on the treated interfacial layer (Step 106, form dipole pattern, step 108, drive material to first high k layer 282p, step 112 form a second high-k layer 284, so treating interfacial layer IL having metal formed thereon 282p, and depositing high-k layer 284 directly on the treated interfacial layer IL+282P-Fig 2, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 as taught by Chang04 for the purpose of reducing power consumption and boosting device performance (Chang04:[0015] L3-4).
Tsau64 and Chang04 combination does not disclose a method of manufacturing an electronic device comprising
having metal atoms formed directly thereon without an annealing process;
flowing a metal-containing precursor over the surface of the metal gate stack,
NPLArimura10 teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device comprising
flowing a metal-containing precursor over the surface of the metal gate stack (Metal sputtering on interfacial layer SiO2 so flowing a metal-containing precursor over the surface of the metal gate stack-page 1, C1, §3, L1-7, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of Chang04, as taught by NPLArimura10 for the purpose of forming effective work function adjustment in metal/high-k stack (NPLarimura10: page 1, C1, §1, L1-3).
Tsau64, Chang04, NPLArimura10 combination does not disclose a method of manufacturing an electronic device comprising
having metal atoms formed directly thereon without an annealing process.
NPLArimura21 teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device comprising
having metal atoms formed directly thereon without an annealing process (having metal atoms La of LaO directly thereon on interfacial layer SiO2 without an annealing process-Dipole-First Gate Stack Process of Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of Chang04, and further in view of NPLArimura10, as taught by NPLArimura21 for the purpose of reducing the thermal budget of the gate stack process (NPLArimura21: [Abstract]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsau et al. (US20200119164A1-Tsau64) in view of Chang et al. (US 20210399104 A1-Chang04), in view of Manabe et al. (US 20100327366 A1-Manabe66), in view of Arimura et al. (Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 132902 (2010)-NPLArimura10), in view of Arimura et al. ("Dipole-First Gate Stack as a Scalable and Thermal Budget Flexible Multi-Vt Solution for Nanosheet/CFET Devices," 2021 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2021, pp. 13.5.1-13.5.4-NPLArimura21), and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 20210098457 A1-Cheng83).
Regarding claim 4, Tsau64, Chang04, Manabe66, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Tsau64, Chang04, Manabe66, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination does not teach a method of manufacturing an electronic device
wherein the high-K dielectric layer comprises hafnium oxide (HfOx) and is formed by exposing the treated interfacial layer to hafnium tetrachloride (HfCl4) and water (H2O).
Cheng83 teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device
wherein the high-K dielectric layer comprises hafnium oxide (HfOx) and is formed by exposing the treated interfacial layer to hafnium tetrachloride (HfCl4) and water (H2O) ([0081] L13-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of Chang04, in view of Manabe66, in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Cheng83 for the purpose of forming ultra-low threshold voltage n-type devices and/or standard threshold voltage p-type devices (Cheng83: [0082] L14-16).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsau et al. (US20200119164A1-Tsau64) in view of Chang et al. (US 20210399104 A1-Chang04), in view of Manabe et al. (US 20100327366 A1-Manabe66), in view of Arimura et al. (Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 132902 (2010)-NPLArimura10), in view of Arimura et al. ("Dipole-First Gate Stack as a Scalable and Thermal Budget Flexible Multi-Vt Solution for Nanosheet/CFET Devices," 2021 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2021, pp. 13.5.1-13.5.4-NPLArimura21), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20120285481 A1-Lee81).
Regarding claim 10, Tsau64, Chang04, Manabe66, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination teaches all the elements of claim 3, as noted above.
Tsau64, Chang04, Manabe66, NPLArimura10, and NPLArimura21 combination does not teach a method of manufacturing an electronic device
wherein treating the surface of the metal gate stack occurs at a temperature in a range of from greater than or equal to 150 °C to less than or equal to 500 °C, a pressure of about 80 Torr, and a time period of from less than or equal to 10 seconds to less than or equal to 120 seconds.
Lee81 teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device
wherein treating the surface of the metal gate stack occurs at a temperature in a range of from greater than or equal to 150 °C to less than or equal to 500 °C, a pressure of about 80 Torr, and a time period of from less than or equal to 10 seconds to less than or equal to 120 seconds (Temperature less than 760 °C so included a range of from greater than or equal to 150 °C to less than or equal to 500 °C-claim 10,[0044]; a process pressure in the chamber at between about 1 Torr and about 120 Torr so about 80 Torr-Claim 1, [0044]; about 1 seconds and about 36000 seconds so a time period of from less than or equal to 10 seconds to less than or equal to 120 seconds-[0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of manufacturing an electronic device of Tsau64 in view of Chang04, in view of Manabe66, in view of NPLArimura10, and further in view of NPLArimura21, as taught by Lee81 for the purpose of improving method of removing or cleaning substrate surface (Lee81:[0011]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages 6-11 of Remarks, filed on 06/01/2026 with respect to the newly added limitation for claim 1 and claim 19, these limitations have not been previously presented in the set of claims associated with the office action mailed on 03/19/2026. These new claims limitations are addressed in the rejections written above.
Additionally, the arguments have been considered as following:
Applicants' arguments involve discussing why the previously cited prior art documents fail to disclose the amended limitations. Applicant’s arguments show that Chang et al. (US 20210399104 A1-Chang04) teaches a “dipole last” process which requires a subsequent step of annealing.
Examiner finds this argument persuasive and has brought in an additional reference to address the amended claim limitations. The applicability of the reference to the amended elements is discussed in the claim rejections above.
Claims 1 and 19 have been amended to further define the claimed subject matter see pages 22-11 of Amendments to Claims, filed on 06/01/2026.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsau et al. (US20200119164A1-Tsau64) in view of Chang et al. (US 20210399104 A1-Chang04), in view of Arimura et al. (Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 132902 (2010)-NPLArimura10), and further in view of Arimura et al. ("Dipole-First Gate Stack as a Scalable and Thermal Budget Flexible Multi-Vt Solution for Nanosheet/CFET Devices," 2021 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2021, pp. 13.5.1-13.5.4-NPLArimura21), as described above.
Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-19 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsau et al. (US20200119164A1-Tsau64) in view of Chang et al. (US 20210399104 A1-Chang04), in view of Arimura et al. (Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 132902 (2010)-NPLArimura10), and further in view of Arimura et al. ("Dipole-First Gate Stack as a Scalable and Thermal Budget Flexible Multi-Vt Solution for Nanosheet/CFET Devices," 2021 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2021, pp. 13.5.1-13.5.4-NPLArimura21).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsau et al. (US20200119164A1-Tsau64) in view of Chang et al. (US 20210399104 A1-Chang04), in view of Manabe et al. (US 20100327366 A1-Manabe66), in view of Arimura et al. (Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 132902 (2010)-NPLArimura10), in view of Arimura et al. ("Dipole-First Gate Stack as a Scalable and Thermal Budget Flexible Multi-Vt Solution for Nanosheet/CFET Devices," 2021 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2021, pp. 13.5.1-13.5.4-NPLArimura21), and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 20210098457 A1-Cheng83), as described above.
Therefore, claim 4 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsau et al. (US20200119164A1-Tsau64) in view of Chang et al. (US 20210399104 A1-Chang04), in view of Manabe et al. (US 20100327366 A1-Manabe66), in view of Arimura et al. (Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 132902 (2010)-NPLArimura10), in view of Arimura et al. ("Dipole-First Gate Stack as a Scalable and Thermal Budget Flexible Multi-Vt Solution for Nanosheet/CFET Devices," 2021 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2021, pp. 13.5.1-13.5.4-NPLArimura21), and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 20210098457 A1-Cheng83).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsau et al. (US20200119164A1-Tsau64) in view of Chang et al. (US 20210399104 A1-Chang04), in view of Manabe et al. (US 20100327366 A1-Manabe66), in view of Arimura et al. (Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 132902 (2010)-NPLArimura10), in view of Arimura et al. ("Dipole-First Gate Stack as a Scalable and Thermal Budget Flexible Multi-Vt Solution for Nanosheet/CFET Devices," 2021 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2021, pp. 13.5.1-13.5.4-NPLArimura21), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20120285481 A1-Lee81), as described above.
Therefore, claim 10 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsau et al. (US20200119164A1-Tsau64) in view of Chang et al. (US 20210399104 A1-Chang04), in view of Arimura et al. (Appl. Phys. Lett. 96, 132902 (2010)-NPLArimura10), in view of Arimura et al. ("Dipole-First Gate Stack as a Scalable and Thermal Budget Flexible Multi-Vt Solution for Nanosheet/CFET Devices," 2021 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM), San Francisco, CA, USA, 2021, pp. 13.5.1-13.5.4-NPLArimura21), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20120285481 A1-Lee81).
Conclusion
NATHALIE R. FAYETTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/NATHALIE R FAYETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 06/29/2026
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812