DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed 4/9/2026.
Claims 1-15 and 21 are pending. Claims 16-20 have been canceled. Claim 21 is new. Claim 15 is been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 reciting “a resistance value between the first layer and the connection electrode is about 103Ω or less” renders the claim indefinite. The first layer and connection layer are in direct contact as disclosed by Applicant. It is unclear what constitute a “resistance value between the first layer and the connection electrode”. Since the two layers are in direct contact, there should be no additional “resistance value” present between the first layer and the connection electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa US 2023/0197765 A1.
In re claim 1, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4-5) a display device comprising:
electrodes SE+CL1 on a base layer 20;
a first insulating layer 24,25 on the electrodes SE+CL1;
a light emitting element 10 on the first insulating layer; and
a connection electrode CL2,PE,LA1 electrically connecting the light emitting element 10 and at least a portion of the electrodes SE+CL1, wherein
each of the electrodes SE+CL1 includes a first layer SE and a second layer CL1 on the first layer, and
the first layer SE is electrically connected to the connection electrode CL2,PE,LA1 through a contact portion (portion of CL2 in contact hole) formed in a region h1,h2 penetrating the first insulating layer 25,26 and the second layer CL1 (see FIG. 5(b)).
In re claim 2, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIG. 4) wherein
the first layer SE is more adjacent to the base layer 20 than the second layer CL1 (layer above 24),
the second layer CL2,PE,LA1 is more adjacent to the light emitting element 10 than the first layer SE, and
the first layer SE and the second layer CL1 contacts (thermal or electrical contact) with each other.
In re claim 3, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4-5) wherein
the second layer (portion of CL1 above 24) exposes a region of the first layer (including both SE and portion of CL1 in contact hole), and
the connection electrode CL2 physically contacts with the first layer (including both SE and portion of CL1 in contact hole) in the region h1,h2.
In re claim 4, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4-5) wherein the connection electrode CL2 does not physically contact the second layer (portion of CL1 above 24) in a region adjacent to the region h1,h2.
In re claim 5, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4-5) further comprising:
a second insulating layer 25 on the first insulating layer 24,
wherein the second insulating layer 25 covers a side surface of the first insulating layer 24 and the second layer (portion of CL1 above 24) in a region (region along sidewall wall of h1) adjacent to the region of the first layer exposed by the second layer.
In re claim 6, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIG. 5) wherein a first thickness of the first layer (e.g. combined thickness of CL1 in hole h1 and SE) is greater than a second thickness of the second layer (e.g. thickness of only upper layer of the two-layer stack CL1 above layer 24).
In re claim 7, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIG. 5) wherein the first thickness (e.g. combined thickness of CL1 in hole h1 and SE) is at least twice the second thickness (e.g. thickness of only upper layer of the two-layer stack CL1 above layer 24).
In re claim 9, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIG. 5) wherein the first layer (including SE and CL1 in hole h1) includes at least one selected from a group consisting of molybdenum (Mo), molybdenum-niobium (MoNb), and molybdenum-tungsten (MoW) (lower layer of CL1 in hole h1 formed of Mo, ¶ 69).
In re claim 10, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIG. 5) wherein the second layer (CL1 above 24) includes at least one selected from a group consisting of aluminum (Al), aluminum- titanium (AITi), and aluminum-neodymium (AINd) (upper layer of the two-layer stack CL1 above 24 formed of Al, ¶ 69).
In re claim 11, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIG. 10) wherein the connection electrode (including layer 40 formed on CL2, PE, LA1, ¶ 109) includes at least one selected from a group consisting of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), and indium tin zinc oxide (ITZO).
In re claim 12, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIGs. 5 & 10) wherein
a corrosion potential of a material for forming the first layer (e.g. Mo of CL1 in hole h1, ¶ 69) and a corrosion potential of a material for forming the connection electrode (e.g. ITO layer 40 on CL1,PE,LA1, ¶ 109) are different by a potential difference, and
the potential difference is about 1.0V or less (potential difference between Mo and ITO is less than 1.0V as described by Applicant, see ¶ 186).
Furthermore, “the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). >In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the court held that the claimed promoter sequence obtained by sequencing a prior art plasmid that was not previously sequenced was anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. The court stated that “just as the discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel.”
In re claim 13, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIGs. 5 & 10) wherein the potential difference (between Mo of CL1 (¶ 69) in hole h1 and ITO 40 (¶ 109)) is in a range of about 0.2V to about 0.6V (potential difference between Mo and ITO is in a range of 0.2 V to about 0.6V as described by Applicant, see ¶ 186-187). Furthermore, “the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). >In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the court held that the claimed promoter sequence obtained by sequencing a prior art plasmid that was not previously sequenced was anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. The court stated that “just as the discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel.”
In re claim 14, as best understood, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIGs. 5 & 10) . The display device of claim 1, wherein “a resistance value between the first layer and the connection electrode” is about 103Ω or less. Ogawa teaches the material of the first layer include Mo (¶ 69) and the material of the connection electrode include ITO (¶ 109), which is the same as the material disclosed by Applicant (¶ 186-187) and therefore would exhibit the same “resistance value between” the two materials, as best understood, that is about 103Ω or less as disclosed by Applicant (¶ 187). “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). >In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the court held that the claimed promoter sequence obtained by sequencing a prior art plasmid that was not previously sequenced was anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. The court stated that “just as the discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel.”
In re claim 15, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIGs. 4-5) a display device comprising:
electrodes SE+CL1 on a base layer 20 and including a first layer SE and a second layer CL1;
a first insulating layer 24 on the electrodes;
a light emitting element 10 on the first insulating layer;
a second insulating layer 25 on the first insulating layer; and
a connection electrode CL2,PE,LA1 electrically connecting the electrodes and the light emitting element, wherein
the second layer CL1 (above 24) and the first insulating layer 24 form a hole h1 exposing the first layer (including SE and portion of CL1 in hole h1),
the second insulating layer 25 covers a side surface of the first insulating layer 24 and the second layer (CL1 above 24) adjacent to the hole h1 (see FIG. 5(c)), and
the connection electrode CL2,PE,LA1 does not physically contact with the second layer (CL1 above 24) (the connection electrode CL2 is physically separated and spaced apart from the second layer CL1 above 24) and contacts the first layer (including SE and portion of CL1 in hole h1) through a contact portion formed in the hole h1 (contact portion of CL2 in hole h1).
In re claim 21, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIG. 1) an electronic device (“electronic apparatus” housing the display device 1, ¶ 27) comprising the display device 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa as applied to claim 6 above.
In re claim 8, Ogawa discloses (e.g. FIG. 5) wherein the first thickness of the first layer (corresponding to the combined thickness of CL1 in hole h1 and SE) is greater than the second thickness of the second layer (e.g. corresponding to only the upper layer of the two-layer stack CL1 above layer 24).
Although Ogawa does not explicitly disclose the first thickness is in a range of about 1000 Å to about 4000 Å, and the second thickness is in a range of about 100 Å to about 500 Å, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP 2144.05 II. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 14 rejected over § 112(b), Applicant argues disclosure explains prevention of corrosion between first layer 120 and connection electrode CNE which somehow attribute to the claimed “resistance value between the first layer and the connection electrode is about 103Ω or less” (Remark, pages 5-6).
This is not persuasive. It remains unclear if the claimed “resistance value” is intended to recite property of the specific presence of a corroded layer or the absence/exclusion of any corrosion.
On the one hand, if the “resistance value” is intended to refer to the absolute resistance across a corrosion layer that is formed between the first layer and the connection electrode, such layer must be positively recited to render the “resistance value” definite as associated with such a corrosion layer.
On the other hand, in the absence of any interfacial material, the “resistance value”, as best understood, may be referring to a “contact resistance” at the contact interface when the first layer directly contacts the connection electrode. However, “contact resistance” is a measurement of resistance across an interfacial contact area, typically with a unit of Ω/unit area. Furthermore, a value of 103Ω is rather large for a typical “contact resistance”.
Therefore, it remains unclear what is the intended scope of the claim as associated with the claimed resistance value.
Regarding claims rejected over Ogawa, Applicant argues there is no hole or region that penetrate the layer CL1 through which CL2 is electrically connected to the SE (Remark, page 8).
This is not persuasive. Ogawa teaches (see FIG. 5(b)) CL1 is etched to remove portion on the side surface of contact hole h1 resulting in a lower portion of CL1 remaining on SE that is separate from an upper portion of CL1 above insulating layer 24 (¶ 81). As shown in annotated FIG. 5(c) on page above, the “second layer” corresponds only to the upper portion of CL1 above the insulating layer 24 outside of the hole h1. As such, the second layer (CL1 above 24) is penetrated with an opening in the region corresponding to location of the hole h1. And the connection electrode CL2 is electrically connected to SE below the hole h1 through a contact portion of CL2 in the region of the hole h1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896