DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (2/14/2023), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-7) were examined in a Non-Final on 9/4/2025. This office action is in response to Applicants submission on 12/02/2025. Claims 1-2, 4-6 were amended, claim 4 cancelled and new claims 8-13 were added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Noorbakhsh Hamid (US 20110162800).
Noorbakhsh Hamid discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising:
a plasma processing chamber (Fig 1);
a substrate support provided inside the plasma processing chamber (108);
and a shower head facing the substrate support (100),
wherein the shower head includes a shower plate formed with a gas flow path for discharging a gas (204),
the shower plate includes a base member (204) including:
plurality of recessed portions (220);
a plurality of first embedded members (310);
a plurality of second embedded members (308),
the plurality of first embedded members and the plurality of second embedded members are disposed into the plurality of recessed portions and are bonded to the plurality of recessed portions since it is held in two plates 204 and 202 fastened together (See the description).
a bottom surface of each of the plurality of recessed portions is in contact with a lower surface of a respective one of the plurality of first embedded members (310),
an upper surface of each of the plurality of first embedded members is in contact with a lower surface of a respective one of the plurality of second embedded members (308) and
the gas flow path includes:
a plurality of first flow paths (210) formed in the base member and communicating with the plurality of recessed portions;
a plurality of second flow paths formed in each of the plurality of first embedded members (314);
a plurality of communication paths (208) formed in the plurality of first embedded members and communicating the plurality of first flow paths with the plurality of second flow paths; and
a plurality of third flow paths (306) formed in the plurality of second embedded members and communicating with the plurality of second flow paths.
Regarding claim 2 flow paths 210 and 314 are non-coaxial.
Regarding claim 7 the holding plate would be as in (Fig 2, 202).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noorbakhsh Hamid (US 20110162800) in view of Augustino et al (US 8702866).
Regarding claims 4-6, Noorbakhsh Hamid does not explicitly disclose showerhead members comprise silicon or silicon carbide.
Augustino et al disclose a showerhead comprising a laminated structure for example as in Fig 5A (having three layers 12, 14 and 16) and bonding using thermally and electric conductive elastomer material (Col 4 line 61-Col 5 line 3). Electrodes comprise silicon or silicon carbide (Col 3 lines 60-Col 4 line 8).
Therefore, having a laminated structure comprising, silicon or silicon carbide as claimed in claims 4-6 for advantages of use in semiconductor apparatus would have been obvious.
Regarding claims 9, 11-13 plurality of branch flow paths communicating with other flow paths are understood as depicted in Fig 2 and Fig 4 of the specification. The specification does not define first and second embedded members or third flow path. The specification appears to be disclosing gas flow path which increases in number from top member to bottom member.
This Type of flow pattern is disclosed by Augustino et al in Fig 4A where one flow path in top member is branched to plurality of paths in lower member. Further regarding the number of flow paths being three from top to bottom member, it is only a duplication of parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that such division would help to diffuse the gas to the plasma uniformly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used flow paths as disclosed in Augustino et al before the filing dated of this application for diffusion of gas to the plasma for uniform processing.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noorbakhsh Hamid (US 20110162800) in view of Nguyen et al (US 20140113084).
Regarding claim 8 bonding of embedded members is disclosed inherently but Nguyen et al disclose welding to join parts of its showerhead (Para 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used welding to bind inserts 308 and 310 to the base unit in Noorbakhsh Hamid before the filing dated of this application.
Claims 9 and 11-13 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noorbakhsh Hamid (US 20110162800) in view of Nagakubo et al (US 8858712) and Carducci et al (US 20090179085).
Regarding these claims, plurality of branch flow paths communicating with other flow paths are understood as depicted in Fig 2 and Fig 4 of the specification. The specification does not define first and second embedded members or third flow path. The specification appears to be disclosing gas flow path which increases in number from top member to bottom member.
This Type of flow pattern is disclosed by Nagakubo et al in Fig 3 where one flow path in top member is connected to at least three paths in lower member (Fig 2, 3 and 4).
As discussed above, regarding the number of flow paths being three from top to bottom member, it is only a duplication of parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that such division would help to diffuse the gas to the plasma uniformly.
Further Carducci et al disclose a showerhead where one flow path in top plate 212 divides to three in middle plate 214 and each flow path in middle plate to three in the lower plate 216 (Fig 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used flow paths as disclosed in Nagakubo et al as modified by Carducci et al in Noorbakhsh Hamid before the filing dated of this application for diffusion of gas to the plasma for uniform processing.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noorbakhsh Hamid (US 20110162800) in view of Augustino et al (US 8702866) and Nguyen et al (US 20140113084).
Regarding claim 10 which depends on claim 9 Nguyen et al disclose welding to join parts of its showerhead (Para 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used welding to bind inserts 308 and 310 to the base unit in Noorbakhsh Hamid before the filing dated of this application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716