Response to Arguments
In response to the arguments filed on 01/23/2026, the applicants amendments overcome the previous rejection. However, upon further search and consideration a new rejection is formulated with another reference below. Additionally, regarding applicants arguments on pages 9 and 10 regarding the bank layer in Park et al, the new rejection better matches to the limitations designated a specific bank layer in Kim et al where the electrodes are deposited under the bank layer, thus the arguments are no longer applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20190156733) in view of Lee et al (US 20190198565 A1) and in further view of Kim et al (US 20200211473 A1).
Park et al teaches
[claim 1] A display device comprising: a first alignment electrode, a second alignment electrode, a third alignment electrode, a fourth alignment electrode, a fifth alignment electrode, and a sixth alignment electrode, each disposed on the substrate extending across the emission area, spaced apart from each other, and sequentially arranged in a direction (figure 3, paragraph 0074, where element 2211 is the first alignment electrode, element 2221 is the second alignment electrode, element 2212 is the third alignment electrode, and element 2222 is the fourth alignment electrode, element 2213 is the fifth alignment electrode, and element 2223 is the sixth alignment electrode, all extending across [in the vertical direction] the emission area]);
a first light emitting element disposed between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode in the emission area and emitting first light, a second light emitting element disposed between the third alignment electrode and the fourth alignment electrode in the emission area and emitting second light, and a third light emitting element disposed between the fifth alignment electrode and the sixth alignment electrode in the emission area and emitting third light (figure 3, paragraph 0067, element MNED11 is disposed between the first [2211] and second [2221] alignment electrodes and emits light, which will be called a first light. Element MNED13 is disposed between the third [2212] and fourth [2222] alignment electrodes and emits light, which is called a second light. Element MNED14 is disposed between the fifth [2213] and sixth [2223] alignment electrodes and emits light, which is called a third light);
[claim 10] A display device comprising: a bank layer disposed on a substrate and defining an emission area (paragraph 0071, figure 4 where element 210 is the bank layer deposited on the substrate [element 100] and defines an emission area);
a first alignment electrode, a second alignment electrode, a third alignment electrode, and a fourth alignment electrode, each disposed on the substrate extending across the emission area, spaced apart from each other, and sequentially arranged in a direction (figure 3, paragraph 0074, where element 2211 is the first alignment electrode, element 2221 is the second alignment electrode, element 2212 is the third alignment electrode, and element 2222 is the fourth alignment electrode, all extending across [in the vertical direction] the emission area]);
a first light emitting element disposed between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode in the emission area and emitting first light; a second light emitting element disposed between the second alignment electrode and the third alignment electrode in the emission area and emitting second light; and a third light emitting element disposed between the third alignment electrode and the fourth alignment electrode in the emission area and emitting third light (figure 3, paragraph 0067, element MNED11 is disposed between the first [2211] and second [2221] alignment electrodes and emits light, which will be called a first light. Element MNED12 is disposed between the second [2221] and third [2212] alignment electrodes and emits light, which is called a second light. Element MNED13 is disposed between the third [2212] and fourth [2222] alignment electrodes and emits light, which is called a third light);
However, Park et al does not specifically disclose
[claims 1 & 10] a bank layer disposed on a substrate and defining an emission area; [each [electrode] disposed on the substrate] and [extending] from outside the emission area under the bank layer; wherein wavelengths of the first light, the second light, and the third light are different from each other.
[claims 2 & 11] wherein a length of the first light emitting element, a length of the second light emitting element, and a length of the third light emitting element in the direction are different from each other.
[claims 3 & 12] wherein the first light has a peak wavelength in a range of about 610 nm to about 650 nm, the second light has a peak wavelength in a range of about 510 nm to about 550 nm, and the third light has a peak wavelength in a range of about 440 nm to about 480 nm.
[claims 4 & 13] wherein the length of the first light emitting element is greater than the length of the second light emitting element and the length of the second light emitting element is greater than the length of the third light emitting element.
However, Lee et al does teach
[claims 1 & 10] wherein wavelengths of the first light, the second light, and the third light are different from each other (paragraph 0117, where element 20 [first light emitting element], 30 [second light emitting element], and 40 [light emitting element] emit red, green, and blue light respectively).
[claims 2 & 11] wherein a length of the first light emitting element, a length of the second light emitting element, and a length of the third light emitting element in the direction are different from each other (figure 32, paragraph 0118, where elements 20 [first light emitting element], 30 [second light emitting element], 40 [third light emitting element] are all different lengths in the diagonal direction, horizontal direction and vertical direction. These light emitting elements would be put onto the light emitting elements of the base reference, park et al).
[claims 3 & 12] wherein the first light has a peak wavelength in a range of about 610 nm to about 650 nm, the second light has a peak wavelength in a range of about 510 nm to about 550 nm, and the third light has a peak wavelength in a range of about 440 nm to about 480 nm (paragraph 0117, where element 20, the red light, by nature of being red light has peak wavelength between 610 nm and 650 nm. Element 30, the green light, by nature of being green light has wavelength between 510 nm and 550 nm. Element 40, the blue light, by nature of being blue light has wavelength between 440 nm and 480 nm).
[claims 4 & 13] wherein the length of the first light emitting element is greater than the length of the second light emitting element and the length of the second light emitting element is greater than the length of the third light emitting element (figure 32, the first light emitting element, element 20 has a greater length [in the x-direction] than the second light emitting element, element 30. Element 30 also has a greater length [in the x-direction] than the third light emitting element, element 40. These elements would be put in place of the light emitting elements on the base reference Park et al).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Park et al to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al in order to provide more than one color, but to provide a mixture of the base colors for all displays, red, green and blue, in order to be able to create any specific color from the plurality of elements, thus making the device more versatile.
However, Park et al as modified does not specifically disclose
[claims 1 & 10] a bank layer disposed on a substrate and defining an emission area; [each [electrode] disposed on the substrate] and [extending] from outside the emission area under the bank layer;
However, Kim et al does teach
[claims 1 & 10] a bank layer disposed on a substrate and defining an emission area (figure 5, paragraph 0078, where element 400 is the bank layer and deposited on the substrate defining the emission area [designated as EA#]);
[each [electrode] disposed on the substrate] and [extending] from outside the emission area under the bank layer (figures 5 and 6, paragraph 0078, where element 400 is the bank layer, and elements 310 to 330 are the electrodes, specifically in figure 6 electrodes 330, 310, and 320 all have portions extending beyond the emission area designated by EA1, EA2, and EA3, where the six electrodes are the six areas shown in one half of figure 6 [specifically lower half in this case]), where each electrode [as shown in figure 5] is situated below the block layer [element 400]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Park et al as modified to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al in order to ensure the electrodes are below the block layer to control the light that is allowed through the emission area further while minimizing amount of material used for electrode deposition [depositing over the block layer requires more surface area and thus more material, under the block layer requires less material]).
Regarding claims 5, 7-9 and 15-20, Park et al further teaches
[claim 7] The display device of claim 6, wherein the length of the first light emitting element is greater than the distance between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode, the length of the second light emitting element is greater than the distance between the third alignment electrode and the fourth alignment electrode, and the length of the third light emitting element is greater than the distance between the fifth alignment electrode and the sixth alignment electrode (figure 3, where element MNED11 has a width [in direction dr2] greater than the distance between the first and second alignment electrodes [element 2211 and 2221], where the second light emitting element [element MNED13] has a width greater than the distance between the third and fourth alignment electrodes [elements 2212 and 2222], where the third light emitting element [element MNED14] has a width greater than the distance between the fifth and sixth alignment electrodes [element 2213 and 2223 respectively]).
[claim 8] The display device of claim 1, further comprising: a via insulating layer disposed between the substrate and each of the first alignment electrode, the second alignment electrode, the third alignment electrode, and the fourth alignment electrode, the fifth alignment electrode, and the sixth alignment electrode, wherein the each of the first alignment electrode, the second alignment electrode, the third alignment electrode, the fourth alignment electrode, the fifth alignment electrode and the sixth alignment electrode has a flat profile in the emission area (figure 4, paragraph 0072, where element 210 is also an insulating layer between substrate and all alignment electrodes).
[claim 9] The display device of claim 8, wherein a bottom surface of the each of the first alignment electrode, the second alignment electrode, the third alignment electrode, the fourth alignment electrode, the fifth alignment electrode, and the sixth alignment electrode completely contacts a top surface of the via insulating layer in the emission area (figure 3 and 4, elements 2211, 2221, 2212, 2222, 2213, and 2223 touch the top of element 210 which is the insulating layer between the electrodes and the substrate).
[claim 15] The display device of claim 10, wherein each of the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element have a first end and a second end having different polarities (figure 3, paragraph 0005, 0060, 0082, where each light emitting element [MNED11, MNED12, MNED13] have a first and second end [left and right side of the device in the DR2 direction], and each end is aligned with polarity of the conductive line [paragraph 0082] thus the first end of MNED11 is opposite of the right end of MNED11, but the right end of MNED11 aligns with the left end of MNED12, et..),
the second end of the first light emitting element faces the first end of the second light emitting element, and the second end of the second light emitting element faces the first end of the third light emitting element (figure 3, where the second end of the first light emitting element is the right hand side of element MNED11 and faces a first end of the second light emitting element [left hand side of element MNED12], and a second side of the second light emitting element [right hand side of MNED12] faces a first face of the third light emitting element [left hand side of MNED13]).
[claim 16] The display device of claim 15, further comprising: a first connection electrode disposed on the first alignment electrode, a second connection electrode disposed on the second alignment electrode, a third connection electrode disposed on the third alignment electrode, and a fourth connection electrode disposed on the fourth alignment electrode (figures 3 and 5, paragraph 0091, where element 241 is the first connection electrode disposed on element 2211 of figure 3, element 242 is the second connection electrode disposed on element 22212 of figure 3, element 241 is also the third connection electrode but disposed on element 2212, and element 242 disposed on element 2222 of figure 3 is connection electrode four),
wherein the first connection electrode electrically contacts the first end of the first light emitting element, the second connection electrode electrically contacts the second end of the first light emitting element and the first end of the second light emitting element, the third connection electrode electrically contacts the second end of the second light emitting element and the first end of the third light emitting element, and the fourth connection electrode electrically contacts the second end of the third light emitting element (figures 3 and 4 where element 241 on element 2211 connects to the left hand side of element MNED11 [first side of first light emitting element], element 242 on element 2221 connects to both the right hand side of MNED11 [second side of first light emitting element] and the left hand side of element MNED12 [first side of second light emitting element], element 241 on element 2212 is the third connection electrode that connects to both the right hand side of element MNED12 [second face of second light emitting element] and left hand side of element MNED13 [first face of third light emitting element] and element 242 on element 2222 is the fourth connection electrode and connects to the right hand side of element MNED13 [second face of third light emitting element]).
[claim 17] The display device of claim 16, wherein each of the first connection electrode, the second connection electrode, the third connection electrode, and the fourth connection electrode receives a first voltage and a second voltage having different potential values (figure 3, paragraph 0075, where elements 2221 and 2222 have one voltage and element 2211 and 2212 have a second voltage).
[claims 5 & 18] The display device of claims 4 and 17, further comprising: an anchor portion disposed on the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element and exposing the first end and the second end of each of the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element, wherein the anchor portion comprises an organic insulating material (figure 4, paragraph 0088, where element 232 is the anchor layer and is under each light emitting element and exposes the side walls of each light emitting element, and is made of an insulating material).
[claim 19] The display device of claim 10, further comprising: a via insulating layer disposed between the substrate and each of the first alignment electrode, the second alignment electrode, the third alignment electrode, and the fourth alignment electrode, wherein the each of the first alignment electrode, the second alignment electrode, the third alignment electrode, and the fourth alignment electrode has a flat profile in the emission area (figure 4, paragraph 0072, where element 210 is also an insulating layer between substrate and all alignment electrodes).
[claim 20] The display device of claim 19, wherein a bottom surface of the each of the first alignment electrode, the second alignment electrode, the third alignment electrode, and the fourth alignment electrode completely contacts a top surface of the via insulating layer in the emission area (figure 3 and 4, elements 2211, 2221, 2212, 2222 touch the top of element 210 which is the insulating layer between the electrodes and the substrate).
Regarding claims 6 and 14,
Per MPEP 2144, Part III. IV. CHANGES IN SIZE, SHAPE, OR SEQUENCE OF ADDING INGREDIENTS
A. Changes in Size/Proportion
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
In the present disclosure, the only difference between the Applicant’s disclosure and the prior art is the relative distance. As the claims state below:
[claim 6] wherein a distance between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode is greater than a distance between the third alignment electrode and the fourth alignment electrode in the direction, and the distance between the third alignment electrode and the fourth alignment electrode is greater than a distance between the fifth alignment electrode and the sixth alignment electrode in the direction.
[claim 14] wherein a distance between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode is greater than a distance between the second alignment electrode and the third alignment electrode in the direction, and the distance between the second alignment electrode and the third alignment electrode is greater than a distance between the third alignment electrode and the fourth alignment electrode in the direction.
The relative distance between the alignment electrodes do not present patentably distinct material as the prior art has all of the features of the present disclosure except the specific relative distances between the electrodes. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Park et al as modified to incorporate the relative distances in order to adequately use the light emitting elements as described in Lee et al, which have different sizes for different wavelengths of light, thus maximizing spatial density by not using extra unnecessary room when not needed by spacing the electrodes adequately.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW ZABEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818