DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response to the Office Final Action filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant amended claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2022/0069100) (hereafter Hwang), in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0359682) (hereafter Lee), in further view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0359682) (hereafter Kim)
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming a first gate structure (first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0018), a second gate structure (second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10) and a third gate structure (third GS from the left corner of Fig. 10) on a substrate 101 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0019), wherein the substrate 101 (Fig. 10) comprises a first region (left portion of 101 in Fig. 10), a second region (middle portion of 101 in Fig. 10), and a third region (right portion of 101 in Fig. 10);
forming a first gate dielectric layer (first 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0024) disposed under the first gate structure (first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10);
forming a second gate dielectric layer (second 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0024) is disposed under the second gate structure (second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), and wherein a thickness (thickness of vertical portion of first 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10) of the first gate dielectric layer (first 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10) is greater than a thickness (thickness of horizontal portion of second 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10) of the second gate dielectric layer (second 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10);
forming a first epitaxial layer (first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0100) on the first region (left portion of 101 in Fig. 10) adjacent to the first gate structure (first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), wherein a top surface of the first epitaxial layer (first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10) comprises a first curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and a second curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”),
forming a second epitaxial layer (second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0100) on the second region (middle portion of 101 in Fig. 10); and
forming a third epitaxial layer (third 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0100) on the third region (right portion of 101 in Fig. 10).
Hwang does not disclose a top surface profile of the first epitaxial layer, a top surface profile of the second epitaxial layer and atop surface profile of the third epitaxial layer are different from one another.
Lee disclose a top surface profile of the first epitaxial layer (146 of 100L in Fig. 11B, paragraph 0028), a top surface profile of the second epitaxial layer (146 of right portion of 100S in Fig. 11B, paragraph 0028) and atop surface profile of the third epitaxial layer (146 of left portion of 100S in Fig. 11B, paragraph 0028) are different from one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hwang to include a top surface profile of the first epitaxial layer, a top surface profile of the second epitaxial layer and atop surface profile of the third epitaxial layer are different from one another, as taught by Lee, since the diamond-like shape (Lee, paragraph 0010) of the epitaxial S/D features in the long channel regions or I/O regions provides an increased raise height, which in turn increases the surface area of the epitaxial S/D features for a subsequent S/D contact to conduct more current such that the contact resistance (Lee, paragraph 0010) of epitaxial S/D features in the long channel regions or I/O regions is reduced and the device performance of the transistors is improved.
Hwang and Lee do not disclose a topmost height of the first epitaxial layer, a topmost height of the second epitaxial layer, and a topmost height of the third epitaxial layer are different from each other.
Kim discloses a topmost height of the first epitaxial layer (506a-506c in Fig. 95, paragraph 0219), a topmost height of the second epitaxial layer (504a-504c in Fig. 95, paragraph 0209), and a topmost height of the third epitaxial layer (502a-502c in Fig. 95, paragraph 0209) are different (see Fig. 90 and paragraph 0229, wherein “the first depth D1 may be greater than the second and third depths D2 and D3. The second and third depths D2 and D3 may be substantially equal to or different from each other”) from each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hwang in view of Lee to include a topmost height of the first epitaxial layer, a topmost height of the second epitaxial layer, and a topmost height of the third epitaxial layer are different from each other, as taught by Kim, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, Hwang further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and the second curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) comprise curves concave downward.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang further discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the top surface of the first epitaxial layer (first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10) comprises a third curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a dip of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) connecting the first curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and the second curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang further discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the third curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a dip of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) comprises a curve concave upward.
Regarding claim 5, Hwang further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: forming the first gate structure (first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10) on the first region (region of 101 covered by first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), the second gate structure (second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10) on the second region (region of 101 covered by second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), and the third gate structure (third GS from the left corner of Fig. 10) on the third region (region of 101 covered by third GS from the left corner of Fig. 10);
forming the second epitaxial layer (second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0100) adjacent to the second gate structure (second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), wherein a top surface of the second epitaxial layer (second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10) comprises a fourth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and a fifth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”); and
forming the third epitaxial layer (third 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0100) adjacent to the third gate structure (third GS from the left corner of Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the fourth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and a fifth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) comprise curves concave downward.
Regarding claim 7, Hwang further discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the top surface of the second epitaxial layer (second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10) comprises a sixth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first low point between the first bump of top surface of 110’ and the second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) connecting the fourth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and the fifth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the sixth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first low point between the first bump of top surface of 110’ and the second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) comprises a curve concave upward.
Regarding claim 9, Hwang further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the third epitaxial layer (third 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0029, wherein “hexagonal shape”) comprises a hexagon.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first gate structure (first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph0018), a second gate structure (second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10) and a third gate structure (third GS from the left corner of Fig. 10) on a substrate 101 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0019), wherein the substrate 101 (Fig. 10) comprises a first region (left portion of 101 in Fig. 10), a second region (middle portion of 101 in Fig. 10), and a third region (right portion of 101 in Fig. 10);
a first gate dielectric layer (first 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0024) disposed under the first gate structure (first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10);
a second gate dielectric layer (second 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0024) is disposed under the second gate structure (second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), and wherein a thickness (thickness of vertical portion of first 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10) of the first gate dielectric layer (first 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10) is greater than a thickness (thickness of horizontal portion of second 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10) of the second gate dielectric layer (second 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10);
a first epitaxial layer (first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0100) adjacent to the first gate structure (first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), wherein a top surface of the first epitaxial layer (first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10) comprises a first curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and a second curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”).
a second epitaxial layer (second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0100) on the second region (middle portion of 101 in Fig. 10); and
a third epitaxial layer (third 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0100) on the third region (right portion of 101 in Fig. 10),
Hwang does not disclose a top surface profile of the first epitaxial layer, a top surface profile of the second epitaxial layer and atop surface profile of the third epitaxial layer are different from one another.
Lee disclose a top surface profile of the first epitaxial layer (146 of 100L in Fig. 11B, paragraph 0028), a top surface profile of the second epitaxial layer (146 of right portion of 100S in Fig. 11B, paragraph 0028) and atop surface profile of the third epitaxial layer (146 of left portion of 100S in Fig. 11B, paragraph 0028) are different from one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hwang to include a top surface profile of the first epitaxial layer, a top surface profile of the second epitaxial layer and atop surface profile of the third epitaxial layer are different from one another, as taught by Lee, since the diamond-like shape (Lee, paragraph 0010) of the epitaxial S/D features in the long channel regions or I/O regions provides an increased raise height, which in turn increases the surface area of the epitaxial S/D features for a subsequent S/D contact to conduct more current such that the contact resistance (Lee, paragraph 0010) of epitaxial S/D features in the long channel regions or I/O regions is reduced and the device performance of the transistors is improved.
Hwang and Lee do not disclose a topmost height of the first epitaxial layer, a topmost height of the second epitaxial layer, and a topmost height of the third epitaxial layer are different from each other.
Kim discloses a topmost height of the first epitaxial layer (506a-506c in Fig. 95, paragraph 0219), a topmost height of the second epitaxial layer (504a-504c in Fig. 95, paragraph 0209), and a topmost height of the third epitaxial layer (502a-502c in Fig. 95, paragraph 0209) are different (see Fig. 90 and paragraph 0229, wherein “the first depth D1 may be greater than the second and third depths D2 and D3. The second and third depths D2 and D3 may be substantially equal to or different from each other”) from each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hwang in view of Lee to include a topmost height of the first epitaxial layer, a topmost height of the second epitaxial layer, and a topmost height of the third epitaxial layer are different from each other, as taught by Kim, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the first curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and the second curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) comprise curves concave downward.
Regarding claim 13, Hwang further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the top surface of the first epitaxial layer (first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10) comprises a third curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a dip of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) connecting the first curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and the second curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein the third curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that first 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a dip of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) comprises a curve concave upward.
Regarding claim 15, Hwang further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 11, further comprising: forming the first gate structure (first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10) on the first region (region of 101 covered by first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), the second gate structure (second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10) on the second region (region of 101 covered by second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), and the third gate structure (third GS from the left corner of Fig. 10) on the third region (region of 101 covered by third GS from the left corner of Fig. 10);
forming a second epitaxial layer (second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0100) adjacent to the second gate structure (second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), wherein a top surface of the second epitaxial layer (second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10) comprises a fourth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and a fifth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”); and forming a third epitaxial layer (third 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0100) adjacent to the third gate structure (third GS from the left corner of Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 16, Hwang further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 15, wherein the fourth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and a fifth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) comprise curves concave downward.
Regarding claim 17, Hwang further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 16, wherein the top surface of the second epitaxial layer (second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10) comprises a sixth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first low point between the first bump of top surface of 110’ and the second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) connecting the fourth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) and the fifth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”).
Regarding claim 18, Hwang further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 17, wherein the sixth curve (see Fig. 10, wherein each 110’ on left side of Fig. 10 having 110’ on right side of Fig. 10 such that second 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10 having a first low point between the first bump of top surface of 110’ and the second bump of top surface of 110’ from the right corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0102, wherein “curved crystal surface of the source/drain region 110′”) comprises a curve concave upward.
Regarding claim 19, Hwang further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 15, wherein the third epitaxial layer (third 110’ from the left corner of Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0029, wherein “hexagonal shape”) comprises a hexagon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Lee and Kim as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and further in view of Terada et al. (US 2014/0284681) (hereafter Terada).
Regarding claim 10, Hwang in view of Lee and Kim discloses the method of claim 5, however Hwang, Lee, and Kim do not disclose the first region comprises a high-voltage (HV) region with a rated voltage of over 5 V and not more than 40 V, the second region comprises a medium-voltage (MV) region with a rated voltage of not less than 2 V and not more than 5 V, and the third region comprises a low-voltage (LV) region with a rated voltage of less than 2 V.
Terada discloses the first region 40 (Fig. 3A, paragraph 0056) comprises a high-voltage (HV) region (“HV-CMOS (High Voltage-Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) region” in paragraph 0056; and see paragraph 0058, wherein “over 5V and not more than 40V”) with a rated voltage of over 5 V and not more than 40 V, the second region 70 (Fig. 3A, paragraph 0056) comprises a medium-voltage (MV) region (“MV-CMOS (Middle Voltage-Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) region” in paragraph 0056; and see paragraph 0067, wherein “not less than 2V and not more than 5V”) with a rated voltage of not less than 2 V and not more than 5 V, and the third region 90 (Fig. 3A, paragraph 0056) comprises a low-voltage (LV) region (“LV-CMOS (Low Voltage-Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) region” in paragraph 0056; and see paragraph 0078, wherein “less than 2V”) with a rated voltage of less than 2 V.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hwang in view of Lee and Kim to include a high-voltage (HV) region with a rated voltage of over 5 V and not more than 40 V, the second region comprises a medium-voltage (MV) region with a rated voltage of not less than 2 V and not more than 5 V, and the third region comprises a low-voltage (LV) region with a rated voltage of less than 2 V, as taught by Terada, since the active region (Terada, paragraph 0020) may be formed in plural numbers so as to be adjacent across the element separation portion, and floating gates on the active regions adjacent to each other may overlap at their end portions with the element separation portion in common such that the memory cell (Terada, paragraph 0021) can also be miniaturized.
Regarding claim 20, Hwang in view of Lee and Kim discloses the method of claim 15, however Hwang, Lee, and Kim do not disclose the first region comprises a high-voltage (HV) region with a rated voltage of over 5 V and not more than 40 V, the second region comprises a medium-voltage (MV) region with a rated voltage of not less than 2 V and not more than 5 V, and the third region comprises a low-voltage (LV) region with a rated voltage of less than 2 V.
Terada discloses the first region 40 (Fig. 3A, paragraph 0056) comprises a high-voltage (HV) region (“HV-CMOS (High Voltage-Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) region” in paragraph 0056; and see paragraph 0058, wherein “over 5V and not more than 40V”) with a rated voltage of over 5 V and not more than 40 V, the second region 70 (Fig. 3A, paragraph 0056) comprises a medium-voltage (MV) region (“MV-CMOS (Middle Voltage-Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) region” in paragraph 0056; and see paragraph 0067, wherein “not less than 2V and not more than 5V”) with a rated voltage of not less than 2 V and not more than 5 V, and the third region 90 (Fig. 3A, paragraph 0056) comprises a low-voltage (LV) region (“LV-CMOS (Low Voltage-Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) region” in paragraph 0056; and see paragraph 0078, wherein “less than 2V”) with a rated voltage of less than 2 V.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hwang in view of Lee and Kim to include a high-voltage (HV) region with a rated voltage of over 5 V and not more than 40 V, the second region comprises a medium-voltage (MV) region with a rated voltage of not less than 2 V and not more than 5 V, and the third region comprises a low-voltage (LV) region with a rated voltage of less than 2 V, as taught by Terada, since the active region (Terada, paragraph 0020) may be formed in plural numbers so as to be adjacent across the element separation portion, and floating gates on the active regions adjacent to each other may overlap at their end portions with the element separation portion in common such that the memory cell (Terada, paragraph 0021) can also be miniaturized.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered.
2. The applicant argues (REMARKS, fourth paragraph in page 6) that “Independent claims 1 and 11 have been amended to further recite that a first gate dielectric layer is disposed under the first gate structure, a second gate dielectric layer is disposed under the second gate structure, and a thickness of the first gate dielectric layer is greater than a thickness of the second gate dielectric layer. This amendment is fully supported by the specification and reflects the intended multi-voltage integration architecture of the present invention. The cited references do not disclose the amended structural features, and the differences between the present invention and the cited references are discussed in the following sections.” In addition, the applicant also argues (REMARKS, fourth paragraph in page 6) that “Hwang does not disclose any relationship in which the topmost height of a first epitaxial layer, the topmost height of a second epitaxial layer, and the topmost height of a third epitaxial layer are different from each other. Hwang also does not disclose different gate dielectric layers having different thicknesses disposed under different gate structures.” However, claim filed on 12/16/2025 did not disclose a longest thickness of the first gate dielectric layer is greater than a longest thickness of the second gate dielectric layer; or a shortest thickness of the first gate dielectric layer is greater than a shortest thickness of the second gate dielectric layer. In addition, Hwang et al. (US 2022/0069100) disclose forming a first gate dielectric layer (first 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0024) disposed under the first gate structure (first GS from the left corner of Fig. 10); forming a second gate dielectric layer (second 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10, paragraph 0024) is disposed under the second gate structure (second GS from the left corner of Fig. 10), and wherein a thickness (thickness of vertical portion of first 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10) of the first gate dielectric layer (first 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10) is greater than a thickness (thickness of horizontal portion of second 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10) of the second gate dielectric layer (second 142 from the left corner of Fig. 10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/SHAHED AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813