DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 6-7 10-13 16 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) in view of Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1).
1. (Currently Amended) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) discloses A lift vehicle[FIG.1], comprising:
a chassis [0019] Referring to FIGS. 1-3, a lift device, shown as lift device 10, includes a chassis, shown as chassis 20;
an implement, the implement including at least one of a platform and a pair of forks[0001] The lift boom may support an operator (e.g., on an aerial work platform) or another load (e.g., using lift forks) in an elevated position relative to a ground surface... [0021] As shown in FIGS. 1-2, a load device, shown as aerial work platform 80, is coupled to lift boom 70. In another embodiment, the load device includes lift forks or another system configured to support a working load;
an extendable lift arm coupling the implement to the chassis[0001] …The lift boom may be extensible and is rotatable into several positions relative to the chassis, the lift arm comprising;
an actuator configured to selectively extend the lift arm[0022] Referring still to FIG. 1, lift boom 70 includes a plurality of telescoping boom sections. An actuator may extend the plurality of telescoping boom sections to increase the extension length of lift boom 70 (e.g., during operation of lift device 10 by an operator aboard aerial work platform 80);
a length sensor configured to provide data relating to a length of the lift arm[0024] Sensor 90 is positioned to monitor an orientation (e.g., position, extension, elevation, etc.) of lift boom 70;
a load sensor configured to provide data relating to a load at the implement[0026] Sensor 90 may also include a load pin (e.g., positioned to join the lift cylinder to the turntable structure) to facilitate determining the load on boom 70;
and a tilt sensor configured to provide data relating to an angular orientation of the chassis relative to a reference plane[0024] As shown in FIG. 1, sensor 90 includes a rotational position sensor disposed between turntable 24 and frame 22. The rotational position sensor may be configured to monitor a rotational position of (e.g., with an encoder) turntable 24 and lift boom 70 relative to frame 22; and
a controller[0035] A controller may receive the user input and engage an actuator (e.g., a rotational actuator, etc.) to rotate, elevate, or extend the lift boom configured to:
receive data from the length sensor, the load sensor, and the tilt sensor[claim 1] a lift boom rotatably coupled to the chassis and operable within a work envelope; a sensor positioned to monitor an orientation of the lift boom; and a controller configured to engage the actuator based on the orientation of the lift boom… [0027] an orientation (e.g., a rotational position, an extension length, an elevation, etc;
determine, based on the data from each of the load sensor and the tilt sensor [0051] controller 100 engages various systems and devices to facilitate operation of a lift device. As shown in FIG. 10, controller 100 receives input from one or more sensors 90. Sensors 90 may be configured to evaluate an orientation of a lift boom and provide sensing signals to be analyzed by controller 100,
a first operating envelope for the lift arm [0027-28] According to an exemplary embodiment, controller 100 engages at least one of the actuators based on an orientation (e.g., a rotational position, an extension length, an elevation, etc.) of lift boom 70 to adjust the work envelope of lift boom 70… Lift device 10 thereby dynamically adjusts the work envelope (e.g., based on an orientation of lift boom 70) without adversely impacting worker productivity,
the first operating envelope comprising a first maximum extension of the lift arm [0017] work envelope (e.g., the region within which a lift boom may be operated);
****.
Ditty lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
selectively limit an operation of the lift arm such that the lift arm operates within the first operating envelope;
receive updated data from the load sensor and updated data from the tilt sensor; determine, based on the updated data from each of the load sensor and the tilt sensor, a second operating envelope comprising a second maximum extension of the lift arm;
and selectively limit an operation of the lift arm such that the lift arm operates within the second operating envelope
Regarding the limitation(s); Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for selectively operating a lift device system according sensed parameters [0042] The controller 310 may be configured to operate the leveling system 200 in various modes based on the tilt data, the load/strain data, the position of the turntable 30 and the boom 40, and/or whether the lift device 10 is being driven or is stationary. Puszkiewicz further discloses a consideration for a first and second operating envelope [claim.10] further comprising a controller configured to selectively control extension and retraction of the first actuator and the second actuator such that: (i) the first actuator and the second actuator are fully retractable to permit free oscillation of the axle through a first angle range; (ii) at least one of the first actuator or the second actuator is at least partially extendable to function as a bump stop to permit free oscillation of the axle through a second angle range that is less than the first angle range;…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include selectively limiting an operation envelope to a first/second maximum extension with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Puszkiewicz, for the benefit of providing a system capable of limiting operations ,based upon sensed data, in order to prevent a lift arm from over extending and causing improper operation or tipping/tilting of a machine vehicle to which the lift arm is attached. Increasing balance, operational capabilities, and ensuring safety of an operator.
2. (Original) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) discloses The lift vehicle of claim 1, wherein the maximum extension of the lift arm is a first maximum extension of the lift arm, wherein the controller[0027] According to an exemplary embodiment, controller 100 engages at least one of the actuators based on an orientation (e.g., a rotational position, an extension length, an elevation, etc.) of lift boom 70 to adjust the work envelope of lift boom 70… [0017-18] …the work envelope (e.g., the region within which a lift boom may be operated)… adjusting the work envelope of the lift boom. Adjusting the work envelope allows an operator to move the lift boom into previously-restricted areas is further configured to receive updated data from the load sensor [0051] controller 100 engages various systems and devices to facilitate operation of a lift device. As shown in FIG. 10, controller 100 receives input from one or more sensors 90. Sensors 90 may be configured to evaluate an orientation of a lift boom and provide sensing signals to be analyzed by controller 100. As shown in FIG. 10, sensors 90 includes an elevation sensor 92, a rotational position sensor 94, a linear position sensor 96, and a load sensor 98 (e.g., a load pin positioned to monitor a reaction force generated by a load on the lift boom). In other embodiments, sensors 90 include at least one of elevation sensor 92, rotational position sensor 94, linear position sensor 96, and load sensor 98;
****
Ditty lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
and determine a second operating envelope for the lift arm based on the updated data, the second operating envelope comprising a second maximum extension of the lift arm, wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm is less than the first maximum extension of the lift arm.
Regarding the limitation; Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for selectively operating a lift device system according sensed parameters [0042] The controller 310 may be configured to operate the leveling system 200 in various modes based on the tilt data, the load/strain data, the position of the turntable 30 and the boom 40, and/or whether the lift device 10 is being driven or is stationary. Puszkiewicz further discloses a consideration for a first and second operating envelope [claim.10] further comprising a controller configured to selectively control extension and retraction of the first actuator and the second actuator such that: (i) the first actuator and the second actuator are fully retractable to permit free oscillation of the axle through a first angle range; (ii) at least one of the first actuator or the second actuator is at least partially extendable to function as a bump stop to permit free oscillation of the axle through a second angle range that is less than the first angle range;…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include a second operating envelope wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm is less than the first maximum extension of the lift arm with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Puszkiewicz, for the benefit of providing a system capable of limiting operations between a first and second maximum range, enabling a lift arm system to maintain balance, integrity, and operational safety according to a range associated with current operational parameters.
3. (Currently Amended) The lift vehicle of claim 1, wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm is less than the first maximum extension of the lift arm.
Regarding the limitation(s); the limitation(s) is/are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 2 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re claim(s) 2.
6. (Currently Amended) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) discloses The lift vehicle of claim 1, the controller further configured to: receive a command from an operator to drive the lift vehicle [0047] In response to user input selecting the drive mode;
determine, based on the received command [0060] … configured to display a selected operating mode, a stability condition, an axle position or other feature, may include one or more pushbuttons, knobs, or other input devices, may include a touchscreen, and may include still other devices. User input 162 may be a user input related to lift device functionality… [0045] An operator may provide user input by way of a user interface to select one of the modes. Controller 100 may receive the user input and configure lift device 10 into the corresponding operating mode, a drive mode operating envelope for the lift arm [0045] According to an exemplary embodiment, lift device 10 is configurable into different operating modes (e.g., a storage mode, a drive mode, a dynamic stability mode, etc.). An operator may provide user input by way of a user interface to select one of the modes;
determine that a position of the lift arm is within the drive mode operating envelope [0054]; and
permit the lift vehicle to drive based on the determination that the position of the lift arm is within the drive mode operating envelope [0046] In one embodiment, lift device 10 is configurable into a storage mode, a drive mode, and a dynamic stability mode. Lift device 10 may perform different functions based on the operating mode selected. According to an exemplary embodiment, controller 100 is configured to limit (e.g., eliminate) an operator's ability to drive lift device 10 when operating in the dynamic stability mode but facilitate driving movement of lift device 10 when operating in the storage mode or the drive mode.
7. (Currently Amended) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) lacks The lift vehicle of claim 6, wherein the drive mode operating envelope comprises the second maximum extension of the lift arm that is less than the first maximum extension.
Regarding the limitation(s); Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for selectively operating a lift device system according sensed parameters [0042] The controller 310 may be configured to operate the leveling system 200 in various modes based on the tilt data, the load/strain data, the position of the turntable 30 and the boom 40, and/or whether the lift device 10 is being driven or is stationary. Puszkiewicz further discloses a consideration for a first and second operating envelope [claim.10] further comprising a controller configured to selectively control extension and retraction of the first actuator and the second actuator such that: (i) the first actuator and the second actuator are fully retractable to permit free oscillation of the axle through a first angle range; (ii) at least one of the first actuator or the second actuator is at least partially extendable to function as a bump stop to permit free oscillation of the axle through a second angle range that is less than the first angle range;…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include selectively limiting an operation envelope to a first/second maximum extension wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm that is less than the first maximum extension with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Puszkiewicz, for the benefit of providing a system capable of limiting operations ,based upon sensed data, in order to prevent a lift arm from over extending and causing improper operation or tipping/tilting of a machine vehicle to which the lift arm is attached. Increasing balance, operational capabilities, and ensuring safety of an operator.
10. (Currently Amended) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) discloses The lift vehicle of claim 1, wherein the **** operating envelopes are a two-dimensional region [0003] The lift boom is rotatably coupled to the frame, movable between a first angular position and a second angular position, and operable within a work envelope, wherein the each of the first and the second maximum extension varies[0057] stability condition module 136 uses the current orientation of the lift boom determined by orientation module 134 to evaluate the stability condition of the lift device… based on an angle of the lift arm relative to the chassis[0056] …orientation module 134 may determine the current orientation of the lift boom in three components. By way of example, the current orientation of the lift boom may include an angle relative to the straight ahead position, an extension length relative to the fully retracted position, and an angle relative to the minimum elevation.
Ditty lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
… second operating envelope
Regarding the limitation; “…second operating envelope”, Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for selectively operating a lift device system according sensed parameters [0042] The controller 310 may be configured to operate the leveling system 200 in various modes based on the tilt data, the load/strain data, the position of the turntable 30 and the boom 40, and/or whether the lift device 10 is being driven or is stationary. Puszkiewicz further discloses a consideration for a first and second operating envelope [claim.10] further comprising a controller configured to selectively control extension and retraction of the first actuator and the second actuator such that: (i) the first actuator and the second actuator are fully retractable to permit free oscillation of the axle through a first angle range; (ii) at least one of the first actuator or the second actuator is at least partially extendable to function as a bump stop to permit free oscillation of the axle through a second angle range that is less than the first angle range;…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include a second operating envelope wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm is less than the first maximum extension of the lift arm with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Puszkiewicz, for the benefit of providing a system capable of limiting operations between a first and second maximum range, enabling a lift arm system to maintain balance, integrity, and operational safety according to a range associated with current operational parameters.
11. (Currently Amended) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) discloses The lift vehicle of claim 1, further comprising a rotatable turntable configured to rotate the lift arm with relative to the chassis [0021] lift boom 70 is coupled to a turntable 24 that is configured to rotate relative to frame 22, wherein **** the operating envelope are a three-dimensional swept volume [0023] The work envelope is defined by the volume within which lift boom 70 or aerial work platform 80 may be operated without lift device 10 reaching a tip condition (e.g., a point where the center of gravity for lift device 10 extends past a tip line). In one embodiment, the work envelope is generally dome shaped. based on the **** operating envelope maximum extension of the lift arm and a rotational range [0018] A stability condition may be determined based on the orientation of the lift boom (e.g., the rotational position of the lift boom, the extension length of the lift boom, the elevation of the lift boom, etc.). of the rotatable turntable [0026] By way of example, sensor 90 may include a rotational position sensor disposed between lift boom 70 and turntable 24. relative to the chassis [0021, 0027] controller 100 may be configured to provide command signals relating to the rotation of turntable 24 and lift boom 70 relative to frame 22, extension of lift boom 70 …By way of example, the work envelope may be a function of the wheelbase of lift device 10, the weight of a counterweight supported by turntable 24, the weight of lift boom 70, or still other characteristics.
Ditty lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
…each of the first and the second operating envelope
Regarding the limitation; “…second operating envelope”, Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for selectively operating a lift device system according sensed parameters [0042] The controller 310 may be configured to operate the leveling system 200 in various modes based on the tilt data, the load/strain data, the position of the turntable 30 and the boom 40, and/or whether the lift device 10 is being driven or is stationary. Puszkiewicz further discloses a consideration for a first and second operating envelope [claim.10] further comprising a controller configured to selectively control extension and retraction of the first actuator and the second actuator such that: (i) the first actuator and the second actuator are fully retractable to permit free oscillation of the axle through a first angle range; (ii) at least one of the first actuator or the second actuator is at least partially extendable to function as a bump stop to permit free oscillation of the axle through a second angle range that is less than the first angle range;…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include a second operating envelope wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm is less than the first maximum extension of the lift arm with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Puszkiewicz, for the benefit of providing a system capable of limiting operations between a first and second maximum range, enabling a lift arm system to maintain balance, integrity, and operational safety according to a range associated with current operational parameters.
In re claim 12. The limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim 1.
In re claim 13. The limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 3 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim 3.
In re claim 16. The limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 6 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim 6.
In re claim 17. The limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 7 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim 7.
In re claim 18. The limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim 1.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) and Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1), as applied to claim 1 and 12 above and further in view of Brulo (US-20220198905-A1).
4. (Original) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) discloses The lift vehicle of claim 1, further comprising an interactive operator terminal [0060-61] display 170, wherein the maximum extension of the lift arm is a first maximum extension of the lift arm [0027, 0017-18], wherein the controller is further configured to: receive updated data from the load sensor and updated data from the tilt sensor [0051] controller 100 engages various systems and devices to facilitate operation of a lift device. As shown in FIG. 10, controller 100 receives input from one or more sensors 90. Sensors 90 may be configured to evaluate an orientation of a lift boom and provide sensing signals to be analyzed by controller 100;
****
Ditty lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
and determine, in response to receiving the updated data from the tilt sensor and based on the updated data from the load sensor and the updated data from the tilt sensor, a second operating envelope comprising a second maximum extension of the lift arm, wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm is greater than the first maximum extension of the lift arm, wherein the interactive operator terminal is configured to display an indication that the second operating envelope comprising the second maximum extension of the lift arm is available.
Regarding the limitation; “…a second operating envelope comprising a second maximum extension of the lift arm”, Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for selectively operating a lift device system according sensed parameters [0042] The controller 310 may be configured to operate the leveling system 200 in various modes based on the tilt data, the load/strain data, the position of the turntable 30 and the boom 40, and/or whether the lift device 10 is being driven or is stationary. Puszkiewicz further discloses a consideration for a first and second operating envelope [claim.10] further comprising a controller configured to selectively control extension and retraction of the first actuator and the second actuator such that: (i) the first actuator and the second actuator are fully retractable to permit free oscillation of the axle through a first angle range; (ii) at least one of the first actuator or the second actuator is at least partially extendable to function as a bump stop to permit free oscillation of the axle through a second angle range that is less than the first angle range;…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include a second operating envelope wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm is less than the first maximum extension of the lift arm with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Puszkiewicz, for the benefit of providing a system capable of limiting operations between a first and second maximum range, enabling a lift arm system to maintain balance, integrity, and operational safety according to a range associated with current operational parameters.
Regarding the limitation; “wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm is greater than the first maximum extension of the lift arm…configured to display an indication that the … operating envelope … of the lift arm is available”, Brulo (US-20220198905-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a [0057] reach and placement tool 100 can operate for a three-dimensional area, and may use distance sensors (e.g., infrared lasers, sonar, etc.) and orientation sensors (e.g., accelerometers, gyroscopes, etc.) to determine a distance and angular orientation of each of the points of interest 14 relative to the particular location 16. Burlo discloses a consideration for two operational envelopes, a first and second operating envelope, wherein a second maximum extension of the lift arm (first reach envelope) is greater than a first maximum extension of the lift arm (second reach envelope) [0058] Referring still to FIG. 1, the reach and placement tool 100 can use a first reach envelope 22 and a second reach envelope 20. The first reach envelope 22 is a maximum or outer reach of a particular model of reach apparatus. The second reach envelope 20 is a portion of the first reach envelope 22 (e.g., 70% of the first reach envelope 22, 80% of the first reach envelope 22, etc.). Burlo further discloses a consideration for displaying available operating modes [0059] The reach and placement tool 100 can use the distance at the particular orientation to determine if the first point of interest 14a is within the first reach envelope 22, within the second envelope 20, or outside of the first reach envelope 22 (e.g., to determine if the first point of interest 14a is reachable from the particular location 16). If the first point of interest 14a is within the second reach envelope 20, the reach and placement tool 100 can notify the worker 18 that the first point of interest 14a is reachable by the particular model of the reach apparatus. If the first point of interest 14a is within the first reach envelope 22 but not within the second reach envelope 20, the reach and placement tool 100 can notify the worker 18 that the first point of interest 14a is within the first reach envelope 22… [0061] In some embodiments, the reach and placement tool 100 reports in real-time if a captured coordinate point (e.g., a point of interest 14 at which the reach and placement tool 100 is directed) is within a reach of a currently selected or loaded model of a reach apparatus in real-time (e.g., through operation of an alert light according to different colors, through operation of an aural alert device, through operation of a user interface or a display screen, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include a second operating envelope comprising a second maximum extension of the lift arm, wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm is greater than the first maximum extension of the lift arm, wherein the interactive operator terminal is configured to display an indication that the second operating envelope comprising the second maximum extension of the lift arm is available with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Brulo, for the benefit of providing a secondary operating mode allowing an operator to choose between one or more modes according to operational conditions and further providing notifications to a user to direct attention of a user toward the availability of alternative operating modes, increasing user awareness and operational control.
5. (Original) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) discloses The lift vehicle of claim 4, wherein the controller is further configured to: limit a
**** operation of the lift arm such that the lift arm operates within the **** operating envelope in response to an input provided by an operator via the interactive operator terminal [0060] … configured to display a selected operating mode, a stability condition, an axle position or other feature, may include one or more pushbuttons, knobs, or other input devices, may include a touchscreen, and may include still other devices. User input 162 may be a user input related to lift device functionality… [0045] An operator may provide user input by way of a user interface to select one of the modes. Controller 100 may receive the user input and configure lift device 10 into the corresponding operating mode.
Ditty lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
… second operating envelope
Regarding the limitation; “…second operating envelope”, Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for selectively operating a lift device system according sensed parameters [0042] The controller 310 may be configured to operate the leveling system 200 in various modes based on the tilt data, the load/strain data, the position of the turntable 30 and the boom 40, and/or whether the lift device 10 is being driven or is stationary. Puszkiewicz further discloses a consideration for a first and second operating envelope [claim.10] further comprising a controller configured to selectively control extension and retraction of the first actuator and the second actuator such that: (i) the first actuator and the second actuator are fully retractable to permit free oscillation of the axle through a first angle range; (ii) at least one of the first actuator or the second actuator is at least partially extendable to function as a bump stop to permit free oscillation of the axle through a second angle range that is less than the first angle range;…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include a second operating envelope wherein the second maximum extension of the lift arm is less than the first maximum extension of the lift arm with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Puszkiewicz, for the benefit of providing a system capable of limiting operations between a first and second maximum range, enabling a lift arm system to maintain balance, integrity, and operational safety according to a range associated with current operational parameters.
In re claim 14. The limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 4 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim 4.
In re claim 15. The limitations are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 5 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim 5.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) and Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Brulo (US-20220198905-A1).
8. (Currently Amended) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) discloses The lift vehicle of claim 1, further comprising an interactive operator terminal[0035] By way of example, an operator may engage a user interface at an aerial work platform to provide user input relating to a requested rotation, elevation, or extension of the lift boom. A controller may receive the user input and engage an actuator (e.g., a rotational actuator, etc.) to rotate, elevate, or extend the lift boom,
****.
Ditty lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
…the interactive operator terminal configured to display an operating envelope widget based on at least one of the first or the second operating envelope
Regarding the limitation; Brulo (US-20220198905-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a [0061] In some embodiments, the reach and placement tool 100 reports in real-time if a captured coordinate point (e.g., a point of interest 14 at which the reach and placement tool 100 is directed) is within a reach of a currently selected or loaded model of a reach apparatus in real-time (e.g., through operation of an alert light according to different colors, through operation of an aural alert device, through operation of a user interface or a display screen, etc.)…In some embodiments, the reach and placement tool 100 can provide a summary or a display graphic of each of the coordinates of the multiple points of interest 14, indicating which of the multiple points of interest 14 are within range. The worker 18 may view such summary or display graphic after capturing the coordinates of the multiple points of interest 14… It should be understood that different reach envelopes associated with different reach apparatuses can be selected by the worker 18 or loaded onto the reach and placement tool 100. If the first point of interest 14a is within the second reach envelope 20, the reach and placement tool 100 can notify the worker 18 that the first point of interest 14a is reachable by the particular model of the reach apparatus. [0059-61] If the first point of interest 14a is within the first reach envelope 22 but not within the second reach envelope 20, the reach and placement tool 100 can notify the worker 18 that the first point of interest 14a is within the first reach envelope 22…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include displaying an operating envelope widget based on the operating envelope with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Brulo, for the benefit of providing an interface which notifies an operator of currently sensed operational conditions and further to facilitate the review of the summary or the display graphic [0061] and allowing a worker to determine a proper placement of the particular reach apparatus without requiring actual placement of the particular reach apparatus [0062].
9. (Currently Amended) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) lacks The lift vehicle of claim 8, wherein the operating envelope widget is configured to display a boundary of at least one of the first or the second operating envelope and a position of the implement relative to the boundary of at least one of the first or the second operating envelope.
Regarding the limitation; Brulo (US-20220198905-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a [0059-62] In some embodiments, the reach and placement tool 100 reports in real-time if a captured coordinate point (e.g., a point of interest 14 at which the reach and placement tool 100 is directed) is within a reach of a currently selected or loaded model of a reach apparatus in real-time (e.g., through operation of an alert light according to different colors, through operation of an aural alert device, through operation of a user interface or a display screen, etc.)…In some embodiments, the reach and placement tool 100 can provide a summary or a display graphic of each of the coordinates of the multiple points of interest 14, indicating which of the multiple points of interest 14 are within range. The worker 18 may view such summary or display graphic after capturing the coordinates of the multiple points of interest 14… It should be understood that different reach envelopes associated with different reach apparatuses can be selected by the worker 18 or loaded onto the reach and placement tool 100… [0139] The implementations discussed above can be used to determine the current position of the lift device (e.g., the platform assembly 1216) and the desired position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include wherein the operating envelope widget is configured to display a boundary of the operating envelope and a position of the implement relative to the boundary of the operating envelope with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Brulo, for the benefit of allowing a worker to determine a proper placement of the particular reach apparatus without requiring actual placement of the particular reach apparatus [0062].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) and Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1), as applied to claim 18 above and further in view of Eckhardt (US-20220252086-A1).
In re claim 19. (Original) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) lacks The method of claim 18, wherein limiting the operation of the lift arm comprises restricting a flow of a fluid to one or more actuators coupled with the lift arm, wherein restricting the flow of the fluid to the one or more actuators limits an extension of the lift arm.
Regarding the limitation; Eckhardt (US-20220252086-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [claim 1] at least a first boom extend hydraulic cylinder configured to extend and retract the boom; and a manifold fluidly coupled between the first boom lift hydraulic cylinder and the first boom extend hydraulic cylinder, the manifold configured to direct fluid flow between the first boom lift hydraulic cylinder and the first boom extend hydraulic cylinder to maintain the boom within a safety envelope during bleed down and retraction of the boom.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include restricting a flow of a fluid to one or more actuators coupled with the lift arm, wherein restricting the flow of the fluid to the one or more actuators limits an extension of the lift arm with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Eckhardt, for the benefit of providing a working fluid system capable of controlling and maintaining hydraulic parameters according to operational conditions.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ditty (US-20150259185-A1), Puszkiewicz (US-20200317486-A1), and Eckhardt (US-20220252086-A1), as applied to claim 19 above and further in view of Brulo (US-20220198905-A1).
20. (Currently Amended) Ditty (US-20150259185-A1) discloses The method of claim 18, further comprising: displaying, via an interactive operator terminal of the lift vehicle [0060-61] controller 100 is coupled to display 170. Display 170 may be a display coupled to a turntable of the lift device, coupled to an aerial work platform, or coupled to a remote system configured to control, or monitor performance of, the lift device. Display 170 is configured to provide an operator of the lift device with information, according to an exemplary embodiment. By way of example, display 170 may be configured to display a selected operating mode, a stability condition, an axle position, or another operating condition of the lift device… [0035] By way of example, an operator may engage a user interface at an aerial work platform to provide user input relating to a requested rotation, elevation, or extension of the lift boom. A controller may receive the user input and engage an actuator (e.g., a rotational actuator, etc.) to rotate, elevate, or extend the lift boom., a boundary of the operating envelope and a position of the lift arm relative to the boundary of the operating envelope.
Ditty lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
…a boundary of the first operating envelope and a position of the lift arm relative to the first boundary of the operating envelope
Regarding the limitation; Brulo (US-20220198905-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a [0061-62] In some embodiments, the reach and placement tool 100 reports in real-time if a captured coordinate point (e.g., a point of interest 14 at which the reach and placement tool 100 is directed) is within a reach of a currently selected or loaded model of a reach apparatus in real-time (e.g., through operation of an alert light according to different colors, through operation of an aural alert device, through operation of a user interface or a display screen, etc.)…In some embodiments, the reach and placement tool 100 can provide a summary or a display graphic of each of the coordinates of the multiple points of interest 14, indicating which of the multiple points of interest 14 are within range. The worker 18 may view such summary or display graphic after capturing the coordinates of the multiple points of interest 14… It should be understood that different reach envelopes associated with different reach apparatuses can be selected by the worker 18 or loaded onto the reach and placement tool 100… [0139] The implementations discussed above can be used to determine the current position of the lift device (e.g., the platform assembly 1216) and the desired position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Ditty to include a boundary of the operating envelope and a position of the lift arm relative to the boundary of the operating envelope with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Brulo, for the benefit of allowing a worker to determine a proper placement of the particular reach apparatus without requiring actual placement of the particular reach apparatus [0062].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663