DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada (US 2015/0221722) in view of DE’210 (DE 10025210, Machine Translation is provided) and Applicant’s Admission of the Prior Art (AAPA).
Regarding claim 1, Sawada discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising: a silicon substrate (Fig.4, numerals 1; [0058]); a plurality of first trenches (W3) with one or more sizes filled with a first dielectric material (Fig. 4, numeral 9C) formed in the silicon substrate (1) along a first dimension; a plurality of second trenches (W1) with one or more sizes filled with a second dielectric material (9a) formed in the silicon substrate (1) along a second dimension; and a plurality of active regions (Fig.9, numeral 1a; 1c; 1b) with one or more sizes formed in the silicon substrate (1), wherein each of the active regions is rectangular-shaped and separated from each other by the first trenches (5) filled with the first dielectric material and the second trenches (4) filled with the second dielectric material (Fig.9).
Sawada does not disclose (1) that the plurality of the active regions forming MOS transistor has round corners at two ends where contact provided external electrical connection with source/drain regions of the MOS transistors land on; (2) that the second dimension is perpendicular to the first dimension.
Regarding element (1), DE’210 however discloses that the plurality of the active regions has round corners (Fig.2, numeral 11) at two ends where contact (Fig.3, numeral 13) provided external electrical connection with source/drain regions of the MOS transistors land on (Fig. 9, numeral 80).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sawada with DE’210 to have the plurality of the active regions forming MOS transistor has round corners at two ends where contact provided external electrical connection with source/drain regions of the MOS transistors land on for the purpose increasing the drain current of a transistor (DE’210; column 5, lines 35-30).
Regarding element (2), AAPA discloses that the second dimension is perpendicular to the first dimension (Fig.5A).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sawada with AAPA to have the second dimension is perpendicular to the first dimension because this is a tradition method for forming active regions and STI structures (Applicant’s Specification, [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Sawada discloses wherein the first trench has a different size from that of the second trench (Fig. 4; numerals W3; W1).
Regarding claim 3, Sawada does not disclose where the first trenches are interdigitated with the second trenches.
AAPA however discloses where the first trenches are interdigitated with the second trenches (Fig.5A).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Sawada with AAPA to have the first trenches are interdigitated with the second trenches because this is a tradition method for forming active regions and STI structures (Applicant’s Specification, [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891