DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Pub No. 20200083474), in view of Kwak et al (US Pub No. 20140217397), in view of Park et al (US Pub No. 20200321292).
With respect to claim 1, Lee et al discloses a first substrate (100,Fig.5) including: a display area (DA); and a non-display area adjacent to the display area (PA); a second substrate (300) disposed on the first substrate; and a sealing member (400) disposed in a sealing area of the non-display area (400E-100IE) to bond the first substrate to the second substrate (Fig.5), wherein the first substrate comprises: a first base portion (101-120); a buffer layer (109); a semiconductor layer (134) overlapping the lower light blocking layer, on the buffer layer (it is not directly on, because the claim does not require it, Fig.5); a gate insulating layer (103) on the semiconductor layer; and, and a gate electrode (140) overlapping the semiconductor layer (Fig.5), on the gate insulating layer (Fig.5), and the sealing member (400) on the periphery area (Fig.5).
However, Lee et al does not explicitly disclose a lower light blocking layer; a semiconductor layer overlapping the lower light blocking layer; a first conductive layer comprising a first signal line, on the first base portion; a buffer layer on the first conductive layer; a second conductive layer comprising a second signal line and a third signal line electrically connected to the first signal line, wherein the gate electrode, the first signal line and the third signal line comprises a same material. On the other hand, Kwak et al discloses that on the non-display area (NA,Fig.2A), a first conductive layer (220A) comprising a first signal line (221A all the way left,Fig.2A), on the first base portion (210A); a buffer layer on and covering the first conductive layer (262A, this is equivalent to the base the buffer layer in the primary reference) ; a second conductive layer comprising a second signal line (221A in the middle) and a third signal line electrically (221A all the way to the right) connected to the first signal line (Fig.2A); and in plan view, the first signal line is disposed between the second signal line and the third signal line (Fig.2A), wherein the gate electrode (Para 110), the first signal line (Para 96) and the third signal line (Para 96) comprises a same material (such as molybdenum).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Lee et al according to the teachings of the Kwak et al such that first and second and third signal lines are formed on the periphery such that in plan view, the first signal line is disposed between the second signal line and the third signal line, and the first signal line overlaps the sealing member, in order to make a wiring portion on the periphery region to power up the device in the display region. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Lee et al according to the teachings of the Kwak et al such that first and second and third signal lines and the gate electrode are formed from the same material, in order to increase the speed of the manufacturing by depositing all the material at the same time.
However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose a lower light blocking layer; a semiconductor layer overlapping the lower light blocking layer. On the other hand, Park et al discloses a lower light blocking layer (LB,Fig.7); a semiconductor layer (AP.Fig.7) overlapping the lower light blocking layer (Fig.7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the inventio to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Park et al such that light blocking layer is formed under the channel layer, in order to minimize the outside noise, thereby Improving the picture quality.
With respect to claim 2, Kwak et al discloses wherein the second conductive layer further comprises a first pad (222A) electrically connected to an outer end of the second signal line (Fig.2A).
With respect to claim 3, Lee et al discloses wherein the first substrate further comprises a passivation layer (109) on the second conductive layer (82).
With respect to claim 4, Kwak et al discloses wherein the first substrate further comprises a via layer (264A) on the passivation layer.
With respect to claim 5, Kwak et al discloses wherein the via layer includes an organic insulating material (Para 114).
With respect to claim 6, Kwak et al in view of Lee et al discloses wherein the via layer does not overlap the sealing member (Para 57, Fig.5)
With respect to claim 7, Lee et al in view of Kwak et al discloses wherein the sealing member (400) is in direct contact with the passivation layer (109) .
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Pub No. 20200083474), in view of Kwak et al (US Pub No. 20140217397), in view of Park et al (US Pub No. 20200321292), in view of Won et al 9US Pub No. 20200245071).
With respect to claim 16, Lee et al discloses, wherein the second substrate (300); however, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose comprises: a second base portion facing the first base portion; a color filter layer on the second base portion; and a light conversion pattern layer on the color filter layer. On the other hand, Won et al discloses a second base portion (112,CFL,QDL,FL,Fig.7) facing the first base portion (111,TFL,EML); a color filter layer (CFL) on the second base portion; and a light conversion pattern layer(QDL) on the color filter layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Won et al such that that color filter and light conversion layers are formed on the second substrate, in order to separate the lights from each other as a design choice.
With respect to claim 17, Won et al discloses further comprising a filler (FL) between the first substrate (111) and the second substrate (112).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Paragraphs 96 and 110 of Kwak et al show that the signal lines and the gate electrodes may be formed of the same material.
Conclusion
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817