DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art of record does not teach or disclose “a bump disposed within the target region configured to keep metal debris below a level of the interior of the wall and control a flow of heated metal within the rotating crucible”. Examiner disagrees as Fig. 2B of Shirai discloses a bump (raised section between grooves 10a and 10b, produced in annotated figure below).
The instant specification teaches debris as a byproduct of EUV generation (ions, gases, and atoms of the target metal, see paragraph [0040] of the instant application) as well as target metal that does not get vaporized (target metal does not get vaporized and instead remains in the crucible as metal debris, see paragraph [0050] of the instant application). Shirai teaches the annular grooves (along with the raised bump between annular grooves as depicted above) hold target material in an “area unnecessary for plasma” (see paragraph [0074] of Shirai). Furthermore, Figs. 3A-3C depict the groove 10a keeping target metal unnecessary for plasma (e.g. away from the film area necessary for plasma to be exposed to the laser beam) below a level (similar application for groove 10b with raised bump portion as depicted in the annotated figure above). Therefore the unused, excess target material is to be considered as debris.
Applicant further argues that the prior art of record does not teach or disclose a plurality of groupings of raised arrangements disposed within the heated target region, wherein the plurality of groupings of raised arrangements are disposed radially around the heated parget region in horizontal alignment, wherein each grouping of raised arrangements is even separated from a nearest grouping of raised arrangements between 11.25 degrees and 22.5 degrees. Examiner disagrees as indicated in the annotated figure above, a plurality of groupings of raised arrangements (e.g. bumps on either side of the grooves 10a and 10b) are disposed radially around the discharge electrodes 2a, 2b (see Figs. 2A and 2B). As the bumps are continuous (and on both sides of the annular groove 10a and 10b), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the groupings of raised arrangements are evenly separated from a nearest grouping between 11.25 and 22.5 degrees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shirai (US PGPub 2015/0282285, hereinafter Shirai).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 2a of Shirai discloses an EUV radiation apparatus (discharge electrodes for high temperature plasma material for EUV light generation, see abstract) comprising:
a rotating crucible (electrodes 2a, 2b, supporting high temperature plasma material 14 (i.e. crucible)) having a wall having a cross-section that is substantially circular (see paragraph [0013] and Fig. 2a, disc is circular and interpreted to be a wall);
a target region disposed radially around at least a portion of an interior of the wall (see Fig. 3a, film area necessary for plasma);
a bump (raised portion between grooves 10a, 10b, see annotated figure above) disposed within the target region configured to keep metal debris below a level of the interior of the wall and control a flow of heated metal (liquid tin) within the rotating crucible (The instant specification teaches debris as a byproduct of EUV generation (ions, gases, and atoms of the target metal, see paragraph [0040] of the instant application) as well as target metal that does not get vaporized (target metal does not get vaporized and instead remains in the crucible as metal debris, see paragraph [0050]). Shirai teaches the annular grooves (along with the raised bump between annular grooves as depicted above) hold target material in an “area unnecessary for plasma” (see paragraph [0074]). Furthermore, Figs. 3A-3C depict the groove 10a keeping target metal unnecessary for plasma (e.g. away from the film area necessary for plasma to be exposed to the laser beam) below a level (similar application for groove 10b with raised bump portion as depicted in the annotated figure above). Therefore the unused target material is to be considered as debris).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 2a of Shirai discloses bump (raised portion between grooves 10a and 10b, see annotated figure above) is separately formed and secured to the wall of the rotating crucible (electrodes 2a, 2b, see paragraph [0074]). The limitation “separately formed and secured to the wall” is merely a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Here Shirai teaches a groove (bump) formed on the disc (wall). Since Shirai teaches the product and separately formed and secured is a product by process limitation Shirai anticipates the product and thus the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process
Regarding claim 4, Fig 1 of Shirai discloses a debris catching region (material removing mechanisms 11) disposed radially around at least a portion of the interior of the wall and at least partially beneath the target region (see Fig. 3A-C and paragraphs [0100-102]).
Regarding claim 5, Shirai discloses a bottom portion (container) of the debris catching region includes an inlet that collects metal debris migrating from the target region (see paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 6, Shirai discloses the debris catching region has a hollow interior region including an outlet (container, wherein the inlet is configured to provide metal debris from the bottom portion of the hollow interior region and the outlet is configured to provide the metal debris from the hollow interior region to the target region by centrifugal force (see paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 1 of Shirai discloses a re-filler (container 15) configured to deposit metal on the target region (see paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 2a of Shirai discloses the bump is a grouping of bumps (raised portions between grooves 10a and 10b, see annotated figure above) having at least two bumps disposed in proximity (two bumps on either side of annular grooves 10a and 10b, see Fig. 2B and paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 2b of Shirai discloses the at least two bumps (raised portions between grooves 10a and 10b, see annotated figure above) are vertically aligned.
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 2b of Shirai discloses an eave disposed around at least a portion of the interior of the wall and above the bump (outer region of groove 10a and 10b, see Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 2a of Shirai discloses the bump and eave (raised portion between grooves 10a and 10b and outer region of annular groove 10a) are formed from the wall (see Fig. 2B and paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 15, Shirai discloses a heater circumferentially disposed around an exterior of the wall and configured to heat the target region (temperature of the melted metal is adjusted by a temperature adjusting unit 15a disposed in, for example, each of the containers 15, see paragraph [0010], through which the electrodes 2a and 2b are submersed, see Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 16, Shirai discloses a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device (discharge electrodes for high temperature plasma material for EUV light generation, see abstract), comprising:
rotating crucible (electrodes 2a, 2b) having a wall and a laser target region (high temperature plasma 14) disposed circumferentially around an interior of the wall (see paragraph [0071]);
depositing a metal (liquid tin) within the laser target region (see paragraph [0070]);
generating EUV light by directing laser light (laser beam 17) on the metal, thereby releasing metal debris (see paragraph [0073]);
inhibiting migration of metal debris using at least one bump disposed on the wall within the laser target region by keeping the metal debris below a level of the interior of the wall (The instant specification teaches debris as a byproduct of EUV generation (ions, gases, and atoms of the target metal, see paragraph [0040] of the instant application) as well as target metal that does not get vaporized (target metal does not get vaporized and instead remains in the crucible as metal debris, see paragraph [0050]). Shirai teaches the annular grooves (along with the raised bump between annular grooves as depicted above) hold target material in an “area unnecessary for plasma” (see paragraph [0074]). Furthermore, Figs. 3A-3C depict the groove 10a keeping target metal unnecessary for plasma (e.g. away from the film area necessary for plasma to be exposed to the laser beam) below a level (similar application for groove 10b with raised bump portion as depicted in the annotated figure above). Therefore the unused target material is to be considered as debris.); and
directing the EUV light to a layer of a semiconductor device (see paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 17, Fig. 2a of Shirai discloses inhibiting migration of metal debris using a plurality of groupings of proximate bumps (raised portions between grooves 10a and 10b, see annotated figure above) that are even distributed around the interior of the wall (two bumps on either side of annular grooves 10a and 10b, see Fig. 2B and paragraph [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, 12-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirai.
Regarding claim 3, Shirai discloses a motor configured to rotate the crucible around a central axis at high speed (motors 16a and 16b rotate the electrodes about shafts, see paragraph [0009]; electrodes rotate at varying speeds (e.g. low to high), see Figs, 12A-C and paragraph [0029-0030]).
While Shirai does not explicitly disclose the electrodes are rotated up to 20,000 rotations per minute, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adjust the speed of the rotation of the electrodes to adjust the thickness of the film area necessary for plasma as a result effective variable as taught by Shirai (see Figs. 12A-C and paragraphs [0029-0030].
Regarding claim 10, Shirai discloses a plurality of groupings of bumps (raised portions between grooves 10a and 10b, see annotated figure above) are disposed radially around the heated metal target region in horizontal alignment (see Fig. 2b).
Shirai does not explicitly disclose each grouping of bumps is evenly separated from a nearest grouping of bumps by between 11.25 and 22.5 degrees. However, As the bumps are continuous (and on both sides of the annular groove 10a and 10b), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the groupings of raised arrangements are evenly separated from a nearest grouping between 11.25 and 22.5 degrees.
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 2b of Shirai discloses the eave (outer region of groove) is disposed about the annular groove (see Fig. 2B). Shirai does not explicitly disclose the eave is at most 5 millimeters above the bump. However, Shirai does teach the grooves 10a and 10b can vary in depth (see Figs. 7a and 7b and paragraphs [0090-0091]). Shirai teaches the amount of plasma material to be captured by each groove is proportional to a size of a flat region next to the groove (see paragraph [0091]). It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to vary the depth of the groove as a result effective variable for adjusting the amount of debris captured as taught by Shirai.
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 2b of Shirai discloses the eave is separated from the bump (outer region of groove 10a and 10b, see Fig. 2B). Shirai does not explicitly disclose the eave is separated between 0 mm and 5 mm. However, Shirai does teach the grooves 10a and 10b can vary in depth (see Figs. 7a and 7b and paragraphs [0090-0091]). Shirai teaches the amount of plasma material to be captured by each groove is proportional to a size of a flat region next to the groove (see paragraph [0091]). It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to vary the depth of the groove as a result effective variable for adjusting the amount of debris captured as taught by Shirai.
Regarding claim 18, Shirai discloses inhibiting migration of metal debris using a convex eave formed on at least a portion of the interior of the wall. Shirai does not explicitly disclose the eaves are within 5 mm above the at least one bump. However, Shirai does teach the grooves 10a and 10b can vary in depth (see Figs. 7a and 7b and paragraphs [0090-0091]). Shirai teaches the amount of plasma material to be captured by each groove is proportional to a size of a flat region next to the groove (see paragraph [0091]). It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to vary the depth of the groove as a result effective variable for adjusting the amount of debris captured as taught by Shirai.
Regarding claim 19, Shirai discloses a crucible for generating EUV light (discharge electrodes for high temperature plasma material for EUV light generation, see abstract) comprising:
a heated target region internally disposed around an interior of a wall of the crucible for preheating a metal (see paragraph [0071]);
a plurality of groupings of raised arrangements (raised portions between grooves 10a and 10b, see annotated figure above) disposed within the heated target region, wherein the plurality of groupings of raised arrangements are disposed radially around the heated target region in horizontal alignment;
a convex eave (portion around grooves 10a) disposed above the heated target region (see Fig. 2b); and
a debris catching region (container) at least partially disposed below the heated target region and configured to collect metal debris (container, wherein the inlet is configured to provide metal debris from the bottom portion of the hollow interior region and the outlet is configured to provide the metal debris from the hollow interior region to the target region by centrifugal force (see paragraph [0102]), wherein the target region is at least partially replenished by metal debris collected by the debris catching region (containers 15 receive target material scraped from grooves 10a and 10b which fall in a gravity direction into container 15, see paragraph [0102]).
Shirai does not explicitly disclose each grouping of bumps is evenly separated from a nearest grouping of bumps by between 11.25 and 22.5 degrees. However, As the bumps are continuous (and on both sides of the annular groove 10a and 10b), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the groupings of raised arrangements are evenly separated from a nearest grouping between 11.25 and 22.5 degrees.
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 5 of Shirai discloses a cover (film thickness adjusting mechanism 12) configured to enclose an interior of the crucible during operation (see paragraph [0085]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881 /MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881