DETAILED ACTION
This Notice is responsive to communication filed on 03/09/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/09/2026 under 37 CFR 1.111 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (US 7238564 B2) and further in view of Moon et al. (US 5719085 A) and Lee (KR 200550067474).
Regarding claim 1, Ko teaches a method of making a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
a) etching a substrate Fig. 2A: 318 to form a trench Fig. 2A: 310 in the substrate Fig. 2A: 318;
b) filling the trench Fig. 2A: 310 with an insulating material layer Fig. 2A: STI (col. 4, lines 19-20, filler material 312), wherein a top surface of the insulating material layer is higher than a top surface of the trench (shown in Fig. 1D);
c) etching the insulating material layer Fig. 2B: STI to form a side groove Fig. 2B: 372 between the insulating material layer Fig. 2B: STI and a top side wall of the trench Fig. 2B: 310 to expose a corner at a top of the trench Fig. 2B: 372 (col. 4, lines 33-37); and
d) forming a field oxide layer Fig. 2D: 330 on a top surface of the substrate Fig. 2D: 318 by an oxidation process, wherein the corner at the top of the trench Fig. 2D: 310 is correspondingly oxidized to form into a round corner by the oxidation process (col. 3, lines 47-59).
e) wherein the insulating material layer and the field oxide layer comprise a same material. Ko teaches (col. 4, lines 19-20) the STI filler material/insulating material layer 312 is an oxide or polysilicon, and (col. 5, lines 6-10) the gate dielectric/field oxide layer 330 is a silicon/oxide material.
Although Ko’s present invention as shown in Fig. 2A – 3 does not explicitly mention the rounded corner formed by the oxidation process, Ko teaches that it is known in the art that the conventional fabrication process, thermal oxidation used to form oxide films may be used to form rounded corners (see col. 3, lines 47- 59). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include this in Ko’s present invention as shown in Fig. 2A – 3 in order to stabilize and improve the electrical characteristics and performance of the semiconductor device (col. 3, lines 54-57).
Ko fails to explicitly teach wherein the corner is formed on the substrate. However, Moon teaches wherein the corner Fig. 3B: 312 is formed on the substrate Fig. 3B: 300. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Ko and Moon for the purpose of providing punch-through isolation without causing a marginal gap filling that will increase stress (col. 4, lines 43-48).
Ko also fails to explicitly teach wherein an upper surface and sidewall of the corner are simultaneously oxidized during the oxidation process to form the round corner. However, Lee teaches wherein an upper surface and sidewall of the corner Fig. 3d: 35a are simultaneously oxidized during the oxidation process to form the round corner Fig. 3e: 35a (para. 28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Lee and Ko’s teachings for the purpose of improving transistor performance and improving reliability of the gate oxide film (para. 16-17).
Regarding claim 3, Ko teaches wherein an etching solution used for the wet etching of the insulating material layer Fig. 2B: STI comprises a hydrofluoric acid solution (col. 4, lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 4, although Ko teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention, Ko fails to explicitly teach wherein a volume ratio of hydrofluoric acid to water in the hydrofluoric acid solution is from 1:5 to 1:100. However, Moon teaches wherein a volume ratio of hydrofluoric acid to water in the hydrofluoric acid solution is from 1:5 to 1:100 (col. 5, lines 24-27 “a wet etchant comprising 50:1 water to HF”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Ko, Lee and Moon for the purpose of removing just enough pad oxide to allow subsequent 2D oxidation of the trench corner to help reduce leakage current (col. 5, lines 13-27).
Regarding claim 5, Ko teaches wherein during the etching of the insulating material layer Fig. 2B: STI, a depth of the side groove Fig. 2B: 372 is controlled by controlling a concentration of an etching solution and a duration of a wet etching process. It is well known in the art that in wet etching, the depth of a groove is indeed controlled by manipulating the concentration of the etchant solution and the duration of the etching process. A higher concentration or longer etching time will generally result in a deeper groove. And as the etchant used in Ko’s invention will not be left on the substrate and insulating material layer indefinitely, it will be obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art to control a concentration and duration of the etching process.
Regarding claim 6, Ko teaches wherein a depth of the side groove Fig. 2B: 372 is from 200A to 400A (col. 4, lines 60-61 “10-2000 angstroms”). Ko teaches a range that includes the depth of the side groove of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Ko teaches the method further comprising forming an anti-oxidation mask Fig. 2A: 314, 316 on the substrate Fig. 2A: 318, wherein a field oxide preparation area is exposed by the anti-oxidation mask Fig. 2A: 314, 316, and a field oxide preparation area comprises a part of the substrate Fig. 2A: 318 that is connected with the trench Fig. 2A: 310 (annotated figure below shows field oxide preparation area).
Regarding claim 8, although Ko teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention as shown in Fig. 2A – 3, Ko’s present invention fails to explicitly teach wherein the forming the anti-oxidation mask on the substrate comprises:
a) forming a photoresist material layer on the substrate; and
b) forming a window in the photoresist material layer through an exposure and development process to form the anti-oxidation mask, wherein the field oxide preparation area is exposed by the window, and the anti- oxidation mask is used to isolate oxygen on the substrate surface to avoid oxidation thereof.
However, Ko, in Figs. 1A-1D discloses wherein the forming the anti-oxidation mask on the substrate comprises:
a) forming a photoresist material layer Fig. 1A: 320 on the substrate Fig. 1A: 318; and
b) forming a window Fig. 1B: 322 (exposure section) in the photoresist material layer Fig. 1B: 320 through an exposure and development process to form the anti-oxidation mask, wherein the field oxide preparation area is exposed by the window Fig. 1B: 322 (col. 3, lines 11-18).
Ko also fails to explicitly teach the anti-oxidation mask is used to isolate oxygen on the substrate surface to avoid oxidation thereof. However, Moon teaches the anti-oxidation mask is used to isolate oxygen on the substrate surface to avoid oxidation thereof (col. 1, lines 19-26 “a silicon nitride mask and pad oxide layer are used to grow field isolation regions…the silicon nitride mask prevents oxidation of the silicon substrate”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Ko and Moon’s teachings to create a semiconductor device with the above limitations for the purpose of growing field isolation regions and preventing the substrate from being oxidized (col. 1, lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 10, Ko teaches wherein after the forming of the field oxide layer Fig. 2D: 330, the side groove Fig. 2B: 372 is fully filled due to an increase of a volume of the field oxide layer Fig. 2D: 330 (Fig. 3 shows the field oxide layer 330 is expanded to full the side groove as circled), and the substrate Fig. 2D: 318 at the corner of the top of the trench is oxidized to form a round corner (col. 4, lines 33-37). Although Ko’s present invention as shown in Fig. 2A – 3 does not explicitly mention the rounded corner formed by the oxidation process, Ko teaches that it is known in the art that the conventional fabrication process, thermal oxidation used to form oxide films may be used to form rounded corners (see col. 3, lines 47-59). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include this in Ko’s present invention as shown in Fig. 2A – 3 in order to stabilize and improve the electrical characteristics and performance of the semiconductor device (col. 3, lines 54-57). Also, Lee teaches wherein an upper surface and sidewall of the corner Fig. 3d: 35a are simultaneously oxidized during the oxidation process to form the round corner Fig. 3e: 35a (para. 28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Lee and Ko’s teachings for the purpose of improving transistor performance and improving reliability of the gate oxide film (para. 16-17).
Regarding claim 13, Ko teaches wherein the substrate Fig. 2D: 318 comprises silicon (col. 4, lines 58-60 “silicon substrate”), and the field oxide layer Fig. 2D: 330 comprises silicon dioxide (col. 5, lines 7-10), but does not explicitly teach the insulating material layer Fig. 2B: STI comprises silicon dioxide (mentions “oxide” col. 4, lines 19-20). However, it is well known in the art that silicon dioxide is used as the material for the insulating material layer (see Shallow Trench Isolation, ScienceDirect, 2001). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an insulating material layer comprising silicon dioxide for the purpose of isolating electrically active regions.
Regarding claim 14, Ko teaches a semiconductor structure Fig. 2D formed by the method of claim 1.
Claims 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (US 7238564 B2), Moon et al. (US 5719085), and Lee (KR 200850067474) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 11024722 B1) and Davies (US 6197640 B1).
Regarding claim 9, although Ko, Moon, and Lee teach substantial features of the claimed invention, they fail to explicitly teach wherein the oxidation process comprises using a high-pressure field oxide furnace tube, and a thickness of the field oxide layer is from 300A to 1000A. However, Davies teaches wherein the oxidation process comprises using a high-pressure field oxide furnace tube (col. 2, lines 38-60) and Wang teaches a thickness of the field oxide layer Fig. 1: 520 is from 300A to 1000A (col. 5, lines 20-23). In col. 5 lines 36-42, Wang teaches that one end portion of the oxide layer 520 may be of a thickness of the first oxide layer 510. Hence teaching a range of 100A to greater than 1000A for the field oxide layer 520. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings for the purpose of having an oxide layer used to reduce the gate-to-drain capacitance and increase frequency response of a MOSFET (Davies, col. 4, lines 24-26; col. 8, lines 19-20), and forming a thick field oxide layer that can facilitate electric field modulation in the substrate and thus improve the device’s voltage resistance (Wang, col. 5, lines10-17).
Regarding claim 11, although Ko, Moon, and Lee teach substantial elements of the claimed invention, they fail to explicitly teach the method further comprising forming a polysilicon layer on the field oxide layer, wherein the polysilicon layer extends to a part of the top surface of the substrate connected with the field oxide layer. However, Wang teaches the method further comprising forming a polysilicon layer Fig. 1: 800 (electrode conductive layer) on the field oxide layer Fig. 1: 520, wherein the polysilicon layer Fig. 1: 800 extends to a part of the surface of the substrate Fig. 1: 100 connected with the field oxide layer Fig. 1: 520 (connection is shown in Fig. 1). It is well known in the art that polysilicon layers are commonly used to create conductive electrode layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings to create a semiconductor device with a polysilicon layer for the purpose of modulating and homogenizing an electric field distribution in the substrate and improving the breakdown voltage (col. 6, lines 11-16).
Regarding claim 12, although Ko, Moon, and Lee teach substantial features of the claimed invention, they fail to explicitly teach the method further comprising removing the anti-oxidation mask before the forming of the polysilicon layer. However, Wang teaches the method further comprising removing the anti-oxidation mask Fig. 3f: 200 before the forming of the polysilicon layer Fig. 3i: 800 (col. 9, lines 60-64, S500). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings and remove the anti-oxidation mask before the forming of the polysilicon layer in order to implant phosphorous, arsenic or boron ions into the substrate to form a P-type well region or an N-type drift region (col. 10, lines 4-10, 47-50).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (US 7238564 B2), Moon et al. (US 5719085), and Lee (KR 200850067474) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (KR 100917106).
Regarding claim 15, although Ko, Moon, and Lee teach the substantial features of claim 1, they fail to explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein the top surface of the insulating material layer remains higher than the top surface of the trench after etching the insulating material layer. However, Choi teaches wherein the top surface of the insulating material layer Fig. 6: 114 remains higher than the top surface of the trench Fig. 2: 108 after etching the insulating material layer (shown in Fig. 6). Choi teaches the reduced etching of high-density plasma oxide film 112 which is then implanted with ion to form the device isolation layer 114. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings for the purpose of suppressing the generation of motes in the corner portion of the upper portion of the trench and prevent a gate oxide film thinning phenomenon at the corner of the trench (para.0028).
Conclusion
/Nkechinyere Esiaba/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 March 27, 2026