The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejection of the previous office action, not repeated below are withdrawn. Responses to arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to.
Claim 1-18 and 20-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 10, at least one of the first and second nanotube materials must be carbon as claim 8 requires them to be formed using a metal or metal containing catalyst and the only materials disclosed as using these catalysts use a carbon source gas (see prepub at [0043])
In claim 1-7 and 21, the first nanotube material must be a carbon based materials as claim 1 requires them to be formed using a metal or metal containing catalyst and the only materials disclosed as using these catalysts use a carbon source gas (see prepub at [0043]) and they are described as graphitic in the recitation of claim 1.
In claim 8-15, the first nanotube material must be a carbon based materials as claim 8 requires them to be formed using a metal or metal containing catalyst and the only materials disclosed as using these catalysts use a carbon source gas (see prepub at [0043]).
In claim 16-18 and 20, the first nanotube material must be a carbon based materials as claim 16 describes then as graphitic in the recitation.
Claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853, in view of Timmermans et al. 20180329291.
Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 in figure 4 shows SEM images of mostly continuous ALD coatings on a film of DWCNTs pre-treated with UV-ozone. The left and pre-coated by e-beam evaporation. Fig. 5 shows by way of example SEM images of two types of mostly continuous coatings (left and center view) and a partial coating (right view)
The film may be formed by a network of overlapping/crossing bundles of CNTs. At least some of the CNT bundles of the film may be mutually bonded (i.e. at overlaps I crossings). A “CNT bundle” as used herein refers to a number of aligned and intertwined CNTs (which may be single-, double- or multi-walled). The CNTs of a bundle may further be bonded to each other by Van der Waals-type bonding. The bonding between CNTs of crossing bundles may be of a Van der Waals-type or of a cross-linking type (e.g. covalently cross-linked) (3/13-20).
An average number of CNTs per bundle of at least 5 may contribute to an improved mechanical stability of the pellicle membrane, as well as an improved expected lifetime by enabling the pellicle membrane to withstand an increased number of cycles or amount of time in the hydrogen environment typical for EUVL scanners (2/21-25).
The presence of SWCNTs and/or DWCNTs may contribute to favorable structural and optical properties (e.g. high EUV transmission and low scattering). The MWCNTs may contribute to an increased heat dissipation. Since thermal emissivity is dependent on the size and shape of the object, the heat dissipation of the MWCNTs may be expected to exceed the heat dissipation of the SWCNTs or DWCNTs. The greater wall count of MWCNTs may further contribute to an increased lifetime of the pellicle membrane. Providing the MWCNTs in minority (by weight%) may further ensure that the target areal density range and CNT per bundle range is not exceeded (4/13-22).
A coating may make the CNT membrane less sensitive to exposure to the hydrogen plasma in the scanner atmosphere. This may enable an acceptable lifetime also for pellicle membranes with lower average bundle count and diameter, and lower CNT wall count, such that flare still may be controlled.
As may be seen from the tables, a higher source power motivates a less thick coating, to limit scattering and transmission loss. The refractive index (n) and the extinction coefficient (k) of the coating are material dependent properties, related strongly to transmission loss and scattering. The composition of the coating should hence be selected such that the above stated ranges of n and k are met. The coating material may generally be selected as any material which may provide sufficient protection of the CNTs against the hydrogen atmosphere, and enable an outer coating with sufficient EUV transmission. The coating material may be selected from the group of: Al, B, C, Hf, La, Mo, Nb, Ru, Si, Ti, Y, or Zr; or carbides, nitrides or oxides thereof, as well as their combinations (e.g. yttrium aluminum oxide or yttria-stabilized zirconia). The coating material may be deposited by e.g. atomic layer deposition (ALD), such as thermal ALD a plasma-enhanced ALD (21/15-22/8).
The coating may be a composite-layer coating comprising an outer coating (e.g. of any of the coating materials listed above), and an inner precoating or seed layer formed prior to depositing the outer coating. The seed material may generally be selected as any material which may provide a seeding function for the subsequent deposition of the outer coating. The seed material may for example be selected from the following group of: C, Zr, Zr.sub.xOy, ZrN, Hf, Hf.sub.xO.sub.y, HfN, B, B.sub.4C, BN, Y, Y.sub.xO.sub.y, YN, YF.sub.3, YOF, La, LaN, SiC, SiN, Ti, TiN, W, Be, Au, Ru, Al, Al.sub.xO.sub.y, Mo, MoN, Sr, Nb, Sc, Ca, Ni, Ni-P, Ni- B, Cu, Ag. The seed material may be deposited e.g. by PVD techniques such as e-beam evaporation, thermal evaporation (i.e. non-e-beam techniques such as thermal evaporation by resistive heating evaporation or molecular beam epitaxy) or remote plasma sputtering. A seed layer quality may be improved by limiting a deposition rate, e.g. 0.7 angstroms/s or lower (22/9-21).
According to embodiments of a coated pellicle membrane, a coating of the pellicle membrane may comprise a coating material selected from the group of Al, B, C, Hf, La, Mo, Nb, Ru, Si, Ti, Y, or Zr; or carbides, nitrides, oxides or fluorides thereof, as well as their combinations (e.g. yttrium aluminum oxide, ZrAIOx, yttria-stabilized zirconia, YSZ, yttrium oxyfluoride, YOF).
According to embodiments, the coating may further comprise a seed material selected from the group of: C, Zr, Zr.sub.xO.sub.y, ZrN, Hf, Hf.sub.xO.sub.y, HfN, B, B4C, BN, Y, Y.sub.xO.sub.y, YN, YF.sub.Z, YOF, La, LaN, SiC, SiN, Ti, TiN, W, Be, Au, Ru, Al, Al.sub.xO.sub.y, Mo, MoN, Sr, Nb, Sc, Ca, Ni, Ni-P, Ni-B, Cu, Ag, and wherein the seed material forms a seed layer on the film of CNT bundles and the coating material forms an outer coating layer on the seed layer. These materials may provide a seeding function for a broad class of materials which may be deposited by ALD and which may form an outer coating with sufficient reliability and EUV transmission. Advantageously, the seed material and the coating material may be selected from the group of: Y seed material and Y.sub.xO.sub.y, YF.sub.Z, YOF coating materials, Zr or Zr oxide seed material and Zr.sub.xO.sub.y coating materials; B or B oxide seed material and Zr.sub.xO.sub.y coating material, Hf.sub.xO.sub.y coating material or Al.sub.xO.sub.y coating material; B4C seed material and Zr.sub.xO.sub.y coating material, Hf.sub.xO.sub.y coating material or Al.sub.xO.sub.y coating material; Zr or Zr.sub.xO.sub.y seed material and Al.sub.xO.sub.y coating material; Zr seed material and ZrAIO.sub.x coating material; Al.sub.xO.sub.y seed material and Y.sub.xO.sub.y, YF.sub.Z, Zr.sub.xO.sub.y or Hf.sub.xO.sub.y coating materials; Mo seed material and Zr.sub.xO.sub.y coating material (6/4-7/2).
Pre-treatment (or functionalization) of the CNT membrane, for example oxidation via UV-ozone exposure or anneal in a specific atmosphere, could also be applied prior to the coating with or without a seed layer. The membrane 10 (which may be coated) and the border 16 are assembled with a pellicle frame 18 (as indicated by step S14) to form the pellicle 20. The border 16 may be attached to the frame 18 for instance by an adhesive, by cold-welding or by some mechanical fixation structures such as clamps. The frame 18 may for instance be formed by Si, SiN, SiO2 or quartz. However other materials are also possible, such as metal, plastic or ceramic materials. It is also an option to omit a border and instead directly assemble the membrane 12 with the pellicle frame 18, for instance by directly attaching the membrane 12 to the frame 18 using an adhesive (9/29-10/9).
Tables III-VII exemplify 10-21 DWCNT/bundle, 3-12 MWCNT/bundles and 26 mixed CNTs/bundle
In the solvent-based approach, CNTs (e.g. synthesized using arc discharge, laser ablation or CVD) may be dispersed in a liquid solvent, such as water with an addition of a surfactant, and after bundling in liquid phase, be collected via vacuum filtration on e.g. a filtration membrane. The CNT film may subsequently be transferred to a border (e.g. the border 16). The types of CNTs forming the bundles (e.g. single- or mixed-type bundles) may be determined by the composition of CNTs in the dispersion (13/10-16).
Step S12 indicates an optional step of coating the film 12 to form a coated membrane 10. As will be disclosed in greater detail below, the coating process may comprise a pre-coating step and a subsequent second coating step to form a coated membrane having a coating 14 with a degree of coverage and uniformity desirable for ELIVL applications. However, a coating process omitting a pre-coating step is also possible. The coating 14 may as shown be formed on one or both sides 12a, 12b of the film 12 (9/15-21).
Timmermans et al. 20180329291 teaches pressing uncoated carbon nanotubes or carbon nanotube bundles with a pressure of 10-30 GPa to facilitate bonding between overlapping CNTs The bonding will take place directly between the CNTs 110 of the CNT film 104. Direct bonds, for instance co-valent bonds, may form between carbon atoms of overlapping CNTs of the CNT film 104 [0068]. The membrane can be formed of MWCNTs [0070]. To further facilitate the formation of the bonds, the CNT pellicle membrane 102 and the pellicle frame 202 may be heated while being pressed against each other. The CNT pellicle membrane 102 and the pellicle frame 202 may for example be heated to a temperature within the range of 200 to 500° C. while applying the pressure. In an example embodiment, the CNT pellicle membrane 102 and the pellicle frame 202 may be heated to a temperature below 300° C. while applying the pressure [0085,0067]. A coating is formed on the CNT pellicle membrane 102. The coating may be formed on the CNT pellicle membrane 102 in a manner as described above. The coating may be formed prior to or subsequent to the pressing of the CNT film 104, also as described above [0077]. The individual CNTs 110 (or bundles 110) of the CNT film 104 may be coated with a coating, not shown. The coating may be a metal coating of Mo. The coating may at least partially cover the CNTs 110 in the sense that the individual CNTs or the bundles are partially or completely enclosed by the coating, while still forming network of partially free CNTs within the CNT film 104, as depicted in FIG. 1. In an example embodiment, a thickness of the coating on the CNTs 110 may be within the range 1 nm to 30 nm, as this may form a reliable protection of the CNTS of the CNT film 104 from process conditions during use. In other embodiments, a coating thickness in the range of 1 to 10 nm may be used to enable both a reliable protection and a sufficient transmission to EUV radiation. The coating may be formed using any suitable technique as is known in the art, for instance by physical vapor deposition (“PVD”), chemical vapor deposition (“CVD”) or atomic layer deposition (“ALD”). Other examples of suitable coatings include B, B4C, ZrN, Ru, SiC, TiN, a-C, and graphene coatings to give a few examples. In other words, coatings of the above material may equally well be used in the above example. For EUV applications, suitable coatings could include coatings which exhibit a limited absorption of extreme ultraviolet light [0060-0061]. Accordingly, the present disclosure enables a method of forming a forming a pellicle for extreme ultraviolet lithography where the so formed pellicle exhibits a relatively high mechanical strength and low EUV light absorption. EUV light may have a wavelength in the range of 1 nm to 40 nm. More specifically, the CNT pellicle membrane of the pellicle formed according to the present disclosure may be reliable fixed or mounted to the pellicle frame of the pellicle. Moreover, by bonding together the coating of the CNT pellicle membrane and the pellicle support surface a durable bond which remains strong over time may be achieved. The so formed bond may be considered as clean in the sense that it is less prone to releasing particles, species and other elements which may contaminate e.g., a EUV scanner, as compared to standard attachment procedures relying on the use of conventional adhesives [0011].
Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 does not exemplify treating the CNT pellicle to induce direct/covalent bonding between the carbon nanotubes.
With respect to claims 16-18 and 20, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figure 4 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by pressing the uncoated DWCNTs as taught by Timmermans et al. 20180329291 at [0068,0070] to form a pellicle with high mechanical strength due to the bonding as taught at [0011] of Timmermans et al. 20180329291, noting the direction to covalent bonding between CNTs of crossing bundles of a cross-linking type (e.g. covalently cross-linked) (3/13-20) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 and then forming the SiC,, ZrO,or ZrO2, seed/inner coating as discussed at 6/15-18 and 22/9-17 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 followed by a BN or h-BN outer coating as taught at 6/9-14 and 22/4-6 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853and attaching the pellicle to the frame as taught by Timmermans et al. 20180329291.
In the response of 4/10/2026, the applicant argued that the claim 16 not required the nanotube bundles to be wrapped by a specific second nanotube material and a third nanotube material which is boron nitride. This overcomes the previous statement of obviousness in the previous action as they relied upon the Zr/ZrO2 coatings to be the second and third coatings. In the advisory of 4/21/2026, the examiner believed that the amendment seemed to overcome rejection based upon these two references. The examiner has reviewed their teachings more closely, particularly the discussion of an outer protective coating together with a seed/inner coating, where the seed layer/inner coating can be selected from the following group of: C, Zr, Zr.sub.xOy, ZrN, Hf, Hf.sub.xO.sub.y, HfN, B, B.sub.4C, BN, Y, Y.sub.xO.sub.y, YN, YF.sub.3, YOF, La, LaN, SiC, SiN, Ti, TiN, W, Be, Au, Ru, Al, Al.sub.xO.sub.y, Mo, MoN, Sr, Nb, Sc, Ca, Ni, Ni-P, Ni- B, Cu, Ag and the (outer) coating material may be selected from the group of: Al, B, C, Hf, La, Mo, Nb, Ru, Si, Ti, Y, or Zr; or carbides, nitrides or oxides thereof, as well as their combinations as discussed on pages 6 and 21-22 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853. As metal catalysts were not used in the production of the CNTs, there are no residual metals or metal containing catalysts.
Claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knisley et al. 20240248391, in view of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853, Timmermans et al. 20180329291.
Knisley et al. 20240248391 teaches a carbon nanotube bundle comprises individual carbon nanotubes aligned along a predominant direction to form bundles. In some embodiments, the individual carbon nanotubes comprise or consist of single-walled carbon nanotubes. In some embodiments, the individual nanotubes comprise or consist of multi-walled carbon nanotubes. Such carbon nanotube bundles can form spontaneously during manufacture of carbon nanotube sheets or membranes, such as those available from Canatu, Vantaa, Finland. The carbon nanotube membrane may contain up to 1 atomic percent iron, which may comprise nanoparticles of iron [0033]. Knisley et al. teaches exposing the CNT membrane to a first gas and exposing the CNT membrane to a gas at 312 to form a nucleation layer at 314. Next, a protective material layer is deposited on the CNT membrane, which bonds to the nucleation layer. It was determined that the nucleation layer formation was instrumental in forming a protective layer that met one or more of the requirements described herein. For example, the protective material layer on the nucleation layer exhibits greater than 90% transmission of 13.5 nm EUV light. In some embodiments, the EUV pellicle exhibits greater than 91%, 92%, 93%, 94%, 95%, 96% or 97%. The protective coating of one or more embodiments does not degrade transmission of EUV light through the EUV pellicle at 13.5 nm more than 3% compared to an uncoated EUV pellicle. The protective coating of some embodiments provides high resistance to hydrogen plasma to protect the CNT membrane from EUV-active and EUV chamber cleaning processes. The coating of one or more embodiments remains pliable and reduces sag of the CNT membrane. According to some embodiments, the protective coated CNT membrane survives temperatures exceeding 1200° C., and the protective coating enhances emissivity of the CNT membrane. Emissivity at EUV wavelengths such as 13.5 nm refers to the ability of the CNT membrane to withstand a rapid heating and cooling process in the EUV lithography system. In one or more embodiments, the protective coating is conformal, and the protective coating minimizes process-induced damage to the CNT membrane [0034]. The protective material layer according to one or more embodiments comprises a material selected from the group consisting of molybdenum (Al), aluminum nitride (AlN), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), boron carbide (B.sub.4C), boron nitride (BN), molybdenum (Mo), molybdenum silicide (MoSi.sub.2), molybdenum carbide (MoC, Mo.sub.2C), ruthenium (Ru), ruthenium niobium alloy (RuNb), ruthenium oxide (RuO, RuO.sub.2), tantalum nitride (TaN), tantalum (Ta), yttrium nitride (YN), zirconium boride (ZrB.sub.2), zirconium silicide (ZrSi.sub.2), and silicon carbide (SiC). Each of the aforementioned coatings have high transmission at 13.5 nm. Materials with low emissivity are also desired, so that the EUV pellicle is able to withstand fast heating and cooling processes encountered in an system or tool or scanner as shown in FIG. 2. In specific embodiments, a Mo coating having a thickness of less than 4 nm provides high transmission and low emissivity at 13.5 nm. A B.sub.4C having a thickness of less than 4 nm provides high transmission and low emissivity at 13.5 nm. A BN coating having a thickness of less than 3 nm provides high transmission and low emissivity at 13.5 nm. A MoSi coating having a thickness of less than 3 nm provides high transmission and low emissivity at 13.5 nm. A SiN coating having a thickness of less than 2 nm provides high transmission and low emissivity at 13.5 nm. A Ru coating having a thickness of less than 2 nm provides high transmission and low emissivity at 13.5 nm. A MoC coating having a thickness of less than 4 nm provides high transmission and low emissivity at 13.5 nm. Each of these coatings has a minimum thickness of 0.1 nm. In some embodiments, a monolayer of Al.sub.2O.sub.3 can be utilized. In addition, each of these coatings provides protection to the CNT membrane during EUV processes [0037-0038]. The thin membrane is mounted on a frame and fixed to the photomask [0004].
Knisley et al. 20240248391 does not exemplify an embodiment where the bundles of multiwalled nanotubes are coated with a protective coating and then attached to a frame.
It would have been obvious to modify teachings of by forming the shells over bundles of oriented multiwalled nanotubes as taught at [0033] of Knisley et al. 20240248391 by heating and pressing the MWCNTs as taught by Timmermans et al. 20180329291 to improve the strength of the pellicle, coating the result with an ALD coating of SiC, followed by BN as taught by Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 and Knisley et al. 20240248391 and mounting the resulting pellicle membrane on a frame as in [0004] of Knisley et al. 20240248391
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853, in view of Timmermans et al. 20180329291, further in view of Nam et al. KR 20180103775 and Kuiper WO 2023043682
Nam et al. KR 20180103775 (machine translation attached) teaches the formation of carbon nanotubes using iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni) and the like catalyst metal are first formed as a layer to have proper thickness on the SOI substrate. According to the present disclosure, a radio frequency (RF) magnetron sputtering method is used in forming an iron (Fe) layer to have a proper thickness. Then, the substrate with the catalyst metal put into a reaction furnace of a thermal CVD system and subjected to a thermal process. Then, the carbon nano tube is grown at high temperature while carbon gas is injected into the reaction furnace after forming the catalyst metal into fine-sized nano particles. Even in case of using the graphene, when the reinforcement layer 110 is fabricated by the same method as that of using carbon nano tube [0053]. Further, the method further includes a step of performing a heat treatment on the pellicle after the formation of Figs. 1 and 2 (a), or after the formation of Figs. 1 and 2 (b). The heat treatment is performed at a temperature of 300 ° C to 1000 ° C using a hot plate, an electric furnace, ultraviolet (EUV), extreme ultraviolet (EUV), or rapid thermal annealing (Rapid Thermal Annealing) [0091].
Kuiper WO 2023043682 teaches ALD reactors, which include single wafer ALD reactor, semi-batch ALD reactor, or batch furnace ALD reactor [0042].
The combination of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 and Timmermans et al. 20180329291 does not describe the use of Ni, Fe or Co catalysts, or the heating of the pellicle to 1000-1200 degrees C in a furnace.
With respect to claims 1-8,10-11,13,15 and 21 ,it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figure 4 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by pressing the uncoated DWCNTs as taught by Timmermans et al. 20180329291 at [0068,0070] to form a pellicle with high mechanical strength due to the bonding as taught at [0011] of Timmermans et al. 20180329291, noting the direction to covalent bonding between CNTs of crossing bundles of a cross-linking type (e.g. covalently cross-linked) (3/13-20) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by using known methods for forming carbon nanotubes useful in EUV pellicles such as the Ni, Fe or cobalt based catalyst taught in Nam et al. KR 20180103775 at [0053] and then subjecting the CNT pellicle film to heating using an electric furnace (which is a mode of joule heating) based upon this being known in the art from the teachings at [0091] of Nam et al. KR 20180103775 where the ALD coating processes coating the Zr and ZrO/ZrO2 use thermal ALD as discussed at (21/15-22/8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 in a furnace as taught in Kuiper WO 2023043682 at [0042], noting the prior use of furnaces in thermal CVD processes used to form CNTs in Nam et al. KR 20180103775 at [0083] with a reasonable expectation of forming CNTs useful in the pellicle.
With respect to claims 1-11,13-15 and 21, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figure 4 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by pressing the uncoated DWCNTs as taught by Timmermans et al. 20180329291 at [0068,0070] to form a pellicle with high mechanical strength due to the bonding as taught at [0011] of Timmermans et al. 20180329291, noting the direction to covalent bonding between CNTs of crossing bundles of a cross-linking type (e.g. covalently cross-linked) (3/13-20) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by using known methods for forming carbon nanotubes useful in EUV pellicles such as the Ni, Fe or cobalt based catalyst taught in Nam et al. KR 20180103775 at [0053] and then subjecting the CNT pellicle film to heating using an electric furnace (which is a mode of joule heating) based upon this being known in the art from the teachings at [0091] of Nam et al. KR 20180103775 where the ALD coating processes coat SiC, BN or B/BN taught at 6/9-18 and 22/9-32 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 using thermal ALD as discussed at (21/15-22/8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 in a furnace as taught in Kuiper WO 2023043682 at [0042], noting the prior use of furnaces in thermal CVD processes used to form CNTs in Nam et al. KR 20180103775 at [0083] with a reasonable expectation of forming CNTs useful in the pellicle.
With respect to claims 1-8,10-13,15 and 21 ,it would have been obvious to one skilled in art to modify the process taught with respect to figure 4 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by pressing the uncoated DWCNTs as taught by Timmermans et al. 20180329291 at [0068,0070] to form a pellicle with high mechanical strength due to the bonding as taught at [0011] of Timmermans et al. 20180329291, noting the direction to covalent bonding between CNTs of crossing bundles of a cross-linking type (e.g. covalently cross-linked) (3/13-20) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by using known methods for forming carbon nanotubes useful in EUV pellicles such as the Ni, Fe or cobalt based catalyst taught in Nam et al. KR 20180103775 at [0053] and then subjecting the CNT pellicle film to heating at about 900-1000 degrees C using an electric furnace (which is a mode of joule heating) based upon this being known in the art from the teachings at [0091] of Nam et al. KR 20180103775 where the ALD coating processes coating the Zr and ZrO/ZrO2 use thermal ALD as discussed at (21/15-22/8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 in a furnace as taught in Kuiper WO 2023043682 at [0042], noting the prior use of furnaces in thermal CVD processes used to form CNTs in Nam et al. KR 20180103775 at [0083] with a reasonable expectation of forming CNTs useful in the pellicle.
With respect to claims 1-15 and 21, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figure 4 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by pressing the uncoated DWCNTs as taught by Timmermans et al. 20180329291 at [0068,0070] to form a pellicle with high mechanical strength due to the bonding as taught at [0011] of Timmermans et al. 20180329291, noting the direction to covalent bonding between CNTs of crossing bundles of a cross-linking type (e.g. covalently cross-linked) (3/13-20) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by using known methods for forming carbon nanotubes useful in EUV pellicles such as the Ni, Fe or cobalt based catalyst taught in Nam et al. KR 20180103775 at [0053] and then subjecting the CNT pellicle film to heating at about 900-1000 degrees C using an electric furnace (which is a mode of joule heating) based upon this being known in the art from the teachings at [0091] of Nam et al. KR 20180103775 where the ALD coating processes coat SiC, BN or B/BN taught at 6/9-18 and 22/9-32 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 using thermal ALD as discussed at (21/15-22/8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 in a furnace as taught in Kuiper WO 2023043682 at [0042], noting the prior use of furnaces in thermal CVD processes used to form CNTs in Nam et al. KR 20180103775 at [0083] with a reasonable expectation of forming CNTs useful in the pellicle.
With respect to claims 1-18 and 20-21, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process taught with respect to figure 4 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by pressing the uncoated DWCNTs as taught by Timmermans et al. 20180329291 at [0068,0070] to form a pellicle with high mechanical strength due to the bonding as taught at [0011] of Timmermans et al. 20180329291, noting the direction to covalent bonding between CNTs of crossing bundles of a cross-linking type (e.g. covalently cross-linked) (3/13-20) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by using known methods for forming carbon nanotubes useful in EUV pellicles such as the Ni, Fe or cobalt based catalyst taught in Nam et al. KR 20180103775 at [0053] and then subjecting the CNT pellicle film to heating at about 900-1000 degrees C using an electric furnace (which is a mode of joule heating) based upon this being known in the art from the teachings at [0091] of Nam et al. KR 20180103775 where the ALD coating processes coat SiC,or ZrO2, followed by BN as taught at 6/9-18 and 22/9-32 of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 using thermal ALD as discussed at (21/15-22/8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 in a furnace as taught in Kuiper WO 2023043682 at [0042], noting the prior use of furnaces in thermal CVD processes used to form CNTs in Nam et al. KR 20180103775 at [0083] with a reasonable expectation of forming CNTs useful in the pellicle.
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853, in view of Timmermans et al. 20180329291, Nam et al. KR 20180103775 and Kuiper WO 2023043682, further in view of Hsu et al. 20220244634.
Hsu et al. 20220244634 describes a plurality of individual nanotubes 214 form a bundle (i.e., a string or rope-like structure). As a result, the porous thin film 212 includes a network of a plurality of bundles of nanotubes 214. A nanotube bundle may include, for example, 2-20 individual nanotubes 214. In a nanotube bundle, individual nanotubes 214 may be aligned and joined along their longitudinal directions. Nanotubes 214 of a bundle may also be joined end-to-end such that the length of the nanotube bundle is greater than the length of the individual nanotubes. The nanotubes 214 may typically be joined by van der Waals forces [0023]. In some embodiments, the nanotube core 214A is formed of a carbon nanotube, including both single wall carbon nanotube (SWCNT) and multiwall carbon nanotube (MWCNT) [0026]. The nanotube shell 214B includes a material having high resistance to oxidation and chemicals. The nanotube shell 214B thus helps to protect the nanotube core 214A from the attack by UV or EUV light and ionized gases that come in contact with the nanotube shell 214B, e.g., H+ gas. The nanotube shell 214B also serves as a thermal conductive layer which promotes the transfer of the thermal energy from the nanotube core 214A to the environment around the pellicle membrane 210. In some embodiments, the nanotube shell 214B includes a low extinction coefficient material to ensure sufficient transmission of UV or EUV light. In some embodiments, the shell material (i.e., second material) may have an extinction coefficient less than or equal to 0.02. In some embodiments, the shell material allows for the transmission of 80% or more, 85% or more, 90% or more, 95% or more of the radiation to the photomask. In some embodiments, the nanotube shell 214B may include boron nitride (BN), boron (B), boron carbide (B4C), boron carbon nitride (BCN), silicon nitride (SiN), silicon carbide (SiC), silicon boron nitride (SiBN), or silicon boron carbide (BC). In some embodiments, the nanotube shell 214B is formed of a single wall boron nitride nanotube (BNNT). In some other embodiments, the nanotube shell 214B is formed of a multiwall BNNT. The thickness of the nanotube shell 214B is controlled so that the nanotube shell 214B does not degrade the transparence of the pellicle membrane 210 to UV or EUV light while providing a reliable protection to the nanotube core 214A. In some embodiments, the nanotube shell 214B may have a thickness ranging from about 1 nm to about 10 nm. If the thickness of the nanotube shell 214B is too small, sufficient protection to the nanotube core 214A from attack by UV or EUV radiation or chemicals is not sufficient, in some instances. If the thickness of the nanotube shell 214B is too great, the transparence of the pellicle membrane 210 is degraded, in some instances. In some embodiments, the nanotube shell 214 has a thickness of 5 nm with a variation of 10% or less. In some embodiments, the nanotubes 214 may be formed by growth of one or more nanotubes of a first material inside of a nanotube template of a second material. The nanotube template of the second material acts as an encapsulating shell in which the confined second material can be restructured into at least one nanotube of the first material. The dimension of the nanotube core 214A thus is restricted by the dimension of the nanotube shell 214B. In some embodiments, the nanotube shell 214B is formed by plasma arc discharge, laser vaporization, ball-milling, laser ablation, or thermal plasma jet. The coalescence of molecules of the first material into the nanotube core inside the nanotube shell 214B may be achieved by electron beam irradiation or heat treatment [0027-0028]
In some embodiments, the nanotubes 214 may alternatively be formed by coating a nanotube core 214A with a shell material. In some embodiments, the nanotube core 214A may be formed by plasma arc discharge, laser vaporization, ball-milling, laser ablation, or thermal plasma jet. The deposition of the shell material that provides the nanotube shell 214B may be performed using a deposition process such as, for example, ion bean deposition, chemical vapor deposition (CVD), plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD), physical vapor deposition (PVD), or atomic layer deposition (ALD). During the deposition, the stage may be rotated or titled to ensure conformal and uniform deposition of the shell material onto the nanotube core 214A. In some embodiments and when the nanotube shell 214B includes BN, the BN shell can be formed by CVD by flowing boron (e.g., boron oxide B.sub.2O.sub.3 or boric acid H.sub.3BO.sub.3) and nitrogen (e.g., nitrogen N.sub.2, ammonia NH.sub.3, or urea CO(NH.sub.2).sub.2) precursors into a reaction chamber. In some other embodiments, the BN shell can be formed by CVD by flowing boron trihalides (boron trichloride BCl.sub.3 or boron trifluoride BF.sub.3) with N.sub.2 or NH.sub.3, diborane B.sub.2H.sub.6 with NH.sub.3, and single source precursors such as borazine B.sub.3H.sub.6N.sub.3 or ammonia borane H.sub.3NBH.sub.3. In some embodiments, the CVD may be performed at a temperature ranging from about 500° C. to about 1200 [0029]. In some embodiments, the porous thin film 212 may be formed by first forming a suspension of nanotubes 214 in a liquid medium. In some embodiments, the suspension is formed by adding nanotubes 214 into the liquid medium under mixing conditions. The mixture is then sonicated to ensure the nanotubes 214 are well dispersed in the liquid medium. The liquid medium is a non-solvent liquid medium that is non-reactive with the nanotubes 214 and in which the nanotubes 214 are virtually insoluble. The liquid medium also has a low boiling point so that the liquid medium can be easily and quickly removed, facilitating drying of the continuous nanotube network subsequently formed. Examples of suitable non-solvent liquid medium that can be used to make the nanotube suspension include, but are not limited to, water, volatile organic liquids such as acetone, ethanol, methanol, n-hexane, ether, acetonitrile, chloroform, DMF, and mixtures thereof. In some embodiments, the suspension is formed by dispersing nanotubes 214 into water. In some embodiments, the suspension may also include a surfactant to maintain the suspension and/or other chemical agents to facilitate nanotube network formation or dewatering. For example, Triton X-100 and dodecylbenzenesulfonic acid sodium salt may be used. However, sometimes, a surfactant may not be needed if the nanotube 214 can form a stable suspension in the liquid medium without it The concentration of nanotubes 214 in the suspension is controlled to facilitate dispersion and minimize agglomeration of nanotubes 214. In some embodiments, the concentration of nanotubes 214 in the suspension is less than 500 mg/L. In some embodiments, the concentration of nanotubes 214 in the suspension is from about 25 mg/L to about 150 mg/L. In some embodiments, the concentration of nanotubes 214 in the suspension is from about 40 mg/L to about 100 mg/L [0030-0032]. Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2D, the method proceeds to operation 108, in which an assembly of the pellicle membrane 210 and the pellicle border 220 is attached to a pellicle frame 230, in accordance with some embodiments. FIG. 2D is a cross-sectional view of the mask pellicle system 200 of FIG. 2C after attaching the assembly of the pellicle membrane 210 and the pellicle border 220 to the pellicle frame 230, in accordance with some embodiments.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to one skilled int eh art to modify the pellicle or processes of forming them rendered obvious by the combination of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853, Timmermans et al. 20180329291, Nam et al. KR 20180103775 and Kuiper WO 2023043682 by using other protective coatings known in the art, such as the hexagonal BN of BNN\T taught by Hsu et al. 20220244634 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nikipelov et al. WO 2021037662 teaches heating means may include one or more resistive heating elements. Resistive heating elements rely on the passage of electrical current through a material. Since the pellicle membrane preferably includes carbon nanotubes, these carbon nanotubes may serve as the resistive heating elements. As such, a current source can be attached to the pellicle membrane and the current passing through the membrane will cause it to heat up and drive off adsorbed atomic hydrogen [00092].
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 July 24, 2026