DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/13/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISPLAY DEVICE WITH ACTIVE LAYER OPENING PARTS AND METHOD OF MANUFACTURING THE SAME.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-25) in the reply filed on 11/19/2025 is acknowledged.
A. Claims 26-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/19/2025.
Claim Objections
The applicant has not presented a 37 CFR 1.121(c) compliant version of the claims relative to the restriction election of 11/19/2025. The claims are, therefore, being objected to.
Claim Status
Claims 1-25 are currently being examined. Claim 26-28 are withdrawn by restriction (see above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 19-20; and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAN et al (US 2022/0069260 A1, hereafter Han) in view of CHEN (US 2023/0343837 A1, hereafter Chen) and SAITO et al (US 2011/0042674 A1, hereafter Saito).
Re claim 1, Han discloses in FIG. 2 a display device (100) comprising:
a first conducive layer (134/136; [0039]) disposed on a base part (110; [0045]) and including a first wiring (134; [0045]) and a second wiring (136; [0045]) spaced apart (separated) from each other;
a semiconductor layer (126; [0067]) disposed on (above) the first conductive layer (134) and including:
a first semiconductor part (part of 126 under 128);
a second semiconductor part (part of 126 left of 128) disposed on a first side (left end) of the first semiconductor part (part of 126 under 128) in a first direction (laterally); and
a third semiconductor part (part of 126 right of 128) disposed on a second side (right end) of the first semiconductor part (part of 126 under 128) in the first direction (laterally);
a gate insulating layer (128; [0047]) disposed on the semiconductor layer (126); and
a second conductive layer (130/212/214; [0049]) disposed on the gate insulating layer (128) and including:
a gate electrode (130; [0049]) overlapping the first semiconductor part (part of 126 under 128) in a thickness direction (vertically) of the base part (110);
a first connecting electrode (212; [0049]) overlapping the second semiconductor part (part of 126 left of 128) in the thickness direction (vertically); and
a second connecting electrode (214; [0049]) overlapping the third semiconductor part (part of 126 right of 128) in the thickness direction (vertically), wherein the first connecting electrode (212) is directly connected to (contacts; [0054]) the second semiconductor part (part of 126 left of 128), the second connecting electrode (214) is directly connected to (contacts; [0054]) the third semiconductor part (part of 126 right of 128).
A. Han fails to disclose the second semiconductor part includes a semiconductor opening penetrating the second semiconductor part in the thickness direction, the third semiconductor part includes a semiconductor opening penetrating the third semiconductor part in the thickness direction; and the first connecting electrode includes a (1-1)-th connecting electrode and (1-2)-th connecting electrodes electrically connected to each other, a width of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes in a second direction intersecting the first direction is less than a width of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode in the second direction, and the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes protrude from a side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode toward the semiconductor openings.
However,
Chen discloses in FIGS. 2-3 a display device (1) comprising: a second semiconductor part (212A1; [0075]) includes a semiconductor opening (212C1; [0075]) penetrating the second semiconductor part (212A1) in a thickness direction (vertically), and a third semiconductor part (212A2; [0075]) includes a semiconductor opening (212C2; [0075]) penetrating the third semiconductor part (212A2) in the thickness direction (vertically).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Han by adding the semiconductor openings of Chen, such that the second semiconductor part includes a semiconductor opening penetrating the second semiconductor part in the thickness direction, the third semiconductor part includes a semiconductor opening penetrating the third semiconductor part in the thickness direction, in order to reduce an overall surface of the semiconductor layer, thereby reducing diffusion of carriers to the semiconductor layer, and improving stability of the thin film transistor layer (Chen; [0049] and [0065]).
B. Han and Chen fail to disclose the first connecting electrode includes a (1-1)-th connecting electrode and (1-2)-th connecting electrodes electrically connected to each other, a width of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes in a second direction intersecting the first direction is less than a width of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode in the second direction, and the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes protrude from a side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode toward the semiconductor openings.
However,
Saito discloses in FIG. 36-1 a display device (121) comprising: a first connecting electrode (122; [0273]) includes a (1-1)-th connecting electrode (portion of 122 at W) and (1-2)-th connecting electrodes (portions of 122 at 122a; [0273]) electrically connected (integral) to each other, a width (W minus Wb; [0276]) of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes (portions of 122 at 122a) in a second direction (vertically) intersecting a first direction (laterally) is less than ([0276]) a width (W; [0276]) of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode (portion of 122 at W) in the second direction (vertically), and the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes (portions of 122 at 122a) protrude (Wa; [0276]) from a side (at vertical part of 122a) of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode (portion of 122 at W) toward a third semiconductor part (18; [0273]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Han and Chen by adding the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes of Saito, such that the first connecting electrode includes a (1-1)-th connecting electrode and (1-2)-th connecting electrodes electrically connected to each other, a width of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes in a second direction intersecting the first direction is less than a width of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode in the second direction, and the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes protrude from a side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode toward the semiconductor openings, to reduce a value of on-state current of device TFTs (Saito; [0286]).
Re claims 2-4, Han and Chen and Saito disclose the display device of claim 1.
But, fail to explicitly disclose wherein the second semiconductor part includes a (2-1)-th semiconductor part, which extends in the first direction, and the (2-1)-th semiconductor part includes: the semiconductor opening of the second semiconductor part; a first-side semiconductor part disposed on a first side of the semiconductor opening of the second semiconductor part in the first direction; a (2-1-1)-th semiconductor part disposed on a second side of the semiconductor opening of the second semiconductor part in the first direction; and wherein the (2-1-1)-th semiconductor part is directly connected to the first semiconductor part; and wherein the first-side semiconductor part includes: a (2-1-2)-th semiconductor part, which overlaps the first connecting electrode in the thickness direction; and a (2-1-3)-th semiconductor part, which protrudes from the (2-1-2)-th semiconductor part toward the semiconductor opening of the second semiconductor part, beyond the first connecting electrode, in a plan view.
However, Chen discloses semiconductor openings (212C1/212C2; [0072]) having a polygon shape ([0072]), which could obvious been shaped through routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05) and design choice (MPEP § 2144.04), producing a substantially identical structure (MPEP § 2112.01), such that the second semiconductor part includes a (2-1)-th semiconductor part, which extends in the first direction, and the (2-1)-th semiconductor part includes: the semiconductor opening of the second semiconductor part; a first-side semiconductor part disposed on a first side of the semiconductor opening of the second semiconductor part in the first direction; a (2-1-1)-th semiconductor part disposed on a second side of the semiconductor opening of the second semiconductor part in the first direction; and wherein the (2-1-1)-th semiconductor part is directly connected to the first semiconductor part, as part of the reduction of carrier diffusion to the semiconductor layer discussed for claim 1.
Re claims 5-6, Han and Chen and Saito disclose the display device of claim 4.
But, fail to explicitly disclose wherein a conductivity of the (2-1-1)-th semiconductor part is greater than a conductivity of the first semiconductor part; and wherein a conductivity of the (2-1-3)-th semiconductor part is greater than a conductivity of the (2-1-2)-th semiconductor part.
However, these limitations would be obvious since the (2-1-1)-th and the (2-1-2)-th semiconductor parts are doped to form source/drain regions (Saito: 13; [0273]), and the first semiconductor part is an undoped channel (12; [0273]) of the semiconductor layer, as would be part of the reduction of carrier diffusion to the semiconductor layer and TFT on-state current reduction discussed for claim 1.
Re claims 7-10, Han and Chen and Saito disclose the display device of claim 1.
But, fail to explicitly disclose wherein the second semiconductor part further includes: a (2-2)-th semiconductor part disposed on a first side of the (2-1)-th semiconductor part in the second direction; and a (2-3)-th semiconductor part disposed on a second side of the (2-1)-th semiconductor part in the second direction, and each of the (2-2)-th and (2-3)-th semiconductor part is directly connected to the (2-1-3)-th semiconductor part, wherein a conductivity of each of the (2-2)-th and (2-3)-th semiconductor parts is greater than a conductivity of the (2-1-2)-th semiconductor part; wherein the (2-1-3)-th semiconductor part protrudes in a direction from the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes toward the semiconductor openings, in a plan view; and wherein the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes overlap the (2-2)-th semiconductor part in the thickness direction.
However, as discussed for claims 2-6, the shape and the conductivity of the semiconductor layer can be changed through routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05) and design choice (MPEP § 2144.04), producing a substantially identical structure (MPEP § 2112.01), such that the second semiconductor part further includes: a (2-2)-th semiconductor part disposed on a first side of the (2-1)-th semiconductor part in the second direction; and a (2-3)-th semiconductor part disposed on a second side of the (2-1)-th semiconductor part in the second direction, and each of the (2-2)-th and (2-3)-th semiconductor part is directly connected to the (2-1-3)-th semiconductor part, wherein a conductivity of each of the (2-2)-th and (2-3)-th semiconductor parts is greater than a conductivity of the (2-1-2)-th semiconductor part; wherein the (2-1-3)-th semiconductor part protrudes in a direction from the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes toward the semiconductor openings, in a plan view; and wherein the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes overlap the (2-2)-th semiconductor part in the thickness direction, as would be part of the reduction of carrier diffusion to the semiconductor layer and TFT on-state current reduction discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 11, Han discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein the gate insulating layer (128) overlaps the gate electrode (130) in the thickness direction (vertically).
But, fails to disclose the gate insulating layer (128) overlaps the first connecting electrode in the thickness direction.
However, Chen discloses the gate insulating layer (22; [0083]-[0084]) overlaps the first connecting electrode (23C; [0083]) in the thickness direction (vertically).
Thus, it would have been obvious to further modify Han by including the gate insulating layer (128) overlapping the first connecting electrode in the thickness direction, as disclosed by Chen, to provide side surface protection for the semiconductor layer and the first connecting electrode in the thickness direction (vertically), as part of the reduction of carrier diffusion to the semiconductor layer discussed for claim 1.
Re claims 12-15, Han and Chen and Saito disclose the display device of claim 11.
But, fail to explicitly disclose wherein the gate insulating layer includes an insulating recess, which is recessed from a side of the gate insulating layer in the first direction in a plan view; wherein the side of the gate insulating layer overlapping the first connecting electrode is positioned between the side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode and a side of each of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes in a plan view; wherein sides of the gate insulating layer that extend in the first direction, defining the insulating recess, are covered by the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes; and wherein the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes define the insulating recess and protrude, in the second direction, beyond the side of the gate insulating layer.
However, as discussed for claims 2-10, the shape and the conductivity of the semiconductor layer can be changed through routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05) and design choice (MPEP § 2144.04), also the gate insulating layer can be modified as discussed for claim 11 and consistent with the shapes of the semiconductor and connecting electrodes, producing a substantially identical structure (MPEP § 2112.01), such that the gate insulating layer includes an insulating recess, which is recessed from a side of the gate insulating layer in the first direction in a plan view; wherein the side of the gate insulating layer overlapping the first connecting electrode is positioned between the side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode and a side of each of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes in a plan view; wherein sides of the gate insulating layer that extend in the first direction, defining the insulating recess, are covered by the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes; and wherein the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes define the insulating recess and protrude, in the second direction, beyond the side of the gate insulating layer, as part of the side surface protection discussed for claim 11, in addition to the reduction of carrier diffusion to the semiconductor layer and TFT on-state current reduction discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 16, Han discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first connecting electrode (212) is directly connected to (contacts; [0054]) the first wiring (134), and the second connecting electrode (214) is directly connected to (contacts; [0054]) the second wiring (136).
Re claim 17, Han and Saito disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes (Saito: portions of 122 at 122a) have a rectangular shape (FIG. 36-1), a trapezoidal shape, or a triangular shape in a plan view, as would be part of TFT on-state current reduction discussed for claim 1.
Re claims 19-20, Han and Chen and Saito disclose the display device of claim 12.
But, fail to explicitly disclose wherein the side of the gate insulating layer is positioned between the side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode and a side of each of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes in a plan view; and wherein the side of the gate insulating layer protrudes in a direction from sides of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes toward the gate electrode in a plan view.
However, as discussed for claims 2-10, the shape and the conductivity of the semiconductor layer can be changed through routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05) and design choice (MPEP § 2144.04), also the gate insulating layer can be modified as discussed for claims 12-15 and consistent with the shapes of the semiconductor and connecting electrodes, producing a substantially identical structure (MPEP § 2112.01), such that the side of the gate insulating layer is positioned between the side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode and a side of each of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes in a plan view; and wherein the side of the gate insulating layer protrudes in a direction from sides of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes toward the gate electrode in a plan view, as would be part of the reduction of carrier diffusion to the semiconductor layer and TFT on-state current reduction discussed for claim 1, and the side surface protection discussed for claims 11-15.
Re claim 21, Han discloses in FIG. 2 a display device (100) comprising:
a first conducive layer (134/136; [0039]) disposed on a base part (110; [0045]) and including a first wiring (134; [0045]) and a second wiring (136; [0045]) spaced apart (separated) from each other;
a semiconductor layer (126; [0067]) disposed on the first conductive layer (134) and including a first semiconductor part (part of 126 under 128) and a second semiconductor part (part of 126 left of 128) disposed on a first side (left end) of the first semiconductor part (part of 126 under 128) in a first direction (laterally);
a gate insulating layer (128; [0047]) disposed on the semiconductor layer (126); and
a gate conductive layer (130/212/214; [0049]) disposed on the gate insulating layer (128) and including a gate electrode (130; [0049]) overlapping the first semiconductor part (part of 126 under 128) in a thickness direction (vertically) of the base part (110), and a first connecting electrode (212; [0049]) overlapping the second semiconductor part (part of 126 left of 128) in the thickness direction (vertically), wherein
the first connecting electrode (212) is directly connected to (contacts; [0054]) the second semiconductor part (part of 126 left of 128).
A. Han fails to disclose the second semiconductor part includes a semiconductor opening, which penetrates the second semiconductor part; and the first connecting electrode includes a (1-1)-th connecting electrode and a (1-2)-th connecting electrode electrically connected to each other, and the (1-2)-th connecting electrode protrudes from a side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode toward the semiconductor opening.
However,
Chen discloses in FIGS. 2-3 a display device (1) comprising: a second semiconductor part (212A1; [0075]) includes a semiconductor opening (212C1; [0075]) penetrating the second semiconductor part (212A1) in a thickness direction (vertically), and a third semiconductor part (212A2; [0075]) includes a semiconductor opening (212C2; [0075]) penetrating the third semiconductor part (212A2) in the thickness direction (vertically).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Han by adding the semiconductor openings of Chen, such that the second semiconductor part includes a semiconductor opening penetrating the second semiconductor part in the thickness direction, the third semiconductor part includes a semiconductor opening penetrating the third semiconductor part in the thickness direction, in order to reduce an overall surface of the semiconductor layer, thereby reducing diffusion of carriers to the semiconductor layer, and improving stability of the thin film transistor layer (Chen; [0049] and [0065]).
B. Han and Chen fail to disclose the first connecting electrode includes a (1-1)-th connecting electrode and a (1-2)-th connecting electrode electrically connected to each other, and the (1-2)-th connecting electrode protrudes from a side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode toward the semiconductor opening.
However,
Saito discloses in FIG. 36-1 a display device (121) comprising: a first connecting electrode (122; [0273]) includes a (1-1)-th connecting electrode (portion of 122 at W) and (1-2)-th connecting electrodes (portions of 122 at 122a; [0273]) electrically connected (integral) to each other, a width (W less Wb; [0276]) of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes (portions of 122 at 122a) in a second direction (vertically) intersecting a first direction (laterally) is less than ([0276]) a width (W; [0276]) of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode (portion of 122 at W) in the second direction (vertically), and the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes (portions of 122 at 122a) protrude (Wa; [0276]) from a side (at vertical part of 122a) of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode (portion of 122 at W) toward a third semiconductor part (18; [0273]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Han and Chen by adding the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes of Saito, such that the first connecting electrode includes a (1-1)-th connecting electrode and a (1-2)-th connecting electrode electrically connected to each other, and the (1-2)-th connecting electrode protrudes from a side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode toward the semiconductor opening, to reduce a value of on-state current of device TFTs (Saito; [0286]).
Re claim 22, Han and Saito disclose the display device of claim 21, wherein a width of the (1-2)-th connecting electrode in a second direction intersecting the first direction is less than a width of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode in the second direction (see claim 1) as would be part of TFT on-state current reduction discussed for claim 21.
Re claims 23-25, Han and Chen and Saito disclose the display device of claim 21, wherein the gate insulating layer overlaps the gate electrode and the first connecting electrode in the thickness direction (see claim 11); wherein the gate insulating layer includes an insulating recess, which is recessed from a side of the gate insulating layer in the first direction in a plan view (see claim 12); and wherein the side of the gate insulating layer is positioned between a side of the (1-2)-th connecting electrode and the side of the (1-1)-th connecting electrode in a plan view (see claim 13), as would be part of the reduction of carrier diffusion to the semiconductor layer and TFT on-state current reduction discussed for claim 21, and as part of side surface protection as discussed for claims 11-15.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han and Chen and Saito as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of XIAO et al (US 2022/0045180 A1, hereafter Xiao).
Re claim 18, Han and Chen and Saito disclose the display device of claim 1.
But, fail to disclose wherein the width of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes in the second direction decreases toward the semiconductor openings, along the first direction.
However,
Xiao discloses in FIG. 3 a display device comprising: wherein the width of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes (ends of 6/7; [0034]) in the second direction (vertically) decreases (into peaks 60/70; [0034]) toward semiconductor openings (81/82; [0037]), along the first direction (laterally).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Han and Chen and Saito by adding the peaks of Xiao to the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes, such that the width of the (1-2)-th connecting electrodes in the second direction decreases toward the semiconductor openings, along the first direction, to form ESD discharge structures, thereby improving ESD efficiency, preventing circuits from being burnt, and guaranteeing product yield (Xiao; [0039]).
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to ERIC W JONES whose telephone number is (408)918-9765. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM PT.
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892