Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-22 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/5/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nam (US 20190393444 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nam discloses a display device comprising: a display panel (Fig. 5B) including a display area (DP-DA) in which pixels (PX) are provided, and a non-display area (DP-NDA) located on a side of the display area (Shown); a circuit board (GDC) bonded to the display panel (Shown) in the non-display area, and electrically connected to the pixels (Para. 109 "The driving circuit GDC may include a scan driving circuit.... The scan driving circuit may further output other control signals to the pixel driving circuits of the pixels PX."); an optical layer (Fig. 6C, FM) provided on the display panel in the display area (Fig. 6C shows FM provided on the display panel, including in the display area over DP-OLED); and a protective layer (Fig. 5C, PIL) disposed on the display panel in the non-display area (PIL extends over the display area and non-display area; para. 157 "An edge of the protective layer PIL may overlap the second bezel pattern WM-BZ2"; the second bezel pattern is in the non-display area), wherein a top surface of the protective layer include a protrusion having an island shape (Shown in Fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 9, Nam discloses a film (Fig. 6C, EC) provided on the display panel and the circuit board in the non-display area (Fig. 6B shows EC on the display panel including over sealing member SM in the non-display area; para. 105 "The sealing member SM may overlap a non-display area"), wherein the film is located on a side of the optical layer (Fig. 6B shows EC on a bottom side of the optical layer) and differs from the optical layer (Fig. 6B shows EC being a different layer from FM).
Regarding claim 17, Nam discloses wherein the display panel comprises: a display element layer including a light emitting element; and a light conversion pattern layer disposed on the display element layer and including a quantum dot changing a wavelength of light emitted from the light emitting element (Para. 87 " the display panel DP may be a light emitting type display panel such as... a quantum-dot light emitting display panel, for example"). Furthermore, the claim language “wherein the light conversion pattern layer is formed through a continuous process on the display element layer” recites an intermediate process step that does not affect the structure of the final device. Therefore, the process limitations recited in a “product by process” claim would not carry patentable weight in a claim drawn to a structure because distinct structure is not necessarily produced. See MPEP 2113. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 18, Nam discloses wherein the light emitting element comprises an inorganic light emitting diode (Para. 117 "The emission layer EML may include… an inorganic material").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam (US 20190393444 A1) in view of Woo (US 20190245026 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Nam discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the optical layer includes an antireflection film (Para. 80 "FM may include an anti-reflector"). However, Nam does not explicitly disclose wherein the protective layer includes a resin.
On the other hand, Woo discloses wherein the protective layer includes a resin (Fig. 6, encapsulation 170; para. 82 "The encapsulation layer 170 may be formed as a multilayer film including at least one organic layer…. The organic layer of the encapsulation layer 170 may include at least one of an acrylic resin, a methacrylic resin, polyisoprene, a vinyl resin, an epoxy resin, a urethane resin, a cellulose resin, a siloxane resin, a PI resin, a polyamide resin, and a perylene resin"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Nam according to the teachings of Woo such that the protective layer of Nam which is made of SiO, SiN, or SiON (Para. 102 "the protective layer PIL may include an inorganic material such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, and/or silicon oxynitride") would instead be formed of resin as taught by Woo because of resin’s ability to be applied with low energy methods such as spin coating that are less likely to damage the underlying electronics.
Regarding claim 6, Nam discloses wherein a side (Lower side of FM) of the optical layer and a side (Upper side of DP) of the display panel are aligned with each other (Fig. 6B shows the two sides aligning in at least the sense that they are coplanar).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-8, and 10-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the optical layer is provided in the non-display area, and includes a hole corresponding to the protrusion of the protective layer, and the protective layer is located between the optical layer and the display panel.
For this reason, claims 4-8 are also objected to as dependents of claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record does not disclose a dam disposed along a portion of a side of the display panel between the display panel and the optical layer, wherein the protective layer is located closer to a center of the display panel than the dam. Specifically, the prior art of record does not disclose a dam being between the display panel and the optical layer, wherein the protective layer is located closer to a center of the display panel than the dam.
For this reason, claims 11-14 are also objected to as dependents of claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the top surface of the protective and a top surface of the optical layer are coplanar with each other.
For this reason, claim 16 is also objected to as a dependent of claim 15.
Conclusion
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817