Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s main argument can be found on page 9 of Applicant’s arguments reproduced below:
“Jia describes an approach that centers on reducing uneven structures (e.g., a coffee ring structure) through ink formulation and process conditions within each pixel aperture, not on sequencing deposition across multiple exposed surfaces based on their areas. Specifically, Jia teaches adding ink to accommodating portions by an inkjet printing process without any instruction to prioritize larger exposed surfaces ahead of smaller ones (Jia at paras. [0087]- [0088], FIG. 3), and then forming the organic functional layer via vacuum freeze drying with adjustments to solvent properties and vacuum degree to equalize evaporation rates across the ink surface (Jia paras. [0091]-[0092], FIG. 4). Nowhere does Jia teach or suggest an ink deposition sequence dictated by area of exposed surfaces, from largest area to smallest area; rather, Jia is silent on "wherein the forming of the emission layer comprises forming the emission layer by ejecting ink onto the plurality of exposed upper surfaces in an order from an exposed upper surface having a largest area to an exposed upper surface having a smallest area."”
The Office respectfully disagrees with the argument above. As mentioned in Non-Final, filed 10/9/2025, the limitation “…wherein the forming of the emission layer comprises forming the emission layer by ejecting ink onto the plurality of exposed upper surfaces in an order from an exposed upper surface having a largest area to an exposed upper surface having a smallest area.” is addressed by pointing to the prior art pointed out by Applicant above: “fig. 3, please see the incline of the banks which include the limitation mentioned above; par. 87-93.” Please note that the prior art used in the Non-Final is the PGPUB of the patent i.e. Jia (20190296239) or Jia (10573813) and this can be seen on the patent. For the limitation mentioned above, Applicant has not addressed what was mentioned in Non-Final, specifically as it pertains to Fig. 3..
For at least this reasons, previous rejection stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jia (20190296239).
Regarding claim 1, Jia teaches an method of manufacturing a display device (please see figs. 1-5), the method comprising:
preparing a substrate (fig. 1: 1);
forming a plurality of pixel electrodes (fig. 1: 4) on the substrate;
forming a pixel-defining layer (fig. 2: 21) covering edge portions of the plurality of pixel electrodes and defining a plurality of exposed upper surfaces of the plurality of pixel electrodes; and
forming an emission layer (fig. 4: 6; par. 58 teaches a common emitting layer) on the plurality of exposed upper surfaces of the plurality of pixel electrodes,
wherein the forming of the emission layer comprises forming the emission layer by ejecting ink onto the plurality of exposed upper surfaces in an order from an exposed upper surface having a largest area to an exposed upper surface having a smallest area (fig 3, please see the incline of the banks which include the limitation mentioned above; par. 87-93).
Regarding claim 8, Jia teaches an method of claim 1, wherein the forming of the emission layer comprises forming the emission layer including an upper portion of the emission layer that is flat at a center portion of each of the plurality of exposed upper surfaces (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Jia teaches an method of claim 1, wherein an upper surface of a side surface of the pixel-defining layer has liquid repellency (par. 67).
Regarding claim 11, Jia teaches an method of claim 1, further comprising forming an opposite electrode (fig. 5: 5) on the emission layer.
Regarding claim 12, Jia teaches an method of claim 11, wherein the opposite electrode covers the emission layer and the pixel-defining layer (see fig. 5).
Claim(s) 13, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jia (20190296239).
Regarding claim 13, Jia teaches an method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising:
preparing a substrate (fig. 1: 1);
forming, on the substrate, a plurality of pixel electrodes (fig. 1: 4) disposed in a plurality of pixels emitting light of a same wavelength band (pixels made in fig. 5 have the same wavelength);
forming a pixel-defining layer (fig. 2: 21) covering edge portions of the plurality of pixel electrodes and defining a plurality of exposed upper surfaces of the plurality of pixel electrodes, the plurality of exposed upper surfaces having different areas from each other; and
forming an emission layer (fig. 4: 6; par. 58 teaches a common emitting layer) on the plurality of exposed upper surfaces of the plurality of pixel electrodes,
wherein the forming of the emission layer comprises forming the emission layer by ejecting ink onto the plurality of exposed upper surfaces in an order from an exposed upper surface having a largest area to an exposed upper surface having a smallest area (fig 3, please see the incline of the banks which include the limitation mentioned above; par. 87-93).
Regarding claim 19, Jia teaches an method of claim 13, wherein an upper surface of a side surface of the pixel-defining layer has liquid repellency (par. 67).
Regarding claim 20, Jia teaches an method of claim 13, further comprising forming an opposite electrode (fig. 5: 5) on the emission layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (18121070).
Regarding claim 2, Jia teaches an method of claim 1.
Prior art fails to teach:
method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixel electrodes comprise: a 1-1th pixel electrode disposed in a 1-1th pixel, a 2-1 th pixel electrode disposed in a 2-1th pixel, and a 3-1th pixel electrode disposed in a 3-1th pixel, and the 1-1th pixel, the 2-1th pixel, and the 3-1th pixel are configured to emit light of different wavelength bands from each other
Kim teaches forming OLEDs wherein the emitting layer for all subpixels is composed of material that emits white light (par. 33) and each subpixel has a filter which converts white light in predetermined colors. The use of a common light emitting layer for all subpixels simplifies the deposition process and allows for simplified modification of device emittance by changing color filter preference.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time said invention was made to utilize the teachings of the secondary prior art(s) in the primary prior art(s) due to aforementioned reason(s).
Regarding claim 3, Jia/Kim teaches an method of claim 2, wherein the 1-1th pixel is configured to emit red light, the 2-1th pixel is configured to emit green light, and the 3-1th pixel is configured to emit blue light (Kim, par. 33).
Regarding claim 4, Jia/Kim teaches an method of claim 3, wherein the plurality of exposed upper surfaces comprise: a 1-1th exposed upper surface disposed on the 1-1th pixel electrode, a 2-1th exposed upper surface disposed on the 2-1th pixel electrode, and a 3-1th exposed upper surface disposed on the 3-1th pixel electrode, and an area of the 1-1th exposed upper surface is different from an area of the 2-1th exposed upper surface or an area of the 3-1th exposed upper surface (Kim shows in fig. 1 multiple pixels having different surfaces).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kim (18121070).
Regarding claim 17, Jia teaches an method of claim 1.
Prior art fails to teach:
a method of claim 13, wherein the plurality of pixels emitting light of a same wavelength band are configured to emit one of red light, green light, and blue light.
Kim teaches forming OLEDs wherein the emitting layer for all subpixels is composed of material that emits white light (par. 33) and each subpixel has a filter which converts white light in predetermined colors. The use of a common light emitting layer for all subpixels simplifies the deposition process and allows for simplified modification of device emittance by changing color filter preference.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time said invention was made to utilize the teachings of the secondary prior art(s) in the primary prior art(s) due to aforementioned reason(s).
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia as applied to claim 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Kim (18121070).
Regarding claim 9 and 18, Jia teaches an method of claim 1 and 18.
Prior art fails to teach:
method further comprising baking the pixel-defining layer after the forming of the pixel-defining layer
Jia teaches that the bank layer (21) is composed of silicon oxide or silicon nitride and it is known in the art that baking helps to reduce the outgassing of silicone-based materials, as taught in Jeong (par. 59).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time said invention was made to utilize the teachings of the secondary prior art(s) in the primary prior art(s) due to aforementioned reason(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a method of claim 4, wherein the area of the 1-1th exposed upper surface is larger than the area of the 2-1th exposed upper surface and the area of the 3-1th exposed upper surface.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a method of claim 4, wherein the area of the 2-1th exposed upper surface is larger than the area of the 1-1th exposed upper surface and the area of the 3-1th exposed upper surface.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a method of claim 4, wherein the area of the 3-1th exposed upper surface is larger than the area of the 1-1th exposed upper surface and the area of the 2-1th exposed upper surface.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a method of claim 13, wherein the plurality of pixel electrodes comprise: a 1-1th pixel electrode disposed in a 1-1th pixel, and a 1-2th pixel electrode disposed in a 1-2th pixel, and a 1-1th exposed upper surface on the 1-1th pixel electrode is larger than a 1-2th exposed upper surface on the 1-2th pixel electrode.
Claim 15 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 14.
Claim 16 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 15.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818