DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants' amendment of the claims, filed on 12/23/2025, in response to the rejection of claims 1-8 from the non-final office action, mailed on 10/02/2025, by amending claims 1-4; canceling claims 5, 7-8; and adding new claim 9, is acknowledged and will be addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
(1) The “wherein the portion of the first opening and the portion of the second opening face each other” of Claim 2 is not clear.
The applicants’ corresponding disclosures discloses “After withdrawing the first mask assembly 40 out of the chamber 10, the second mask assembly 50 may be inserted to the chamber 10” ([0075] and Figs. 4-5 of the published instant application), in other words, one mask is disposed within the chamber while the other mask is waiting outside the chamber. Therefore, the portions of the first and second openings do not have a chance to face each other, thus it is not clear how the recited feature “face each other” is obtained. The metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter cannot be clearly determined.
For the purpose of examination, when the two openings of the two masks forms a deposition area, it will be considered meeting the limitation.
(2) The “atypical” of Claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim and does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter cannot be clearly determined.
For the purpose of examination, when the concavo-convex shape is provided, it will be considered meeting the limitation.
(3) The “wherein a concavo-convex shape of the first opening and a concavo-convex shape of the second opening are coupled to each other” of Claim 4 is not clear.
First, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “a concavo-convex shape of the first opening and a concavo-convex shape of the second opening” in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of “wherein the concavo-convex shape of the portion of the first opening and the concavo-convex shape of the portion of the second opening are coupled to each other”.
Second, as discussed in the item (1) above, one mask is disposed within the chamber while the other mask is waiting outside the chamber. Therefore, the first and second openings do not have a chance to coupe to each other, thus it is not clear how the recited feature “coupled to each other” is obtained. The metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter cannot be clearly determined.
For the purpose of examination, when the two openings of the two masks forms a deposition area, it will be considered meeting the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 104157550A, hereafter ‘550) in view of Kim et al. (US 20170121816, hereafter ‘816).
Regarding to Claim 1, ‘550 teaches:
In a semiconductor device manufacturing process ([0002] of the English translation, note the manufacturing a display includes a semiconductor device manufacturing process, such as deposition, etching, etc., the claimed “An apparatus for manufacturing a display apparatus”);
the first mask plate in step a, placing over the substrate shown in FIG. 3, and then the first mask plate is carried out the first time film deposition. the first mask includes a shielding region 11 and the shielding part 12, the shielding part of the first mask plate 12 comprises a first shielding part 13. under the first mask plate for the first thin-film deposition, deposition of the thin film to form film pattern as shown in FIG. 4, post-deposition comprises a deposition region 14 and a Membraneless region 15, predetermined area of hole comprises the first Membraneless region in 15 ([0049-0050], the claimed “the apparatus comprising: a first mask assembly configured to be arranged and comprising a first opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass”);
the second step, removing the first mask plate and the second mask plate is placed above the substrate as shown in FIG. 5, in the second mask plate of the shielding film deposition for the second time. As shown in FIG. 5, the second mask plate by the shielding part 16 and a shielding region 17, and the second shielding part of mask plate 16 comprises a first shielding part 13, at this time the second mask plate of the first shielding part 13 corresponding to the same position on the substrate (i.e., the first deposition caused by the first mask plate formed shielding part shielding the first membraneless area). using the second mask plate to the second film pattern formed by deposition as shown in FIG. 6, the thin film pattern includes a first deposition region 18 and second Membraneless region 19, predetermined area of hole comprises the second Membraneless area in 19. film pattern shown in FIG. 6 is formed of the second deposition film pattern formed overlapped on the first deposition film pattern shown in FIG. 4, is formed with holes, as shown in FIG. 7 ([0051-0052], the claimed “and a second mask assembly configured to be selectively arranged to be replaceable with the first mask assembly, the second mask assembly comprising a second opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass”);
Figs. 3 and 5 show each of the first and second mask has plural protrusions, each protruding towards an inner portion of the opening region, and the deposition material passes through the opening region. Lastly, the protrusions form a concavo-convex shape (the claimed “wherein the first mask assembly comprises a first protrusion protruding towards an inner portion of the first opening and configured to block the deposition material, wherein the second mask assembly comprises a second protrusion protruding towards an inner portion of the second opening and configured to block the deposition material, wherein at least one of a portion of an inner surface of the first opening adjacent to the first protrusion and a portion of an inner surface of the second opening adjacent to the second protrusion has a concavo-convex shape”)
‘550 does not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 1: the apparatus comprising: a chamber; a source portion arranged in the chamber and configured to supply a deposition material into the chamber; a first mask assembly configured to be arranged in the chamber and comprising a first opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass; and a second mask assembly configured to be selectively arranged in the chamber to be replaceable with the first mask assembly, the second mask assembly comprising a second opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass.
‘550 clearly teaches a film patterning method and a mask plate (abstract).
‘816 is analogous art in the field of substrate processing apparatus ([0003]). ‘816 teaches a chamber 110, a deposition source 120 (Fig. 1, [0027]), and the deposition source 120 may evaporate a deposition material and inject the deposition material to the outside ([0029]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the chamber and the source, in ‘550, for the purpose of performing deposition process of ‘550 for film patterning.
Regarding to Claims 2-4,
Figs. 3 and 5 of ‘550 show each of the first and second mask has plural protrusions, each protruding towards an inner portion of the opening region, and the deposition material passes through the opening region. Lastly, the protrusions form a concavo-convex shape (see also the 112 rejection above, the claimed “wherein the portion of the first opening and the portion of the second opening face each other” of Claim 2, “wherein the concavo-convex shape is atypical” of Claim 3, and “wherein a concavo-convex shape of the first opening and a concavo-convex shape of the second opening are coupled to each other” of Claim 4).
Regarding to Claim 6,
‘550 teaches the second step, removing the first mask plate and the second mask plate is placed above the substrate as shown in FIG. 5, in the second mask plate of the shielding film deposition for the second time ([0051], the claimed “wherein at least one of the first mask assembly and the second mask assembly is configured to be arranged sequentially in the chamber”).
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210020871, hereafter ‘871) in view of ‘816.
Regarding to Claim 1, ‘871 teaches:
a method for manufacturing an organic electromagnetic light-emitting display panel (abstract, note the method is performed by an apparatus, the claimed “An apparatus for manufacturing a display apparatus”)
the opening areas 101 and 201 of each of the open type masks 100 and 200 ([0034]), and when the film layer pattern is manufactured by using the mask module according to the arrangement of the present disclosure, the above-described open type masks 100 and 200 are sequentially used as the blocking patterns, to perform evaporation of the same mother board with the same materials, so as to from the evaporation film layer having the blocking structure b at the joint a in the mother board corresponding to each display substrate ([0035], the claimed “the apparatus comprising: a first mask assembly configured to be arranged and comprising a first opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass; and a second mask assembly configured to be selectively arranged to be replaceable with the first mask assembly, the second mask assembly comprising a second opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass”);
the stitching edge d between the opening areas 101 and 201 of the open type masks 100 and 200 corresponding to the same joint a may be a curve as shown in FIG. 4A, or a polyline as shown in FIG. 4B, or may be a straight line, which is not limited herein ([0038], note each of the first and second mask has plural curved or polyline protrusions, each protruding towards an inner portion of the opening region, and the deposition material passes through the opening region. Lastly, the protrusions form a concavo-convex shape, the claimed “wherein the first mask assembly comprises a first protrusion protruding towards an inner portion of the first opening and configured to block the deposition material, wherein the second mask assembly comprises a second protrusion protruding towards an inner portion of the second opening and configured to block the deposition material, wherein at least one of a portion of an inner surface of the first opening adjacent to the first protrusion and a portion of an inner surface of the second opening adjacent to the second protrusion has a concavo-convex shape”)
‘871 does not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 1: the apparatus comprising: a chamber; a source portion arranged in the chamber and configured to supply a deposition material into the chamber; a first mask assembly configured to be arranged in the chamber and comprising a first opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass; and a second mask assembly configured to be selectively arranged in the chamber to be replaceable with the first mask assembly, the second mask assembly comprising a second opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass.
‘871 clearly teaches an evaporation of the organic material of a light-emitting functional layer (EL) is performed by using an open type mask (Open Mask) ([0027]).
The teaching of ‘816 was discussed in the claim rejection with ‘550 above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the chamber and the source, in ‘871, for the purpose of performing deposition process of ‘871 for manufacturing a display apparatus.
Regarding to Claims 2-4,
‘871 teaches the stitching edge d between the opening areas 101 and 201 of the open type masks 100 and 200 corresponding to the same joint a may be a curve as shown in FIG. 4A, or a polyline as shown in FIG. 4B, or may be a straight line, which is not limited herein ([0038], see also the 112 rejection above, the claimed “wherein the portion of the first opening and the portion of the second opening face each other” of Claim 2, “wherein the concavo-convex shape is atypical” of Claim 3, and “wherein a concavo-convex shape of the first opening and a concavo-convex shape of the second opening are coupled to each other” of Claim 4).
Regarding to Claim 6,
‘871 teaches the above-described open type masks 100 and 200 are sequentially used as the blocking patterns, to perform evaporation of the same mother board with the same materials, so as to from the evaporation film layer having the blocking structure b at the joint a in the mother board corresponding to each display substrate ([0035], the claimed “wherein at least one of the first mask assembly and the second mask assembly is configured to be arranged sequentially in the chamber”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kown (US 20170025483, hereafter ‘483) in view of ‘816.
Regarding to Claim 9, ‘483 teaches:
An organic emission layer configuring a pixel of an organic light emitting diode display in the related art is deposited by using a mask ([0009], the claimed “An apparatus for manufacturing a display apparatus”);
an organic light emitting diode display according to the first embodiment includes a substrate SU ([0069], Figs. 4 and 6 show first and second deposition area in the substrate, the claimed “the display substrate comprising a first deposition area, and a second deposition area”);
FIG. 4 is a diagram for describing formation of a first organic emission layer using the first mask illustrated in FIG. 3 ([0101]), and The first organic emission layer OL1 is formed on the first electrode E1 through the first mask pattern portion MP1 ([0105], the claimed “a first mask assembly configured to be arranged and comprising a first opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass” and “wherein the deposition material is configured to pass through the first opening to be deposited on a part of the display substrate to form the first deposition area”);
FIG. 6 is a diagram for describing formation of a second organic emission layer using the second mask illustrated in FIG. 5 ([0106]), and The second organic emission layer OL2 is formed on the second electrode E2 through the second mask pattern portion MP2 ([0111], the claimed “and a second mask assembly configured to be selectively arranged to be replaceable with the first mask assembly, the second mask assembly comprising a second opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass” and “and is configured to pass through the second opening to be deposited on a different part of the display substrate to form the second deposition area and different from the first deposition area”);
Fig. 6 clearly shows the first organic emission layer OL1 and the second organic emission layer OL2 connected to each other by partially overlapped with each other (the claimed “wherein the first deposition area and the second deposition area are connected to each other to form one display area on the display substrate, wherein the first deposition area and the second deposition area at least partially overlap with each other”).
‘483 does not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 9: the apparatus comprising: a chamber; a display substrate of the display apparatus arranged in the chamber, the display substrate comprising a first deposition area, and a second deposition area; a source portion arranged in the chamber and configured to supply a deposition material into the chamber; a first mask assembly configured to be arranged in the chamber and comprising a first opening, through which the deposition material is configured to pass; and a second mask assembly configured to be selectively arranged in the chamber to be replaceable with the first mask.
‘483 clearly teaches an organic emission layer configuring a pixel of an organic light emitting diode display in the related art is deposited by using a mask ([0009]).
The teaching of ‘816 was discussed in the claim rejection with ‘550 above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the chamber and the source, in ‘483, for the purpose of performing the deposition process of ‘483 for manufacturing a display apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not convincing in light of the new ground of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIDEN LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718