DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20200332437 to Burrows.
Claim 15: Burrows discloses a liner (300/310/315, Fig. 3) applicable for disposition in a processing chamber (110 [chamber]), comprising: an inner face (inner face of 300/310/315); an outer face (outer face of face of 300/310/315) opposing the inner face (Fig. 1); a first side face (top or bottom face of 300/310/315) between the inner face and the outer face; a second side face (top or bottom face of 300/310/315) between the inner face and the outer face, the second side face opposing the first side face;
a plurality of inlet openings (415 [openings] and/or 210 [gas injection ports], Fig. 3-4) on an inlet side (inlet side of 300/310/315), the plurality of inlet openings (415/210) extending into the outer face (outer face of face of 300/310/315), and the plurality of inlet openings (415/210) comprising: a plurality of first inlet openings (415/210) that include a first row (415) extending into the first side face, and a second row (horizontal row below 415) extending into the second side face, and a plurality of second inlet openings (210) extending between the inner face and the outer face (Fig. 1); and one or more outlet openings (133 [exhaust ports], Fig. 1) on an outlet side (Fig. 1), the outlet side opposing the inlet side (Fig. 1), and the one or more outlet openings (133) extending into the inner face (Fig. 1).
Claim 16: The apparatus of Burrows discloses wherein the plurality of second inlet openings (210, Fig. 3-4, Burrows) appear to be aligned at least partially between columns of the first inlet openings (415, Fig. 4).
Claim 17: The apparatus of Burrows discloses wherein the first row of the plurality of first inlet openings (415, Fig. 4, Burrows) comprise first recesses (415) extending into the outer face and the first side face, and the second row of the plurality of first inlet openings (horizontal row below 415) comprise second recesses (horizontal row below 415) extending into the outer face and the second side face (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150368796 to Li in view of US 20080220150 to Merry.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 19: A processing chamber applicable for use in semiconductor manufacturing, comprising: a chamber body (100 [chamber], Fig. 1A) comprising an internal volume (110 [processing volume]) and an injector (128 [gas distribution assembly]), the injector (129) comprising: an inner face (inner face of 129), an outer face (outer face of 129) opposing the inner face, a plurality of first inject openings (190 of 129) extending between the inner face and the outer face (Fig. 1A), and a plurality of second inject openings (192 of 129) extending between the inner face and the outer face (Fig. 1A);
one or more heat sources (118A/118B, Fig. 1A) configured to generate heat (para. [0023]); a substrate support assembly (112) positioned in the internal volume (110), the substrate support assembly comprising: a plurality of lift pins (not referenced but disclosed in Fig. 1A), and one or more substrate supports (112 [substrate support], para. [0023]);
a first liner (132F/132B [upper liner]/[liner assembly], Fig. 1A) disposed inwardly of the injector (129), the first liner (132F/132B) comprising: an inner face (inner face of 132F/132B), an outer face (outer face of 132F/132B) opposing the inner face of the first liner (Fig. 1A), a first side face (top or bottom of 132F/132B) between the inner face of the first liner and the outer face of the first liner, a second side face (top or bottom of 132F/132B) between the inner face of the first liner and the outer face of the first liner, the second side face opposing the first side face (Fig. 1A),
a plurality of inlet openings (190 [passages], Fig. 1A) on an inlet side of the first liner (Fig. 1A), the plurality of inlet openings (190) extending into the inner face of the first liner and the second side face;
and a second liner (132E/132D [injector liner], Fig. 1A) supported at least partially by the first liner (132F/132B), the second liner (132E/132D) comprising: an inner face (inner face of 132E/132D), an outer face (outer face of 132E/132D) opposing the inner face of the second liner (Fig. 1A), a first side face (top or bottom of 132E/132D) between the inner face of the second liner and the outer face of the second liner, a second side face (top or bottom of 132E/132D) between the inner face of the second liner and the outer face of the second liner, the second side face of the second liner opposing the first side face of the second liner (Fig. 1A),
a plurality of inlet openings (192 [passages]) on an inlet side of the second liner (132E/132D), the plurality of inlet openings (192) of the second liner extending into the outer face of the second liner (Fig. 1A), and one or more outlet openings (137 [plenum]) on an outlet side (132D) of the second liner (132E/132D), the outlet side opposing the inlet side of the second liner (Fig. 1A).
However the apparatus of Li does not explicitly disclose and one or more outlet openings on an outlet side of the first liner, the outlet side opposing the inlet side, the one or more outlet openings extending into the inner face of the first liner; the plurality of first inject openings comprising a first row of the first inject openings and a second row of the first inject openings; (claim 5) wherein the one or more outlet openings of the first liner comprise: a recess section extending into the inner face of the first liner; and a passage section extending into the recess section.
Merry discloses one or more outlet openings (163/165, Fig. 4) on an outlet side of the first liner (104/106), the outlet side opposing the inlet side (Fig. 4), the one or more outlet openings (163/165) extending into the inner face of the first liner (104/106, Fig. 4); the plurality of first inject openings (401/402, Fig. 4B) comprising a first row of the first inject openings (401 of 401/402) and a second row of the first inject openings (402 of 401/402); (claim 5) wherein the one or more outlet openings (163/165 of 104/106, Fig. 4) comprise: a passage section (vertical section of 163 [exhaust passage]) extending between the first side face and the second side face (top or bottom of 104/106); and an aperture section (horizontal section of 163) extending between the inner face (inner face of 104/106) and the passage section (vertical section of 163); (claim 6) discloses wherein the plurality of inlet openings (160, Fig. 4A) of the first liner (104/106) comprise recesses (recesses of 160). Merry discloses all of this for the purpose of allowing removal of the process and purge gases from the chamber (para. [0056]) and/or maximize chamber throughput and improve film deposition uniformity (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Merry with motivation to allow removal of the process and purge gases from the chamber and/or maximize chamber throughput and improve film deposition uniformity.
The apparatus of Li in view of Merry does not explicitly disclose (claims 1, 2) the plurality of second inject openings aligned between the first row and the second row of the first inject openings, (claim 3) wherein at least one of the plurality of second inject openings of the injector is aligned circumferentially outwardly of the first inject openings;
However Li teaches multiple arrangements of the injector openings (Fig. 4A, 5, 6) such as liner arrangements (para. [0029]) dual (upper and/or lower) zones with different flow properties (para. [0039]), and/or extended portions of arrangements (para. [0044]), for the purpose of providing individual or multiple gas flows with varied parameters (para. [0029]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of arrangement of the openings as taught by Li with motivation to provide individual or multiple gas flows with varied parameters.
Claim 4: The apparatus of Li in view of Merry discloses wherein the first inject openings (190 of 129, Fig. 1A, Li) and the second inject openings (192 of 129) each comprise apertures (192, 190).
Claim 20: The apparatus of Li in view of Merry discloses the one or more outlet openings (137, Fig. 1A, Li) extending into the inner face of the first liner (132E/132D) wherein the one or more outlet openings of the second liner (173) extend into the inner face of the second liner (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows as applied to claims 15-17 above, and further in view of US 20080220150 to Merry.
Claim 18: The apparatus of Burrows does not disclose wherein the one or more outlet openings comprise: a passage section extending between the first side face and the second side face; and an aperture section extending between the inner face and the passage section.
However Merry discloses wherein the one or more outlet openings (163/165 of 104/106, Fig. 4) comprise: a passage section (vertical section of 163 [exhaust passage]) extending between the first side face and the second side face (top or bottom of 104/106); and an aperture section (horizontal section of 163) extending between the inner face (inner face of 104/106) and the passage section (vertical section of 163), for the purpose of allowing removal of the process and purge gases from the chamber (para. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Merry with motivation to allow removal of the process and purge gases from the chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected independent claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent claims including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20050188923 discloses a substrate carrier (406, Fig. 4) having shoulders (405) that support respective substrates (404) placed thereon and are formed on the spacers (402) provided between the susceptors (407). US 20120009765 discloses a liner assembly (118, Fig. 2, 3A) having a plurality of inlets and outlets (para. [0043-0050]). US 20160312359 discloses a three-piece liner set (132 [liner assembly], Fig. 1A) having a top liner (140), middle liner (135), and a bottom liner (134) without any inlets or outlets (para. [0023]). US 20240141495 discloses a 150 [flow guide structure], Fig. 2) which includes a three or more flow levels (153) and flow dividers (151) which allow process gases to flow through from an injector (121) to an exhaust system (190, para. [0023]), by same assignee.
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718